BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/31/2003

Lexus of Tampa Bay

Phone: (813) 888-8221Fax: (813) 806-57915852 N Dale Mabry Hwy, TampaFL 33614-5606Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/31/2003

BBB has determined that Lexus of Tampa Bay meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lexus of Tampa Bay's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lexus of Tampa Bay

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
11/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**** in the Service Dept would not honor my ********** Tire and Wheel Warranty and made me drive eon my rims with 2 flat tires.
I went to see Bill at Lexus of Tampa because it is ********** and I have the 45 yr Tire and Wheel Warranty through them. For some reason he was very snobby and kept acting like he was better than anyone. Well, I had 2 flat tires that needed to be replaced under the Warranty and for some reason my Tire and Wheel Warranty was cancelled on 9/29/2014. I paid $1,000 for it on 9/1/2013 when I bought my ****** from *********** He would not even put air in the tires so I can take it somewhere to get plugged so I could get home. So I basically drove on my rims to get it plugged 4 miles away. They were very unpleasant and cause thousands of dollars in damage to my car. On top of that, I have not seen any refund money from this cancellation and they will not send me my refund, repair my car, or even re-activate my warranty that had 4 years left on it.

Desired Settlement
I would like my $1,000 I paid on 9/1/2013 for my Tire and Wheel Warranty if they will not honor it so I can purchase my tires and maybe rims now.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@autonation.com
The customers wife ***** ****** canceled the wheel and tire contract on 9/29/2014. I have received a copy of the signed cancellation that states the reason for cancellation was she was unhappy with the policy. The customer received a refund of $718.30 from wheel & tire. We could not submit a claim for the tire damage for this reason.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We sent that cancellation on 9/29/2014 and I have the e-mail an hour later saying "Never mind, we found an ********** here that will accept the Tire and Wheel Policy". We went to ****** ********** but was told it has to be an ********** Dealer. Which was not told to us when we bought the warranty on 9/1/2013. I also stated that we would not want this cancelled on the phone with the Service Tech and Autonation. WE HAVE NOT RECEIVED A REFUND YET!!!! So, I figured they would happily just re-activate the Tire and Wheel Warranty. They decided not to and made me drive on 2 flat tires, REFUSING TO PUT AIR IN THE TIRES TO HELP ME GET SOMEWHERE TO FIX THIS OR HOME. Very Rude and Horrible Customer Service. Like they are better than their customers.

Final Business Response
The wheel & tire policy cannot be reativated after cancellation. ********** has located the refund check of $780 and is having it overnighted to the guest for Saturday delivery.

Final Consumer Response

04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
July 8 2013 I purchased a used vehicle from lexus of tampa dealership, I traded my 2002 lexus es and with $4000 down I drove home in my dream vehicle that I worked so hard to save for. I still love the vehicle but within the first month I had issues with my front headlights staying on while Im driving so I got that fixed, then less than a week later my CD got stuck in the disc player (more money spent) which was still ok but last week I couldn't get my car to start, I had it towed to the dealership(lexus of tampa) was told that I needed a new fuel pump and it was going to cost me $1200.00. I had to borrow money not to mention I still have to make my payments and they were willing to work with me on payment options but then today march 18,2014 Im now getting a check system light on my dash board and what is puzzling to me is that I had to whole vehicle diagnose last week when they fixed the fuel pump and that was the only feed back, so I called but was told I would have to pay another $89.99 to see what it is. Im very upset about the money I have put into this vehicle already within the first year, I didn't have any trouble with my previous vehicle I would like for lexus to understand I brought a newer vehicle to avoid major issues like this and I don't have money to continue to fixed all theses major issues that they obviously knew about before I purchased the car. I was told I couldn't do anything under the lemon law so I feel stuck, Im to the point I just want some honest answers please help me. distressed consumer seem like everything is a scam or rip off
Product_Or_Service: 2006 lexus gs300
Account_Number: FIXED THE HEADLIGHTS

Desired Settlement
I would like for lexus to provide me with a quality vehicle that I thought I purchased from them originally. I have a list of things I have fixed on this vehicle totaling to almost $3000.00 and its only been 8 months and Im not satisfied with always having to bring the car in, this is now becoming more of a hassle. They are robbing me blind

Business Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

The HID headlight bulbs and a TPMS switch were replaced. The vehicle was delivered to Ms. ******* yesterday and all issues have been resolved.

Consumer Response

08/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The dealership change the amount of the car I purchased. Plus with my traid in's of $10,500 plus $10,000 cash plus I owe another $9,326 to Capital One. The price was $24,995 for the car but they put down $25,503. I paid $998 in Tax & $700 dealer fee. I now have $29,826 in this car that they offered to buy back for $24,000. They paid me $6500 for my 2000 Lexus RX300 with 79,000 ***** on it as a traid in which in on their lot for $11,900. They gave me $4,000 for my BMW 2009 F650GS motorcycle which had a value of $7,500 & I had over $20,000 in it. They said they sold it for who knows how much. The car I purchased 2010 a RX350 has 62,000 ***** on it already. It was not the car I went in to purchase. They said the 2004 with 30,000 ***** was sold just before I got there. I live on S.S. only. What is a woman to do when these con men get a hold on you.
Product_Or_Service: extended warranty $2250.00

Desired Settlement
A full refund that I paid for this car plus the tax & dealer fee. I won't have a car to drive but I won't owe any money. They even charged me tax on the dealer fee of $700. I can't believe this. Please help me.

Business' Initial Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

Spoke to this customer about her concerns and explained why we had not overcharged her. She was still unhappy and so we offered to buy the vehicle back at full price but she declined.

This offer is still available if she would want to accept.

09/05/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/09/1989Business started: 08/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee
2900 Apalachee Pkwy # B441
Tallahassee, FL32399-6552
(850) 617-2000

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

BBB records show a license number of VF-1001066-1 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

BBB records show a license number of 12157 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of MV5244 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Petrillo (General Manager)Mr. Jim Bender (President)Ms. Barbara Miles (Executive Assistant)
Business Category

New Car Dealerships, Used Car Dealerships

Alternate Business Names
Gulf Management, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lexus of Tampa Bay

5852 N Dale Mabry Hwy

Tampa, FL 33614-5606

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5852 N Dale Mabry Hwy 

    Tampa, FL 33614-5606

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lexus of Tampa Bay is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for New Car Dealerships

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.