BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/05/1986

Mastro Subaru

Phone: (813) 884-7513Fax: (813) 880-5950View Additional Phone Numbers6402 W Hillsborough Ave, TampaFL 33634-5057Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/05/1986

BBB has determined that Mastro Subaru meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mastro Subaru's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mastro Subaru

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
04/17/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchase a 2010 used Toyota Prius from this business. They did not disclose that the back left window was not working and now want over $700 to fix it
In March 2015 we purchased a used 2010 Toyota Prius from this company. They sold it as in perfect working condition. In a few days after purchase we discovered the back left window was not working at all. We called them immediately, and they kept stalling as about looking at it, saying we were at fault etc. We told them we just bought it and expected the window to be in working condition. We were not informed the window lock was broken. There were also two cracks in the windshield they neglected to tell us about.
We took the car back to them to fix the window. Not only they refused to fix it, they wanted a $100 just to look at it. The salesman said (quote) "I was not informed the window was not working. As far as I know it was in perfect condition at the time we sold it". Is it one or the other?
We feel we were scammed and they refused to repair the broken window lock which they said was no good and needed complete replacement. They lied about the window working and they did not fix it as we feel they should.

Desired Settlement
Mastro Subaru needs to repair the window at their expense since we were told everything in the car was working perfectly when we signed the contract. They lied about this and they need to fix this.

Business Response
We have been trying to reach Mr ****** since he brought the vehicle in for our service department to inspect his window concern. He has not returned our calls. We are willing to assist in this matter. We have not heard from him since the car was purchased over a month ago. I have viewed the vehicle inspection sheet. It did check out in excellent shape. We would have repaired the window before we sold it if there was a problem detected. We have not been made aware of this until just a few days ago. He has had the vehicle for over a month. The car was purchased as is and we are not obligated to repair the concern but we are willing to repair the rear window.
**** ******

Consumer Response

02/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a 2015 Subaru WRX car that I needed a new engine replace. The engine was replaced, by Mastro Subaru and after less then a week the car caught
I have a 2015 Subaru WRX car that I needed a new engine replace. The engine was replaced, by Mastro Subaru which I had paid them $ 10186.06 and after less then a week the car caught on fire on me on the high way. I had called the dealership and reported the issue. I was told that someone from their insurance company would be reaching out to me, but I am still awaiting on someone to make contact. I need them to replace my car with the same model car as I had before 2015 Subaru WRX.

Desired Settlement
I need them to replace my car with the same model car as I had before 2015 Subaru WRX, or pay me back the $10187.06. I had paid this money for them to replace the car engine.

Business Response
Mr. ******* informed us of his vehicle fire on Monday, December 21, 2015 and that he felt the vehicle fire was a result of the repair we performed. We advised him at that time to contact his vehicle insurance company and to start a claim on the vehicle. We also contacted our garage liability company (Zurich) the same day and informed them of the situation. The claims specialist from our insurance company initiated contact with both Mr. *******, and Mr. *******' insurance company (State Farm) on the December 21, 2015 in regards to the claim.

Zurich Insurance will be working with State Farm Insurance and investigating the cause of the fire in order to determine who is at fault. Once the cause of the fire has been determined liability will be handled by the appropriate company.

Zurich Insurance has attempted to contact State Farm again on December 23rd & December 29th with no reply in regards to this claim to get more information. Zurich has also contacted Mr. ******* and informed him that State Farm is not returning their calls. Mr. ******* was asked by Zurich to provide contact information for the State Farm claims representative handling his case and he has not yet provided that information.

The repair in question involved the replacement of the complete engine assembly (Long-block) on Mr. ******* 2015 Subaru WRX. The engine assembly was provided as a complete (already assembled) unit by Subaru of America and was installed by one of our Subaru Certified Technicians. Following the repair the car was road tested extensively and had no issues during the road test. Car was returned to Mr. ******* on December 4th, 2015.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
something went wrong with the car engine after it was replaced, possible a fuil line some were which caused the engine to went up in flames in the highway like this.

I am asking for the full refund of this total paid to Mastro Subaru.

My insurance company is not going to be paying me for the engine replced by masrto subaru, but they're willing to pay for the value of the car.

I have contacted state Farm this morning and gave them the Claim number XXXXXXXXXX. Lyndsy ******
Phone XXX-XXX-XXXX.

I am attaching the total cost/bill of the engine of which was replaced by Mastro Subaru. that I am asking a full refun for.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I need prove to of what could have cause my car to burn like this.

Final Business Response
Customer insurance fire investigator and our insurance fire investigator inspected Mr. ******* car on 2/1/2016. After fully inspecting the vehicle, both inspectors did not find any evidence to fault the repair or workmanship performed previously by Mastro Subaru as the cause of the fire.

02/25/2014Advertising / Sales Issues

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/05/1986Business started: 05/01/1976
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL 33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee
2900 Apalachee Pkwy # B441
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6552
(850) 617-2000

BBB records show a license number of MV8470 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

BBB records show a license number of 11282 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of VF-1001300-1 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1976, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Mastro (Vice President)Customer Contact: Mr. Peter Mastro (Director)Ms. Josephine M. Mastro Ms. Lisa Mastro (Treasurer)
Business Category

New Car Dealerships, Used Car Dealerships

Alternate Business Names
Mastro Motors, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mastro Subaru

6402 W Hillsborough Ave

Tampa, FL 33634-5057

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6402 W Hillsborough Ave 

    Tampa, FL 33634-5057(800) 683-2532
    (813) 884-7513
    Fax: (813) 880-5950

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mastro Subaru is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 683-2532
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for New Car Dealerships

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.