BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In West Florida

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Corin Bay Real Estate Marketing and Sales, Inc.

Phone: (941) 474-0900Fax: (941) 474-0991View Additional Phone Numbers2051 Englewood Rd, EnglewoodFL 34223-1732http://www.corinbay.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Corin Bay Real Estate Marketing and Sales, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Corin Bay Real Estate Marketing and Sales, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/16/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Residential Contract For Sale And Purchase not honored.
U.S. Postal Service certified letter of demand to rectify problem was refused at delivery.
On August 15th, 2012 we purchased a property located at ************* in Englewood, Fl.Prior to purchasing we signed a Residential Contract For Sale And Purchase dated 07-10-2012. This document is a form that has been approved by the Florida Realtors and the Florida Bar and is commonly used among Florida Realtors for real estate transactions.
On page two of eleven that was e-mailed to us from Corin Bay Real Estate realtor it is clearly marked that there were storm shutters and panels that were part of the sale and this form was signed by us, the buyers, as well as the realtor, and the seller. On July 13th,2012 we contracted The Home Team Inspection Service to inspect the property. This inspection company was referred to us by ******* ****** of Corin Bay Real Estate. On this date, we were unable to attend the inspection because we reside in Massachusetts and neither of our schedules would permit us to do so. During the inspection our inspector took pictures of "metal storm panels for all openings", and "permanent hardware on all openings". All of the items listed were pictured and noted on a report he prepared and sent to us by e-mail.The page with these pictures has a heading at the top stating that the "Property address is:*************,Englewood, FL XXXXX-XXXX. We based our decision to purchase the above listed property on information that was supplied to us by the realtor and the inspector. This information was corroborated through pictures in the inspection report which we paid $385.00 for,and statements made by the realtor that the storm shutters and panels were on the property and part of the sale as she noted on Residential Contract For Sale And Purchase.During the 24 hour walk through my wife's parents were present to ensure the minor problems with the house were corrected. They could not locate the storm shutters and panels that were said to be on the property. At that time, my father-in-law proceeded to check a storage area above the garage, but it was very full with the previous owner's belongings, so the storm shutters and panels could not be viewed. My wife's parents were specifically told by the realtor that they were there on the property, but she would have to find out from the owner who was away on vacation where she stored them. Throughout this entire transaction, we did not have contact with the seller until well after the closing date and every time we asked the realtor for her contact information, we were constantly told she was "unreachable by phone". We also asked the realtor several times throughout this transaction where said storm shutters and panels were on the property and each time her response was that she would ask the seller where they were and she would get back to us. In fact, she never said that they did not exist and she always said she would find out where they were kept.Upon the seller's return from vacation on 08-26-2012, which was after the official closing date of XX-XX-XXXX, we exchanged e-mails and that is when the seller informed us that there were never storm shutters and panels for the house. On that day, we sent her a copy of the inspection report with the pictures labeled "metal storm panels for all, by e-mail, which she viewed and noticed that the tree in the picture of the house was not her tree. She also noticed that one of the windows pictured was not hers. However, the pictures were extremely similar. Relative to the sale and purchase contract prepared by ******, and statements she made about the storm shutters and panels being part of the sale, along with the inspection report prepared by Mahoney, we were given the affirmed impression that that there were storm shutters and panels for all openings for this house. We are requesting that the house be equipped with storm shutters and panels as it was contracted or compensated for the same, but the realtor will not return calls, and "refused" to accept a certified demand letter from us requesting a solution.

Business' Initial Response
Mr ******,
I've reviewed the MLS listing, the Purchase Contract, the Sellers Property Real Disclosure Statement and the Inspection Report provided by HomeTeam Inspection and spoken with the Realtor.

I've attached the MLS listing, page 2 of 10 of the Purchase Contract and Page 5 of 5 of the Sellers Real Property Disclosure Statement.

There is no mention of shutters on the MLS listing. Page 5 of 5, "Line 17. Other Matters", on the signed Sellers Property Real Disclosure Statement the Seller states, "no shutters". On the referenced page 2 of 10 of the Purchase Contract which begins with "Line 50 Section 5"; there's no reference to storm shutters(or in the rest of the purchase contract). Nor does the inspection report contain any reference to shutters. I'd have attached it as well but every page contains personal info.

Mr. ******, In reviewing these papers and speaking with the Realtor I believe any reference made to any hurrican hardening had to do with the Garage Door and the pins referred to in the Sellers Real Property Disclosure Statement. I further believe the report your referring to is the Wind Mitigation report of which we never received a copy. I was told by the Realtor that you had spoken with the Inspection Company and were told that he had in fact put the wrong pictures on your Wind Mitigation report (as well as two other reports)

As to refusing to accept a certified letter. This is the first we've heard of a certified letter.

Having seen it frequently, I appreciate the anxiety surrounding any home purchase, as well as how much more stressful that purchase is when that purchase is done long distance, hoping to consider and account for every scenerio and counting on other peoples ears and eyes.

I am sorry for the frustration you must feel and I'd be happy to review all of these papers with you personally.




Consumer's Final Response
Thank you for providing us with the response in regards to our complaint. It truly sickens us to read it which is simply just full of lies and fictional happenings. Her attachments also includes another altered document. Obviously she is trying to paint us in a bad light in order to make her case seem more believeable. It is very difficult to defend ourselves to you against someone who has lost complete sight of the truth. However, the fact is that her responses only strengthen our case to go forward, since they are loaded with lies and include falsified documents.
We have sent you the Seller's Disclosure earlier in this process, which clearly shows she altered it. The original one we had dated Juy. 9th had simply shows the "pool solar system" written in #17 Other Matters. ****** ****** went back in and added, "No shutters pins for garage door." As you can see on the line, the writing is not the same, which is incriminating in itself. Today we have also forwarded a second e-mail for your records in regards to her lack of credibility. This e-mail that she sent to us on July 11th reads in the first paragraph, " I will confirm with the seller regarding the car. Since she only has one, I don't think this will be a problem." That makes sense, but what she sent to you in her attachments along with her most recent statement has been altered and it does not even make sense. The copy she sent to you reads, " I will confirm with the seller regarding the car. Since she only has one, I ____ think this will be a problem." ****** somehow took out the word "don't". Also, just for the record, we are paying Out-of-State tuition for our son at FGCU and we were in Fort Myers to move him in for the semester. We did not bring any paperwork to the school. His tuition was already paid. Unfortunately, those are just a couple of the lies in her statement that she sent to you. We could go on and on rebutting her comments, but her statement just verifies how unstable and unprofessional she is and we cannot in good conscience let her continue to treat people in this manner who put their trust in her. This trust was magnified since we are out of state buyers. She completely took advantage of this and is continuing to do so to try to cover up her lies and mistakes. We understand the limitations of your organization and greatly appreciate your help in this matter. However, it is not resolved and we do plan to move forward at this time.
Please look for the email mentioned above that I have forwarded. The email is dated July 11, 2012. Please scroll down until you get to that email dated 7/11 and the part that has been altered by ****** ****** is in the first paragraph. I have put '******' in the Subject Box. Thank you very much for all of the time and effort you have put into this.
Sincerely,
***********************
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/06/2005Business started: 02/01/2004
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Real Estate
PO Box 1900
Orlando, FL32802-1900
(407) 245-0800

Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax
101 S Washington Blvd
Sarasota, FL34236-6940
(941) 861-8300
http://www.SarasotaTaxCollector.com

BBB records show a license number of BK3075426 for this company, issued by Division of Real Estate.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 990010073917 for this company, issued by Sarasota County Tax Collector - Business Tax. Their web address is http://www.SarasotaTaxCollector.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CQ1020390 for this company, issued by Division of Real Estate.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2004, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. "Erick" Jonathon Phelps (President)
Business Category

Real Estate, Property Management Companies

Industry Tips
Buying a Foreclosed Home? Know the Facts
Buying An Unbuilt Home
Home Fire Protection
Land for Sale!
Preparing to Sell Your Home
Purchasing Your Dream Vacation Home
Storm Clean-up Schemes Cause Additional Heartache
You Need to Hold an Estate Sale... Where to Begin?

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Corin Bay Real Estate Marketing and Sales, Inc.

2051 Englewood Rd

Englewood, FL 34223-1732

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2051 Englewood Rd 

    Englewood, FL 34223-1732

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Corin Bay Real Estate Marketing and Sales, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 477-0060
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.