BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/25/2009

Hyundai of New Port Richey

Phone: (727) 569-0999Fax: (727) 849-7359

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues10
Problems with Product / Service8
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints18

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (18)
05/27/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
my 86yo father who has dementia was sold a vehicle worth 21k for 30k. they refused to void the contract when told of his mental capacity.
My 86 year old father who has dementia went to Hyundai of new port Richey for and oil change and was sold a new vehicle for more than MSRP and was given a very low value for his 2 year old car with 9250 miles on it. Basically he now owes almost $30000 on a vehicle and he barely drives. It is very evident he is impaired in both physical appearance and mental capacity and when we tried to explain the circumstances the manager said that they feel he made the transaction and they will not void it. The paperwork shows a date of 4/25/16 as the purchase date. They say because he spoke to them on Friday that he had time to think about it but we the family only found out one day after he got the car.

Desired Settlement
We would like his original vehicle to be returned with his motorized scooter attachment and to have the contract null and void for the new vehicle based on the circumstances explained in this complaint.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Melissa H****
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ******@hyundaigiant.com
Good morning,

Ms. ***** has a meeting with Mr. F***(CEO), Mr. F******(COO) and Mr. M******(CFO) on Thursday May 26, 2016 at 9:30am- We will issue a formal response after that meeting with our resolution to this matter.

Consumer Response


05/24/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was taken advantage of (I'm 83) in the most brazen manner by the salesman and his manager in leasing a new car in Feb. I have all the data to send.
I'll include a letter I wrote to Scott F***.

On Feb. 14th my wife and I met with Bill S******* in your showroom with the intent of replacing our 2008 Hyundai Santa Fe which I had purchased new from you and which gave us great service. I kept it in excellent shape and it only had 67,000 miles so I expected it would make a good trade in on a new Santa Fe. For various reasons we decided to try leasing the car, something we'd never done before. For starters Bill wrote down 2 numbers on the worksheet, 5,500 for trade-in and 3,000 discount from the MSRP. The trade-in value seemed low since I estimated the value was at least 10,000 but I hadn't seen the whole deal yet. Without ever seeing the MSRP of the purchase vehicle (actually they had to bring the car from Leesburg since there were no red one's in stock) Bill quoted me a monthly lease payment of $390.00. That seemed high but with my large down payment I expected to get some cash back. Apparently all our discussion was based on a 2016 model whereas the car from Leesburg was a 2017. The higher residual should have reduced my lease payments but strangely the purchase price went up from $35,515.00 to $37,500.22 and my trade-in dropped from $5,500.00 to $4,950.00. I saw none of these numbers before signing the papers and in the middle of the flurry of paper signing one doesn't have time to study the details. It was a couple of days later when studying the contract carefully I noticed all the discrepancies. I then called Bill to set up a meeting with his Sales Manager Alan W********* to discuss the discrepancies. Alan wanted to do it over the phone but I opted to go to his office where he and I and Bill went over the items in question. After a half hours discussion Alan agreed to give me a check for $790.00 most of which was rebate for lowering my trade-in amount. Incidently, my trade-in was presented for sale as a beautiful 1-owner buy at $11,991.00 for probably a profit of at least $5,000.00. I can understand 20 or 30 % profit but 100% is a little tough to take. The increase in purchase price was apparently due to adding unwanted features. They added pin-striping, window tinting, two sets of mats (regular and expensive fitted rubber mats), and deluxe Armorall treatment, none of which I had requested. Also included in the price was $595.00 for a mainenance contract which I was never asked about. The misc. costs on the contract for fees and such are too numerous to mention. Alan did say he'ld credit my lease account for the $595.00.

The bottom line is I went into the deal trusting that I wouldn't be cheated because of my prior satisfactory experience with your agency but my faith was unfounded.

As it turns out, assuming I purchase this car at the end of the lease, I will have spent over $45,000.00 for a car that probably cost you less than $30,000.00.
Not a bad profit on one sale.

I would like to see some relief on this deal but if not I will maintain the lease while letting everyone I know here in Trinity what kind of experience I had.

I am 83 years old and perhaps I'm not as sharp as I once was (I retired from 27 years with IBM Corp DP division marketing and installing large mainframe computers all over the country). I hope my experience is isolated and does not represent the ethics of your agency.

Sincerely,
*** and ***** **********
**** ***** ******* **
******** ** XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX
*******@tampabay.rr.com

Desired Settlement
F. relegated me to meet with one of his sales managers and the result was completely unsatisfactory. He asked me what they could do to make me happy and I asked him what my options were. He basically said there were no options. I left completely frustrated.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Dave *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **************@aol.com
Mr. ********** has been back to the dealership to meet with senior management on two separate occasions and has already received compensation as it pertains to his agreed upon trade allowance. The dealership has met every component of the original new vehicle transaction.
It is our understanding that subsequent to the transaction, Mr. ********** found his trade listed on our used vehicle website and was unhappy to see it listed for several thousand dollars more than he received on trade. It is common practice for all dealerships to list used vehicles for sale at the high end of retail pricing to allow for discounts and over-allowances if in fact the vehicle sells retail and is not sent to auction. It is our understanding that Mr. ********** is requesting a payment of $4000 which he believes is his share of the proceeds on the sale of his trade after we have received his interpretation of a fair profit. This is a first for us, as we have never had a customer feel entitled to future proceeds on a vehicle that they no longer own. If the trade would not have sold at retail, would Mr. ********** have been willing to refund us any losses at auction?
We understand and respect that Mr. ********** is 83 years old, but after interviewing several members of our staff, it appears he is intelligent, well spoken and completely capable of making sound decisions. He came here with a specific vehicle in mind at a specific payment he was willing to pay, and left with both.
Hyundai of New Port Richey carries the highest Customer Satisfaction rating of all large stores in the United States and we pride ourselves on the thousands of repeat and referral business we have received over the last 14 years. I would consider a one-time good will payment to Mr. ********** but I'm afraid it will not meet his demands or change his opinion of our company. I am available to meet with Mr. ********** any time he wishes, but as of now I would consider this unfortunate case closed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The money I feel they owe me is not simply because of their large mark-up of my old car but the fact they raised the MSRP by $2,000.00 and did not give me the promised $3,000.00 discount that the salesman initially offered. The total price I would pay to buy this car is about $45,000.00, truly an exorbitant amount for a car worth at most $30,000.00. The salesman and his manager were both dishonest. I will be willing to meet with Mr. F*** but no more underlings. He is always on TV claiming to beat all competition but that doesn't seem to be true.

Final Consumer Response
Thank you for your help. The case has been resolved to everyone's satisfaction. They let me buy out the lease and purchase the car providing me financial help on the buy-out. Thanks again for your support.

*** **********

04/20/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sent out a flyer with scratch off for Grand Prize and if your numbers match the winning numbers there is a personal website to contact for your prize.
The Markdown Madness flyer had a Car key and a scratch off box. It states "Scratch off to see if your number matches the winning number. If your numbers match the winning numbers you've won! Grand Prize 2016 Hyundai Sonata or $20,000 Cash". The flyer states if your numbers match, go online to pick the Grand Prize you want. . .2016 Hyundai Sonata or $20,000 Cash! go to your personal website listed on the back to choose your prize". The winning numbers on the front were XXXXX when I scratched off my numbers were XXXXX a match! I entered the personal website listed www.XXXXX.fatwin.com/FutureCustomer310. That website address came back as error! I searched it via Google and webmaster.com and the website does not exist! It is a total scam! I called the dealership and they said yes, in fact the website was down and not operating properly and to bring in the flyer to the sales department! This is horrible false advertising and a total scam!

Desired Settlement
Give me the car or the $20,000 cash!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Melissa H****-office mana
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ******@hyundaigiant.com
Mr ******,

We at Hyundai of New Port Richey are very sorry to hear that you feel as though this flyer is a scam. I can assure you that it is not a scam. We have had several winners at our dealership who won 20k or the free car. If you would have brought your flyer in with you since you were not able to access the website we could have been able to better serve you. Once you log in to the website it takes you through several different screens to see if you are in fact the grand prize winner or the winner of smaller items such as smartwatches, gift cards, tablets, etc... Unfortunately the sale is over and we cannot honor your request of $20,000 or a free car. We sincerely apologize for your misunderstanding in this matter and can assure you that this is no scam.

11/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Me and my sister bought 2 new velosters 2016 and were not given all of the information, that we should have been given in the first place.
My sister and myself bought 2 brand new velosters we were quoted the ENTIRE day 18500 dollars per car, I had a semi new car iwas trading in 2015 kia soul which the sales representative told me every time I asked that it would be an even trade even though I owed money on it, because I told him I will not trade in my car for this car unless you can promise me that I'm not going to owe any money or trading it in , he assured me that I would owe no money and he quoted both my sister and myself with a base price for the car before interest of 18500 dollars , so we agreed to the deal and went to the financial manager knowing that we got 2 cars for 18500 dollars and I would owe no money for my kia, he asked us to sign a few spots we did , then it was over in a flash we took our new cars home 37 days later when I called in about an issue we had with license plates where we were registering them in Alaska the financial manager after he ASSURED me we would get the Alaska plates no problem they do it a lot he said , told me that back in july they changed there law up in Alaska , so him knowing this and telling me that he could get us the Alaska plates where we still have a residence, he said its going to cost us about 2500 dollars to register in florida where in Alaska where he said he could make it happen would have costed next to nothing now hes telling us not only will it cost us 2500 dollars out of pocket because the bank already has the loan and he wont be able to tack the 2500 dollars onto the loan and extend the number of months , but also he is telling me just yesterday that the price we got the cars for is 24800 dollars when we were quoted 18500 dollars per car which is ridiculous and I told them before that the only way we would do it is if we were under 19000 which they said we would be now we have to deal with an extremely expensive car payment that they told us would not happen, and possibly 2500 dollars out of our own pocket because he told us he could do something that he knew he couldn't since they changed the law back a few months ago before we even showed up, and he told me my car had negative equity that he split on both the cars when the sale rep told me that they would 100% be able to do an even trade for me this experience has just been a nightmare I'm not sure what to do we both feel like weve been missled in the whole process from what we were told we were going to get the cars for is 6 grand more then what we though and not to mention the sticker price for the car is only 20800 dollars, please help us to resolve this one way or another , even stretching out the car payments over more months would help if nothing else, but there saying they cannot do that ext.

Desired Settlement
me and my sister would both like the 72 month car payment window to be increased to lower the payments , or if that isn't possible to give back the cars and get my kia back, whichever is easier or some type of resolution where were not paying as much at one time and paying for our tags out of pocket when we wouldn't have had this issue if they had told us in the first place that we couldn't get the tags in Alaska which changed so many months back (they told us after the fact) I would also like to add that I would not have taken this deal if they were upfront about the costs which were NEVER explained as far as anything more than the 18500 dollars other then the interest.

Business Response
We have resolved this complaint by paying the Florida sales tax and registration fees for both of the ****** deals. Unfortunately there was a change made in Alaska and you can no longer title and register a vehicle in Alaska without an Alaska driver's license. This was not explained to the customer because we were not aware of this change ourselves. We do feel as though we have met the customer's expectations and handled this case appropriately and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

09/25/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid off my lease with Hyundai Finance and purchased my car on July 29, 2015 I have been waiting for my "Title to the Car," in the mails? Never came
I have called several times to Hyundai of New Port Richey, FL., left messages and have not received a call back, I explained reason I'm calling for my Title of my car I have not received as I was told when I purchased it would take 10 to 15 days? It will be a month Aug. 29, 2915 since I paid off my lease & purchased the vehicle.

Desired Settlement
I need my Title to the Vehicle I purchased from this dealer.

Business Response
Mr ****,

I have recieved your complaint regarding your title to your lease that you bought out on 7/29/15. Unfortunately, your title does not come from us. Your title comes from the state of Florida-
We processed the payoff on 7/30 and the state of Florida printed your paper title on 8/26/15- It usually takes them 7-10 days from print date to mail the title to you.
If you do not receive your title by 9/18/15 I would suggest calling the Florida DMV to get an updated status. Their phone number is (XXX)XXX-XXXX
Your title# is XXXXXXXXX

I apologize for any inconvenience and any confusion that we have caused you. We strive for excellence here at Hyundai of New Port Richey and hope that you will do business with us again in the future. If you have any further questions please feel free to contact me at (XXX)XXX-XXXX. My name is Melissa Hedge and I am the office manager

Consumer Response
I finally did receive my "hard copy" of my auto title they kept telling me all titles are electronic no paper ones so I called my salesman back telling him he was wrong, for I received a hard copy.
P.S.
Thanks for all your help! I just didn't get any call backs from them, I didn't feel that was good business policies.

Page 1 of 3
12/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
At the end of December 2014, my granddaughter contacted me that her finance and her needed a new safer car. She asked me if I would (if needed) co-sign a car loan. I said yes and told her to have the car dealership mail or email me the required forms.A few days later she called me and stated that they had purchased a new car (without me co-signing a loan) from Hyundai of New Port Richey. I thought that was great, as my granddaughter would not have to wait for me to sign forms and send back to the dealership. NOTE: I never signed any documents and/or talked to anyone at the dealership.To my surprise, in early January thru the end of the month, I received rejection notices from 13 credit companies. The first 10 of these were for ******* ******* (NOT my name)and 3 for my name = ****** *******. This caused credit rating to drop and cannot get another credit card due to these 13 unauthorized credit checks. Plus I have Richard ******* attached to my credit report.The credit companies will not remove these 13 credit checks and ******* *******, this can only be done by the car dealership. On Friday, May 1, 2015, I stopped into the Hyundai dealership in New Port Richey, Florida, and met with Mr. **** H. S. , Jr., their Finance Director. After discussing these 13 unauthorized credit checks, he promised me that on Monday, he would get in contact with these 13 credit companies to remove ******* ******* and all 13 credit check removed from my credit reports. I told Mr. S. that I wanted a copy of all communication from the credit companies and he agreed. To date, I have not received from him and/or the car dealership.It is now 3 months later and nothing has been done.
Product_Or_Service: Unauthorized credit checks
Order_Number: -
Account_Number: -

Desired Settlement
The following is what demand must be done NOW:1.Immediate removal of all 13 unauthorized credit checks.2.Remove of ******* ******* from my credit reports.3.Personal damages amount of $50,000, due to my damage credit rating.

Business Response
***Document Attached***
Attached is a letter that we have provided and are sending to all the credit bureus regarding the inquiries made in December of 2014 on Mr *******. **** ********* has worked with Mr ******* to find a solution to his complaint. I do belive that we have resolved this matter and hope that Mr. ******* is happy with the resolution.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1. The letter is to "unlisted addressees" does not state to remove the unauthorized credit inquires from my credit report. Did the letter really go to the credit companies? What proof? I want proof.
2. I have attached a red-line marked up copy of the letter indicating the correct address and a statement for removal of inquires.
3. There is still no discussion of my personal damages. These 12+ inquires have hurt my credit rating, I can not get a card with American Express and/or do mobile banking/deposits with my bank.

Final Business Response
Hyundai of New Port Richey is working diligently with eleven different lending institutions to have the credit inquiries removed. We have also requested the name "Richard" be removed as well. This process will take 30-60 days to complete according to the lenders, but could have been accomplished in a more timely manner had Mr. ******* agreed to participate. It is important to note that these inquiries were not done without authorization unless Mr. ******* can explain how the dealership obtained his name, address, social security number, employment information and income. These attempts were made requesting Mr. ******* as a cosigner for a family member, but unfortunately his credit was declined across the board.
We have submitted our requests on his behalf as an error, not an unauthorized inquiry. In addition, according to an Equifax representative, "most credit scores are not affected by multiple inquiries for the credit report from auto or mortgage lenders within a short period of time. Most credit agencies treat these as a single inquiry, which will have little or no impact on the credit score". No cash settlement will be offered.


Final Consumer Response
***Document Attached***
In my opinion this case is NOT closed. The dealership took over 30+ days to respond to my original filing, so I should have the same available time frame.
I disagree with the dealership for the following reasons:
1. The dealership states they were told that inquires is not a negative to a person credit rating. That is FALSE. Attached is my credit report showing a "poor" rating on the subject of inquires. Plus attached is the rating of hard inquires.
2. I contacted all the credit rating companies at least 2 weeks after the date on the dealerships letter. None of the companies had that document on file. So I do not think it was submitted. However, I did forward their document and still in the process of getting their 13 hard inquires removed. NOTE: In my opinion and from the credit companies, the dealership have not done anything other than writing a letter and submitting BBB and me a copy.
3. As for the dealership stated of not paying $25,000 in cash. I will restate my cost of damages to my credit rating and time spent removing the hard inquires = instead of $25,000 in cash, I will agree to a new 2015 or 2016 Hyundai (not a demo) equal to or greater MSRP of $25,000.

01/05/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received a notice that said Hyundai of New Port Richey would give me $3500 over the Avg. black book value to trade my car in. They did not honor it.
I received a notice stating that Hyundai of New Port Richey would give me $3500 over the avg. black book value to trade my car in for a new car. It does not say "up to" $3500. Listed on the same notice were several lease options for several new cars. The average black book value for my car is $16,725. They offered me $16,000 for it. I was told be the sales rep that "they just send these out to get you in here" After a lengthy debate and argument I was offered $20,075 trade in, which is still less than what it should have been. I was then told I could not purchase the new car for the advertised price because they applied all of the incentives to my trade in value, even though it was still short of the $3500 over black book. I have purchased several cars from this dealership and I have never had this big of a problem before. Their sales and advertising practices have changed dramatically. While I know many car ads can be misleading, I feel Hyundai of New Port Richey has recently crossed the line of misleading ads and some of them are blatant lies and they should be held accountable.

Desired Settlement
I expect Hyundai of New Port Richey to honor their ad by paying the full $3,500 over the average black book value and stop playing games with the new car and sell it to me for the advertised price.

Business Response
It is painfully obvious what happen here. As with most advertisement there are multiple offers which can't be combined. Unfortunately we were not able to help Mr.****** as there is only so much in a deal that we can give away. I looked back at the 3 previous deals and have found Mr. ****** to be a very astute negotiator, unfortunately we just couldn't give both offers at the same time.
We were a 175.00 dollars away from 3500 over the book according to Mr. ****** owns words and I am sure that didn't keep us from a deal. I am very sorry for any misunderstanding about the ad but at the end of the day there is only so much to give. I hope this misunderstanding can be resolved as Mr ****** is a good customer.


****** *********
Sales Manager
Hyundai of New Port Richey
XXX-XXX-XXXX Phone
XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax
**********@hyundaigiant.com

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I cannot accept this response. Your advertising practices have changed drastically and are highly suspect. In reviewing all of the detail you may or may not have broken any laws (I am not a lawyer). The personalized ad we received was clearly worded to trade in my car on one of the other cars in the ad. By the way, to get within the $175 it took far too long, a lot of arguing, and me threatening to leave. This should have been an automatic number. This all took place before we discussed any deal on a new car. You had no intentions of honoring the trade in offer. When I showed the ad to my sales rep ***** his response was "they only send those out to get you in here". The convenient story of the combined offers comes up now, well after the fact and is what is being used to try and bail yourselves out of a jam. The bottom line is if you do not honor the ad that was sent to me, you have lost a good customer and I will do everything in my power to alert the public to your business practices. Mr **** should be ashamed of what his once proud, customer friendly business has become.

10/22/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They did not honor what they promised in a sales letter that they sent to me.


I am currently leasing a vehicle from Hyundai New Port Richey. A 2013 Elantra. The lease will be up in March/April. I received an unsolicited letter from Hyundai NPR stating "We want to buy out the lease on your 2013 Hyundai Elantra!" We are prepared to waive or pay your remaining lease payments when you trade in your vehicle and purchase or lease anew or preowned vehicle from Hyundai of NPR. Further stated "With factory incentives and generous lease end incentives, we feel confident that you can make this exchange and we can show you how to keep a monthly payment that is similar to the payment you are currently making of $213.61."

My husband and I went into the dealership and presented the letter to salesman. He show us a 2014 Elantra and we did a test drive. I liked the vehicle and was prepared to make the deal as they had promised in their letter.

He said that he would go "run the numbers". He then came back with a supervisor and the supervisor stated that "it would be better if you wait till your lease is up". Instead of $213.61 (my current payment) which they had promised in the letter, they stated that it would be $350.00 a month or more!

I stated that this was not what the letter said. The supervisor said well these are computer generated letters and gave some lame excuse as to why they would not honor what was written in black and white. There was no fine print on this letter!

I feel very strongly that this and other dealerships should not be allowed to send out these letters and then not be prepared to honor what they are promising. The excuse of the letter being computer generated is certainly not a valid one. They had my information, they knew my payments and how much longer my lease was.

Desired Settlement
I feel that this dealership should be made to honor what they promised me in the letter. They showed me a vehicle and I met the criteria they presented in the letter. I feel that I should be able to lease that vehicle. They said in the letter that they would buy out my current lease and that my payments would be similar to my payments in the $213.61.
Also, I am writing to you in appeal to put a stop to this kind of business practice. It is fraudulent advertising and wastes people's valuable time. I found this whole experience very upsetting and would like to prevent others from going through something similar.
Thank you for your time in considering this complaint.

Business Response
as with any car dealer we have two goals, to sell as many cars as possible and do what is right for our customers. We continually invite our customer via advertisment to come back and get a new car with various offers. The offer in question states that we want to buy back your lease. It goes on to say with factory incentines and generous lease end incentive, we feel confident that you can make this exchange and "we can show you how" to keep a monthly payment that is similar to the payment you are currently making of 213.61
The current lease was a 24 month lease with a residual of .76% which calculated to around XXXXX dollars. With the value of the car being less than it would have been better for the customer to wait out the lease payments and start fresh with out the negative equity. That was proposed to the customer without ever presenting numbers because we do care about the customer and want to do the right thing.
The letters that were sent out are sent to a broad scope of customers with a lease about to expire with in 6-8 months. It is unfortunate we are unable to please everyone although that remains our goal.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept that response because I feel that they had the facts of my situation when they sent out that letter. They knew how long my lease was for and the letter stated how much I was paying a month, etc. I feel that the dealership should NOT be sending out these letters randomly IF they do not intend to follow through. I did not initiate this, the dealership did. They should be made to stop sending these letters out, if they have no intention of following through. There was no "fine print" stated in the letter. It wss stated as a "given" that they would produce what they were promising. They should re word their letter or follow through. People are made promises and time is wasted. Unless the dealership makes good on what they promise, I will no longer deal with that dealership, but I think others should be protected as well from what I feel is false advertising. Thank you.

08/12/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misled into agreements, causing financial burdens.
Around October of 2012 I had gone into the Hyundai dealership to look at vehicles. Never missing a payment on my current vehicle at the time. I was talked into the lease program, saying that's the only thing I qualified for. The salesman informed me that leases are better all around. The salesman was under full understanding that I drive a high amount of mileage. He assured me that as long as I turned in the lease before it was up I would lose any money. Also discussed at the time was the insurance. He explained that the insurance may go up but should not be more than $80 a month. I said what if its more than I can afford? He said come back in and we will get you in something that will work for you if that happens. At the time I was paying about $137 a month for insurance, I was forced to switch insurance companies because my current insurance company didn't insure leases. When I switched at first the insurance was about $225 a month, I was gonna live with that, however within 30 days I received an update from the insurance company stating my insurance was gonna be in excess of $400 a month. SO here I am for several months trying to stay afloat paying over $400 a month for insurance, called the dealership several times but they couldn't do anything. Finally after about 7-8 months I went and traded the vehicle in for the same color and year car with a regular payment so I could afford the insurance. In doing this I lost over $4200 on the lease just in those 8 months. This caused my payment to skyrocket. it went up by $120. Yes my insurance went down, but now my payment was higher. They seem to tell you what you want to hear to get you into the car, and then later the consumer has to deal with the consequences. Plus the fact that they basically tell you this is the only vehicle we can do this deal on, when theres another vehicle on the lot at same price. I feel like I have been misled, and put into a negative financial situation that could have been avoided.

Desired Settlement
Would like to be able to get into a vehicle that I am comfortable with at a payment that is reasonable.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: **********@hyundaigiant.com
In response to Case #XXXXXXXX please consider the following:
I am sorry for the hardship encountered by Mr. ********** on his purchase I find it hard to accept responsibility for that hardship. When he signed the lease contract as he stated he knew the obligations and parameters of the lease. When he decided the lease would no longer work for him we traded him out of it at his request and he knew the payment when he signed the contract. The purchase accured 14 months ago. I am currently revisiting a new purchase for Mr.********** but will be unable to assist him at this time. I believe I can assist him in the future and help alleviate part of the burden with 6 consecutive payments with Hyundai Capitol.

****** *********
Sales Manager
Hyundai of New Port Richey
XXX-XXX-XXXX Phone
XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax
**********@hyundaigiant.com

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)


August 5, 2014

Response to Case #XXXXXXXX Hyundai of New Port Richey / ****** **********
After reviewing the response letter from Hyundai of New Port Richey, I am yet to be satisfied. I don't feel like a valued customer. They stated I was under full understanding of the lease when I signed it, yes I was under full understanding as to the way it was explained to me when I asked questions. When I signed the lease, I had traded in a vehicle that I owed $15,000 on and I received $16,000 trade. So that would mean I put $1000 down from the trade. I was told by the salesman that as long as I traded the lease in before it hit the alloted milleage, or the 4 years was up, I would not lose equity like I would with a purchase. When I read the lease, the only thing I understood was that there was a .20cent per mile over the alloted mileage penalty. That penalty would not have added up to the over $4000 negative amount I was forced to carry over. Plus I expressed concern about the insurance, and I was assured if the insurance was more than I can handle, come back and they would get me in something that would work. I called several times and was basically given the run around. Here I was paying $365 for a lease payment but over $400 a month for insurance due to the high coverage I had to carry. I did this for some time but the two payments together began to take a toll on my finances. I did not and could not have foreseen the insurance going that high. Then when I go to trade in the lease I was told l could only finance this one specific car, when there was another vehicle on the lot that was actually cheaper that I wanted instead. At that point I could not argue because I needed to get cheaper insurance.
This case was started because I had contacted the dealership about trading it in and getting newer car and hopefully cheaper payment because Hyundai had sent me a letter saying I was preselected to do so up to around $30,000. I was told they could not do it. So I started this case. They then claimed to have tried to get it to happen and couldnt. Now a week later I get another letter from Hyundai saying again about getting a newer car at lower payment, and that Im pre qualified. And nowhere on it does it say subject to approval.
Not only that, the current car was just in the service department for almost a week with several issues, many of which were electrical issues. Now Im currently havong more issues and dont have the time to keep bringing to dealership.

02/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mrs ******** was at the dealership for a recall issue and while there was talked into trading her 2010 Sonato for a new Sonato under a lease.
She did not understand the lease and was under the impression that the dealerhsip took care of the car since was leased. She was sold a maintenance agreement which she clearly did not need since she dreives so few miles and also an extended warranty. The trade in amount on her 2010 Sonato in mint condition was very low.

Desired Settlement
While nothing illegal may have been done the tactics used were at best unethical. She is so worreid about the deal that she has been unable to sleep and has impacted her health.
At least she wants to keep other 81 year old widows from being subject to these high pressure tactics and making unwise decisions.

Business Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

Ms. ******** came in a few days after the purchase of her new vehicle with a 3rd party person to assist in going over all the figures of sale from the contract (we spent hours with this gentleman and Ms. ********). After this was done all parties understood the numbers and appeared to be satisfied.We were able to substantially lower Ms. ********'s monthly payment.In addition there were two extended service contracts which were cancelled and she was reimbursed 100%. We apologize that Ms. ******** is unhappy and are more than willing to discuss any further issues to try and satisfy however, we never pressured Ms. ******** into purchasing a new vehicle, we provided her with the option and she chose to proceed with the sale.

Sincerely,

**** *********

Final Consumer Response
It is incorrect to say that customer was satisfied. The dealership did agree to remove an extended warranty and service agreement which it was clear were unwise given that the customer only drives about 7000 miles a year. However as to the lease the response has always been that you signed it and we are sorry but nothing we can do. The scenario is that an unsuspecting 81 year old widow was notified for a recall and while the car was being attended to was led to believe that she was getting a fantastic deal and the deal would be available for a short time . The bottom line is the customer had a car which she really like with the features she liked and was talked into leasing a car. The sticker price on the leased car was $22-23000. The car will cost the customer some $29000 with the 35 lease payments plus the buyout at the end plus the value of her car. Furthermore and perhpas the worst part, the customwer was only allowed $8000 on her mint condition car which had a Blue Book value of $12000. No doubt the delaership make a huge profit over the very low allowance on the car.

Final Business Response
"Shortly after submitting our response to the BBB, we were able to re-establish communication with Ms. ******** and our currently trying to come to an agreement that is acceptable to all parties. While we maintain no wrong doing occurred, it is our goal to provide one hundred percent satisfaction to all our customers, and we will continue to work diligently to do so in this circumstance as well."

Thank you,

****

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.