BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In West Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/04/2010

Naples Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram

Phone: (239) 594-2100Fax: (239) 513-17206381 Airport Pulling Rd N, NaplesFL 34109-2015FacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/04/2010

BBB has determined that Naples Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Naples Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Problems with Product / Service13
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 17

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)BBB Closure Definitions
01/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Unsatisfactory customer service and repair from naples dodge.
When I was under warranty I took my car in for service. Engine noise. The rocker arm was replaced. The engine noise was still there. Took it back, they kept it for three days and gave me a rental after trying to make me pay for the rental.(they also offered a shuttle bus that would take me to work, that shuttle was never available..all 5 times that I was there.) This happened at the end of August 2013, now December 20,2013 7000 miles later my engine is leaking oil, even thought they ensure their work 12,000 miles they won't look at it unless I sign a paper stating I'll pay $135 if the leak has nothing to do with the work they did All I would like for naples dodge to honor their 12,000 miles guaranteed after they worked on a car.(replaced rocker arm, replaced 3 pistons
, left intake loose took it back they tighten it for free out of warranty good will, took it back they won't look at it). I want my car back to the way it was when I took it first there was no leak.

Initial Business Response
January 14, 2014, Dear BBB and customer, we would be happy to look at your vehicle for an oil leak concern at no expense to you. My name is **** ********, I am the Service and Parts Director and I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Please contact me so we can set up a time that will work for you. Thank you, sincerely **** ********

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
**** ******** and **** ******** been great, they are trying to help me with repairs on the car, even after many drawbacks. I'll be getting a rental today. Thank you.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

12/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: transmission defective when purchased. new car should be defect free, not needing major repair.dealer refused to exchange for another car.
Purchased new 2013 Chrysler 300s on 10/25/2013. Drove home only to find transmission fluid spilling out, dealer closed and I returned the car the next day. The car is still at the dealer almost a month later. I requested an exchange for a car that wasn't defective. don't want a car that had major repairs before I got to use it. Lemon laws would cover that. I offered to purchase up if the exact car wasn't available. The runaround began there. Dealer says Chrysler has to do it and Chrysler said the dealer has to do it. The dealer insists on eventually getting the parts and giving me a brand new repaired car. I traded in a 2008 Chrysler 300 that never had major repairs. do not want a repaired new car, I want a new car.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@naplesdodge.com
11-21-13

Dear BBB and Customer,
Naples Dodge understands our customers frustration. We have been in constant contact with the manufacturer on our customers behalf. There was a part failure on their newly purchased Chrysler 300, the part was immediately ordered and expedited at the highest level of importance that a dealer can command. Mr. customer was put in a rental at Chrysler approved expense while we are waiting for these back ordered components to become available. The latest estimated time of arrival as stated by the manufacturer is November 27, 2013. We understand our customers frustration as we are also frustrated with this situation. We will stay on top of this situation with the highest priority so as we can get our customer back on the road in his new vehicle. Please be patient as we know you already have. This situation will be rectified as soon as possible.

Final Consumer Response


Final Business Response
I have personally spoke with Mr. ******. Naples Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram has an incoming unit that is the same as the vehicle Mr. ****** purchased, except it is a 2014 model year. Mr. ****** is out of town until January 5th and we expect the vehicle to be here upon his return. We will switch him out of the 2013 he purchased then. Chrysler will make the final decision whether there will be a monetary difference, and discuss this with Mr. ****** before the swap is completed.
Please contact me with any questions.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/27/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: Calling the wrong number repeatedly for collection / sales despite having been told that they had the wrong number.
Over the past two weeks I have received over half a dozen calls from Naples Dodge. They are attempting to find a ****************". I returned the call twice to tell them that I do not know this person and would appreciate not hearing from them again. I was told by the sales rep that ***** ********* had used my telephone number as a contact on a lease for a ******************* Not my problem - I still don't know who he is.

Despite having told this company a total of five times to remove my number from their database they continue to call. When I tell the person on the line to stop calling they quickly hang up. I am given no assurances that they will indeed stop calling me as they search for Mr. *********. This harassment is very irritating. I can understand the initial misunderstanding but continuing to call me after I have spoken to the sales person directly is absolutely ridiculous.

Business' Initial Response
*****, please accept my apologies for the phone calls. Your number was mistakenly entered as another customer. We have multiple people in our call center who follow up with customers on a daily basis. I have fixed the problem and you should receive no further calls. Please contact me directly if you have any further problems.
Sincerely,
***** **********
General Sales Manager
Naples Dodge Chrysler Jeep
Naples Mazda
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: I felt bullied into agreeing to services that I did not want done to my car. I was unfairly treated and ended up with a $156 bill.
I recently visited the Naples Dodge Chrsyler Jeep dealership on June XX XXXX to have a recall repaired. I arrived at my appointment time and was made aware that it is a 3 hour wait. Twenty minutes into my wait time I am approached by 2 service reps.**************** , evidently they had done a alignment check on my Jeep and thought it necessary I have an alignment done on my car TODAY. I voiced that I did not want to be there any longer than needed for the recall but before I knew it I agreed to join some Rewards Program and have the additional alignment done. I felt bullied into both those things. Approximately one hour into my wait time now, I am once again approached by the same 2 service reps. to speak privately, as they have now done A COMPLETE INSPECTION of my car. Really? I had stated on more than one occassion that I wanted to leave as soon as possible and now you have done a inspection? I deny any further work be done to my Jeep and voice that I don't want the alignment or rewards program either. I am informed that the alignment is in progress as we speak and the recall has not yet been started. Are you kidding me? Two additional hours have been added on to my wait time for services I didn't even want , this is not the customer service I had expected. I did not leave that dealership until five hours and fifteen minutes had passed! Because of deceptive methods I walked out of there with a $156 bill. Did I mention that I had just purchased four new tires with an alignment 8 months earlier? There are no potholes where I live, I travel well maintained roads and I may have put maybe six thousand miles on those new tires. How often does one need and alignment? Ever 8 months? I don't think so. I feel I was treated unfairly and taken advantage of.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************************
June 18, 2013
Dear BBB and Consumer,
I have re-printed and reviewed the paperwork from your recent visit to our service department. Your repair order number was XXXXXX. Your vehicle is a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee with just over 135,000 miles on it. Your last prior service history at our store was April of 2011, we performed an engine oil and filter change service with a special coupon offer. One of the many complimentary services we offer to our valued and loyal customers is an alignment check. When you arrived on our service drive on June 15, 2013 at approx. 7:20 am you would have noticed a large red machine taking up the space of an automobile in our service drive. This is a state of the art Hunter Alignment checker. We do not want to offer to any of our customers an alignment if the vehicle truly does not need one. Your particular vehicle had both the left and right front toe out on specifications along with the right front camber being out of specifications. We mentioned this to you because both of these out of alignment conditions can cause premature wear to your valuable tires. We felt it was our obligation to share this with you. I have print outs of these specifications from your vehicle that I am looking at as I type this response. The Dealer Rewards Book you were offered and accepted has many coupons in it, has triple "A" type benefits and offers you 10% of any money spent in our service or parts departments added on to a card for future use. Real dollars to be used on your next visit. I noticed that you took advantage of one of the coupons inside the book to receive an additional discount on your alignment that day. Wonderful, that how this is supposed to work. You currently have $15.63 loaded on your rewards card to use on your next visit to our store. I am sorry you felt "bullied", the two names you mentioned, *************** are both wonderful staff members. ******* is our assistant service manager and was working with ***. *** has been with us for approx. 3 weeks and he is still under the supervision of ******** ********is training him, summer time is always the best time to train current and new staff members. She approached you with *** simply because *** is still being trained at his new position at our store. After reviewing your paperwork, it does not appear to me that you bought anything that did not offer you true value and was not needed. This being said, if you truly believe we did not operate in an ethical way,I will refund to you all your money.
Thank you
Sincerely
**** ********
S & P Dir., Naples DCJR & Naples Mazda

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for taking the time to review my most recent paperwork. It may be routine for you to complimentary offer a alignment and complete inspection to your customers, but I specifically stated that I wanted to leave the dealership as soon as possible, not asking for any of these additional services be conducted. As far as taking advantage of the coupon in the Rewards Book, I was unaware of the deduction and will appropiately dispose of the book, as I will not be revisiting Naples Jeep again. I continue to feel that the aggressive methods of your service staff was unethical and I look forward to receiving my full refund.
Thank you
***** **********

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: level of quality and service provided after purchase of used car.
If I were anyone looking to purchase a used vehicle I would be very careful about going to Dodge to do so. I just purchased a used truck for $21,000. I found out that the tires on the truck were dry rotted and when I took it to them the service manager agreed that they were and that they weren't in bad shape and since I bought it used I was stuck with them. Also come to find out that 3 of the 4 air vents were broken and the lip to the gas cap was broken when I tried to fill my gas. Dodge was not willing to help with any troubles I have been having stating that I bought a used car and I'm stuck. Ford on the other hand has been more then helpful in trying to help me fix my truck giving me discounts on all the parts and I didn't even buy the truck with them. I called 4 times after purchased and went there 3 times over more then a week before anyone would even try to help me only to get the answer you bought a used car nothing we can do. I am worried to safety of the truck given they sold me a truck with rotted tires knowing they were dry rotted before putting it on the lot. Service manager admitted that they knew about it.

I would never buy another vehicle from dodge and warn anyone looking to be careful don't get stuck like I did buy from a dealer that will stand behind the vehicles they sell used or new.

Business' Initial Response
May 9, 2013
Dear Customer and BBB,
It appears we have a consern with a pre-owned vehicle that was purchased at Naples Dodge. My name is **** ********, I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX, ext number 1111. Please give me a call so we can set up a time to get a look at the tires. Once we determine what needs to happen I would like to assist our customer with this concern. Thank you, sincerely **** ********

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 3
10/01/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: Over paid by not being informed of an added small sticker on another part of the car that no one sees or pays attention too. Cheated out of $1,000
Purchased a new jeep for $31,400, only to realize that they jacked up the price to $32,400. I went by the car sticker price that says $31,400 total price.They claim that they have a Second Smaller sticker on the car adding more dealer charges that the ordinary buyer either doesn't see or pays no attention to it. Buyers go by the sticker price that describes the car and gives it total price of the car. This is what i based my offer on. This reminds me of baiting and switching. If they want to charge more they should tell customers of this and not only explain ,but have it visible next to the original sticker. NEVER DID. I never knew you could have two separate prices on 1 car. What a Ripoff. They owe me $1,000 that i over paid.

Initial Business Response
In reply. The addendum sticker is placed next to the Monroney sticker on every new vehicle that is ready for retail sale. There is no bait and switch. The MSRP on the vehicle is $31,400.00 and the addendum sticker reflects a price of $32405.00. The addendum sticker discloses our dealer fee of $207.00, pinstripe of $109.00, and a $689.00 market adjustment. Neither price was paid, the customer paid $30,518.00 for the vehicle plus sales tax and tag fees. This price is well below both MSRP and addendum. If we were trying to collect extra money from the consumer, we would not have discounted the vehicle below these prices. The vehicle was sold for $300.00 over factory invoice. If the consumer would like to come in and review any documents, I would be happy to sit down with her and do so.

Regards,
***** **********

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
His very first statement is a lie. You can see by the pictures i sent and by his own web site that they are NOT placed together.He keeps mentioning that the price was below the MSRP price.Duh,there is no customer alive that would pay the full sticker price.He fails to mention that he pays 65-70% of the MSRP price before extras are added in, and that the extras are 3 times the actual cost.Further more what does the MSRP have to do with the $1,000 bait and switch he pulled. My dad after we got home looked on his web site and found out that they were selling my car for $29,718. Thats $800 less than what i paid. This is where the bait and switch came in. His so called addendum claims $109 for pin stripping, I have none,market adjustment,dealer fees are you kidding? This has been a total rip-off and the BBB should let other customers know how shady these people are and not willing to settle this matter. He wants to show me his documents,he should have when i was there. ( so called addendum )

Final Business Response
The addendum sticker is placed next to the Monroney sticker on every new vehicle that is ready for retail sale. There is no bait and switch. The MSRP on the vehicle is $31,400.00 and the addendum sticker reflects a price of $32405.00. The addendum sticker discloses our dealer fee of $207.00, pinstripe of $109.00, and a $689.00 market adjustment. Neither price was paid, the customer paid $30,518.00 for the vehicle plus sales tax and tag fees. This price is well below both MSRP and addendum. If we were trying to collect extra money from the consumer, we would not have discounted the vehicle below these prices. The vehicle was sold for $300.00 over factory invoice. If the consumer would like to come in and review any documents, I would be happy to sit down with her and do so. Again, she did not pay the addendum price, nor even the Manufacturers Suggested Retail Price. The vehicle was sold below both numbers. Therefore, the customer never paid the money she is claiming she was over charged.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

04/19/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Really the complaint involves advertising issues and customer service issues. We have been looking for a van for our growing family and have been searching online websites. We saw a 2005 Toyota Sienna XLE listed on Thursday April 4th at Naples Dodge. We went in that evening and spoke with a sales associate who told us the van was just taken in and still had to be serviced and was not willing to negotiate a sale with us until service had been done. We were told he would call us back the next day. He called us, said they had not pulled the service order yet, but the van needed new tires for sure. If we wanted they would do the tires, but the price would go up $1000, if we wanted to keep the same price on the van, they would sell it to us without the new tires and we could just go get our own afterwards. We told them we would take care of the tires. We went back in Saturday afternoon to see the vehicle again and take a test drive, we AGAIN were told that we could not negotiate a sale until the work was done. We specifically asked 2 different people that day if they were going to call us up Monday and raise the price because of the work that had to be done, we were told "no, we are going to honor the price on the internet for you". We go in today, Monday, and after waiting for another hour are told that they are going to raise the price of the vehicle $1,500. The original price, $12,928 is STILL listed on the internet today, 5 days after the original listing came out. They knew that the price was going to change with the work order, we should have been told as such, not deceived and LIED TO that they would honor their advertised price. We feel that this business and their general manager, ****** are deceitful liars who kept us dangling and wasted 3 of our days and over 6 hours spent at the dealership under false pretences.

Business' Initial Response
I have spoken with Mrs. ****** and her husband. I explained to them the vehicle needed substantial repairs in our shop. The repairs were safety related and I would not sell the vehicle in the condition it was in. I decided to do the repairs and the price was adjusted accordingly. I explained this to the **********. I am sorry that they feel the way they do. I have decided, because of their reaction to my explanation, we will not sell them the vehicle at any price. I feel that I will not be able to satisfy their vehicle needs and have a good relationship with this customer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Our reaction to said "explanation" was due to the fact that we were led on for 3 days prior to being told the price was going to go up. The issue here has nothing to do with the safety of the vehicle, it has to to with the business practices of this dealership. Had we been told from the start of this ordeal that the price was subject to go up after service we would have not been upset when, after 3 days, 3 wasted trips to Naples and 2 people telling us implicitly that the listed price would be honored, it did increase. I would like to add that the price online was changed to reflect the services done the day after we spoke with Mr ******. The very next day the price online was again lowered, this time to an even lower price than previously listed. It is STILL listed at that lower price, even days after the dealership has been notified of this. The vehicle is not offered for sale at this low price, we know, we ourselves called and we had someone else call and ask. If you ask me, that is called price baiting, and is certainly not a reputable business practice, if not illegal. And we would not accept any offer of sale from this business, as we feel they are not an honest company. We will also make sure anyone we speak to regarding our search for a family van knows this.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

07/24/2012Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/31/2000Business started: 06/24/1964
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Business Tax Receipt/Collier County
2800 Horseshoe Dr N
Naples, FL34104-6917
(239) 252-2477
http://www.colliertax.com/btr.html

Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Mayo Bldg Rm 217
Tallahassee, FL32399-0800
(850) 410-3800
http://www.800helpfla.com

Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee
2900 Apalachee Pkwy # B441
Tallahassee, FL32399-6552
(850) 617-2000

BBB records show a license number of 744134 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Collier County. Their web address is http://www.colliertax.com/btr.html.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of MV1301 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

BBB records show a license number of VF-1001261-1 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1964, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wayne Gratkowski (General Sales Manager)Mr. John Atashian (Service & Parts Director)Mr. Jonathan R. Myers (President)Mr. Thomas P. Myers (Vice President)
Business Category

New Car Dealerships, Auto Repair Services, Used Car Dealerships

Products & Services

This company offers sales and service of new and used autos.

Alternate Business Names
Naples Dodge, Inc.
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Naples Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram

6381 Airport Pulling Rd N

Naples, FL 34109-2015

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6381 Airport Pulling Rd N 

    Naples, FL 34109-2015

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Naples Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.