BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Alumni Research, Inc.

Phone: (724) 935-6527Fax: (727) 845-8842

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

190 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 77 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues148
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Other2
Problems with Product / Service31
Total Closed Complaints190

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (190)
11/20/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have not received the alumni directory ordered and I'm seeking a refund.
In December of 2012 I placed an order with Alumni Research, Inc. for a *********** **** ****** Alumni Directory. Alumni Research, Inc. said they were under contract with *********** ****** ******* ********* *********** On 1-1-13, I submitted check # **** for the amount of $66.90, acct. # KXXXXX. It was written that a copy of the directory was being printed and scheduled for shipment July 2013. Since that time I have been told shipment would be, October 2013 and again Spring of 2014. To date, I have not received a copy of the directory. On September 24, 2014, I received a phone call from ******** *********** ****** ******** X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, informing that Alumni Research, Inc. has gone out of business.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking to get reimbursed for that amount of $66.90 paid to receive a copy of the *********** ****************** directory.

Business Response
We have recently been informed by the Better Business Bureau (BBB) that you have filed a complaint regarding Alumni Research, Inc. with their organization.

As stated on the BBB website, we are not a BBB accredited business. This is by our choice. We have never applied for accreditation and, quite frankly, nor do we ever plan to do so at any future date. We feel that Alumni Research, Inc. and our customers are better served working directly with each other to resolve any differences. With twenty years of business serving our customer, we have absolute confidence that we have, and can continue to, successfully work directly with our customers. Using a third-party organization as no more than a conduit serves not benefit to either party. Lastly, for your information, a business has "no legal mandate to maintain a relationship" or work with the BBB.

Enclosed please find a response to your complaint. All further communication needs to come directly to Alumni Research, Inc. from you. We will no longer address communication that comes through a third party such as the BBB.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I feel if Alumni Research can contact the BBB, they should do the same and contact me directly and refund the money I paid for the merchandise. Per Leavenworth High School, Leavenworth, KS, Alumni Research has filed bankruptcy and cannot be reached at the location submitted on the letter. What is the website for me to contact Alumni Research since no further communication will be made through the BBB? Thank you.


Consumer Response
I called the number on the attached document from Alumni research and spoke with ******* in Customer Service. I am supposed to receive a letter in about a week. Per ******* the letter has to be signed and returned to Alumni Research before a refund can be submitted. I think it's a shame that anyone who has submitted payment for an alumni directory has to contact the company before any transaction can be done. This should be an automated refund since the company has not fulfilled their obligation. Waiting to see if I receive the refund. Thank you.

11/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered and paid for an alumni directory in April, 2011. After many e-mails with excuses for non-delivery, I asked for a refund. Still no refund.
Ordered and sent a check for $59.95 on April 11, 2011. They received it April 13, 2011. After several letters explaining their delay in delivering, I asked for a refund. They sent me a form to fill out, my promising not to open the book when it came, and to send it back. Returned form, called several times, still no refund.

Desired Settlement
Refund of my $59.95.

Business Response
After working directly with Mr. *******, we have come to a satisfactory resolution. Please contact Mr. ******* so you may update your files to reflect this information.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have heard nothing from Alumni Research, Inc. If they have issued a refund check, I have not received it as of October 27th mail.


Business Response
After working directly with Mr. *******, we have come to a satisfactory resolution. Please contact Mr. ******* so you may update your files to reflect this information.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After more than 3 years, I FINALLY received my refund check. Thank BBB for your assistance.

10/28/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ON 3/14/2011 I SENT A CHECK FOR $69.95 TO ALUMNI RESEARCH FOR A ********* **** ******* YEARBOOK.CHECK # ***** THEIR ACCOUNT #KXXXXX.
NO R3SPONSES.
ALL I EVER GOT WAS RECORDED MESSAGES TO LEAVE MY NAME AND PHONE NUMBER. NO RESPONSES. ALL I WANT IS A REFUND AFTER THREE YEARS OF DECEIT.

THANK YOU ****** ****** ******

Desired Settlement
I DESIRE A REFUND OF $69.95

Business Response
We have recently been informed by the Better Business Bureau (BBB) that you have filed a complaint regarding Alumni Research, Inc. with their organization.

As stated on the BBB website, we are not a BBB accredited business. This is by our choice. We have never applied for accreditation and, quite frankly, nor do we ever plan to do so at any future date. We feel that Alumni Research, Inc. and our customers are better served working directly with each other to resolve any differences. With twenty years of business serving our customer, we have absolute confidence that we have, and can continue to, successfully work directly with our customers. Using a third-party organization as no more than a conduit serves not benefit to either party. Lastly, for your information, a business has "no legal mandate to maintain a relationship" or work with the BBB.

Enclosed please find a response to your complaint. All further communication needs to come directly to Alumni Research, Inc. from you. We will no longer address communication that comes through a third party such as the BBB.




Business Response
After working directly with Ms. ******, we have come to a satisfactory resolution. Please contact Ms. ****** so you may update your files to reflect this information.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
REFUND CHECK WAS SUBMITTED.

10/28/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered and paid for a directory in March, 2012. I've never received the book and called thousands of times requesting a refund. Today is 8/8/14.
I paid $22.30 on 1/30/12, 2/28/12 and 3/28/12 for a total of $66.90 as they requested. My account # is KXXXXX. Today is 8/8/14 and I still have not received my refund after hundreds of calls to ***** ***** who seems to be the only person that you can talk too. On 6/5/14 ***** mailed a form to me to fill out and return to her agreeing that IF the directory comes to me, I will return it to them unopened. I received the form, filled it out and returned it on 6/10/14 to the Attention of ******** as ***** had instructed. No word, nothing. I keep calling and when I get ***** on the phone, she just says she's sorry and will check on it and call me back, but she never calls me back. I have made it very clear that I do NOT want the directory, I will return it if it comes and I do expect my refund. I asked her to allow me to speak to someone in charge and she said they don't take calls. I told her how convenient for them since I have read on line from many disgusted customers that are in the same position as myself. I paid my money as they requested in 2012 with nothing in return. That's just not fair. These people and their company should be shut down! I want my $66.90 back and if anyone ever mentions ordering from this company, I will make sure they know what type of people they are! I hope someone can help me. I don't know what else to do.

Desired Settlement
All I want is my refund of $66.90. I don't think that is to much to ask since this has gone on since early 2012.

Business Response
After working directly with Ms. *******, we have come to a satisfactory resolution. Please contact Ms. ******* so you may update your files to reflect this information.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After hundreds of calls and emails to this company, I was distraught so I sent my last and final email to them on October 3, 2014, stating that they would not hear from me again and I would now turn to other outside sources for help in obtaining my refund. Then on October 20, 2014, I received a phone call from ***** ***** saying my refund had been processed and I should receive it shortly. I was most surprised. On October 24, 2014, I received my refund check and will take it to the bank this week. I can't express my gratitude in you following up with this issue and contacting the company. They truly should be shut down completely. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for all your help. I will always be forever grateful. ** *******

08/12/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband was suppose to get his Alumni Book in June 2013. It is now almost June 2014
Then account number is KXXXXX

Desired Settlement
We would like the book or a refund. $70.90

Thank you

Business Response
We have recently been informed by the Better Business Bureau (BBB) that you have filed a complaint regarding Alumni Research, Inc. with their organization.

As stated on the BBB website, we are not a BBB accredited business. This is by our choice. We have never applied for accreditation and, quite frankly, nor do we ever plan to do so at any future date. We feel that Alumni Research, Inc. and our customers are better served working directly with each other to resolve any differences. With twenty years of business serving our customer, we have absolute confidence that we have, and can continue to, successfully work directly with our customers. Using a third-party organization as no more than a conduit serves not benefit to either party. Lastly, for your information, a business has "no legal mandate to maintain a relationship" or work with the BBB.

Enclosed please find a response to your complaint. All further communication needs to come directly to Alumni Research, Inc. from you. We will no longer address communication that comes through a third party such as the BBB.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Since it has suppose to be at the printers, we will wait for it. We will never order any more of these books from this company.

Page 1 of 6
01/22/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
July 11, 2013 I ordered a ****** **** School ****** Directory from the Alumni Directory Office located in Holiday, Florida. I paid for the order with a personal check and mailed the payment to the Company. According to their CONFIRMATION & INVOICE the Directory was to be shipped in February 2014.February came & went and no directory. In April 2013 we followed up on the Directory and we were informed we could expect delivery in the summer of 2014. Summer came and went and still not directory. We again followed up with the contact we had and as of today we have heard no response from the Company regarding the Directory.
Product_Or_Service: ****** **** ****** ****** *********
Account_Number: KXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I paid $59.95 & I would like this amount refunded. I would also like BBB's records to reflect this Company does not honor its commitments.

Business Response
We have recently been informed by the Better Business Bureau (BBB) that you have filed a complaint regarding Alumni Research, Inc. with their organization.

As stated on the BBB website, we are not a BBB accredited business. Th isy our choice. We have never applied for accreditation and, quite rankly, nor do we ever plan to do so at any future date. We feel that Alumni Research, Inc. and our customers are better served working directly with each other to resolve any differences. With twenty years of business serving our customers, we have absolute confidence that we have, and can continue to,
successfully work directly with our customers. Using a third-party organization as no more than a conduit serves no benefit to either party. Lastly, for your information, a business has "no legal mandate to maintain a relationship" or work with the BBB.

Enclosed please find a response to your complaint. All further communication needs to come directly to Alumni Research, Inc. from you. We will no longer address communication that comes through a third party such as the BBB.
R. ******
CEO


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Apparently the information is available online, but I did not pay for online access. I do not understand why the print version is not available nor why they cannot provide a date when it will be shipped.

I will never deal with this Company again!

12/22/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ordered and paid for a directory that was never shipped. They will not return calls. Was to be shipped June,2012. Requested $ back 1/3/14. $66.90
same as above

Desired Settlement
money back $66.90

BJB 11/10/14 sent email to b for A RESPONSE.

Business Response
We do not have a current customer that matches the name **** *******.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
OK Try ***** *******. Account KXXXXX. No directory since it was promised ***** ****** **** ****** 2012! $ sent ($66.90) 8/9/11. I have talked to a ******* and ***** with a promise $$ was going to be returned the beginning of 2014. Now I can't get them to return phone calls.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Try under*************** ***** And ************ are married and ordered the book together. Many people from the Falls want this issue resolved. How do we pay for a product that isn't printed and delivered? Please refund the money. Again look under *************

12/01/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My mother pd for a directory in Nov '12-she has not rec'd the directory and they refuse to return her money or give a delivery date.
My 82 yr old mother ordered and pd $66.90 for a directory in Nov. '12. Our phone calls and emails have either not been answered or we are told they cannot give us a delivery date. This is totally unacceptable after 1 yr/4 mo. She is upset and doesn't understand why they won't send her directory. She prefers to have the directory because she put info in about her grandchildren and great-grandchildren and wants to show them. However, when I asked about a refund, they state they cannot possibly do that either. We feel our hands are tied-what can we do?

Desired Settlement
She would like her directory.

Business Response
We do not have a customer by the name of ***** ******. In addition, we only discuss accounts with the account holder unless there is legal (i.e. P.O.A.) documents in place to discuss with a third party.

Business Response
We do not have a customer by the name of ***** ******. In addition, we only discuss accounts with the account holder unless there is legal (i.e. P.O.A.) documents in place to discuss with a third party.


Consumer Response
Just sw the letter from Alumni Research's CEO about my not being a customer. I spoke to them on 7/14 and that is the first time they refused to speak to me further about this directory. Until 7/14/14 they spoke to me, and only me, each and every time. I realize this is their latest stall tactic - do you think a copy of my mom's POA, showing my brother and I as POAs for her) is necessary in this case? I am not sure I want them to have that document. This is not protected information, medical or otherwise, so as I stated, yet another stall tactic by this company. My mother is so disappointed and we are now realizing any directory sent at this point would be outdated. The information on everyone who submitted something is now 1 1/2 years old, including my dad passing away in February. They also told me on 7/14 that I would have to go to ******* ******** **** ****** for a refund. How stupid is that? My mom's high school is not going to issue a refund to her - they don't, and never have had, the money. ANYTHING else we can do to get her money back?


Consumer Response

Thanks for your help, but I will not be sending a copy of my mother's POA. I checked and I do not need a copy of her POA to be able to speak to them on her behalf about a book order. This is just another stall tactic by Alumni Research because they have tired of my calls every couple of weeks. If I need to speak to them, I will have my mother call and I will be on the line. I am not giving them a legal document to speak to them and have them tell me over and over again that they have no idea when they will ship my mother's directory and that they refuse to refund her money - they have been speaking to me, and only me, since June 2013 (15 months). ******* ******** **** ****** will not issue her a refund because they do not have, and have never had, the money paid for the directory. That money went straight to Alumni Research and they have had it since November 2012. They asked me to request a refund from the high school. Yet, another diversion on their part. I did send a claim to the PA Attorney General's office and I have enlisted the help of ***** ****** the Consumer Investigator for our local NBC TV station, **** ** Thanks for your response and your assistance on my mother's behalf.

***** ******

Business Response
We do not have a customer by the name of ***** ******. In addition, we only discuss accounts with the account holder unless there is legal (i.e. P.O.A.) documents in place to discuss with a third party.


Consumer Response
Just sw the letter from Alumni Research's CEO about my not being a customer. I spoke to them on 7/14 and that is the first time they refused to speak to me further about this directory. Until 7/14/14 they spoke to me, and only me, each and every time. I realize this is their latest stall tactic - do you think a copy of my mom's POA, showing my brother and I as POAs for her) is necessary in this case? I am not sure I want them to have that document. This is not protected information, medical or otherwise, so as I stated, yet another stall tactic by this company. My mother is so disappointed and we are now realizing any directory sent at this point would be outdated. The information on everyone who submitted something is now 1 1/2 years old, including my dad passing away in February. They also told me on 7/14 that I would have to go to ******* ******** **** ****** for a refund. How stupid is that? My mom's high school is not going to issue a refund to her - they don't, and never have had, the money. ANYTHING else we can do to get her money back?


Consumer Response

Thanks for your help, but I will not be sending a copy of my mother's POA. I checked and I do not need a copy of her POA to be able to speak to them on her behalf about a book order. This is just another stall tactic by Alumni Research because they have tired of my calls every couple of weeks. If I need to speak to them, I will have my mother call and I will be on the line. I am not giving them a legal document to speak to them and have them tell me over and over again that they have no idea when they will ship my mother's directory and that they refuse to refund her money - they have been speaking to me, and only me, since June 2013 (15 months). ******* ******** **** ****** will not issue her a refund because they do not have, and have never had, the money paid for the directory. That money went straight to Alumni Research and they have had it since November 2012. They asked me to request a refund from the high school. Yet, another diversion on their part. I did send a claim to the PA Attorney General's office and I have enlisted the help of ***** ****** the Consumer Investigator for our local NBC TV station, WGAL 8. Thanks for your response and your assistance on my mother's behalf.

***** ******


Business Response
Our response remains unchanged. This is our business policy and we ask that you close this file satisfactorily/administratively. When Ms. ****** produces a legal document giving her the ability to make decisions for our customer, we will gladly work with her.


Business Response
We are requesting that the above referenced case be revised either to show that ***** ****** is not a customer of Alumni Research, Inc. so therefore, has no right to file a complaint or that it is closed in a satisfactory manner as we maintain that our company policy regarding discussing accounts with anyone other than the accountholder is not a BBB matter but rather an internal one. We find no basis for an unsatisfactory closure in this matter.


Consumer Response
Thank you for your response. I cannot understand that in this country businesses are permitted to take money from customers and 22 months later, still have not delivered the item that was paid for in good faith. Companies like Alumni Research should have no voluntary self-regulatory power, because or their abuse of it. I see the latest response again asking for a legal document to speak on behalf of my mother - I have been speaking to them all along thru this process and now, 2 months ago, they will no longer speak to me without a POA? My mother herself has asked for her money back in writing - is that what we need to do again? Have her send a signed letter again & will they then refund her money? She will gladly do that, although they have stated prior that they cannot and will not refund her money - a letter directly from ** ******* The next several phone calls after that I was told (and yes, they spoke directly to me) that I would receive a refund after filling out a form sent to me from the again elusive, ** ******* I was told that same thing over and over again and a form never arrived for my mother to fill out - finally, on July 15, they stated they can no longer speak to me after speaking to me for the previous 13 months. I cannot believe they can stall like this asking for a legal document & steal her money. My father passed away on 2/27 of this year and $66.90 may not seem like a lot of money to Alumni Research, but because her income has seriously changed this year, it is a lot of money to her. I will continue with the Attorney General's offices here in PA and in FL. Also, I have reached out to the FTC. I understand that you can do no more for me, but any assistance recommending other agencies would be helpful. Thank you.

11/18/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A alumni book was ordered in November 2012. Have not received it yet. Called and asked for a refund in Aug 2014. So far No check.
I was contacted by *********** ****** **** ****** representative asking if I would like to buy a Alumni book. I agreed to purchase one. Sent payment of $66.95 as soon as I received a letter from them. Letter was dated November 8, 2012. letter stated the book was scheduled for shipment in July 2013. There is also in this letter a contact here in *********** she is listed as ********** ********* I have tried to contact her at the phone number listed in the letter. Have not been able to speak with her. Also sent her e-mails. No results from that either. I kept waiting for the book and it never arrived. Called this company several times after July 2013 and really didn't get any answers. So I waited to see if book would arrive but still have no book. Called them on Aug. 12 2014 and asked for a refund. Lady told me she would put in request that day. Called back on Sept. 17th 2014 and lady said check was being processed and she would call me when she heard something. Haven't heard anything and it is 30th of September I called today got message to leave telephone number and name and they would get back to me shortly. No one has called today. I don't know how long it takes them to process a check. But I would like a refund of my money. They have had it for a year and a half. I assume none of the people who ordered the books received them. They sent me a form to sign saying I had so many days to get it back to them and if I received the book I had so many days to send it back. The form was mailed back to them the day I got it.

Desired Settlement
I should ask for interest since they have had my money for almost 2 years and I have not received the book. But I just want my money back which is $66.90. And in a timely manner.

Business Response
We have recently been informed by the Better Business Bureau (BBB) that you have filed a
complaint regarding Alumni Research, Inc, with their organization.

As stated on the BBB website, we are not a BBB accredited business. This is by our choice.
We have never applied for accreditation and, quite frankly, nor do we ever plan to do so at
any future date. We feel that Alumni Research, Inc. and our customers are better served working directly with each other to resolve any differences. With twenty years of business serving our customers, we have absolute confidence that we have, and can continue to,
successfully work directly with our customers, Using a third-party organization as no more
than a conduit serves no benefit to either party. Lastly, for your information, a business has
"no legal mandate to maintain a relationship" or work with the BBB.

Enclosed please find a response to your complaint. All further communication needs to
come directly to Alumni Research, Inc. from you. We will no longer address communication
that comes through a third party such as the BBB.

Sincerely;
R.******
CEO



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have been told that the company has gone out of business. I do not like their response. I was told in the response that they more or less have nothing to do with bbb and I am to correspond with them . I have called numerous times and have been told that everyone was busy answering calls and to leave a message and they would call back. I have not received any response from them since Sept.17th when lady I spoke with said my refund was being processed and she would call me back when she heard anything. I called again today Oct. 20th 2014 and got same message. Looks like no one who ordered alumni book will receive either book nor refund. If you have any other suggestions on what to do please let me know.

Final Business Response
On October 14, 2014, we mailed you two letters (in the same envelope). Your rebuttal through the Better Business Bureau does not seem to acknowledge the second letter at all. Attached you will find that letter which provides you our position at this time.
In addition, we will reiterate that if you have any other questions, they be directed to us at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. If you must leave a message, please make certain to include the following as prompted on the message: name, phone number and the school you attended. Without this information, we will not be able to return the call.
With all the information, and misinformation, available to all of us online, we would caution you to go to the source before making decisions or judgments on any situation.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received a letter from R.****** CEO of Alumni Research Inc. today 11/3/2014 in response to my letter I sent to him last part of Oct.2014. I do not wish for you to send this response to their company. I am not satisfied with his answers but seems as if this writing back and forth is going nowhere. I did receive a letter thanking me for my patience during the delay in receiving my Alumni Directory. And while I was waiting for it was given the opportunity to access the information in the directory on computer. Stating that information is normally available for a fee of $39.95 for first year and they were providing it to me at no additional charge as a show of appreciation for my patience. My point for writing them was it has been over 2 years since I sent money to them and expected to receive the directory which I have never gotten. I asked for a refund of my money and was sent a form to sign saying I would return the directory when I received it and was assuming I would get the refund which I have not. So see no use in writing letters back and forth and getting no results other than their offer to read it on the computer. I have talked to another person who ordered a directory also and she has heard nothing from the company. Thank You for your assistance. I am just going to wait and see what happens. Again Please do not forward this response to them.

10/28/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
As of 6/28/13 Non-delivery of Alumni Directory ordered in Sept. 2011, check of $66.90 has cleared the bank.
Account # KXXXXX. Have called Alumni Directory many times during the past 21 months, also attempted to contact local representative with no response. Alumni Directory has called me back,stating that there was trouble getting information from local rep. which is absurd, as I gave information by phone directly to Alumni Directory Office. Email received from them this week indicates the directory will be coming out "soon". My 50th school reunion was October 2012. It would have been nice to have had the directory at that time. Why has it taken this long? Will I eve get a directory? Can I get a refund?

Desired Settlement
Woulf much more prefer to receive the directory. already have two and I have been very pleased with the information they contain. However, if no directory is to be provided soon, would like full refund.

Business' Initial Response
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the complaint filed by **** ***** with the Better Business Bureau regarding the Alumni Directory that she special ordered from Alumni Research, Inc.

We have contacted Ms. ***** directly to come to an amicable resolution. However, I feel the need to note that we have no record of Ms. ***** ever contacting us after ordering her directory. In addition, she states that she would have liked to have had the directory for her 50th school reunion in October 2012. Although this directory is running behind schedule it was never due to come out before that reunion.

Consumer Response
Ordered high school directory 10/7/2011, paid $66.40. Have not received item. Contacted this co. and rep stated no date for publication had been set.
Paid $66.40 for high school directory on 10/7/2011. Approx. one year ago, representative at this company was very evasive as to publication date. Our 50th reunion committee could have used this information to contact class members in 2012. Several class members are inquiring about the non-delivery of item and/or explanation from company.
Either delivery of promised and paid for item, or refund of payment.

Page 1 of 3
11/11/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered the Alumni high school directory. Paid in advance. Received notice delay in printing and delivery in Spring 2014. Still has not be delivered
Paid for Alumni directory from my high school. Have not received the directory to date. Received notice there was a printing delay and would be delivered in spring 2014. Still has not been delivered. Check was long since cashed. Called and left numerous messages on voice mail. Latest one was 10/17/2014. No response from company. Sent email to account reps. Email address was gathered from thier web site. Undeliverable message returned.

Desired Settlement
I would like the item I purchased and if not available a refund of the purchase price.

Business Response
We have recently been informed by the Better Business Bureau (BBB) that you have filed a complaint regarding Alumni Research, Inc. with their organization.

As stated on the BBB website, we are not a BBB accredited business. This is by our choice. We have never applied for accreditation and, quite frankly, nor do we ever plan to do so at any future date. We feel that Alumni Research, Inc. and our customers are better served working directly with each other to resolve any differences. With twenty years of business serving our customer, we have absolute confidence that we have, and can continue to, successfully work directly with our customers. Using a third-party organization as no more than a conduit serves not benefit to either party. Lastly, for your information, a business has "no legal mandate to maintain a relationship" or work with the BBB.

Enclosed please find a response to your complaint. All further communication needs to come directly to Alumni Research, Inc. from you. We will no longer address communication that comes through a third party such as the BBB.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Alumni Research has not addressed the complaint nor provided any relief to the complaint and continues to dodge the orginal complaint by hiding behind a statement they are not BBB accredited business.

11/10/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
non receipt of Alumni Directory and non return of payment when requested
I have been waiting since June of 2012 to receive the ********** **** ****** directory. It has been paid for in full since then($66,90). As of this date I have not received said directory. I have spoke to several people and have got nothing but the run around. The last time I spoke to someone I was told that there were some problems and it would be available soon, and that was over 4 months ago. I demand a full refund of my money within the next 10 days this was requestedseveral times.

Desired Settlement
refund within the next ten days of $66.90 paid over two years ago

Business Response
We have recently been informed by the Better Business Bureau (BBB) that you have filed a complaint regarding Alumni Research, Inc. with their organization.

As stated on the BBB website, we are not a BBB accredited business. This is by our choice. We have never applied for accreditation and, quite frankly, nor do we ever plan to do so at any future date. We feel that Alumni Research, Inc. and our customers are better served working directly with each other to resolve any differences. With twenty years of business serving our customer, we have absolute confidence that we have, and can continue to, successfully work directly with our customers. Using a third-party organization as no more than a conduit serves not benefit to either party. Lastly, for your information, a business has "no legal mandate to maintain a relationship" or work with the BBB.

Enclosed please find a response to your complaint. All further communication needs to come directly to Alumni Research, Inc. from you. We will no longer address communication that comes through a third party such as the BBB.

11/10/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered an alumni directory 9/20/2011 from Alumni Research for $66.90. As of 10/17/2014, I still have not received the book.
Order was placed 9/20/2011; account # KXXXXX.
My check ***** for $66.90. After multiple promises that the book was still coming, I finally requested a refund in 2013.
I received a letter form **** ******** in Customer Service 11/6/2013 informing me that I needed to sign an agreement to return the directory (assuming I ever received one) within 5 days or I would be re-billed for the directory.
I waited another 4 months to see if the book arrived, which it did not, then signed the release and mailed it to Alumni Research on 3/31/2014 Another 6 months have passed, and still no refund (or book).
I called Alumni Research 10/13/2014 & spoke to "***** ******* in customer service who gave me the same run around I've been getting for the past 3 years. She would not let me speak to a supervisor, or to anyone who would do ANYTHING to resolve this issue.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of $66.90.

Business Response
We have recently been informed by the Better Business Bureau (BBB) that you have filed a
complaint regarding Alumni Research, Inc. with their organization.

As stated on the BBS website, we are not a BBB accredited business. This is by our choice.
We have never applied for accreditation and, quite frankly, nor do we ever plan to do so at
any future date, We feel that Alumni Research, Inc. and our customers are better served
working directly with each other to resolve any differences. With twenty years of business
serving our customers, we have absolute confidence that we have, and can continue to,
successfully work directly with our customers. Using a third-party organization as no more
than a conduit serves no benefit to either party. Lastly, for your information, a business has
"no legal mandate to maintain a relationship" or work with the BBB.

Enclosed please find a response to your complaint. All further communication needs to
come directly to Alumni Research, Inc. from you. We will no longer address communication that comes through a third party such as the BBB.

Sincerely,
** ******
CEO

11/10/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a deluxe hard cover alumni directory in the fall of 2012. Delivery was originally scheduled for July 2013-still haven't received.
Purchased a deluxe hard cover alumni directory September 2012. The total amount paid was $66.90. Delivery was originally scheduled for July 2013. I inquired in August of 2013 and was told delivery had been delayed and the book would ship in October 2013. I still haven't received the book or heard from the company.

Desired Settlement
What I paid: $66.90.

Business Response
We have recently been informed by the Better Business Bureau (BBB) that you have filed a complaint regarding Alumni Research, Inc. with their organization.

As stated on the BBB website, we are not a BBB accredited business. This is by our choice. We have never applied for accreditation and, quite frankly, nor do we ever plan to do so at any future date. We feel that Alumni Research, Inc. and our customers are better served working directly with each other to resolve any differences. With twenty years of business serving our customer, we have absolute confidence that we have, and can continue to, successfully work directly with our customers. Using a third-party organization as no more than a conduit serves not benefit to either party. Lastly, for your information, a business has "no legal mandate to maintain a relationship" or work with the BBB.

Enclosed please find a response to your complaint. All further communication needs to come directly to Alumni Research, Inc. from you. We will no longer address communication that comes through a third party such as the BBB.

11/10/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered an alumni directory for my husband technical school. I paid installments for this item. I have never received any product of any kind.
The product ordered is a Deluxe Hard Cover Directory (1) $59.95 plus $6.95 shipping. Product Description is ********* **** ****** ****** ********* **** ** ***** ********** I paid three installments totaling $66.60. I have made numerous phone calls to X-XXX-XXX-XXXX to ask where when this item will arrive. Payments made in September 2011, October 2011, December 2011. Phone calls have been made approximately monthly since then, maybe as many as 20 calls to date, July 2014. The response is always the same. "The product will arrive shortly, we are sorry, we have experiencing a temporary printing delay with this particular book due to high demand." Or similar response.

Desired Settlement
I would really like to get this book.

Business Response
We have recently been informed by the Better Business Bureau (BBB) that you have filed a
complaint regarding Alumni Research, Inc. with their organization.

As stated on the BBS website, we are not a BBB accredited business. This is by our choice.
We have never applied for accreditation and, quite frankly, nor do we ever plan to do so at
any future date, We feel that Alumni Research, Inc. and our customers are better served
working directly with each other to resolve any differences. With twenty years of business
serving our customers, we have absolute confidence that we have, and can continue to,
successfully work directly with our customers. Using a third-party organization as no more
than a conduit serves no benefit to either party. Lastly, for your information, a business has
"no legal mandate to maintain a relationship" or work with the BBB.

Enclosed please find a response to your complaint. All further communication needs to
come directly to Alumni Research, Inc. from you. We will no longer address communication that comes through a third party such as the BBB.

Sincerely,
** ******
CEO

Page 1 of 8
07/13/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered an alumni book two years ago and still have not received it. I want a refund




In June 2013, I ordered an alumni book. November 13, 2013, I hadn't received the book so I called and spoke to ***** who said I would receive the book soon. January 13, 2014, I still hadn't received the book so I called again and spoke to *******, who said I would receive the book soon. I called numerous times and they would always say the book was on its way and I would receive it soon. More than a year later, I finally decided I was never going to get the book so I called and told them I wanted a refund. They said I would have to send the book back in order to get my refund so I waited several more months but still didn't receive the book. I called and asked them how I was supposed to send the book back if I never get it and told them to give me my money back because by now it has been 2 years and I still haven't seen any sign of the book. At this point I don't believe anything they have told me and I don't believe I'll ever get this book. The last 2 times I've called, I've talked to ***** and she said instead of waiting on the book to arrive and then returning it to get my refund, they would go ahead and refund my money and allow me to send the book back upon arrival but it has been another 2 months and I still haven't received my money and still no sign of the book. Every time I call, they just say they're sorry I haven't received my book and that they will relay the message. I have been given the run around for 2 years and they don't seem too concerned with satisfying me as their customer.

Account # KXXXXX
Paid by Check
Amount - $66.90

Desired Settlement
I want my money back without waiting on the arrival of the book, which is clearly never coming.

06/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been waiting for approximately 3 years for the directory that I paid nearly $100 for.
The item is a Directory that was promised nearly three years ago and to this day, I have yet to receive it. In a day of print on demand, I would think that it would be easier now, than when they took orders before and actually printed a directory. They gave me an on-line directory but that's not what I paid for. I paid for a book.

Desired Settlement
I would like either the book or my money back.

06/29/2015 | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid for a high school alumni directory which has never been delivered. It has been almost 2 years since I paid for it.
Account # KXXXXX, paid by check $66.90 on 24 July 2013, for a ********* ******** **** ******* **** ****** ******** alumni directory. It was to have been delivered by CHRISTMAS of 2013, but upon contacting the business i early 2014, they said they didn't have all the information yet. I contacted my high school alumni director, and she stated the company had received ALL of the information but was stonewalling for some unknown reason. The high school alumni news directed all persons who had paid for a directory to place a complaint with the Florida Better Business Bureau in hopes of getting 1) the directory published and/or 2) a refund of the purchase price.

Desired Settlement
Give me my money back in full as it appears they will never publish the directory for which they have been paid.

06/29/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our High School Alumni Association contracted with Alumni Research, Inc. to deliver a directory in 2012. They took our $ and still no directory.
Many members of our Alumni have paid myself included $66 for a directory and they have not printed our books or offered us a refund of our payments from 2012. Many of our members are senior citizens. Need our books or a refund. Company does not return our calls.

Desired Settlement
we need our books or a full refund.

06/01/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ordered year book 7/11/13 called 1/15/14 for a refund called again 2/25/14 no refund yet again called on 3/19/15 for refund
year book account number KXXXXX

Desired Settlement
just to get my money back its been 2 yrs

Page 1 of 10
04/26/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Would like a refund of $66.90 as deliverey has not been received. Order date is August 26, 2014. Account #KXXXXX
Account #KXXXXX, dated August 26, 2014

Desired Settlement
Since waiting since August 26, 2014 for the book, I would like a refund of $66.90.

I tried to resolve this by mailing to the address at 3333 US Highway 19 St3 3, Holiday, Fl 34691. This letter was returned.

04/20/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered and paid for the Versailles High School Alumni Book. I never did get it. Then there was no way to contact them. This was back in 2013.
I ordered the Versailles High School Alumni Book. I paid for the book when I ordered it. The last E-mail that I got was saying the book was almost ready to be sent out. Then shortly after that, there was no way to get in contact with them.

Desired Settlement
If I'm getting the book,then I think I should get my money back.

04/12/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Alumni Directory for Bayside H.S. purchased but not delivered.
May 4, 2015 A Bayside High School Alumni Directory was purchased from Alumni Research for $63.95 with a promised delivery date of March 2016. Have not received the directory and have not been able to contact the Company. Telephone #s have all been disconnected. My check was deposited In Wells Fargo Bank Acct. # XXXXXXXXXX Alumni Research, Inc on 5/15/2015

Desired Settlement
I understand that Company filed for Bankrupcy. Owner should be prosecuted for fraud

04/12/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid for but did not receive the Brothers of the Sacred Heart Alumni Directory.
On March 8, 2014 mailed check #5225 in the amount of $63.95 to Alumni Directory Office, **** US Highway 19, Ste 3, Holiday, FL XXXXX-XXXX, Acct # KXXXXX for my copy of the Brothers of the Sacred Heart Alumni directory. Sometime in 2015 I called the Customer Service #X-XXX-XXX-XXXX and was told still in progress. Sadly have not received the directory. Today found out the company went bankrupt. I am a graduate of 1960 St. Aloysius, New Orleans. Would appreciate help in the recovery of the amount of $63.95 or the directory.

Desired Settlement
refund of $63.95

03/15/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sent money and never received the directory. Check was cashed.
I sent a check to Alumni Directory Office for $66.90 and I was never sent the product. I was supposed to get a directory from ******** **** ****** in ********* *** It was to be done by May 2015. I called and the number is disconnected. Is there someway of getting my money back?

Desired Settlement
Refund. Seems like a con to me!

Page 1 of 13

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.