BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/14/2000

Suncoast Pest Control, Inc.

Phone: (727) 327-3202Fax: (727) 341-0422View Additional Phone Numbers6515 1st Ave S, Saint PetersburgFL 33707-1303FacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/14/2000

BBB has determined that Suncoast Pest Control, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Suncoast Pest Control, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Complaint Information

The company has worked and continues to work with BBB in an effort to reduce its number of complaints. BBB recommends that if you have any complaints or concerns, please contact the Office Manager, Loretta MacDonald, at lmacdonald@suncoastpestcontrol.com or (727) 327-3202 prior to contacting BBB.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Suncoast Pest Control, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
01/26/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company did not adhere to the Service Agreement provided.
I contacted Suncoast Pest Control on 8/29/15. My husband saw activity and then actually saw a rat in our garage. They came and investigated. I was offered ONLY one option. No other choices. It was a one year agreement for $575 and an additional $175 for two bait boxes to solve the rat problem. They baited the two outside bait boxes and put 5 rat traps in our garage and 1 in our attic that connects to the garage. Only peanut butter was applied to the rat traps. I was told that there would be some type of mesh put around any openings outside of our home that rodents could get in. That never happened. After all of this NO rats have been captured. When I called to have them come back and check the situation and to fill the bait boxes and traps I was told it would be approximately $41 per any additional visit.
Although their Service Agreement states as such:
SERICE GUARANTEE: WE AGREE TO APPLY CHEMICALS TO CONTROL ABOVE-NAMED PESTS IN ACCORDANCE WITH TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF THIS SERVICE AGREEMENT. ALL LABOR AND MATERIALS WILL BE FURNISHED TO PROVIDE THE MOST EFFICIENT PEST CONTROL AND MAXIMUM SAFETY REQUIRED BY FEDERAL, STATE AND CITY REGULATIONS.
We have received nothing for the total fees of $725 other than 6 rat traps and two bait boxes that I assume that we could have purchase at a local store and it appears that if we want any additional services from them as stated on their service agreement, it will cost us more money. Although that is not mentioned on their service agreement.
Respectfully, ****** ******
My wife asked me to stay home on my day off so I could be there when the pest guy was coming to refill the bait traps outside and to check the existing traps and re-bait them in the garage and attic. They were coming between 11am and 12 noon on Nov. 14, 2015. My wife told me that they might make us pay for the service outside but insisted that she already paid 750.00 dollars for 6 mouse traps and peanut butter bait. The charge included a 1 year agreement of service and the re-baiting of traps and chemicals. This also included the purchase of 2 bait traps outside the house that we bought from the service company. They baited the traps inside and the bait boxes outside on the initial visit.

When my wife made the appointment for them to come back on that Nov. 14, 2015 date. She felt that they were saying the re-baiting of the bait boxes outside were not included in the cost and would be charged. She also told me to tell them to honor there service agreement and to not let them charge us additional money that was part of an agreement which we have in writing.

About an half an hour before Suncoast Pest Control was about to come, I received a call from a woman concerned about our appointment. I told her I was here waiting. She asked me if I still wanted them to come. I said of course. We bickered back and forth for a while playing "are you coming or not" conversation. It seemed she didn't want to mention the charge and I didn't say anything about paying them. My wife asked me to be here when they got here. The woman said there would be a charge for them to come finally and re-bait the boxes outside. I told her I didn't know anything about that and my wife said it was covered according to the service agreement. She asked me if I still wanted them to come. I told them that I was waiting here according to my wife for them to come. They were very shady about coming or not coming and being paid and the result was, that she was going to tell them to not to come and SHE cancelled the appointment until she could speak to my wife, of which was working for Suncoast Animal League for a dog rescue festival.
Respectfully, **** ****** (Husband Of ****** ******)

Desired Settlement
I would expect a full refund. They mislead us into a full year agreement with them without offering other options. As well as the fact that they have not adhered to the agreement that they mislead us to pay for.

Business Response
Mrs ******** purchased a Rodent Exclusion Service and 2 Bait Stations. The Exclusion Service has a one year warranty for the inside of her home for Rodent control. The service includes, traps, bait, glue boards, removal and deodorizing if something dies in her home. We did the initial service (Exclusion $575) and set the stations (2 boxes $150) on 08/29/15 at 3:pm. We returned 09/02/15 to check and reset traps. We also refilled the stations an no charge. We returned 09/08/15 and checked on traps in garage. We returned 10/09/15 to check traps again. The Exclusion service has a one year warranty inside. The stations work with the inside service to keep population outside down. The stations are set up filled with bait and we recommend quarterly fills at approx $41.50 per check. We did her first fill at no charge due to the activity and amount of bait eaten by the trip on 09/02/15. This was done at no charge to the customer. We we left messages on 10/26/15 and 11/02/15. On 11/09/15 we spoke and scheduled her for her first "fill" on 11/14/15. She stated that "the boxes are working better" but was not happy that she purchased the Exclusion service. On 11/17/15 she called and cancelled the check stating she had an "actual company" to do her service. I tried on 11/11, 11/12 and 11/16/15 to contact her at no avail. She contacted us on the 17th and cancelled. On the 14th I contacted customer and spoke to Mr. O'Neill. He was VERY adment that he WAS NOT INVOLVED with this. His wife told him to wait and have up bill the service. I explained that we do not bill and would he be able to take care. He stated again "My wife deals with this and Im not paying. She told you to bill. After a few minutes of discussion I let told him we would schedule the appointment when his wife was home. We did not go. Our Service man had received several texts from Mrs. O'Neill late in the evening and several voicemail's that were very rambling on. Mrs O'Neill stated top me that she "regretted" spending the money. However, she was fully aware of what she was purchasing and what the terms were. Our Service Agreements state to "apply chemicals to control "above named" pests. We do not use chemicals to control Rodents. The "chemicals" to be used as I CLEARLY tried to explain to her would be only if something had died. (removal and deodorizer) Chris was clear in what her services cover, her Service Agreement states we will set traps until problem is solved. This service was done 08/29/15, 3 months ago. She owns the Rat stations. If she does not want them filled I can close that part of her service. All of her receipts were signed by her and she was very aware of her services.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Most of this response is absolutely NOT true.
I have no idea what glue boards are but know we don't have any. I do know we were told that wire messing would be put around any opening outside the house. That was not ever done.
The so called traps and bait. They are $1.50 rat traps that I could have bought at Home Depot. And the bait being Peanut Butter, which obviously I have in my pantry.
The manager states she called me multiple days and left messages. I discussed this with her on the telephone the one time we did speak and that was the one and only time she called. I absolutely did not receive any calls or messages from her and told her that. She appeared confused.
I returned her call the one day I did finally receive her call and was disconnected by a receptionist and had to call back again.
I am assuming she was leaving messages on a wrong phone number if she was doing it at all.
After finally speaking to her, she was not willing to resolve anything.
When I questioned her on what it states in her service agreement:
WE AGREE TO APPLY CHEMICALS TO CONTROL ABOVE-NAMED PESTS IN ACCORDANCE WITH TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF THIS SERIVCE AGREEMENT. ALL LABOR AND MATERIALS WILL BE FURNISHED TO PROVIDE THE MOST EFFCIENT PEST CONTROL AND MAXIMUM SAFETY REQIRED BY FEDERAL, STATE AND CITY REGULATIONS.
The manager seemed to come up with all of these things that this meant and jumped all around the true subject. She did NOT appear to be rehearsed in answering any questions regarding her Service Agreement and the verbiage within it.
She actually seemed surprised and a little thrown off of what I was reading to her from the Service Agreement.
I did get a phone message from the technician stating that he was told I was unhappy with the service and to contact him personally on his cell phone and he would assure that things would be made right to make me happy. I called him back and left several text messages. To date, I have received no return calls or messages from him.
I am assuming that this is what she is calling my rambling message or messages. I believe I was being quite clear.
All of these things that she states as being included and not included, wouldn't you think that they would be in her CONTRACT as she called it. Although, it clearly states as a SERVICE AGREEMENT. Whatever it is, it should certainly be in writing and Full Disclosures of what and whatnot their services include and do not include. I have attached their Service Agreement. My fault here is that I trusted that this company was in reputable and honest.
I think that this business is being very dishonest and absolutely are not disclosing or at least not being very clear on what and whatnot their Service Agreement includes.
Also, a very BIG concern is that at my first appointment. We were NEVER given any other choices other than their a one year warranty of service. It appears to be a "Bait and Switch" situation. Of course all NOT in writing.
The Serviced Agreement is attached.

Final Consumer Response


Final Business Response
My name is Alyssa and I am an employee at Suncoast Pest Control. I spoke with Ms. ******** today and I believe we have completely rectified the problem. She is happy with our response and will continue to use our service now. I am grateful we were able to resolve this issue and keep a valued customer.

10/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In October of 2012 i got the name of this company from the yellow page company name suncoast pest control inc ,i call and make an appointment with the company representitive name ****** as i was having problem with roaches and bed bugs, after the appointment was made, i called ****** the day before before the treatment was supposed to be done and told her i want to cancel the treatment for the roaches and she confirmed it ,i was not home the day of the treatment, when the the technician came and did the treatment for both the roaches and the bed bugs ,now they harrassing me and threatening to put lean on my property for $300.00for the roach treatment.I call the company four different times to talk to a supervisor and they put me on hold no one came to the phone until they hang up on me .
Product_Or_Service: $300.00
Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I need them to stop harrassing and threatening me because i paid for what i ordered .

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We have not tried contacting this customer since July 18, 2014 and this was actually written off as a bad debt. There is no collection agency contacting him and we do not report to the credit bureau. All services were performed but he did not pay in full. But we did write this off as a bad debt and he will not be contacted by our company.

11/07/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cancelled service call and was credit card charged $65 day before scheduled service. ****** did not know how to credit back? On hold 10 minutes.
Cancelled service call and was credit card charged $65 day before scheduled service. ****** did not know how to credit back? On hold 10 minutes.

Desired Settlement
$65 plus 24.9% interest for carrying false charge on credit card.

Business Response
****** was a new employee, still in training. I have since receiving this rectified the problem and just credited her account in the amount of $81.19. The 24.9% is an APR rate but we credited the full amount anyway. I have never received a call from Mrs. *****. This has been rectified.

Final Consumer Response

01/20/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/20/1994Business started: 01/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Business Tax Receipt/St Petersburg
PO Box 2842
Saint Petersburg, FL 33731-2842
(727) 893-7241
http://www.stpete.org/billing/business tax division

Department of Agriculture-Pest Control
1203 Gov Sq Blvd Ste 300
Tallahassee, FL 32301-2961
(850) 617-7900

BBB records show a license number of 15-00004979 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/St Petersburg. Their web address is http://www.stpete.org/billing/business tax division.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of JB4643 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture-Pest Control.

Type: Pesticide Company

BBB records show a license number of JE33180 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture-Pest Control.

Type: Pesticide Applicator

BBB records show a license number of JF7854 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture-Pest Control.

Type: Pesticide Applicator

BBB records show a license number of JE171175 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture-Pest Control.

Type: Pesticide Applicator

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1995, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas J. Harris (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Loretta MacDonald (Office Manager)Mr. John Harris (Vice President)
Business Category

Pest Control Companies, Animal Trappers, Bed Bug Removal, Fumigation Services, Pesticide Services

Products & Services

This Company offers pest control services for Pinellas, Hillsborough, Pasco, Palm Beach, Miami-Dade, and Broward Counties.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Suncoast Pest Control, Inc.

6515 1st Ave S

Saint Petersburg, FL 33707-1303

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6515 1st Ave S 

    Saint Petersburg, FL 33707-1303(727) 327-3202
    Fax: (727) 341-0422

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Suncoast Pest Control, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (813) 908-1700
  • (727) 345-6912
  • (813) 684-8300
  • (561) 820-2440
  • (561) 655-0759
  • (305) 599-0990
  • (305) 252-7704
  • (954) 524-0111
  • (954) 349-7717
  • (727) 848-3434
  • (727) 858-8282
  • (800) 610-7709
  • (800) 517-8126
  • (813) 888-7278
  • (813) 908-8048
  • (727) 328-1509
  • (727) 381-5339
  • (727) 381-6330
  • (813) 684-4408
  • (813) 908-8068
  • (727) 507-0081
  • (727) 345-1970
  • (727) 345-7656
  • (727) 341-0422
  • (727) 725-4995
  • (888) 276-2474
  • (941) 951-7757
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.