BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In West Florida

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/13/2012

Hyundai of Bradenton

Phone: (941) 747-9262Fax: (941) 744-1160

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
01/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company sold me a "new" vehicle 2014 jeep, they did not tell me the vehicle had been wrecked.I found this out when I took it to a shop because it was making a clicking noise and the horn did not work. After giving us a run around and wouldn't let us purchase the loaner vehicle, I did not want to do business with them anymore, they still deposited my down payment check which caused fees to my account that they have not returned. This ccompany is a joke they do not do things in a professional manner.We drove an hour and a half to buy a vehicle and the one I went to buy they had sold, I should of took that as my sign. We decided on the jeep because we thought it was new. They had us wait almost two hours to finish our paperwork. I am disappointed in the dishonesty of the company and glad we went somewhere else! Be ware of this company, they gave us a clean car fax.This company still owes me 35 dollars.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** G.M.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x2003
Contact Email: *******@******.com
I worked with this customer directly. My name is **** ****** and I am the General Manager of the Gettel Pre-Owned Supercenter. First, the car was never represented as "New". We do not sell new cars. Our name is the Gettel Pre-Owned Supercenter. Second, the vehicle the customer purchases was aquired via Auction. The vehicle did have a clean carfax. There was no "hiding", here. We encouraged her to take the vehicle to a local dealer; if we were trying to hide anyting we would not of encouraged this. Also, the cusotmer was reimbersed for the expense at the other dealer. Since she lived an hour and half away, I had a different vehicle taken to her. The customer was to return and select a different one to purchase or take her trade back. She missed 3 appointments and was in the loaner for over a week. Due to her budget the loaner car would not work, per her direction. The check was deposited because we had not secured our car back. We were very upfront and went way above and behond to help this cusotmer. She took advantage of the help and was difficult. The $35 refund is due to her and this was confirmed by me. However, there was $3000 due to the dealership from her for a mistaken refund that took over a week and a half to secure. We were not going to give her any further refunds until we secured our $3000 back. The dealership did everything it could to right a mistake, however the customer took advantage.

Final Consumer Response

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: during the transaction of purchasing a vehicle i was promised on several occasions certain types of services that were not delivered
when setting up the purchase of the vehicle i was told several things about the deal. that portion i dont have complaints about because i understand those things change. after finalizing the deal. without the vehicle present i was told that the car would be ready for me to pickup the next day that morning. i was promised that i would be picked up. the next day came and that morning turned into that afternoon. the next thing that was stated is that the work is still being done and they would call me when they were finished . i was blatantly lied to about the work that was already suppose to be completed. if someone would have said we dont know i would have accepted that.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** G.M.
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@******.com
My staff contacted Mr. **** promptly following this complaint. We had infact been communicating with him constantly throught the process. He purchased a white BMW and wanted some items fixed to his liking on the vehicle. We promptly sent the BMW to a body shop. The vendor body shop took longer than they had quoted to finish the work. Also, as the selling dealer we wanted to be sure the work was done well. We had also provided Mr. **** with a loaner car to use while the vehicle was being fixed per his stipulations in the purchase. Mr. **** took delivery of his vehicle yesterday 11/05/13. This situation is resolved.


Final Consumer Response

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/30/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SEPTEMBER 21 2013 , AFTER 8 HORAS, IN THE DEALER SHOWROOM THEY SOLD ME I CAR ,AND I GIVE 1,000.00 DOW PAYMENT, AFTER ALL THE PAPER IS DONE THEY DON'T HAVE THE CAR . THEY GOING TO BE DELIVERY NEXT DAY. THEY NEVER DELIVERY THE CAR AND I CALL IN EMAIL CANCELLATION FROM THIS DEALER AND ASK MY MONEY BACK TO MY DEBIT CAR THEY NEVER SEND MY MONEY, I'M 60 YEARS OLD , AND I DON'T HAVE LOTS MONEY, THIS CAR SALES MANIPULABLE AND GET YOUR MONEY , SELL CAR THEY DON'T HAVE AND DON'T GIVE YOUR MONEY BACK.
Product_Or_Service: 2013 HYUNDAI
Order_Number: HXXXXXX
Account_Number: *****************

Initial Business Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

We have refunded the consumer in full and all has been resolved.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: Promised a refund by the dealership for a battery warranty on 2/23/2013. After numerous conversations for over a month, I have still not received.
On Friday, 2/22/13 I took my 2007 ****** in for regular maintenance, oil change. Was told I needed a new battery by my service advisor, ***************. I agreed to change out the battery and paid $79.95 for the battery (my service paperwork states: "Customer states vehicle ****** not start/battery dead. Please check battery and charging system and advise. Replace battery." I did not state this...****** showed me a piece of paper that said my battery needed to be replaced and I agreed. On Monday, 2/25, I called ****** and told him that on my 10/28/11 visit they had replaced my battery. He apologized; said they had missed giving me the rebate and would take care of getting the paperwork to his boss and they would send me the refund. After calling for ****** on March 5,and he telling me he'd check on why I hadn't received the refund, I decided to ask for his boss on March 15th. Over several phone calls I spoke to Lou, the Service Manager who repeatedly told me that he was checking on this and I should be receiving my refund... his last conversation with me was this: The check was signed off on March 18 and mailed on March 19th. The check was being mailed from Bradenton, so it shouldn't take more than a day or two... if I ******'t receive the check by next Wednesday, give him a call. Today is April 1st and I still have not received the check. I called ****** on Thursday, March 28th and asked him to check on where they mailed the check because on my service paperwork they have my address as Sarasota, FL XXXXX... I gave him my address again with Parrish, FL XXXXX. As of today, April 1, I'm still waiting. I have been going to this dealership for 10 years and I really think I deserve a lot better customer service. It is my understanding that ****** took this dealership over from ****** Hyundai recently. Thank you.

Business' Initial Response
I called the accounting office to verify check was made out and sent and I was told that check #XXXXX was cut and mailed out on March 18th, 2013. I asked if it was ever cashed and she called the bank and we were told that it has never been cashed. The check has never been returned to us so I verified address of where it was sent and we found the problem. The check was sent to *****************, Sarasota Fl XXXXX (which is wrong address).



I am having my accounting department cancel the old check and write a new check today and it ****** be mailed to the correct address.



If you want a copy of either the old check or new check for proof of payment I ****** be glad to send to you.



If you have any further questions feel free to contact me.



Sincerely,



****** ******

General Manager

Hyundai of Bradenton

XXX-XXX-XXXX x xxxx

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Business' Final Response
I just spoke with accounting and we are cancelling check again and writing a new one that will be put in the mail tonight.

The address I am sending to is:

*****************
Parrish, Fl XXXXX


I apologize for the inconvenience but hopefully this ****** all be corrected in the next couple of days.



Sincerely,



****** ******

General Manager

Hyundai of Bradenton

XXX-XXX-XXXX x 2000

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/16/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2
09/20/2011Problems with Product / Service
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.