BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2007

Alvarez Plumbing Co.

Phone: (813) 655-7520Fax: (813) 247-3994View Additional Phone Numbers1623 S 51st St, TampaFL 33619-5327Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2007

BBB has determined that Alvarez Plumbing Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Alvarez Plumbing Co.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Alvarez Plumbing Co.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I hired Alvarez for some minor plumbing trim work. They caused significant water damage.
I hired Alvarez to install two kitchen disposals, two kitchen faucets and drains, one pantry faucet, one bathroom shower head, and replace a number of bathroom faucet valves with better valves. In the process of replacing a bathroom faucet valve, they caused a slow leak, which their technician admitted to (told a number of witnesses and immediately called in a water restoration company). I was put in touch with ****** *****, VP at Alvarez, by my Alvarez sales rep, **** ******. Other than sending in the water restoration company (that company, United Water Restoration, assured me that Alvarez was paying their bill), ****** ******* was extremely rude and started suggesting that this damage was not Alvarez' fault. He failed to attend a meeting he arranged with me, then subsequently yelled at me on the phone without provocation. Alvarez did nothing for a couple of weeks, and finally had their insurance company (Auto Owners Insurance Company) contact me, and an adjuster from the insurance company, ******************** came out to inspect the damage. The adjuster sent an email with an estimation of damages exceeding $5,000 but stated that Alvarez's position is that they did not necessarily cause the damage. I have since referred the matter to my insurer, Citizens. The apartment of my downstairs neighbor, the NY Yankees baseball player, *************, also suffered some paint damage as a result of the leak. My complaint about Alvarez Plumbing:
- They did not perform the work I hired them to do, and I had to have their work remedied and finished by another plumbing company - ***************************
- Even though one of the two plumbers who Alvarez sent to do the work admitted that he and his colleague caused the damage, Alvarez management is trying to shirk its responsibility to remedy and deny responsibility.
- Alvarez, the owner of Alvarez Plumbing, and his VP ****** *****, recently contacted the construction fraud unit of the Tampa Police Department to say that I previously used an unlicensed plumber, which I did not, and suggest that the work of such plumber is the cause of the damage. This is nothing more than a form of harassment and search for some excuse to avoid responsibility.

Desired Settlement
I would like:
- A full refund for any monies paid (I charged initial deposit that Alvarez required - $1250 - to my American Express Card - and have registered a disputed charge claim with Amex.
- Full payment for repairing all damages.
- A formal apology.

Business' Initial Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

Alvarez Plumbing did not install any of the rough in work or lines in the wall. ****** Alvarez states he did go out to the job. At that time the customer was advised he would have to go into the walls to investigate further. Customer advised business (****** Alvarez and J**********) that A/C company performed customer plumbing during a remodel who was not licensed to perform plumbing work. One of the shut off valves installed by Alvarez Plumbing experienced a drip, however, the flooding was caused by faulty installation of piping inside the wall by an unlicensed contractor. At the time the restoration company came out, all parties were shown a valve inside the wall that had been shut off for a steam line that was not in use. When this valve was turned on it flooded the back side of the wall. Customer admitted to turning the valve under the guest bathroom sink to test the lavatory faucet when in fact this had nothing to do with the faucet but was for a steam unit that was not ready for connection. Business has piping in his possession to support improper connections made by the unlicensed company.

For any additional information please contact Alvarez Plumbing Company.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
****** ***** of Alvarez Plumbing never met with me. He made an appointment to meet with me, but did not keep that appointment. All rough work prior to Alvarez's engagement was done by licensed plumbers and permitted properly with Hillsborough County, and inspected by both county and an independent inspections company. Pipe broken by Alvarez's unsupervised and incompetent staff (not master plumbers as verbally promised by their sales person ***********) was never part of our remodeling in any case - it was a pipe original to the building. The only thing my AC guy helped me put in was trim for two showers and half finish trim for one powder room, work for nowhere near the work that Alvarez did. Alvarez's own plumber, ********, admitted to a number of people on site that his colleague caused the leak while replacing the valve. Alvarez called in a water restoration company because they realized that they caused the damage. Now they want to avoid taking responsibility even though they caused a lot of damage. All these fixtures and pipes were working fine for about a year, before Alvarez entered the picture.

Business' Final Response
After reading the response from Mr.**** **** I would like to add a
last response to his letter.

Mr. **** is correct in the fact that I never met him at his location.
The day the incident occurred, myself along with two other office
personnel and ******** the technician arrived at the **** residence to
find water in the master bedroom area. ******** our technician did
find a valve that we installed that had a drip underneath the quest bathroom sink.

When we asked how there was so much water in the master bath area, Mr.
****, via phone and his female friend at the location stated that he
had opened a valve to see if he could get water to a lavatory sink,
which flooded on the over side of the wall because it was not
connected to his steam unit, which was not ready to be installed. That
valve that was opened by Mr. **** is what caused the FLOOD, not APC.

Further more, If you can research the paperwork that was attached via
fax to BBB, you will see that Mr. **** never had a Plumbing
contractor, nor any inspections for any build out that was done. As a
matter of fact, you can see were he was even sighted by the City for
starting his work with out any approval from the building department.
For further info, you can go on City Of Tampa Permit office and see the records.

One last item, not sure what Mr, **** meant by all fixtures working
for a year.....The unit was not lived in nor was there any fixtures
installed when APC arrived to ***** work that had to be completed
where others left off.

Once again, APC stands by it's initial decision and will not warranty
work that is done by others, especially an unlicensed contractor.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/14/1999Business started: 09/20/1976
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Hillsborough County Contractors License
5701 E Hillsborough Ave Ste 1140
Tampa, FL33610-5428
(813) 272-5600

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

Pinellas County Construction License Board
12600 Belcher Road, Suite 102
Largo, FL33773
(727) 582-3100
http://www.pcclb.com

BBB records show a license number of CFC019219 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of CFC019219 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 238232 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of I-CFC019219 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1999, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alfonso Alvarez Jr (Owner/President)Customer Contact: Mr. Marcus Reyes (Vice President)
Business Category

Plumbers

Products & Services

This company offers residential and commercial plumbing services, backflows, remodels and new construction.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Alvarez Plumbing Co.

1623 S 51st St

Tampa, FL 33619-5327

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1623 S 51st St 

    Tampa, FL 33619-5327(813) 655-7520

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Alvarez Plumbing Co. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (813) 247-1144
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.