BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/20/2012

American Integrity Insurance Company of Florida

Phone: (866) 968-8390Fax: (813) 884-1144

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues5
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service12
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints22

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (22)
06/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called to have my roof repaired and I still have no response.
On June 16, 2014 there was a wind storm, my roof was damaged, but I did not notice the damage of the roof at that time.
On November 2014 I noticed that some shingles were out of place so I called a roofer, ***** ******, from ***** ******* and ************ **** phone (XXX)XXX-XXXX, he found wind damage on the roof plus tiles out of place. On November 20, 2014 I called my insurance company AMERICAN INTEGRITY and on that same day I received a letter from ******* ******** (Claims Adjuster), Phone (XXX) XXX-XXXX ext. ***** that had my claim number #ACHXXXXXX, Policy Number AGHXXXXXX. In the month of December of 2014, Ms. ******** sent an inspector from * * ** ****** *********** **** to check the roof. On March 10, 2015 the insurance company sent Mr. **** ******** (adjuster) from *** **** to inspect the roof again.
I have been waiting, since then, for this problem to be resolved. I have called several times and Ms. ******** gave me the name and number of another person who would be in charge from now on, **** ********** (XXX)XXX-XXXX. I have called this person several times and left messages but I never got an answer.
I would appreciate it if you can find out what is going on.

Desired Settlement
I just want them to respond because I have been waiting since November. They have not fixed anything and have not responded. I want them to repair my roof.

Business Response

To whom it may concern:

American Integrity Insurance Company is in receipt of the above-referenced complaint submitted by ****** ******** and/or ****** ********* We have reviewed this matter and offer the following response.

Mr. ******** is correct in that he reported the claim for damage to his roof on November 14, 2014 which was 5 months after the alleged date of loss of June 14, 2014. The homeowner's policy as one of the conditions requires that losses are reported promptly. Unfortunately, the late notice was prejudicial to our investigation of confirming the extent and nature of the damage stated to have occurred on the alleged date of loss.

Our investigation included retaining experts to evaluate the property to make a determination as to the cause, extent and duration of the damage. We also obtained and reviewed weather data specific to the property. After completing our investigation we have come to a decision on this matter that there is no coverage available under the terms of the policy and have forwarded a detailed letter outlining our position to ****** ******** and ****** ******** on May 18, 2015.

While we would prefer to have resolved this matter quickly for the benefit of our policyholder, unfortunately, the level of investigation and experts needed extended the time needed to review all of the facts, reports and data to come to our final resolution.

Please let me know if there is any additional information you require or if you have additional questions regarding the circumstances surrounding this matter. Again, thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

***** ** ******, **** ****
Claims Field Manager
American Integrity Claim Service
**** *** XXXXX Tampa, FL XXXXX
Ph: ************ *******@aiicfl.com www.******.com

04/14/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Upon witnessing our neighbors getting new roofs, we found that all of them were being replaced by insurance companies, due to a hail storm.
We called
Our insurance company to file a claim. The gentleman came out twice never coming inside to see the damage. The insurance company also got us mixed up with my brother in law. They said we had 1% wind damage and they Were denying claim. My wife has been disrespected and even was hung up on by this company. She told them that she wants a second look by some other company and they are refusing. We think with the number of houses damaged the the claim was altered.

Desired Settlement
We want a second go around. We think we should contact Morgan and Morgan possibly.

Business Response
This loss was reported on 12/18/14 (late) for a date of loss of 5/25/14 for hail damage to the roof. The insured's roof is 15 years old. An engineering firm was assigned and inspected the property on 2 occasions 1/2/15 and 1/15/15. MR. ****** was present for both inspections. On the first inspection, Mr. ****** ******** the insured's contractor, was also present. The Licensed structural engineer determined there was no significant hail event that occurred and caused functional damage to the roof envelope. He noted that the lead boot of 2 plumbing vents had been damaged by animals. There was minimal damage to 4 shingle tabs that could be attributed to wind and could be spot replaced. The engineer indicated that the roof. The engineer indicated that due to noted deficiencies and the observed worn and weathered condition of the roof surface, the removal and replacement of the entire roof surface above the structure should be replaced as it was near or beyond the end of its useful service life. However, this wear & tear, etc is not covered by the policy of insurance. This information will be relayed to our underwriting department for review. As to the interior damage, the engineer stated that although the ******* had noticed damage to any interior finishes, they expressed a concern regarding a possible water leak above the rear lanai. His inspection of this area revealed that cracks in the exterior stucco finishes below the window in the south portion of the 2nd story west wall of the residence were in the vicinity of the discoloration and stain in the ceiling above the rear lanai. Additionally tear and holes in randomly located screen panels within the ceiling and upper portions of the pool enclosure are consistent with long term wear & tear and/or animal activity and not related to a wind or hail event. I hope this answers the questions. The ******* have been advised that if they disagree with the licensed professional engineer's opinion, they may hire their own equally competent licensed professional structural engineer at their own expense. Should that engineer's findings disagree with those of the engineer we sent, we will be happy to review the findings and the two engineers and meet to discuss.

11/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
American Integrity would not renew my homeowners Insurance. No cause was listed. (except I had an accidental fire in my kitchen on July 2013 I suspect
I had American Integrity Ins. for about 10 months and in July 2013 I had an accidental fire in my kitchen. They paid the claim, but in turn I received a letter saying they would not renew my policy on Sep 15 2014 for my house I live in. Even though I have another policy with them for a rental property here in Winter Park. No reason was told. I am a 100% disable veteran and it was very hard to get a new policy with a different co. and when I got one it was very expensive and did not give me the $500.00 deductible I had with American Interity for Hurricanes. Now I have 2% or over $3,500.00 deductible. That was my first and only fire claim I have had, ever. I think this was very unfair. I still have the American Integrity policy for my rental property, but now I am thinking of looking for another company.

Desired Settlement
I want to let other people know that American Integrity does not do what they advertise for Florida homeowners. One fire claim and you are out! This is not morally right for us.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ** ******* Director
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@aiicfl.com
We reviewed the complaint from Mr. ******* ******** concerning his HO-3 policy (number AGHXXXXXX). We understand his frustration with not receiving a renewal offer, however we are unable to offer him such a policy, as his agent - *********************** - is no longer associated with American Integrity Insurance; this non-renewal action was not impacted by Mr. ********' loss experience.

On May 8, 2014, we sent Mr. ******** a "Notice of Non-Renewal," which cited the reason for non-renewal as: "The agent of record no longer represents American Integrity Insurance Group as a Voluntary Agent; therefore coverage cannot be continued under this policy." The July 23, 2014 kitchen fire loss, for which $21,020 was paid, had no impact on our non-renewal action.

On July 30, 2014, Mr. ******** contacted us about his non-renewal and we explained the aforementioned details to him. We recommended he contact his agent of record, *********************** to secure coverage with another insurance carrier. We also advised him that he would not qualify for a new American Integrity HO-3 policy through another agent due to his July 23, 2014 loss, as our guidelines for new business indicate an applicant may not have had a fire loss within the past 5 years.

American Integrity Insurance wishes to thank Mr. ******** for his military service to the United States. His sacrifice on behalf of our nation is appreciated.

We work hard to conduct business professionally, fairly, in compliance with all statutes, rules, and regulations that govern our industry, and with compassion *** our customers' needs. Ultimately, he has entrusted his personal insurance needs to *********************** and we are no longer affiliated with them, and therefore, no longer able to assist Mr. ********.


Sincerely,

***** ** ******** CPCU, API
Director of Client Services
American Integrity Insurance Company of Florida

10/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Due to high rates I've sent a cancellation request before renewal date & I've in turn received a cancellation rescission notice from them.
Due to high rates I've sent a cancellation request before renewal date & I've in turn received a cancellation rescission notice from them. Meaning my cancellation notice has been voided by them. How is that possible when the policy owner is requesting to cancel unwanted services before policy is renewed to avoid lapse. If this is how they do business I recommend everyone thinks twice about acquiring insurance through them. I certainly do not want to do business with them if this is how they do business.

Desired Settlement
I would appreciate a refund of any advance funds they've received from my escrow account managed by my mortgage company and a cancellation of said policy as soon as possible.

Business Response
We reviewed the complaint from Mr. ****** *** and believe an acceptable solution has already occurred.

On 07/16/2014, we issued a renewal Homeowners Insurance policy (aihXXXXXX) with an effective date of 09/11/2014. This mailing included a bill for the total policy premium, including assessments and all surcharges, of $6,139.00.

On 08/22/2014, we sent a cancellation notice due to nonpayment of premium, as we had received no payment for this renewal policy.

On 08/27/2014, we received a payment of 6,139.00 from Mr. ***'s mortgage company. Therefore, we rescinded the cancellation and continued to provide Homeowners Insurance coverage.

On 09/03/2014, we received Mr. ***'s request to cancel his policy effective 09/11/2014. A refund check (#XXXXXX) in the amount of $6,139.00 was sent to Mr. *** at his North Lauderdale address.

We work hard to conduct business professionally, fairly, in compliance with all statutes, rules, and regulations that govern our industry, and with consideration for our customers' needs. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this process has caused Mr. ***. If he wishes to discuss this matter further, he may contact me at ********@aiicfl.com or XXX-XXX-XXXX.


Sincerely,
***** ** ******** CPCU, API
Director of Client Services
American Integrity Insurance Company of Florida

10/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I turned in an insurance loss on my home on 6/16/2014
Called it to the insurance co and have not had any response from them as of 8/29/2014.
Claim# ACMXXXXXX
Adjuster ***** *******
On June 15, 2014 while my wife and I were visiting our daughter and our grand kids in New Smyrna Beach. I received a call from my brother who is my next door neighbor. He stated that after a sudden wind burst he looked out of his window and observed that my porch had been torn apart and roof lifted and thrown on top of the existing roof. In the process the plywood was torn from the rafters and lifted and separated from the rest of the structure.
I called my Insurance company the following day and filed a claim. I was told an appraiser would be assigned to my loss and would be in touch. The appraiser called, came inspected the roof, and told me he could not give me a copy of it due to company policy.
I did as much to my home to try and secure it from the elements until the repairs could be made. I haven't heard any response from the insurance co. I called the adjuster on 8/19/2014 and she apologized for putting my claim somewhere where it was lost or overlooked. She also promised that because they were so late in handling the file she would hand carry it to her supervisor to review and call me back by Friday 8/23/2014. Friday came and went, and today is another Friday 8/29/2014 and i have still not heard from them.

Desired Settlement
At his point I am getting estimates from some reputable roofing companies in this area and having my roof repaired, and if necessary taking court action for the payment and also filing a bad faith claim for their lack of professionalism and service.
I feel I have been more than patient and want this resolved as quickly as possible.

Business Response
We reviewed the complaint completed by Mr. *******. We paid Mr. ******* for the covered damages on 8/19/14 and sent him a partial denial for the screened porch. The screened porch was excluded under the policy as "Covered Property". See below. The majority of the loss was for the screened porch.


Property Not Covered:
1. Any structure enclosed by screens on more than one side, constructed to be open to the weather, and not constructed of and covered by the same or substantially the same materials as that of the primary dwelling;
2. Carports, open sided porches that have a roof covering, and patios that have a roof covering, not constructed of and covered by the same or substantially the same materials as that of the primary dwelling;
3. Awnings, aluminum carports, and aluminum framed screened enclosures;
4. Any structure or attachment where that structure's roof coverings or exterior wall coverings are of thatch, lattice, slats, or similar material; and
5. Slat houses, chickees, tiki huts, gazebos, cabanas, canopies, pergolas, or similar structures, constructed to be open to weather.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Even though American Integrity chose to send me a check less my deductible directly after my complaint, they have not sent me a copy of their estimate of repair.
One could only imagine that a proper procedure would be to go over the appraisal, review it and match it to damages to make sure it was complete and fair. At this time I have not been afforded that opportunity.
I read the policy and was well aware that the screened enclosure was not covered. But I'm not quite sure that when the screen ripped the east side of the roof away from the rafters, I'm not quite sure that $970 will pull up the shingles from the east side of the house, reattach the plywood to the roof and then either put back existing shingles back or replace them, paint the east wall that was damaged wall, repair the gouges on the west side of the house and replace the scratched door glass of our french doors.
I was under the impression that if your insurance policy was in force they were required by law to make you whole again. So far all they have done is provide me with a check without telling me or letting me know how they arrived at that amount.
They have refused to return my phone calls. I am at a loss and don't know where to turn for help. If they have a company to do these repairs for the appraisal amount I would be thrilled to use them, if not I can only rely on a roofing company in this area to deal with them. But since they won't or don't return calls how do you deal with that?


Final Business Response
Mr. ******* has indicated he does not have the estimate. I have emailed it to ******@yahoo.com. I have also enclosed a copy here. The Highlighted portions are the amounts allowed as covered damages. The covered damages amounted to $248.13 debris removal and $722.10 roof repairs less a $500 deductiblepayment made was in the amount of $470.13. In reviewing this estimate, I do see that sales tax is owed and an additional check is being mailed for $58.21. Mr. ******* should give the estimate to his repairer. On the covered portion of the lossif his contractor says something is missing or left out, contact us and we will have the adjuster get in touch with the contractor.

Page 1 of 4
05/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Obtained insurance. Roof had t shingles replaced 4 years ago for asthetics which have survived many storms without issue. The cancelled police
policy number AGGDXXXXXX effective 1/15/2015 cancelled 5/8/2015

Desired Settlement
policy remain intact with no changes following a re-inspection to verify the two shingles were replaced 4 years ago. They may inspect inside if they like to see there are no leaks or water damage.

Business Response
Inception date of this policy was 1/15/2015. 1987 build home located in Tallahassee.A condition inspection provided by 3rd party Millenium was completed and reviewed by Underwriting on 4/14/2015. It noted the following concerns:

"The roof is discolored and has some tree debris on it. The roof is patched in the rear. The siding in the rear is discolored with some mildew."

The inspection photos show the roof appears worn and has a patched area in the back. According to our filed/approved manual, the following is considered ineligible:

Roofing:
A roof that is worn, with patched areas, multi-layered or has unrepaired damage


Since we were within our 1st 90 day underwriting period, a legal notice of cancellation was sent to the insured on 4/13/2015 providing 20+5 days notice as required by FL State Statute.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is not acceptable. The roof does not leak. It was inspected by another licenses roofing inspector that said it had more than 3 years of life. This company obviously is only interested in taking peoples money and avoiding giving them anything in return at all cost. Buyer beware before you change to this company they may cancel you for no reason.

10/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
American Integrity Insurance does not communicate with the insured. The insurer also uses tactics to delay and underpay claim.
My residence suffered hail damage on 25 May 2014. I am a DOD Contractor working away from home. My wife was unaware of any damage until my neighbor advised we get a roof inspection as theirs and several other homes in our neighborhood suffered hail damage. The roofing company advised there was substantial hail damage and a claim was made. The claim was made in June 2014. It wasn't until July 2014 when an "engineer" arrived and I happened to be home for a few days. I informed the engineer of not only the shingle damage but the screen lanai and window frame damage from the hail. The engineer replied immediately while standing in my driveway that the damage on the window frame was not from hail. He did not even look at the window frame as it looked like the outer covering a golf ball (dimples). I asked him if the hail did not make the dimples, then what would the cause be? He could not provide an answer. When the engineer returned from the roof he stated "you have some pretty good hail marks up there". I was told the report would take 2-3 weeks. After the 2-3 went by and leaving several messages with no response from American Integrity. I ended up calling them from out the country. I was able to have the claims adjuster answer the phone only to be put on hold several times while she answered other calls. The advised she received the engineers report but failed to notify us or provide us a copy. She advised the report noted the roof damage was "wear and tear". This is a known tactic by the insurer to delay or deny a claim. After discussing this for several minutes she stated an adjuster would come to the house. The adjuster who ended up speaking with my wife would not alter his schedule and would not work with my wife's schedule to arrange a meeting. My wife even suggested she take a half day off so she could meet with the adjuster only to find out the adjuster had already came to the house and got up on the roof WITHOUT OUR PERMISSION OR KNOWLEDGE. The last communication was 12 August 2012 which we are informed we would be contacted 10-14 days later. After the 10-14 days later, we received no communication. 4 messages were left during the week of 25-29 August with no response. Finally after another message left with the supervisor *** **** did we get a notification from the claims adjuster ***** ******* that they will only be paying $7000 out of the $12000 repair. This is yet another tactic by the insurer to not only delay the claim but now underpay the claim. I am completely unsatisfied with this company and there unwillingness to communicate and fully pay a claim.

Desired Settlement
Please fix my roof. My roof has been damaged since 25 May 2014. It is now September with no progress at all. I will pay my deductible.

Business Response
Mr. ******* reported his claim more than a month after it occurred. We assigned and engineer who stated there was no hail damage to the roof. We investigated further and made a business decision to pay the claim. This was done yesterday and Mrs. ******* was advised.

Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The company sent a check for payment but did not include damage to the screen enclosure. The damage was not addressed in the estimate. The company hasn't addressed delays and failure to communicate until I started to threaten legal action. I want them to address the customer service issues.

Final Business Response
The original estimate prepared by the independent adjuster amounted $13,578.74. Depreciation was applied in the amount of $5446.55 along with the policy deductible of $500 and a check was issued in the amount of $7632.19. Mrs. ******* was advised that once the work was completed, they would be able to claim up to the $5446.55 figure (withheld depreciation) (providing they spent $13,578.74). It appears Mr. ******* thinks they will not receive any future payments. But a letter was sent to them on 9/2/14 and I have enclosed a copy below. Additionally, Mr. ******* indicates we did not pay him for the screens. Since we issued the original payment, we have now received an estimate from their roofer in the amount of $12,645 which includes both the roof and the screens. It is less than the original estimate we based our payment upon. I have enclosed that estimate for your review. So if the Boehmers spend the $12645, they can recover an additional $4512.81. We will need to know when the work is completed and a copy of the final invoice will need to be sent to us.

Final Consumer Response
Insurer refuses to address the lacking customer service we experienced since the inception of this claim. NO EXPLANATION of the claim was provided. The Insurer's statement if false. We received "you are asking questions I don't have the answer's to" by *****.

Insured remains dissatisfied.

10/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
American Integrity acknowledged hail damage to my roof but failed to award damages sufficient enough to replace the roof .
The roof is 10 years old, the house is 2,200 sq feet, damage (according to Liberty Integrity) is 13 sq feet over multiple locations on the roof. Five other homes on all sides of me were all awarded new roofs for the same damage from other insurance companies. All our roofs were all the same age - all the homes on our street required new roofs in 2004 as a result of multiple hurricanes. However, American Integrity offered me $500, they said the damaged spots could be "Patch Work" repaired. They said the shingles were flexible enough that they could be repaired. When I pointed out that the Home Owners Association would not approve a "Patch Work" roof repair, they said, "that has come up before, and it is not our concern". There is no possible way to match roof shingles that are 10+ years old, our house will look like the Beverly Hillbillies live here. I also have a solar heating unit that has damage around it.

Desired Settlement
I am only asking American Integrity to step up and provide the coverage I pay for. I have three home and have used USAA insurance company my entire life, I have never had this sort of problem with USAA. Although USAA has my loyalty, they can not ensure more then one home in Florida due to recent changes to company policy. Will American Integrity do the right thing to earn my loyalty?

Business Response
Upon receipt of the claim, American Integrity assigned an engineering firm to evaluate the roof. Their evaluation concluded the following:

"A total of 10 shingles or approximately 13 square feet have been damaged by hail impacts strikes and require replacement. The damaged shingles are sufficiently pliable to allow for spot repair."

Our policy stipulates the following:

Loss Settlement. Covered property losses are settled as follows:
b. Buildings under Coverage A or B at replacement cost without deduction for depreciation, subject to the following:

(b) The replacement cost of that part of the building damaged for like construction and use on the same premises; or
(c) The necessary amount actually spent to repair or replace the damaged building.

Based on the engineer's conclusion that the 10 year old shingles are sufficiently pliable to allow for a repair of the damaged shingles; we have determined the replacement of those shingles would cost $494.91. Our decision takes into account the policy's contractual language in para b. (1) b. above relative to replacement cost of "that part of the building damaged for like construction" .

The policy does provide Ordinance and Law Coverage. If the building department or municipality required a full roof replacement instead of repairs, coverage may apply. We don't dispute the insured's Homeowners Association may not approve the repair. However, we are not aware of any authority that holds a HOA rules or bylaws should be considered ordinances or laws. Therefore, the additional costs the insured may be required to sustain based upon private agreements with the association are considered non-covered consequential losses.

Please also note that the insured was provided written notice of his right to initiate and attend a mediation conference in order to settle any dispute they have with American Integrity.

****** ** *********
Claim Manager
American Integrity Claims Services, LLC
PO Box XXXXX Tampa, FL XXXXX
Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX ext ****
Email: ************@aiicfl.com



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
regarding the "patch work" repair on my roof and HOA. What if we were talking about a 10 year old wood floors instead of a 10 year old roof? If a small section of my wood floor had water damage and had to be repaired, would American integrity only pay for a "patch work" repair of that wood floor or would you pay the home owner to refinish the entire floor so it would match? How is that any different from a non-matching roof?
Regarding your offer of mediation - I have been advised, by someone familiar with American Integrity, not expect to get any results without a lawyer. I do not have the time for that, you win.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
they have not responed to the false assessment they maderegarding flexable shingles. My report states they are brittle.

Final Business Response
We have reviewed the Building Inspector's report submitted by Mr. ******. The report that American Integrity relied upon was based on a site inspection and testing performed by a Structural Engineer. We therefore place greater confidence in that level of qualification and expertise as opposed to the building contractor who inspected the home. Our position remains unchanged. If Mr. ****** remains unconvinced as to the representations of the engineer, he can challenge those findings in mediation. The Chief Financial Officer for the State of Florida adopted the mediation rule to facilitate the fair and timely handling of residential property claims. The rule gives Mr. ****** the right to attend a mediation conference to settle this dispute. An independent mediator, who has no connection with American Integrity, will be in charge of the mediation conference. Mr. ****** can start the mediation process by calling the Department of Financial Services at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

08/23/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
American "Integrity" has refused to honor our Homeowners Policy in not approving claim for new roof after 2 different events causing damage.
AI Claim Number: ***XXXXXX
AI Policy Number: ***XXXXXX
Date of Loss: 4/25/12 and 3/24/13
Cause of Loss: Wind/Hail

After 2 Loss events (severe storms with hail), it was determined by our roofing company and public adjuster (after all of their tests) that there was damage to the roof and the shingle repairs would no longer be appropriate. On 2 separate occasions, AI has sent us letters stating that we needed to fix shingles on our roof or they would cancel our insurance. We complied both times, to have yet another 2 storms rip up new shingles. It is to the point now that our roof is not uniform, which is against FL Statute. Also, the damage to the roof has caused additional damage to our front door that is separating from its frame. AI threw $145.00 at us to fix our shingles and refuses to address the damaged roof.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking to have our roof replaced and front door repaired.

Business' Initial Response
****** ***** is not a named insured under this policy but a co-owner of the house.

This claim involves minor wind damage to a 17-year old roof past its useful life. The insurance policy provides coverage for wind damage to the roof but does not provide coverage for wear and tear or general maintenance. Covered wind damages total $645.77 less the $500 deductible for payment of $145.77. A licensed engineer inspected the roof and determined the wind-related damage was less than 1% of the total area of the shingle roof covering and did not meet the 25% minimum roof area threshold required to apply the provisions specified in Section 611 "Reroofing," in 2010 Florida Building Code - Existing Building. Further, it was the engineer's opinion, individual missing, cracked, and/or un-adhered shingles can be repaired. Inspection further revealed no evidence of water damage to the interior. Mr. *****'s public adjuster has requested mediation from the Department of Financial Services.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have completed and submitted the necessary paperwork to have Mr. ***** added to the policy, which he should have been on in the first place.....he owns the house. This insurance company doesn't even know who owns the house??

We are currently reviewing our options as to what the next step should be in this case. We are not convinced that Mediation will have any affect, and simply give the insurance company more time to do absolutely nothing and possibly send us another threatening letter to cancel our insurance when they see a shingle missing from one of their secret drive-by "inspections." Hiring an attorney may be the next step.

Business' Final Response
Mr ***** is not a named insured on this policy. I have confirmed with Mr. ******** it is ok to correspond with him. Mr. ******** is represented by a Public Adjuster who is not a professional engineer. We hired a Professional Engineer to inspect and he concluded there was very minimal wind damage. We paid for covered damages less deductible. A mediation letter was sent on 6/27/13 but to date no mediation has been requested. We do not release our engineering reports as they are work product.

06/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pipe burst water damage, The insurance companies adjuster is
Ostracizing me with this matter

on January 2nd 2013 a pipe burst in my Town house I immediately called my Insurance Broker and a plumber, the adjuster came out inspected the townhouse, after a couple of days the adjuster asked for paper work due to who resided in the Townhouse.
I have non owner occupancy insurance, my brother and his family live at the end of my block about 5-6 units away and has been my property manager, I also had a tenant who resided there the prior month the adjuster Requested A lease From my Tenant ,
I E-mailed a Lease the adjuster claims that is not good enough he wanted checks form bank
I E-mailed checks from bank the adjuster says that was not good enough he wanted a utility bill
I E-mailed him my tenants last utility bill the adjuster said the bill shows a credit , I informed him my tenant was using her 90 dollar deposit to pay off the water bill and I was unable to get the month before bill without a social security number,
he insisted on the confidential paper work that was near impossible for me to get.on February 20th I received a letter stating I must show the water utility statement dated 11/12/2013 I received this letter on February 20th he dated the letter on February 12th with a ten date compliance or 20 day receipt of letter.. I feel this adjuster is ostracizing my claim and is making this very difficult. On many occasions the adjuster was rude and in his phone conversation called me and my brother liars.. I, would like a full investigation of this claim ... and a new adjuster this is 7 weeks into this and I have a mold problem now
thank you ****** *******

Desired Settlement
I am looking for my rights and a new adjuster to handle this situation,and the unit to be fixed

Business' Initial Response
The insured's policy does not cover accidental discharge or overflow of water from a plumbing system if the dwelling is vacant or unoccupied for more than 30 consecutive days. We spoke with the insured's brother who was acting on behalf of the insured. At the time of inspection, the brother advised the property was purchased prior to the real estate bust. The insured was unable to sell the property and it has been 'sitting empty since." Additionally, as of the summer of 2012, "everything was moved out and it has been vacant." This would indicate no coverage available for the loss. However, the insured has since advised there was a tenant in the home within 30 days of the loss. We are attempting to verify occupany to determine whether coverage would apply. As requested, the claim has been transferred to another adjuster.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Im not sumitting anymore documents gave all i have .. gave utility bills,lease etc :(

Business' Final Response
We spoke with the attorney who took the Mr. *******'s examination under oath. As you recall, the entire coverage issue is regarding vacancy of the property prior to the loss. During the EUO, Mr. ******* indicated there were additional emails and documents he has regarding the tenants he says he had in the home prior to the loss and will be submitting those for our review. Investigation is still on-going.

Page 1 of 2

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.