BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/10/2013

Vanguard Management Group, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (813) 930-8036Fax: (813) 930-96159300 N 16th St, TampaFL 33612-8698FacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides condo/hoa accounting services, and self-management, assisted management and full property management services for associations.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/10/2013

BBB has determined that Vanguard Management Group, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Vanguard Management Group, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Vanguard Management Group, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
03/10/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I pay close to $500.00 a month to cover building fees and insurances, they replaced the roof and left my top floor unit ceiling damaged and refoofed
Management company double billing me each month and refusing to repair roof leak. This has been going on for years. Help!!!! It has molded and they came and cut out mold and left the ceiling open to roof.

Desired Settlement
to repair the ceiling damaged by the roof leak, which was replaced and not repaired.

Business Response
From the Property Manager...

This case had been turned over to the Association's attorney. She has been responed to in writing and instructed to reach out to counsel. Because of the sensitive nature of this case, this will be our only response:


The leak happened 4 years ago and she never reported it. She's had mold in the unit for that whole time and never reported it either. It wasn't until the downstairs neighbor started having issues that the whole turn of events came to light. Association's counsel sent her a letter outlining that failure to report the issue for that long becomes negligence on the unit owner and in turn the damages become owner responsibility to repair. She's not even living in the unit, her kids are. The Association did get bids for her to have the repairs done with the understanding that she has to pay it. She is refusing to come out of pocket these costs and has tried every angle she can to get the Association to pay for it short of calling the Associations counsel as directed in the letter or even calling her own counsel. She has also gone the route of calling myself and as many Board members as she can and has proceeded to cuss all of us out. No one is willing to speak with her in person or over the phone anymore.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The attorney wrote a letter about a totally separate issue which was easily resolved. This is about a roof leak which they are aware of have replaced the roof that was leaking. I am billed each moth directly on my credit card and then sent a bill stating I have missed my payment and to pay immediately to avoid fines. This happens every month and I have the documentation to prove it. Numerous complaints have been made about the damage and they sent a handy man to cut away the damage in the ceiling and left a gapping hole directly to the roof.
Rats etc can crawl into the unit. They have never inspected it, or returned calls over years to address problem. The ceiling stains have been a multi year issue. The new damage was caused by the previous leak and their negligence in replacing wet ceiling before enclosing the roof. There is no attorney involved nor has any representative of the management company come to see damage. They just continually say we will take care of it and nothing happens. They have not returned any phone calls ever and I have to call over and over to get the response previously noted. A licensed Attorney would never draft a statement and has never addressed this roof issue. I am not sure if there are issues in other units as it was in the small linen closet ceiling. Many others might have similar damage and not know it as it's an area that is hard to see. The smell and the mold all over the items in the closet brought it to our attention in November 2015.
We are not seeking damages at this time just resolution. This is an expensive, south tampa property and this company specializes in section 8. I strongly suggest you look at other properties they manage as the elderly or disabled may not be able to have any recourse. It's shameful and sad. Thank you for your prompt attention. I would prefer this is not released to the company as we are hoping for an amicable solution.

Final Business Response
The Attorney reversed his decision and has advised the Board to make the repairs. They working out the schedule for the repairs right now.

10/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to provide sanitary facilities as set forth by Florida's Department of Health
As a concerned resident of the ***** *** ***** neighborhood in Gibsonton, FL, I contacted Jamie, a representative of Vanguard Management Group, via e-mail to report unsanitary restroom facilities at the community pool. I re-iterated that the problem with the restrooms has been an on-going problem, for several months and the current situation has gone on for an entire week. At time of initial contact, I also CC'd the Bob, the President of Vanguard as I heard from other neighbors who had contacted Jamie previously but did not receive any return correspondence (no e-mails, no phone calls, no letters, etc.) I CC'd Bob hoping to get the attention of the people who matter within Vanguard. My e-mail was polite and contained recommendations on ways to improve the situation.

Over the next 24 hours I exchanged several e-mails with Jamie, CC'ing Bob on each one. My last e-mail to Jamie I suggested that someone should hang an "Out of Order" sign on the restroom doors, to let people know not to use them, until the issues had been fully resolved.

Later that day, I received an e-mail from Bob, the President/Owner of Vanguard, that was clearly intended to be sent to Jamie, his employee.

The e-mail reads:
"ask him if he can be a contact for things like this. The board uses their volunteered time running the assoc and it can't afford concierge service. Every once in awhile someonewill agree to post signs, let a mgr know...it can be a big help and they leave u alone instead of being a ***"

This e-mail suggests that we, "they", leave Jamie, "u", alone instead of being a nuisance.

Jamie is the rightful representative appointed to our association. Further more, the ***** *** ***** **** Owners Association is PAYING Vanguard to handle their affairs. All legal records for ***** *** ***** Home Owners Association contains the mailing address for Vanguard.

I am simply asking Vanguard to provide sanitary restrooms facilities for the community pool, in accordance with the Florida Department of Health's Florida Administrative Code, Chapter 64E-9 titled Public Swimming Pools and Bathing Places, section 64E-9.004 Operation Requirements, item (9):

"Sanitary facilities shall be maintained in a clean and sanitary condition and sanitary supplies such as toilet paper, paper towels or blow dryer, soap and waste baskets shall be provided"

Instead, *** is labeling me as a nuisance to his employees, and suggesting to his employees that someone, other than Vanguard, work for free to facilitate matters for the association, while Vanguard gets paid. Wrongful deception intended to result in financial or personal gain is known as FRAUD.

Desired Settlement
I feel that a formal apology should be made to home owners of ***** *** ****** and the home owners should expect prompt (within 48 hours), friendly, consistent customer service. Vanguard should also do a better job communicating with the home owners as to what is happening within the neighborhood. Not sharing information about the neighborhood helps no one, and only causes more inquiries and administrative 'headaches' for Vanguard.

Business Response
Greetings Sir,

I personally contacted you by telephone, well before you filed this complaint. I listened to your concerns, made notes as we spoke, reiterated your points of concern, and asked for time to research your points of concern. About 30 minutes after we spoke, I called, left you a voicemail stating that I would be scheduling a meeting with the manager and her supervisor to consider your concerns.

Despite the goodwill extended to you, four hours later, you file this complaint stating the same points that we discussed and that I assured you that I would review this week. If you truly have the interest of your community at heart, then allow us to spend your our time making SBL a better place to live, not filling out forms like this that serve no beneficial purpose. This venue of communication, the BBB, has a place, but that "place" occurs when I do not keep my word, when I do not return your calls, or when I am unresponsive. I have been none of those. You have not given me a chance to better understand and serve your association. As I told you last week, I will be meeting this week, with your manager and supervisor to review your concerns. A response will be forth coming.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The public restrooms have not been cleaned since August 24th, 2015, and possibly even earlier.

A representative of Vanguard has told me that a cleaning company comes out every Monday, Wednesday and Friday to clean the restrooms, which is 3 times per week.

Considering the toilets contain fecal matter that a flush will not remove has been present for an entire week, proves that no one is cleaning the public restrooms.

Final Business Response
Boards of Directors for associations are responsible and answer to the owners of their association. The association has regular meetings that owners are invited to attend and participate.

This platform is where all of an owner's questions can be answered or researched...again this applies to owners, and only owners as this is not a rental community,but a residential community. In the past the association had newsletters throughout the year, but found the cost unjustifiable with respect to the association's financial state of affairs.

our records indicate that Mr. ****** is not an owner. As such, there is no statutory requirements that he be provided any information, that the board address his concerns, or that he is entitled to the same services as a property owner. Therefore, This will be our last response on the matter of his complaint. If he were an owner, he could come to meetings and ask his questions. Since he is not, he should go to the person or agency that provides his housing for answers to his questions.

In closing, management prefers to work for an informed community of owners. In that Mr. ****** remains uninformed, it is most likely because he is not an owner and association business affairs and communiques are directed toward owners only.

04/27/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Payment due notices sent to wrong address. They are now seeking attorney's fees.
In May 2014 I purchased and moved into a home in the ******* ***** HOA which is managed by Vanguard Management Group. At closing the title company sent Vanguard a check for dues for the next quarter and notified Vanguard that I am the new owner and that my home is my mailing address. Vanguard cashed the check (so I know that they received the letter), but failed to update their records. They sent bills and past due notices to the bank that previously owned my home. In December I received a letter from an attorney for the HOA that lien would be put on my home if I did not pay the HOA dues, interest, mailing costs, and attorney's fees. I immediately paid the HOA dues and interest but disagreed that I should have to pay for Vanguard's failure to update their own records.

Desired Settlement
Vanguard Management Group should pay the attorney fees and certified mail costs that their attorney is seeking. This is only fair since this whole thing would have been avoid had they no failed to update their records when they were notified of the new home owner and mailing address. They obviously got that notice because they cashed the check that was included in the same mailing.

Business Response
We did not cash or receive the check from the title company on this. The attorney has the file. We were notified after the file went to the attorney. In fact, Mr. ********* purchased in October of 2014 and no estoppel was even ordered for his purchase. I have emailed with him, but have had no contact from this title company.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Vanguard's response is completely incorrect. They did receive and cash the check from the title company. They were notified immediately after I purchased the home. I did not purchase the home in October of 2014. I purchased it on May 13, 2014. And the estoppel was ordered and received. Here is the proof:

1. I have attached the estoppel letter that was ordered and supplied for the home purchase. This is the one that Vanguard said was never ordered, yet here it is. It shows that the HOA dues had previously been paid through June 30, 2014.

2. I also attached the HUD showing the HOA dues that were paid by the title company for the next three months: Jul 1, 2014 to Sept 30, 2014. Vanguard agrees that the dues were paid for this period.

3. I also attached the deed that was provided to Vanguard Management showing that I am the new owner and showing my mailing address. This was provided with the check that Vanguard received, cashed, and applied to the dues for my home. It was Vanguard's failure to update their records when they received this information that caused this whole mess.

The problem with Vanguard Management is they are too quick to take legal action and too stubborn to admit their mistakes. In order to prevent a lien being put on my home, I had to pay their attorney's fees even though it was completely their fault. Vanguard Management should refund me those fees and send me an apology.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm not sure why Vanguard is asking for a copy of the check, but here is the front and back of the check.
But again, the problem is not that they did not apply my payments when they received them. Vanguard received the first check in May 2014 for the July 2014 dues and correctly applied that to my account. They received the dues that I paid in December when I was finally notified that they were due, and those were also applied to my account. That is not the problem.
The problem is that they were notified by me in May 2014 (see the previously attached emails) and by the title company in May 2014 (see the previously attached proof of that) that I was the new home owner. Yet they sent bills for the October 2014 HOA dues to the bank that owned the home before May 2014.

I respectfully request that Vanguard reread the original complaint. They sent payment due notices to the wrong address even though they were notified multiple times that I was the owner. It was because of that failure on their part that I did not receive a bill or past due notice until after they turned it over to their lawyer who looked up who the new owner was. Because it was their mistake, they should have to pay their lawyers fees.

Final Business Response
To summarize...we have been asking for the canceled check from the title company, front and back, so we can research it. This is the date we were officially notified of a change of ownership. This is the only document we will accept and will not address future corresp until we receive it.

Here is another explanation, this time from our comptroller as to why we were not LEGALLY-OFFICIALLY Notified


The homeowner had email correspondence with ***** in our Brandon office regarding copys of Rules and declarations this would have been a normal process for her daily routine and would not require her to look up the homeowner in the system. At that time he was not in our system as a homeowner and an email does not prove that we knew he was a homeowner. The estoppel provided to him was processed by our office but this as well doesn't prove ownership. Our office was not notified of his ownership (recorded deed) until December of 2014. The check he provided shows the date we were notified, unless of course, he procures a copy of the cancelled check from the title company with an earlier date.

02/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am 75 years old and live with my wife, 73 years old in ******** subdivision of ****** ****** 3 in ****** ******* Vanguard Management Group Inc. XXXX XXth St. N, ***** **** Tampa, FL XXXXX are the Property Managers. We fixed a leak in our roof in September 2013 and has since been trying to collect the refund from the company. They don't return phone calls, they don't answer letters and even ignore letters sent with USPS return acknowledgment after signing they received it. It should not take them one and half years to process a refund. If we are a day late in paying the monthly maintenance, they threaten us with legal action, eviction and even put our house for auction. We basically live on social security as our main income and my wife is disabled. $600 we spent to fix the roof is a lot of money for us. We have sent copies of the estimate for work from the contractor, sent bills, receipts multiple times. I even went to their office personally on December 19th to give a copy of the receipt. Any help you can give us in getting this refund will be very much appreciated. God will really show his mercy on you.
Product_Or_Service: Fixed Leak in roof of our house

Desired Settlement
We are not expecting anything except refund of $600 we spent to fix a leaky roof in September 2013.Vanguard Management Group:(XXX) XXX-XXXX

Business Response
This response was taken verbally by the BBB: This case has gone to our board meeting and it was approved. Our customer will be receiving a check by the end of the month.

Consumer Response
This response was taken verbally by the BBB: Thank you very much, I accept. BBB may close this case.

05/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Management is not performing the job right trying to harass us the consumer, with fining power!
First time management was inspected the property and send me 30 days notice to ''replace Lawn'' after several call I had communicated and asked clarification on the inspection performed and the picture attached was not even my home, so I asked detail on which area my lawn is bad and reply I got was whole lawn, I send in a Lawn guy and after inspection he advised that I need only lawn care and weed control sprayed and now I have have received a threat notice need to replace my Lawn with in 5 days or they will fine me.
So I had emailed and after several calls I got hold of the Manager (***** *****) and I asked here the picture and she replied that was updated on the website and I asked her did you or your Management company gives me any indication of updates?, she replied that in need to check website every day, this is absurd but still the issue remains and I ask which area need to replace and told what the Lawn guy told me she would not even listen and advised I need to replace the whole yard now sure why? But I asked her I need some time and she said she had given me enough time.

Only with the second notice of 5 days and that too first notice picture was not even my Lawn (no proper picture) and detail explanation of the Lawn issue how I am to know what to do?

Desired Settlement
They should apologize and give me proper detail explanation and give me enough time to fix the any issues.

Business Response
The complainant is directing his complaint to the wrong business. Vanguard had nothing to do with establishing community policy, sending the letter, and enforcing the rule. The complaint should go against ********* ****** ******

Also, I understand that the owner has come to a meeting of the minds with the association and as long as he complies with his agreed upon schedule, the matter has been resolved. Please remove Vanguard from this complaint.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This complaint is to the right Vangard management company! If this complaint was to the wrong business, then why there are providing a solution in second sentence? If needed I can provide the proof that Vanguard is managing ********* in Ruskin. There are trying to score points in ****

Well, this is the scenario if a cop has a right to give ticket under the law, but in turn cop need to know the law, in same analogy here the cop is vanguard and per Vanguard the law is ******** ****** ****** If Vanguard is enforcing the HOA laws they need to know the rules and the rules was to give three notices of warning before giving forth fine notice, In my case I just saw one notice and the next notice was fine warning.

The Important point is even the first notice was not my home and not a clear explanation of the violation, neither a clear picture of my lawn and which are that need to be replaced.


Final Business Response
I am sorry that you do not understand. I am asking again that you provide the cancelled check from the title company. I will not ask again and I will not respond unless I receive it. I construe this as harassment in that youy have been given an avenue to resolve this and continue to dance around the solution.

08/12/2014Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/03/1993Business started: 09/19/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Real Estate
400 W Robinson St STE N801
Orlando, FL 32801-1757
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/re

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL 33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

Business Tax Receipt/Largo
PO Box 296
Largo, FL 33779-0296
(727) 587-6700

BBB records show a license number of CAB1127 for this company, issued by Division of Real Estate. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/re.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 3283 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CAM1443 for this company, issued by Division of Real Estate. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/re.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 2017003930 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Largo.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1990, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert J. Moyer (President)Ms. Janet S. Moyer (COO)
Business Category

Property Management Companies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Vanguard Management Group, Inc.

9300 N 16th St

Tampa, FL 33612-8698

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1219 Millennium Pkwy STE 133 

    Brandon, FL 33511-3879

  • 801 West Bay Dr Fl 4 

    Largo, FL 33770-3269

  • 9300 N 16th St 

    Tampa, FL 33612-8698(813) 930-8036
    Fax: (813) 930-9615

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Vanguard Management Group, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Property Management Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.