BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/25/1984

Kuhn Honda Volkswagen

Find a Location

Phone: (813) 872-4841Fax: (813) 870-1700View Additional Phone Numbers3900 W Kennedy Blvd, TampaFL 33609-2722Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/25/1984

BBB has determined that Kuhn Honda Volkswagen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Kuhn Honda Volkswagen's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Kuhn Honda Volkswagen

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
03/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our VW Beetle was dropped off to repair the sunroof. The car was picked up and the sunroof was in worse condition.
Our VW Beetle had a problem with the sunroof. When driving at higher speeds (approximately 40 MPH or higher), the wind would cause a loud squealing sound as air would leak in through the sunroof. I dropped off the car to have this repaired on a Saturday. After waiting for 4 hours, the car was returned to me, and I was told no work was completed because the mechanic needed more time with the car. We then brought the car back about two weeks later on a Tuesday. We left the car with **** for two days, picking it up on Thursday, February 26. After driving off the lot, the sunroof starting squealing even loader than it originally did. However, now air was leaking in through the sunroof as we drove about 20 MPH. Not only did **** not repair the problem, they seem to have made it worse. The sunroof was clearly not fixed and the car is now in worse condition. I immediately called the service director, **** ********** He did not take my call. I left a voice message but never heard back from him.

Desired Settlement
I want my car's sunroof fixed.

Business Response
Mr.**** did leave me a message concerning his sunroof noise. I returned his call and he stated that the noise was still present and he felt it was worse than when he brought it to us. I asked him to bring the vehicle back in because we needed to look at his concern and fix the noise. He stated that he did not want to bring it back to us and that he preferred to take it to another Volkswagen dealership. He called me again approx. 3 days ago wanting reimbursement for a rental car. I called him back and left him a message to call me. He called me today at 1:54pm and I told him we did pay for the ***** Rental. At that time he did not say anything further to me about wanting to bring his vehicle back to us to get the noise fixed in the sunroof. I assumed he was going to take it to another Volkswagen dealer to get fixed. I will do everything possible to fix it if he wants to bring it back to us.

02/27/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealer deliberately didnot produce service records at time of sale that proved car was not properly maintained, was told carfaxreport was all they had
Purchase Date - Feb 7, 2015
Problem - Feb 7 - Feb 10, 2015
Car: 2011 VW Jetta
Mileage: 30K
Cost: $12K + $1500 down pmt + finance cost (total $16,500)
Sales Rep: *********
Manager: ****
Sales Manager: ***** ******
Payment Method: Down payment American Express, Remainder financed through VW Credit

Carfax report on the car didnot list any service records, on the car. The car originally was a lease and all service (i.e. oil changes) are free at VW Service. I asked for additional information on service records when speaking with ****, and was told that the carfax report represented all information they had on the car. We were hesitant to move forward, but were assured that the lack of service records was most likely due to the customer preferring their own mechanic or doing the service themselves.

After purchasing the car, and driving it home, we realized the service light had come on, and that the car required service in about 4K miles, when the car would be at 35K miles, which is not a service interval prescribed by VW, which is odd, becuase had the car been maintained according to VW standards, 10K, 20K and 30K, the service light should not be on.

The next morning, we called to inquiry about a refund/return as we felt uncomfortable with the lack of information on the service history seeing as the service light had come on. We were promptly sent an unofficial service record of the car on Monday around 5pm, which showed the car had not been properly maintained during the lease, but they did have the service performed at VW (in Miami), which is why the dealer had access to the records at all. The previous owner did not have the service performed on the car according to VW standards.

When I was finally able to speak with ***** ******* the sales manager, on Tuesday afternoon, he told me that the service records of the car could have been given to me during (Mon-Fri, Saturday). However, as we purchased the car on Sunday they made no attempt to provide service records that they clearly have access to. The fact that this information could have been provided to me a day later, but was intentionally withheld is incredibly alarming. To add to that, the fact that **** told me that it was not available, adds to the deceptive and high pressure sales practices.

Had I known about the service history of the car, I would never have made this purchase. It is clear that the dealer purposely withheld this information, saying that the carfax report was all the information they had on the car, when it is clear they could have provided this information to me a day later.

The withholding of this essential material information is a gross violation of trust. The dealer purposely prevented me from including the service history of the car in my decision. Their deceptive and high pressure sales resulted in my decision to return the car.

Desired Settlement
I would like to essentially unwind the deal. I want to return the car for a full refund without penalty immediately.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to address the complaint brought by ********* *****. Being a family-owned dealership with strong ties to the community, customer satisfaction is our foremost priority. Ms. ***** has made several claims with regard to purchasing a Volkswagen Certified Pre-Owned 2011 Jetta Sedan, Stock #: ****** from us on February 8, 2015 that she believes was a pressured sale on a poorly maintained preowned VW.

Ms. ***** and Mr. ******* visited our dealership on Sunday, February 8th, and worked with sales associate ********* **** while purchasing a Certified Preowned 2011 Volkswagen Jetta Sedan. As part of the inquiry into this Jetta, Ms. ***** asked about the maintenance records. With the Service Department closed on Sundays, the Sales Department only had the CarFax report and a copy of the service work we completed on the vehicle available. Unfortunately, the service light came on in the vehicle because the technician who performed the service did not reset the maintenance light. However, an oil and filter change were performed; along with a VW certification inspection, wheel alignment and tire rotation. This vehicle has received all recommended factory maintenances; attached is the service history as provided by Volkswagen of America.

We did not withhold any information, with the Sales Department providing everything available as soon as possible. Our reputation in the community is our greatest attribute for selling and servicing both new and preowned vehicles. We do not practice deceptive or high-pressure sales tactics and made every concession asked by Ms. ***** during this sales transaction. It is our belief that we have done everything possible to resolve all of Ms. *****'s vehicle concerns. We value her as a customer and thank you once again for the opportunity to respond to this complaint.

Sincerely,
******* ****

Consumer Response
I met with a service advisor at VW to go over the records that I had concerns about. After an explanation of the records we would like to withdraw the claim.

Thank you,

- ********* *****

01/16/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Kuhn Honda is refusing to replace a faulty battery they sold to me.
On January 4, 2014 I spoke with **** regarding my battery needing to be replaced. My car is only starting intermittently. He advised that while it my battery is a Honda battery they do not have any record of my purchasing it and will not replace it even though it is under warranty. I did not receive good service and they are refusing to replace their faulty battery. They sold me a faulty battery and will not replace it because they claim to have no record of it.

Desired Settlement
Replace the faulty battery that was sold to me.

Business Response
***** ******* SERVICE MANAGER SPOKE WITH *******,********'S HUSBAND, LET HIM KNOW IF ******** WANTS TO BRING HER VAN INTO SERVICE WE WOULD REPLACE HER BATTERY AT NO CHARGE

Consumer Response

10/31/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a vehicle And gave them a check to hold. I was told it would not be cashed but it was resulting in my bank account going negative.
I purchased a Honda civic from Honda. During the deal I gave them a check for 500 dollars and we agreed they would hold the check for a few weeks. When I checked my bank account I saw the check had been cashed resulting in NSF fees and a negative balance. I went to the dealership and was told that they were sorry for the miscommunication on their end but they could not help even though it was their mistake. So now I'm stuck with NSF fees and a negative balance because they didn't honor their word and made a mistake.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to cover my NSF fee and compensate for the money that was overdrawn to to an error on their end which they openly admitted. If they choose not to resolve I would ask that they be removed from the BBB accredited businesses list for poor customer service while trying to resolve this issue

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to address the complaint brought by Mr. ***** *******. On September 15, 2014, Mr. ******* and ******* ******* purchased a certified pre-owned 2012 Honda Civic LX from our dealership, Kuhn
Honda. As part of their sales transaction, Mr. ******* paid for a portion of the vehicle with a personal check totaling $500. We were asked at the time of purchase if we could withhold deposit of this check until September 19, 2014, to which we agreed. Ms. ******* called our dealership, spoke with ******* *********** in accounting,
before the 19th and asked if we could wait until September 26 before depositing the personal check. Again, we agreed. On September 26, 2014 our accounting department sent the check to our bank for deposit, as agreed upon during Ms. ********** conversation with ********

To ensure complete customer satisfaction, Kuhn Honda tries to accommodate the wants and requests of our customers. Because of this, we are sorry that Mr. ******* is upset with the level of service he feels he received. However, it is our belief that our dealership met its obligation to Mr. ******* and Ms. ******** Attached with this
letter is a copy of the internal document containing the two check hold dates.
Regards,
***** ********
Comptroler
Kuhn Honda

Consumer Response

07/01/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Deceptive sales practice.
Not following the VW advertising for lease agreement.
Upgrading service/warranty contract w/o my knowle
Yesterday, I went to Kuhn VW to look at buying a Tiguan. I told the sales rep what my budget was and did not want to purchase the car that day. He and his sales manager offered me a "great" lease deal or what they made me feel was a great deal but come to find out the terms of the lease were misrepresented to me.
1. Under the corporate VW lease advertisement, I would pay $199.00/mo with $3000.00 down for 12K miles for 36 months. The dealership gave me 10K miles for 36 months. They also said I had to make the decision tonight otherwise I couldn't get the deal because it will not be available later.
2. I traded in a LR2 which they gave me $8K for but minus the payoff amount it was ~$6800 going towards the car. They did not reduce the monthly pmt of the car despite that I had an additional $3000.00 towards the equity instead they used that to purchase the upgrade on the service contract and warranty which they told me I had bumper to bumper coverage without having to pay for it. I found out later that I did infact pay for those additional costs of $1200.00.
3. I asked what the early termination of the lease was and both the sales agent and the finance manager said there was none and that I wouldn't have any. That was misrepresented to me and incorrect per the contract.
4. They told me they would pay for my first month's premium but the lease agreement said that the first pmt was due on 6/14/14.
5. I asked what would happen if I moved out of state. The sales agent said that nothing, I could still keep the car, but the contract says I couldn't take it out of state for more than 30 days.
6. I was also told there would be no depreciation on a leased car. That is incorrect because there always is.
7. They said that VW had a Memorial day special that ends 6/15/14 and that was not the case, it ends 6/30/14 per the VW website.
8. They said that the final trade in value is dependant on them inspecting my car because I didn't have my LR2 with me. The paperwork I signed said the lease agreement would be base on determining the final value trade in of my car. I called them the next day and told them that they misrepresented the above information to me and that I want to cancel the lease, they told me that the car was no longer mine and that i need to bring it to the dealer to inspect which I'm positive that they want the car so they can seal the deal. I told them no.
9. They did not provide to me all the documents that I signed.

Desired Settlement
I want them to cancel the lease agreement since it's only been one day and I did not take delivery of the car because it is still in their lot.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to address the complaint brought by Mrs. ***** ****. We regret that we did not exceed the leasing expectations of Mrs. ****. In the interest of seeing Mrs. ****'s concern resolved, Kuhn Volkswagen reversed the lease agreement she entered into. Customer satisfaction is our top priority when given the opportunity to sell, lease or service vehicles and are we appreciative of the opportunity to reach a satisfactory resolution.

Sincerely,
***** *******
General Sales Manager
Kuhn Volkswagen

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 3
06/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When I purchased vehicle everything looked ok however after the first rain there were several small scratches that appeared everywhere. Wax had masked
My father and I purchased a 2011 Toyota Corolla on 3/17/2013 from Kuhn Honda Volkswagen from ****** ******* At the time of purchase I did an inspection of the car, and there were a couple (2) of scratches which I was aware of,which was normal since it was not brand new. On Wednesday March 20, 2013, we had a hard rain. The following morning when I looked at the car, there were several (hundreds) of fine scratches all over the car. I emailed ****** to let him know and he stated there was nothing he could do. I told him I felt whatever they had used for waxing the car, masked the scratches so I felt it was deceitful. He then told me to bring it in and they would detail the car again. I went in on a Saturday morning at 8:30 AM and was there til 1:30 PM. He brought the car out and said how the detail job was terrible from the first time, and said how great and fantastic it looked. Again, after the first rain all the scratches returned. I have since emailed him on two or three occasions and never got a response. I feel this is bad business to mask issues and then not return any calls or emails. Also, I purchased a roadside assistance plan and before I bought it I asked if it was like AAA. I was assured by the finance manager it was "better" than AAA. However, a week after I had the car I locked my keys in it called my roadside assistance and they informed me that was not covered. I payed $62 out of pocket. Overall I was very excited to purchase a car however in the end it was not a pleasant experience.

Desired Settlement
I feel I should get a paint job or price reduction since I feel they were deceitful in selling.

Business' Initial Response
Thank you for the opportunity to address Ms. ***** concerns. Ms. ***** and I have an appointment to meet the evening of May 14th for review of her vehicle's condition. We **** update this record after our meeting.

Sincerely,
*** *****
General Sales Manager

Consumer's Final Response
Ok. So car 1 picture is the one that shows the swirls after Kuhn wet sanded my car (did more damage). So car 2 picture are fine scratches that were masked with wax as well as car 3 picture. Keep in mind these are all over by the tops of the door, around the car and everywhere. When I looked at the car it was washed and waxed and all these scratches were NOT there. Even when i went to pick up the car it was washed and waxed so they were not visible. I bought it on a Sunday and that Wednesday after it rained is when they all showed up. They acknowledged the wrongdoing but now do not want to do anything about it. They offer me to trade but that does no good when I put down $2000.00 and have made 3 payments of $300.00. I shouldn't have to lose money by trading.


Thank you,
****

Business' Final Response
We have done all we can to resolve the issues stated by this customer. This vehicle is a 2011 model with over 50,000 miles on it. She was able to inspect the vehicle prior to sale. We will not be repainting the vehicle. Cosmetic issues are not covered by the 60 day power train warranty.The vehicle is accurately shown online and on the lot.

08/31/2012Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/25/1984Business started: 01/01/1965New Owner Date: 02/23/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Mayo Bldg Rm 217
Tallahassee, FL32399-0800
(850) 410-3800
http://www.800helpfla.com

Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee
2900 Apalachee Pkwy # B441
Tallahassee, FL32399-6552
(850) 617-2000

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

Tampa Occupational Licenses
2105 N Nebraska Ave
Tampa, FL33602-2558
(813) 274-8751

BBB records show a license number of MV51969 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com. Kuhn Honda VW.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

BBB records show a license number of VF-1000963-1 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee. Kuhn Honda.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

BBB records show a license number of VF-1000967-1 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee. Kuhn Volkswagen.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

BBB records show a license number of MV51968 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com. Kuhn Collision.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

BBB records show a license number of 136020 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 138749 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 026213 for this company, issued by Tampa Occupational Licenses.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 005184 for this company, issued by Tampa Occupational Licenses.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 015809 for this company, issued by Tampa Occupational Licenses.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2003, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Derrick Fish (General Manager)Customer Contact: Mr. Dick Eisenman (Service Manager)Mr. Michael V. Eufemia (Collision Repair Director)Mr. Jason Kuhn (President)Ms. Carol Van Scoik (Controller)
Business Category

New Car Dealerships, Auto Repair Services, Auto Body Shops

Alternate Business Names
Direct Management Group, Kuhn Volkswagen, Kuhn Honda, Kuhn Collision Center, Direct Automotive Management, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kuhn Honda Volkswagen has received 4.40 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Kuhn Honda Volkswagen

3900 W Kennedy Blvd

Tampa, FL 33609-2722

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3319 N Florida Ave 

    Tampa, FL 33603-5850

  • 3900 W Kennedy Blvd 

    Tampa, FL 33609-2722(866) 302-4285
    (866) 578-4209

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Kuhn Honda Volkswagen is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 578-4209
  • (866) 302-4285
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for New Car Dealerships

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.