BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In West Florida

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Cash Taxi

Phone: (888) 543-0670 (Disconnected)

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues6
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
03/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: This company claims that I owe them money but I have never heard of them and I never dealt with them before; yet, they're saying that I owe them money
On January 21, 2014 I looked online into my banking account and to my amazement it was debited $377.84 by a company. A company that I have never heard of and I have never dealt with them. Immediately I went to my local bank, explained the situation and launched a Fraud Investigation. I cancelled my debit card to stop all transactions. After that I started asking around and doing some Internet searches, trying to find this company and the nature of it. Through my research I found that the name of this company is Cash Taxi. It's a online loan company; they don't require credit checks; it's a payday loan which is illegal in the state of ***** ********* which I live in. I contact the representative of Cash Taxi and spoke to a ****** ******* First of all he was rude and not professional at all. I tried to explain that someone has my social security number and all my information and is using it to get these "loans". He kept on saying that I owe $377.84 and I dispute it. Repeatedly, I asked to speak to his supervisor and he refused. Nonetheless, I kept on demanding to speak to his supervisor and after 30 minutes of him arguing with me, he finally connected me to his supervisor. However, his "supervisor" which I think was the same guy, ****** ********* just had a lower voice but it sounded just like him, he was rude and not professional as well. I believe that I'm being scammed by this company. Also, they use another company Northway Financial. When I said that I have started a Fraud Investigation and altered Experian, he sounded indifferent. He didn't answer my questions but still he demanded that I pay what was owed.

Initial Business Response
We are in receipt of your correspondence dated February 5, 2014, regarding ******* ***.

Please be advised that we have responded directly to Ms. *** regarding her concerns, and have attached a copy of the response for your reference.

Should you have any further questions, please feel free to contact our office with the information provided below.
Sincerely,

Customer Support Department
Fax: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
Email: ***************@cashtaxi.com

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/19/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized bank debits

Complaint: Cash Taxi removed funds prematurely from my account.
On 6/21, I took a loan from Cash Taxi. This was not my first timme, and I have not had any issues or complaints with the company previously. However, on Independence Day, uly 4, I went to purchase lunch at a restaurant I visit regularly, and my card was declined. I later discovered that they had submitted a a payment request to my bank a day early. When I contacted them, they advised they had submitted the request early due to the holiday, even though the 5th (the date our contract entitlted them to payment) was not a holiday. They advsed that because the request had not cleared my account, they had not done anything wrong. Regardless of clearing my account or not, they withdrew funds prior to our contract date. I had to borrow money to cover the transactions because I could not afford the overdraft fees. They were unwilling to assist in any way, and in the middle of a chat conversation, abruptly ended it.

Business' Initial Response
Attention: ************
Trade Practice Specialist
Better Business Bureau
Email: *****************************
Fax:******XX-XXXX
Re: ********* ********, Complaint #XXXXXXXX
We are in receipt of your email dated July 8, 2013 regarding ********* ********.
Please be advised that we have responded directly to Ms. ******** regarding her concerns, and have
attached a copy of the response for your reference.
Should you have any further questions, please feel free to contact our office with the information
provided below.
Sincerely:
Customer Support Department
Fax: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
Email: ****************************

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/10/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Company contacted my employer about loan I owe with my personal information. I asked them to stop.
I asked the company to stop contacting me at work and stop contacting my family and then tried to make payment arrangements. They continued to contact me at work, and wouldn't accept an offer of payment

Business' Initial Response
We are in receipt of your email dated May 16, 2013, regarding the consumer complaint of ****** *******.

Please be advised that we have responded directly to Ms. ******* regarding her concerns, and have attached a copy of the response for your reference.

Should you have any further questions, please feel free to contact our office with the information provided below.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/21/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Cash Taxi is vilating the Fair Debt Collection Act by communicating with me at my place of employment and threatening me and my husband i am separated
Cash Taxi contacted my soon to be ex husband re: my debt. They gave him specifics re: the amount and threatened to go after him for the 300.00. They contact me at work, my cell and now my husband. I was told by a ***** that she would call me every day until I paid.

Business' Initial Response
Re: ****** ******* - Complaint lD# XXXXXXXX
We are in receipt of your letter dated May 6, 2013, regarding the consumer complaint of
****** *******.

Please be advised that we have responded directly to Ms. ******* regarding her concerns on April 22, 2013. Our records show that a copy of this response had been emailed to your office on April 22, 2013.
We have attached a second copy of the response for your reference.
Should you have any further questions, please feel tree to contact our office with the information provided below.
Sincerely:
Customer Support Department

Dear ****** *******,
We are in receipt of your consumer complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau on April 18, 2013, in addition to receiving your email dated April 17, 2013. Please be advised that we have ceased all collection activities and all communication by telephone while this account is under investigation. We have included a copy of your loan agreement for you to understand the terms of your loan. We take all concerns regarding our agents very seriously, and please rest assured that your concerns will be thoroughly investigated. Your payment of $122.00 has been received and applied to your account.

Due to your expressed financial hardship, and the situation surrounding your file, we are prepared to remove the $305.94 remaining outstanding balance. We consider this account paid in full with no further obligation to our company.

Should you have any further questions, please feel free to contact our office with the information provided below.
Sincerely:

Customer Support Department

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/25/2013Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2
04/30/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: False or unsubstantiated claims in advertisement

Complaint: I never had any dealings with this company
I received a email from this company advising me of a account review.

Business' Initial Response
We are in receipt of your email dated March 13, 2013 regarding the consumer complaint of ****** ******.

Please be advised that we have responded directly to Ms. ****** regarding her concerns and have attached a copy of the response for your reference.

Should you have any further questions, please feel free to contact our office with the information provided below.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As advise I do not knoq where they obtained my name and contact information. I want this compant to produce documentation. I already sent this to the DA office as this looks lik fraud.

Thank you for contacting.

Business' Final Response
We are in receipt of additional correspondence from the Better Business Bureau on April 3, 2013. In addition we are in receipt of your correspondence dated March 14, 2013. Please be advised that all communication by telephone white this account is under investigation has remained ceased, and that your file with CashTaxi.com has remained deactivated. Please be advised that we have supplied all information contained in the online application in our previous response, and no further documentation is available.

We received your information through an online loan application. if someone other than yourself has used your personal information without your permission, we would be unable to confirm this prior to submitting your information to a credit reporting agency to verify the accuracy of the information we had received. The report is requested in part to determine the validity of the information provided. CashTaxi.com takes all possible precautions to protect the privacy of consumer information and in safeguarding the information we receive. We hope this helps explain the situation surrounding your file.

We can confirm that no funds have been released based on the application received and this account has been closed to prevent any further activity.

Should you have any further questions, please feel free to contact our office with the information provided below.

Sincerely:
Customer Support Department
Fax: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
Email: ***************************

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.