BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/14/2000

Suncoast Pest Control, Inc.

Phone: (727) 327-3202Fax: (727) 341-0422View Additional Phone Numbers6515 1st Ave S, Saint PetersburgFL 33707-1303FacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/14/2000

BBB has determined that Suncoast Pest Control, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Suncoast Pest Control, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Complaint Information

The company has worked and continues to work with BBB in an effort to reduce its number of complaints. BBB recommends that if you have any complaints or concerns, please contact the Office Manager, Loretta MacDonald, at or (727) 327-3202 prior to contacting BBB.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Suncoast Pest Control, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
10/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

In October of 2012 i got the name of this company from the yellow page company name suncoast pest control inc ,i call and make an appointment with the company representitive name ****** as i was having problem with roaches and bed bugs, after the appointment was made, i called ****** the day before before the treatment was supposed to be done and told her i want to cancel the treatment for the roaches and she confirmed it ,i was not home the day of the treatment, when the the technician came and did the treatment for both the roaches and the bed bugs ,now they harrassing me and threatening to put lean on my property for $300.00for the roach treatment.I call the company four different times to talk to a supervisor and they put me on hold no one came to the phone until they hang up on me .
Product_Or_Service: $300.00
Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I need them to stop harrassing and threatening me because i paid for what i ordered .

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We have not tried contacting this customer since July 18, 2014 and this was actually written off as a bad debt. There is no collection agency contacting him and we do not report to the credit bureau. All services were performed but he did not pay in full. But we did write this off as a bad debt and he will not be contacted by our company.

11/07/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Cancelled service call and was credit card charged $65 day before scheduled service. ****** did not know how to credit back? On hold 10 minutes.
Cancelled service call and was credit card charged $65 day before scheduled service. ****** did not know how to credit back? On hold 10 minutes.

Desired Settlement
$65 plus 24.9% interest for carrying false charge on credit card.

Business Response
****** was a new employee, still in training. I have since receiving this rectified the problem and just credited her account in the amount of $81.19. The 24.9% is an APR rate but we credited the full amount anyway. I have never received a call from Mrs. *****. This has been rectified.

Final Consumer Response

06/21/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Suncoast Pest Control refuses to tent our home even though it is infested with Termites and we have a termite bond with their company.
I would like to register a formal complaint against Suncoast Pest Control in St. Petersburg, FL. My house is infested with Termites, and Suncoast Pest Control's ''spot'' treatments have not gotten rid of the problem. Per the bond I have with Suncoast Pest Control they are contracted to guarantee my house is termite free. I have called Suncoast several times to have them come out and retreat yet the problem still exists. I have wings and piles of termite remnants all over my house. In addition, I have a 7 week old baby and her crib is full of termite wings (THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE). I have since asked several times to have my house tinted as several pest control professionals have informed me this is the only way to get rid of termites in a house infested as badly as mine, and they have refused every time. THE BOTTOMLINE IS THAT SUNCOAST PEST CONTROL IS NOT HONORING THEIR GAURANTEE TO KEEP MY HOUSE TERMITE FREE, AND I AM GOING TO HIRE A LAWYER NEXT WEEK.

Desired Settlement
The only way to settle this is to have Suncoast Pest Control tent my house as part of the gaurantee to rid my house of termites.

Business' Initial Response

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is incorrect. The warranty contract states that Suncoast will do whatever the accepted industry standard is to treat our house for termites. As explained before our home is STILL infested with termites and I have had at least 3 professionals tell me the only solution right now is to tent the home... INCLUDING, a couple of the techs that work for Suncoast pest control. Again, if Suncoast does not pay for the tenting we will be hiring an attorney and pursuing them for all the damages to our home caused by termites. We have been under contract with Suncoast for over 5 years now and I can proof that tons of damage has been caused to our house by termites. The liquid spot treatments do not work if your house is totally infested.

Business' Final Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

We have been in contact with our customer and had another technician inspect the property. We have come to an agreeable resolution and the customer should be satisfied.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/20/1994Business started: 01/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Business Tax Receipt/St Petersburg
PO Box 2842
Saint Petersburg, FL 33731-2842
(727) 893-7241 tax division

Department of Agriculture-Pest Control
1203 Gov Sq Blvd Ste 300
Tallahassee, FL 32301-2961
(850) 617-7900

BBB records show a license number of 15-00004979 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/St Petersburg. Their web address is tax division.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of JB4643 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture-Pest Control.

Type: Pesticide Company

BBB records show a license number of JE33180 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture-Pest Control.

Type: Pesticide Applicator

BBB records show a license number of JF7854 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture-Pest Control.

Type: Pesticide Applicator

Type of Entity


Incorporated: August 1995, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas J. Harris (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Loretta MacDonald (Office Manager)Mr. John Harris (Vice President)
Business Category

Pest Control Companies, Animal Trappers, Bed Bug Removal, Fumigation Services, Pesticide Services

Products & Services

This Company offers pest control services for Pinellas, Hillsborough, Pasco, Palm Beach, Miami-Dade, and Broward Counties.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Suncoast Pest Control, Inc.

6515 1st Ave S

Saint Petersburg, FL 33707-1303

To | From


1 Locations

  • 6515 1st Ave S 

    Saint Petersburg, FL 33707-1303(727) 327-3202
    Fax: (727) 341-0422

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Suncoast Pest Control, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 276-2474
  • (727) 725-4995
  • (727) 341-0422
  • (727) 345-7656
  • (727) 345-1970
  • (727) 507-0081
  • (813) 908-8068
  • (813) 684-4408
  • (727) 381-6330
  • (727) 381-5339
  • (727) 328-1509
  • (813) 908-8048
  • (813) 888-7278
  • (800) 517-8126
  • (800) 610-7709
  • (727) 858-8282
  • (727) 848-3434
  • (954) 349-7717
  • (954) 524-0111
  • (305) 252-7704
  • (305) 599-0990
  • (561) 655-0759
  • (561) 820-2440
  • (813) 684-8300
  • (727) 345-6912
  • (813) 908-1700
  • (941) 951-7757

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Pest Control Companies


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.