BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/24/2009

Gettel Toyota Scion

Phone: (941) 756-5511Fax: (941) 752-1851

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service6
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
07/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The manager lied said everything was good to go. But lot manager would not let us take the car. Finance was OKed.
We found a car we liked salesman got manager approval. Manager told him to write it up and take us to finance we signed all the papers and even got insurance on the spot so we could drive it home. The Finance manager said everything was good to go and even gave use our Linc. Plated for the car.Went back to the car to put on plate and the lot manager said it could not leave the lot. We spent hours getting every thing done they wanted and they would not let us take the car even though The Finance Manager ok it and sent us on our way with the plate, witch they still have also. So, I had to cancel the insurance on it, now have to what to see if they are going to charge me anything on the insurance, they already took the payment out of my account. They Have Lied to us. on the contract they even charge us more than they said it would be. Very Dishonest People, I would not recommend them to anyone.

Desired Settlement
payment for our time 4hours @$20.00 per hour and A BIG Saying They are Sorry for Lying to us, and wasting our time, and not do it again to someone else.

Business' Initial Response
Mr.******* came into the dealership and selected a vehicle. He had paperwork showing that he had a settlement coming in in the near future. We contracted him and did the paperwork and while he was here submitted it to several banks to see if we could get him approved in case the settlement did not happen. We got no positive answers from the banks only turn downs, so the manager make a decision at that time to not deliver him in the vehicle. We apologize that he feels we wasted his time; however, I will point out that the dealership invested time and effort in attempting to get him in the vehicle also. As goodwill I am having our accounting dept send Mr.******* a check for the $80.00 that he feels we owe him for his time here. We apologize for any inconvenience that he feels he had.

Consumer's Final Response
The Black Book value on this Car is $8,000.00.

05/07/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A post dated check was unlawfully cashed one month after the car was returned. Went there twice to get get back they would not return it.
I bought a 2008 *********** on January 8th 2013 they changed the paper work to January 11th 2013. We gave them $1000 cash and a 2000 ************* trade in and a postdated check for $1956.00 the check was postdated to be cashed on February 25th 2013. I realized we could not afford the car and we returned the *** to the dealership on February 14th 2013 at 8:00pm. I went in there to the people in the office and told them I could not afford the car and gave them the keys back. They would not give me any paper work or anything saying that I returned the car. Went twice to the sales department to get my check back and they would not give it back kept coming up with excuses not to give it to me. On March 13th 2013 they cashed the check for $1956.00 and to my surprise and left my account negative in the amount of -$772.00 plus a $35.00 NSF fee in which for this check going through my account it then caused 6 other things to bounce out of my account in the amount of $210.00 NSF fees. Can you please help me? I would like to know if this is legal after we turned in the car.

Desired Settlement
My postdated check back in the amount of $1956.00 plus the $210.00 in NSF fees.

Business' Initial Response
To the BBB,
Customer referred to as ****** purchased a vehicle from ****** Toyota, took delivery January 8th and resigned paperwork to finalize the transaction on the 11th. The customer did not write a post dated check. We do not accept post dated checks. He did write a check dated on the 8th for the remaining down payment money which the dealership would hold for him to a certain date. The dealership has a company, crosscheck, that handles all checks to ensure all checks are good. We hold no liability to the checks, and crosscheck pays us the money for any check approved. The customer came back a month later after the deal was funded by the bank and the car was titled. This is no longer a ****** Toyota issue, but an issue with the bank and the customer. The bank owns the car, and he is responsible to payments for the vehicle. The customer stated he dropped the car to us. The vehicle is only dropped at a location. The bank is the owner and is responsible for pick up. The customer still holds all obligation and liability to this vehicle. Unfortunately, the customer's decision to purchase a car, write a check, and come back a month later does not take into the fact he entered into a contractual agreement with the bank. His request for refund of a down payment is potentially incriminating the customer for writing a bad check. ****** Toyota legally cannot get involved with the bank or crosscheck when they are involved in collecting money. However, we would be more than happy to help the customer any way we can to save his car, his credit, and call crosscheck to help him with a payment plan. The customer needs to understand there is no cooling off period in the state of Florida, especially a month later. The customer can reach me at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext xxxx if he needs assistance in the matter.

****** ******
General Manager
****** Toyota

04/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They sold me a jeep with problems said they'd fixed it yet still its not working properly. Now they won't contact me back after 3 weeks of messages!
I purchased a jeep liberty 2005 on 2/24/13, not even 24 hrs later i had to put a new battery in it and then not even 48 hrs later it had multiple problems. I took it back to bradenton gettel toyota and tom the sales guy, and***** the manager said "we will fix all problems and do a 360 check on the vehicle and make sure all is fixed" . So they had my jeep for about two weeks! After I got it back, the tire pressure light was still on , ( which has been on since day one and they were supposed to fix that), as well as the head liner is falling down all over. to top it all off the rear end is loose and when you go over 60 mph the wheels are going in and out of the wheel well and shake uncontrollably I have contacted them for about 3 to 4 weeks and left multiple messages to only get some to call me back 2 different times and tell me to call a different person in a different department, to only be avoided by them as we'll. I have called and left 3 messages for the general manager himself and he has still not called me back! This is my last action before contacting a lawyer.

Desired Settlement
They need to fix it in a timely manner at no expense to me, or they need to pay a jeep dealership near me to fix it!

Business' Initial Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

We have been working with the consumer to resolve her issues. Multiple people have been speaking with her. The vehicle is here now being serviced and addressing the issues she has brought to our attention. As of this morning 4/22/13 ******* ****** the General Manager spoke with her and advised that once repairs have been completed if she still is not happy then he will sit down with her to try and work out trading out of this vehicle into another. Customer is in a rental vehicle at this time at no cost to her while repairs are taking place.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They have finally been in touch after I complained enough times and went up there with my vehicle at my cost in gas for them to fix it! But yes finally they are fixing it. And the general manager did say he will work with me if the vehicle is still not right! Someone is bring me my jeep on Sunday 4/28/2013. And we will go from there!

01/31/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bait and switch offer
This company sent me a letter and offered to refinance my 2008 car to a much lower interest rate. I took part of my day off to drive over an hour there and back, not to mention the wasted time I was there. When I arrived I showed them the letter, they took my credit information, while I assumed they were going to make me an offer. When I asked about the re-finance the lady told me that they never did that. At that point I called for a manager and was also told that they did not re-finance, they were there,"to sell cars". After 2 hours of my precious time wasted, I walked away after complaining of a bait and switch offer and false adverising. Since then my husband and I have received numerous irritating phone calls and voice messages trying to lure us back there. I told the manager I would never own another toyota since the out of control debaucle and yet they still harass us. I want consumers to beware of this false advertising and to complain about this inappropriate and unethical behavior. The letter clearly states," Refinance". This company needs to be reprimanded.

Desired Settlement
I want them to stop calling me and stop deceiving the public.

Business' Initial Response
Reference Case #XXXXXXXX: ****** ******,



After reading this complaint I am going to remove ****** ****** from our mailing list. I also spoke with our two associates who were involved in this transaction. I explained to them we absolutely offer refinancing options. This customer was not one who qualified for a lower rate. It was not explained properly to her. I am going to also call ****** ******, apologize, explain to her we will be removing her off the list, and offer her a free tank of gas and gift voucher for her troubles. ****** Toyota does not believe in bait and switch, nor do we tolerate it. We understand the customer's frustration. Hopefully, we can regain some trust by offering our good faith gesture. I welcome the customer to meet me personally to discuss further.



Sincerely,

****** ******

General Manager

****** Toyota

Business' Final Response
mailing customer a $100 gift card today

01/23/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Under stress/pressure, forced to buy a unchosen Camry. Price esculated from Manufacturers suggested by thousands plus our Sonata. Can't make payments.
Responded to ad on Nov. 15th. Gift if test drive car. Received a lottery ticket, coupon card & a worthless Bermuda cruise offer.
After test drive, Camry was chosen by them. Had NO choice other than color. Camry is their lowest model 2012 L. Extreme pressure while under stress from son's end stage condition. Husband has Dementia. Our keys were held while we being pressured to lease the car. Several HOURS passed & finally signed a $100 down payment to lease (just to get out of there). Next day, Nov. 16th, returned to cancel lease. FIVE HOURS OF PRESSURE, no lunch & the deal sounded so good at this time. Husband is diabetic & was medically unsafe to stay any longer. They gave us a bottle of WATER. Signed papers to lease for $104/month for 39 months. Saturday, Nov. 17th, returned to cancel everything, but was informed NO--PAPERS SIGNED. MORE PRESSURE & decided to buy instead of lease. Then the price was wrong & was told not to worry about it. Totally confused & upset by being forced to buy Camry (unable to make payments because we are senior citizens on a very fixed income). With our trade in & the Camry total cost came to $35,369.50. Our car trade in was $14,100. Retail Installment Sale Contract price $28,018.03. Amount financed $19,451.45 @2.90% (which they told me would be 2.69%--more lies). 75 payments @ $283.86. There is another form Buyers Order with different prices on it. When asked about these differences, was told some confusing remarks & the fianace man, Damien, was very mean to me, annoyed & brief. Crying didn't seem to effect this man, but I was so upset. Another man, Joe, came in & offered to change the financial from 60 months @ $330/month to 72 months @ $283, however, I see where that was also a lie---it is 75 months @ $283.86.
I have contacted "8 On Your Side" & they referred me to the Attorney General, Pam Bondi. Her office has referred me to you & Fl. Service Legal Helpline. I pray that somebody can help us. If the price were adjusted to what it should be instead of the esculated price that we have been pressured into. Thank you

Desired Settlement
According to Manufacturers suggested price $23,423 minus the quoted allowance for our Sonata, $14,100. The total sale price should be: $9,323 plus taxes, stamps, fees, service contract/tire & wheel coverage/maintenance & loan processing fee EQUALS $$14,981.42. That makes a difference in cost: $4,401.43

Business' Initial Response
Reply to complaint XXXXXXXX,
****** Toyota first wants to state we are A+ rated for a reason. We treat all customers with respect, and conduct business in a manner that mirrors Mr. ******'s philosophy of customer service.
****** ****** has made some very strong accusations. She has left out multiple conversations with management, as well as our attempts to help her. Below I will explain what she has left out, and how we did our best to make her a happy customer. We also have on file the interactions beyond the first 2 days. Her demands and comments fall very short of actual fact.
First, customer came in for gift. She received all offers. One of the gifts state if you test drive car you receive additional items as she did. Customer stated to sales person she could not afford a high payment. Sales person showed her Camry model that fit the budget the customer requested. The other two models were 3000 to XXXXX more expensive. Customer had a choice in vehicle, but budget was way more important to her. She never mentioned any of her son's health issues. Customer states health issues from son and husband. Why are you at a dealership following a promotional ad if under such stress? The 5 hours were actually 4 hours, and is the typical amount of time to purchase a vehicle. We also do not hold consumer's keys.
Customer states clearly they came back to the dealership the next day. They did not buy the car the first day, came back the next day, and still went through with the lease. Does this sound like pressure? Customer states the deal sounds so good? The next day, 2 days after the original transaction, they came bac again to switch out of lease. We, under no obligation by law, changed the lease transaction to a purchase option for the customer only out of goodwill. This cost the dealership about 3,000 in gross profit to do this. The finance information she states is at 2.69% annual. The bank charges a 150 fee. It shows on contract 2.69% annually. It also states we sent two different managers in to help with financing options. Actual allowance for trade is $9000. Dealership showed trade allowance for 14,000 to get to her bottom line. We are selling the car for $21385 and offered $9000 for trade, which is above trade value. Invoice of the new car is $22,100. There will be no refund. We tried to work with her to make her happy, but this is not possible.
****** ******
General Manager
****** Toyota

Page 1 of 2
01/30/2012Problems with Product / Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.