BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/30/2013

Germain Honda of Naples

(239) 643-4044View Additional Phone Numbers3707 Davis Blvd, NaplesFL 34104-5007FacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Germain Honda has a skilled and knowledgeable sales staff with many years of experience satisfying our customers' needs. Our dealership places high importance on emphasizing the customer experience as our #1 priority.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/30/2013

BBB has determined that Germain Honda of Naples meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Germain Honda of Naples' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Germain Honda of Naples

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
09/17/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
2009 Chrysler Town & Country on their website for $8,700.00 with low miles. Called made appointment, drove 60 miles to dealer, car not available.
I called the dealer to make sure a van on their website was available since the dealer was 60 miles away. I was assured it was there and available. I made an appointment and drove to the dealership. My appointment was at 3:00 pm, I drove the 60 miles to find out the car was not available but the sales man could show me something similar. Classic "Bait & Switch". Wasted my day and a half tank of gas!! Shame!

Desired Settlement
There is no possible settlement, just make them stop ripping us off with their bait and switch schemes.

Business Response
The vehicle in question was here when he called but another customer was driving it when he came in and they purchased it. We had the vehicle in stock for 90 days and unfortunately it was the only one like that in that price range. I would gladly send the customer a $25.00 gift card and apologize very much for wasting their time. Pre-owned vehicles are usually one of a kind and always first come first serve. Please let me know if I can do that as a good will gesture.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/15/2014Problems with Product / Service
03/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I agreed to a diagnosis and investment of 2100 dollars to fix the car. This was not the case!
bought a 2006 Honda Civic Hybrid. I felt good about the purchase form the help of the Naples Germain Honda dealer. They showed me the previous records of the car and we inspected it.
After I took ownership of the car I returned to the Service center. Although just a few weeks later, this same place changed their tune on the car, claiming the transmission and hybrid battery needed to be replaced. I was very angry about this for three reasons. 1) It was not what they told me weeks before. So, I totally felt lied to. 2) I know transmissions and it was running fine. 3) In the past, the battery just had a recalled on it, so Honda did some work to it for the previous owners. Germain told me that it was just out of the mileage warranty on it, so I would have to pay thousands to have it worked on. This did not sit well with me. I asked them to talk to Corp Honda about it. They came back saying Corp. Honda would credit me like 100 dollars toward the est. 5,000 dollars in battery work that needed to be done. I was totally upset about this. So picture, I bought an old used car for around 3,000 dollars that worked perfect and Honda agreed it was good to buy. Weeks later, they are telling me to give them almost 8K to make it right. I called around and no one in town does work except this Germain Honda of Naples on these items. So, I am stuck. I decided not to do the work because of my experience here. So, I decided to just drive the car. About a few months later, I notice the car was having issues. It seemed to be slower. SO, I took it back to the Honda dealer. That date was 2/5/201. They ran test and examined the car. Then, they told me it needed a replacement clutch that would fix the issues for about 2100 dollars. My thinking was I have no choose. 2100 is almost the worth of the car, but less than it so I™ll do it. They ordered parts and started working on Feb. 9th.After the work was done, the car still would not run right. It was running the same as when I brought it in. Then, they said another $385 in spark plugs would fix it. My position is the following: I NEVER WOULD OF AGREED ITEM TO ITEM. HONDA LOOKED AT MY CAR AND TOLD ME A 2100 DOLLAR CLUTCH WOULD FIX IT. I AGREED TO A 2100 DOLLAR INVESTMETN FOR NO MORE PROBLEMS. HAD A KNOWN EVERYTHIGN ELSE WAS STILL PRESENT, I WOULD OF JUNKED THE CAR…. To them, it™s to late, I already owe them this money. For this reason, I said fine, do the spark plugs. The outcome, they say that did not fix the problem as well. Now, they tell me they want 1200 dollars more for 8 coils and that will fix the problem. At this point, I am done. I already paid more than the cars worth on repairs and was deceived through this whole process. This dealer seems to be just taking me for a run. They tell me I can™t have the care unless I pay, yet all the problems are still there. Now, I have no money left to do the coils and I was wronged the whole time. At this time I told them to hold off. Then spoke to service manager next day as well as mechanic and all agreed that I could supply coils and they would use those. I purchased the coils the next day at $120.00 and delivered them to the service manager the next day. The next day I checked on the status and was told to speak to the service manager. He said I must install the coils myself due to liability issues. Using their tools and shop space. I returned the next morning to install the coils and the car was put back together where I could not install the coils as agreed.At this point, I informed *** (the serviceman) that I would take the car off the lot, until paid. Now, I have no choose. So, I paid. At this point, the Honda employees informed me they did not know how to fix the car. I decided at this point not to let them do any more. I was only able to drive it a mile away before the car quit running. I had to call a wrecker and have it towed and walk to get a Car Rental for 700 dollars to date.

Desired Settlement
I want them to get the car working for the 2100 that was promised from the beginning. Or, I need to junk the car and I should not owe them anything.

Business Response
Mr. ****** purchased a 2006 Honda Civic hybrid from a private party. Mr. ****** is the 3rd owner of this vehicle. His initial visit to our dealership was on September 4th 2014. At this time his vehicle had 177,226 miles. Mr. ****** had 3 specific concerns at this visit. First, check engine light was on. Secondly, he noted a stutter/jerking feeling was felt while driving, and also noted IMA light was on in vehicle. Thirdly, an oil service was requested. The vehicle was diagnosed to need an IMA battery, for the IMA light. Also, the jerking concern was due to the vehicle needing a starter clutch, and an oil service was completed on the vehicle. Nothing was noted or recommended for the check engine light, and only fault codes present were for the IMA battery.

The estimated costs that were noted on the repair order were an IMA battery replacement for $ 3458.00 and a starter clutch for an additional $2102.00. Both repairs were declined at this visit. The oil service charge at this visit was $29.63. There were no other diagnosis charge for the estimate, these were absorbed by the dealership as a courtesy.

On February 9th 2015 with 183,983 miles Mr. ****** returned to our dealership for the recommended repair to the starter clutch only. No other concerns were noted by Mr. ******.
After the starter clutch was replaced, the technician test drove vehicle to confirm the repair. During the confirmation test drive, the technician noted starter clutch operation was now correct, but the vehicle also had a bad misfire. This engine characteristic was not noted by Mr. ****** at drop off. After confirming the correct installation of the starter clutch and further diagnosis (fuel quality check, fuel pressure, plug examination) It was recommended to Mr. ******, that based on mileage and condition of his vehicle, the starting point to correct his issue would be the replace the spark plugs. It was noted that the ignition coils had arcing marks on them as well. The Honda Tech Line was contacted, ref# XXXXXXX. Honda Technical support recommended the same course of action, to start with replacing his spark plugs. Tech Line also noted that the reason multiple problems may be occurring, was due to high mileage of vehicle. Mr. ****** was informed of this as well.

After spark plugs were replaced, the misfire continued, next step was to replace the ignition coils. The estimate provided to Mr. ****** was declined. An offer was made for Mr. ****** to supply coils, however after consideration of liability concerns, this offer was rescinded. The vehicle repairs were finished and invoiced based on the work performed. The vehicle still had a misfire issue.

Upon completion of the work Mr. ****** previously authorized, he was required to pay his bill. We billed him for the work completed only, and there were no further charges. All diagnostic time for this unrelated concern were again absorbed by the dealership as a courtesy. Mr. ****** paid his bill and picked up the vehicle. It is our understanding that he attempted to replace one or more of the coils himself with used parts. Per his letter, the vehicle has broken down and had the vehicle removed to another location.
I would also like to note that Mr. ****** has since stopped payment on the check for the repairs that he authorized. We are in the process of turning this matter over to our attorney for collection.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First and foremost, The repairs to the transmission did NOTHING. The car still jerks just like it did before. That was the $2100 repair. The coils were the problem with the engine and I had them replaced for a total of $280, not $1200 like Honda wanted to charge. Honda did replace the spark plugs and I am willing to pay for that but as for the transmission work I will NOT pay for.
When I paid the bill at Honda I was under the impression that the transmission was fixed. Since it is not fixed I should not have to pay for it.

03/13/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
******* Honda advertised a van on their website as having a 60 day/2000 mile warranty. They did not honor that advertised warranty.
We purchased the van right before Thanksgiving and traded in our 2001 Ford Windstar at the same time. The full value I exchanged for the van was $6200.00 that included $5500.00 in cash and $700 which was the value Germain Honda put on my trade in.

I noticed issues with the van after leaving the lot. I called the sales person the next day to communicate the issues. I communicated to ****** that the van was clearly advertised on the Germain website with a 60day 2000 mile warranty and that I wanted to have the van fixed.

After going back and forth Germain agreed to check out the van. I brought it to their tech who said there were issues but that I should take it to a dealer near my home for repairs. I then brought it to a ford dealer near my home. That dealer said it needed a new transmission. Germain said they would not pay for it.

******* agreed to apply what I had paid towards the van towards another vehicle. There were two vehciles at Germain Honda that I attempted to trade out the van for. First was a Ford Expedition that was advertised on the Germain website for just over $10,000. ****** from Germain Honda told me that I would have to pay over $8000 plus trade in the van to get the expedition. I told him that I was out $6200 for the van and that the expedition was only $10,000. I told him that if I paid over $8000 I would be paying over $14,000 for a vehicle that was being sold for $10,000. ****** told me that the van that I was given $700 for a trade in value when I bought the van in question was now only worth $100. I told him I could have gotten much more than that selling it for scrap. This ended attempting to buy the Expedition.

Next, ****** stated that they had just got in a 2002 Chrysler Town and Country and that I could buy that van for $4000 plus trade in my van. The problem with that deal is the KBB value of the Town and Country is only $3600. That would mean I would be out around $10,000 for a $3600 van.

I told ****** my conerns about how this was not a fair or just solution to the problem. Also that I was told by *** that I would be taken care of and that the amount I was out for the van in question would be applied to whatever I traded in for. But it is clear to me that despite advertising this van in big bold letters on the Germain website no one at Germain has any real intention on honoring what they advertised on the website as a warranty for 60 days or 2000 miles. I called with in days of buying the van to communicate the problems. I have taken the van into Germain's service at Germain's request where they indicated problems with the transmission and others. I have taken the van into a dealer near my house at Germain's where they indicated there were problems with the transmission. I have called to Germain Honda trying to get this resolved on multiple occasions. I have also emailed both the sales person and the manager without any response.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking either full repairs to the van or a refund of the full amount I applied towards the van including the value of my trade in.

Business Response
Mr. ****** purchased 2000 Ford Windstar from Germain Honda on 25 November 2014. ***** contends that vehicle was advertised with a warranty but the warranty was not given to him. The vehicle was posted for sale incorrectly as a "Gold Check Certified used car. This error was explained to Mr. ****** prior to his purchase. It was explained that the vehicle he purchased is in fact not eligible for the Gold Check warranty because of its age. Prior to his purchase Mr. ****** was informed that the vehicle was offered for sale only on an "AS IS" basis. ***** signed the Buyers Guide that was posted on the vehicle at the time of sale indicating the vehicle was to be sold "AS IS."

We are not able to offer or include any type of warranty on a 2000 model year vehicle because there are none available through any warranty company we do business with. Our Gold Check warranty program is only available on cars 9 years old or newer. The oldest vehicle that is eligible for the warranty is 2006. This was explained to Mr. ****** prior to purchase. At the time of delivery, Mr. ****** signed the "AS IS" Buyers Guide and was also presented a copy of the dealership work order indicating the Windstar had valve cover seepage, transmission pan seepage, rear main seal seepage and tie rod end boots seepage. He also signed a copy of this work order indicating its condition, and accepted the vehicle "AS IS".

In summary, Mr. ****** was informed in advance of the vehicles condition and warranty eligibility. The vehicle was clearly merchandised on the lot, disclosed and sold on an "As Is" basis. Mr. ****** decided to purchase the vehicle "AS IS". Because of the vehicles age there are not any companies that we do business with that offer a warranty for this vehicle. Any known mechanical issues were disclosed to the Mr. ****** prior to his purchase. Mr. ****** signed all disclosure and compliance forms acknowledging the vehicles present condition, and "AS IS" status prior to taking final delivery.
As goodwill, we would like the opportunity to send your vehicle to a our local Ford dealer for diagnostic, at no cost to you. Please contact Donald Banas at Germain Honda to schedule this at your convenience . Please call XXX-XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The ad on the Germain Honda's website clearly stated the van had a 60day/2k mile warranty. One of the numerous papers that I signed as part of buying the van was an as-is sheet. No one explained to me that the 60 day warranty that was advertised was advertised in error. It was not until the day after I purchased the van when I called the dealership and told them there were transmission problems that the salesman then said oh, the people who do the website messed that up and the van had no warranty.
Advertising in big bold letters a vehicle has a warranty on your website, but then including an as-is sheet in with all of the papers a person signs as part of buying a vehicle is clearly a deceptive and confusing process.
The dealerships response to my BBB complaint is to pay for a diagnostic for the van. I have already had the van diagnosed both at Germain Honda and at a **** dealership in Fort Myers. Both of those diagnostics stated there were problems with the van and the transmission. And that was when Germain Honda refused to pay for the repairs that the diagnostic said needed to be done. Having a third diagnostic serves no purpose when Germain Honda has already refused to pay for the repairs from the diagnostic that has already been performed by a certified mechanic at a dealership.

Final Business Response
The facts have not changed. The vehicle was clearly represented and sold on an "AS IS" basis as evidenced by Mr. Millers signature and acceptance of the vehicle at the time of delivery. We have offered to assist Mr. ****** and he has declined our assistance. We stand behind our previous response.

02/13/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The actual costs (lease + insurance) in leasing a Honda from Germain far exceed the cost quoted by the sales rep.
Prior to deciding to lease or buy a Honda, the Germain rep spent extensive time relating to my insurance company the requirements to lease the car. I was given a quote by the insurance company, based on the information given by Germain and the price was factored into my budget. I leased a Honda from Germain. Again at the signing, the Germain rep spent extensive time with the insurance company, relaying the requirements for new coverage. I was issued a new policy, at the price quoted. Three months later, American Honda Financial Corp sent me a letter stating my insurance was insufficient. I must either up my insurance (and pay twice my current cost), or they will repossess the vehicle, ruining my credit.
Germain Honda was fraudulent in relaying the insurance cost to lease a Honda. All insurance requirements relayed to the insurance company came from Germain Honda, and that information was deliberately false to lower the total cost in leasing the car and getting a contract. I sent a letter to Germain, and spoke to **** ****** the Sales Manager. He takes no responsibility.

Desired Settlement
I request either an adjustment to the required insurance or an adjustment to my lease, so that my total cost (lease + insurance) is at the rate confirmed when I leased the vehicle.
I should also note that I was accompanied by another person when leasing, who can verify that the Germain rep relayed the Honda Leasing requirements to my insurance company.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******-*******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************@*************
***** ***,

Germain Honda is very sorry if there was any confusion on your Insurance, however it is your Insurance. The Dealership representatives do not have the athority to negotiate coverage and are not even privy to the premiums that customers pay as that is between you and Progressive (your Insurance Company). We merely contact Progressive pass along the New Vehicle information and whether it is a lease or Finance and the leinholder. The limits required are the same for all leases and progressive listed AHFC as loss payee on your policy so they knew it was a lease. The Sales Manager you spoke with was **** ********* **** ****** and he contacted you as soon as we received your letter., When he spoke with you he tried to explain all of this but you hung up on him. Your Verification of Ins letter dated 10/4/2013 also clearly explains this point. The issue is between you and progressive not Germain Honda.

Final Consumer Response
I'd like to add another point:
In Germain Honda's response, they state that I hung up on their rep ***** This is true. I hung up after a 23 minute phone conversation, because the rep was engaging in "circular" argumenting: he was simple repeating the same thing in an effort to exhaust me, something he seemed very experienced in doing.

09/19/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Verbal Agreement that was made for purchase of a 2011 Honda was not the same when contract was written.Other issues also happened during the purchase.
On August 25, 2013 I stopped in the ******* Honda of Naples certified pre-owned lot. ********** ***************XXXXX. I wanted to look at a 2011 Honda CRV that had caught my eye. ************* a sales associate came to me and we talked. We went inside to work on an agreement, ********* was also involved in the deal. We came to an agreement on the 2011 CRV.
The agreement was the price being reduced from $20,900.00 to $20,700.00 A 200.00 discount off the sticker price. Also I was told I would get a 100,000 mile bumper to bumper factory warranty. The car had 4,446 miles on it. I also needed a trailer hitch put on the car, They said that they could do that for me but I would have to pay for it separate. I paid 695.00 Separate for this to be done. I agreed to all of the above.
Then I saw ********* the Finance Manager, ********* checked my credit and told me I could get a 3.69% rate. I agreed to that too even though I thought maybe it would be lower since they had been advertising on TV 0.9% and 1.9% rates. I told ********* to go head and type up the contract, When he finished I looked at it and I noticed he had not put the $200.00 Discount on the price. So I had to wait for him to redo the entire contract. Then I had to sign about ten different pages, all of which I scanned over and signed as anyone else does when buying a car. I would have time to read them Monday night, because I was told the trailer hitch was going to be overnited and ready the next day so I could not take the car home until then .Well I ended up leaving and no paper work was given to me on Monday.
Tuesday I received a call from ************* telling me that the trailer hitch was not going to be ready for another day. So again no car or paper work on Tuesday. I finally got a call on Wednesday the 27th saying my car was ready. I asked ****** to have my contract papers ready for me also. When I got there ********* was not there, So again I did not receive my copies of the paperwork. Thursday the 29th I was told ********* was off that day and the papers where in his safe.
FINALLY on Friday the 29th four days later I got all my paperwork. I thanked ****** and asked him if I could go to my old car and get a Sun Pass **** pass * had left in their and a Beach parking permit. He walked me to the back where a man was vacuuming my old car, I asked him if anythingwas found , he replied its all in the trash, so I looked in the trash saw a couple old business cards of mine but nothing else. I asked him again was there anything else? He looked shocked and guilty and said oh yes hold on. He went into the backroom and came out with my Sun Pass *** my beach parking pass *** said Im sorry here it is. Why was everything else in the trash but those items? I was pretty upset at that situation but let it go at the time since I had my belongings back.
Friday nite while I was checking over the contract I was surprised to notice I was given a 3.99% rate not a 3.69% and I was charged 1200.00 plus taxes of 72.00 for the warranty I was told I was going to be included no charge as part of the agreement on Monday.
Also on Friday I was informed by a friend who is in law enforcement that the front windshield of my car was fully tinted, and that is illegal in the state of Florida to sell and drive a car that has a windshield that is full tint. This upset me tremendously after all I had already been through now this!
I went first thing Saturday morning to ******* Honda.I saw Don asked him about the errors on the contract. He denied what he had quoted me on Monday which was 100,000 mile bumper to bumper warranty and 3.69% finance rate. I told Don I would contact whoever I had to so I would get what I was promised. I also told Don about the illegal tint and asked did he know he sold me an illegal car. He replied I know. I have ************* as my witness to the agreement. I was lied to and taken advantage of. my contract#XXXXXX purchase date on contract 8/26/2013

Desired Settlement
I want what I was in agreement to on 8/25/2013. Warranty 100,000 mile bumper to bumper included no charge and 3.69% rate. The warranty I was charged needs to be refunded to me, and my interest rate needs to be fixed.

Business Response
Mr. *********,



I sincerely apologize for the frustrations you experienced with our Dealership and would like to offer you some choices to rectify the situation. I am sorry to hear what happened especially because you were just in a few month ago with a good friend of yours who also bought a Certified Preowned car from us and who also purchased the Extended warranty that you spoke of.



To address your concerns:

1. The Price mistake was made by the Sales manager and he apologized for his oversight and I am glad it was corrected before you signed any paperwork.

2. The Certified Preowned Honda's come with a two part warranty: which is listed below for you. This warranty is the only warranty that Honda includes for all Certified Preowned vehicles sold in the United States. Any additional warranties to enhance the coverage can be purchased separately.

Warranty

The Honda Certified Used Car Limited Warranty consists of two types of coverage:

1. 12-Month/12,000-Mile limited warranty

* Coverage starts with the expiration of the Honda New Vehicle Limited Warranty or, if that has already expired, the date sold as Certified.

* Covers most mechanical systems.

2. 7-Year/100,000-Mile powertrain limited warranty

* Coverage begins from the original date of the new-car sale.

* Covers engine, transmission and drive system.

Please remember that the Honda new car warranty must expire before Honda Certified coverage begins.



3. The buyers order that you signed indicated the $1200.00 cost of the additional warranty that you chose when you were given a choice of payments with or without the warranty.

4. The 0.9/1.9 interest rates are available on Civic and Accord models through Honda Finance which was explained to you at the time, unfortunately not on the CRV.

5. **** had presented 3.99 but has gotten the bank to agree to the 3.69 that you preferred. The paperwork delay was a miscommunication between the Salesperson and business Manager ( we apologize )



6. ****** is New to the Dealership and did not realize we clean all cars whether we keep them or send them to the auction and the Detailers know to look for certain items ( Sun passes, Beach stickers, etc.) however it is the customers responsibility to remove all personal items from their trade when they leave it at the Dealership.



7. The window tint: The only area tinted is a ban at the top of the windshield ( which can be removed if you like) the whole windshield is not tinted more than the law will allow.





Once again we did not provide the type of service that I would like for our customers to receive so I have three options for you to hopefully rectify this unfortunate situation:



Option #1 :



We can void the entire transaction and return your vehicle to you and take back the 2011 CRV with no charges due to you.



Option # 2:



We can re-contract the transaction at 3.69% and remove the 1200 extended warranty



Option #3 :



We can re-contract at 3.69% and keep the 1200 extended warranty.





Sincerely,



****** ****************

General Manager

******* Honda of Naples



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Why are you responding back with the same exact emails you sent me when I first contacted you on this issue before going through the BBB.

Obviously Those options are not going to satisfy me as the consumer.

How many times do I have to say this! To make me a satisfied customer fix my transaction to what the agreement was on the first day 8/26/2013, The 100,000 mile bumper to bumper warranty with NO CHARGE and the 3.69% interest rate. This is what I was promised and why ended up buying this car.

Your company and employees have lied to me and then denied it when I confronted them about it.

By agreeing to one thing and then ********* changing it in the written agreement, they took advantage of me and stole from me by adding charges on that were not agreed to!!

Is this how ******* makes their money? They Add charges to the customers bills without them realizing it. Im sure this is not the first time your company has scammed a constomer, but maybe the first time it was actually noticed and something was done about it.

I will not settle on anything other than what I am entitled to, and what I was in agreement to the first day I was at ******* Honda.

I will not stop acting upon this issue until I get what I was promised. And will not settle for less.




Final Business Response


Mr. *********,



The 3 options are the only one's available. The BBB has also received this information.



Your car is ready for you to pick up if you chose that option and we can terminate the contract and will of course refund the amount paid for the trailer hitch. We can work through the process of cancelling the loan and titling paperwork and the sooner the decision is made the easier this process will be to accomplish.



If you choose to keep the vehicle, we will gladly inspect the tint and if the windshield has any tint other than the factory tint we will happily have it removed.



Sincerely,

****** ****************

General Manager

******* Honda

01/03/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My 2011 Odyssey was repaired under an extended warranty purchased when I bought the car new.I could not have my car till the dealer received the check
My 2011 Honda Odyssey was purchased new in Kentucky. We bought an extended warranty from the Honda dealer. We moved to Naples, FL.last year. Since then we have had to use the extended warranty to cover a motor for the tailgate and there was no issue. In this particular case the motor for the sliding rear door quit functioning. The service representative from ****** Honda contacted the warranty company and was told that only the motor was covered and was given authorization for this part of the repair. He told me that I would be responsible for repair of the cable and rail that needed replacing at a cost of $386 plus tax. I agreed and gave consent for repair. The repairs were completed on Friday 7 Dec 2012 at about 1330. I then received a call from my wife saying that she was told the car was ready but she could not have it till the dealership received the check from the warranty company. She relayed this to me and I called the service rep who confirmed that this was their policy, but he asked that I call the warranty company and tell them that my wife was waiting on the car at the dealership could they speed it up. He would then send the courtesy van to pick my wife up and bring her to the dealership. I then called the warranty company, and explained the situation. The lady I spoke with was very nice, and she explained that the payment had already been approved and was in line with other payments from around the country to be wired to their respective service centers. She said the process usually takes a couple of hours, but if my service center would not release the car she could give me a new fax number to have the dealer send the claim to, to move it to the front of the line. I thanked her and gave this information to the service rep. By then it was about 1400 and my wife called me again because the service rep had called her to let her know he was sending the courtesy shuttle. She then inquired what would happen if the check did not come through before closing and she was told she could not have the car. My wife then refused the shuttle ride because she would have had no way to get home other than a taxi. I then called the service rep again and expressed my anger over their policy and him using me to circumvent the system so they could get their check quicker,but he insisted that this was the dealerships policy and he had no control. The check came through shortly thereafter and my wife paid our share of the bill and picked up the car.

Here is the problem:1)this policy did not apply when we had repairs done previously and this information was not provided up front,2)once the dealership received an authorization from the warranty company they became party to a contractual agreement with that "insurer" and had no legal grounds to withhold release of my vehicle after I paid my obligation, and 3)this created a situation that caused improper action (moving our claim in front of others who had submitted their's first) by me under duress appied by the service rep at ****** Honda.
I don't believe that Honda or the extended warranty company intend to have their policy holders treated in this manner.

Desired Settlement
I would like an assurance in writing from the manager or owner of ****** Honda that this is not their policy, and a letter of apology. Otherwise I will pursue it with my warrant company and ****** Corporate.

Business' Initial Response
We certainly understand the customers frustration with the Extended Warranty that he purchased in Kentucky. It has always been our policy that payment is due when services are rendered,as it was with the customers previous visit when his Extended Warranty Company was diligent and the approved payment by credit card was received prior to customer picking up vehicle.We do appreciate the customers business and our service advisers are always willing to assist our customers with obtaining payment from their Extended Warranty Company, but the customer is ultimately responsible for full payment for the repair of their vehicle.We may suggest that for future repairs that the customer allow ample time for payment confirmation from his Extended Warranty Company.We certainly value our customer and hope to continue servicing his needs.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What a ridiculous answer! My frustration has nothing to do with the extended warranty company and you know it! Try reading my complaint again. Once the extended warranty company approved X amount for my claim, that money had a greater certainty of appearing in your bank account than the balance that was approved on my charge card. The fact is that you don't have full disclosure up front! When you sell these extended warranties (for which you make a decent profit) do you tell your customers about this policy? Is this applied universaly with Honda dealers around the country? Are Honda and your dealership so proud of this policy that you would be pleased to see a news segment on it? Does Honda even approve of this policy? As far as the future goes, since I live in a city with only one Honda dealer, I do not plan on ever buying another Honda when I trade this one in. Until then I will be driving to Ft. Myers.

ps: As a business owner that deals with insurance companies also, I cannot fathom treating my customers the way you do. You profit from the insurance (warranty) when your customers buy it from you and again when they use it at your facility, and yet you still have such a greedy and abusive policy!

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/24/2000Business started: 01/01/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Business Tax Receipt/Collier County
2800 Horseshoe Dr N
Naples, FL 34104-6917
(239) 252-2477
http://www.colliertax.com/btr.html

Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee
2900 Apalachee Pkwy # B441
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6552
(850) 617-2000

Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Mayo Bldg Rm 217
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800
(850) 410-3800
http://www.800helpfla.com

BBB records show a license number of 871159 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Collier County. Their web address is http://www.colliertax.com/btr.html.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 871160 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Collier County. Their web address is http://www.colliertax.com/btr.html.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of VF-1030698-1 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

BBB records show a license number of MV91763 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Mr. Stephen L. Germain (Owner / Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Hill (GM)Mr. Samuel R. Willis (Office Manager)
Business Category

New Car Dealerships, Auto Repair Services, Auto Dealers - Online, Used Car Dealerships

Products & Services

The staff at Germain Honda will help you find the new Honda or pre-owned vehicle you are looking for. Customers can come in and take advantage of our knowledgeable Honda service technicians, as well as a fully-stocked inventory of Honda auto parts.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:30 AM to 08:00 PMTue: 08:30 AM to 08:00 PMWed: 08:30 AM to 08:00 PMThu: 08:30 AM to 08:00 PMFri: 08:30 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMSun: 11:00 AM to 04:00 PM
Service Area

Southwest Florida

Alternate Business Names
Germain on Davis, LLC

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

2 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Germain Honda of Naples

3707 Davis Blvd

Naples, FL 34104-5007

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3707 Davis Blvd 

    Naples, FL 34104-5007(239) 643-4044
    (877) 714-4309
    (877) 813-2502
    (888) 659-0594
    (888) 658-8438

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Germain Honda of Naples is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 714-4309
  • (877) 813-2502
  • (888) 659-0594
  • (888) 658-8438
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for New Car Dealerships

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.