BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/27/2013

Friendly Kia

Phone: (727) 815-9611Fax: (727) 843-0881View Additional Phone Numbers5819 US Highway 19, New Port RicheyFL 34652-2935FacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and pre-owned automobile sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/27/2013

BBB has determined that Friendly Kia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Friendly Kia's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Friendly Kia

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
08/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Problems of lack of determination, a sold Paint Protection and ext. Guarantee completion of the work - inaccurate talks, no interest from superiors


Problems of lack of determination, a sold Paint Protection and ext. Guarantee completion of the work - inaccurate talks, no interest from superiors

among others in the past. 3 wheels a deep -1 rad almost smooth / to not start selling the small battery - change the blinker bulb for $ 50 ..
overlooked a problem with comforting to later

Desired Settlement
correctness - handling and politics

Business Response
**** ******* Owner and **** ******** Service Director met with **** ******** and his wife ****** ******** (owner of record). We did a walk-around inspection of the vehicle for paint issues. We found two spots on the hood that were as a result of sap. These spots are eligible for coverage under the customer's Xzilon paint protection plan. There were two chipped spots on the rear hatch that customer stated were there at time of delivery in November of 2012. This vehicle was purchased pre-owned and was accepted in as-is condition at that time. The remaining paint concerns were normal wear and tear, scuffs, chips, etc. that are not covered by Xzilon. However, as a goodwill gesture, Friendly Kia absorbed the repair costs for the rear hatch chips an other scuffs and chips. Regarding the 2 mechanical noises, dealership personnel drove over 30 miles with the customer. The noise in the rear of the vehicle was identified and repaired to customer's satisfaction. The noise in the steering wheel did not occur during the road test. The customer agreed to return when he could demonstrate the noise. Customer has indicated that they are well satisfied with our handling of these concerns. Customer was provided with a free loaner to use during the service period. Please feel free to contact me with any questions you may have. Best Regards, **** ******** Service Director, Friendly Kia

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
it is always important - to speak and listen
for the prehistory it is not true - but - in the course of wasted time - is to adopt the best
for the future problem-documented and drawn, built parts will be shown and saved
it is now a modern market and the car is no technology from the other universe / when a customer says and shows the note
Trust lost is hard to replace
in the workshop, there was new bumps - which had to be called again
- For the future; fotos- notes and signatures - unfortunately a necessary result

through the use of the possessive was dedicated himself quickly - thank you

01/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I brought my car to the dealership for new tires and oil change. while waiting for my car to be finished one of their service guys crashed my car.
On December 11, 2013 I brought my car to the kia dealership to purchase new tires and have an oil change done. Having trusted them with my car before, I bring my service back again. Only this time while it was being serviced they crashed my car. At the time of the accident it was clear as day that it was Kia's fault for crashing my car. Before anyone leaves I ask to verify that they will be handling the damages to fix my car. Almost 3 weeks go by and nothing has been done to fix my car. I send a letter to the owner of Friendly Kia **** ****** in hopes this situation will get resolved. The next day I receive a phone call from the service manager saying that I will now have to go through my insurance to get my car fixed. Coming to find out that now that it is my insurance I have to pay my deductible.

They offered to take care of my deductible and keep me in a loaner car if I were to stay at the collision center of their choice. But seeing that they can not handle servicing my car I don't want to trust my car with who they want to fix it. Especially since my insurance allows me to pick any body shop I want. Now that I am moving my car to a different collision center they are now going to take back the loaner car and decline to pay my deductible.

I find it disgusting that a business can conduct themselves like this and have no recourse. I have had to litigate this whole process because of incompetent people not taking fault for their wrong doing. I feel that I am being taken advantage of because of these circumstances and it is unacceptable the way this has played out.

Desired Settlement
After the way this has played out I do not feel satisfied as a customer of Friendly Kia that my car be fixed and handed back.

A settlement that would make me fell like the dealership has taken proper care of me would be to issue me a new car same make and model or proper down payment on a new car of theirs to equal my current loan amount on my car.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* Owner
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: **********@aol.com
Mr ******* brought vehicle in for maintenance and repairs.In the process of road testing the authorized repairs, the customers vehicle was broadsided by another vehicle as they were both exiting the parking lot.The local police were called, and they advied both parties to report the accident. Friendly Kia also reported accident. In the interim, Frienly Kia rented a vehicle from Enterprise at our expense, so Mr ******* was not inconvenienced. We also loaned Mr ******* one of our cars until the insurance companies could investigate. Mr ******* insurance coverage is primary. In the possible event that he may have to pay a deductiblem we offered to absorb some of it , and his rental coverage would have helped us do that, if he chose the repair to be done at our referring Body shop/ We presented this offer, and gave him overnite to consider. He chose to move his vehicle elsewhere. We regret the accident, and hope that his insurance company will prevail against the other insured who ran into his vehicle.
Sincerely,
**** *******
Owner
fRIENDLY kIA

Final Consumer Response

10/26/2012Billing / Collection Issues
09/04/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
02/07/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
05/16/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
02/07/2012Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/29/2000Business started: 06/17/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Mayo Bldg Rm 217
Tallahassee, FL32399-0800
(850) 410-3800
http://www.800helpfla.com

Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee
2900 Apalachee Pkwy # B441
Tallahassee, FL32399-6552
(850) 617-2000

Pasco County Business Tax Receipt
7530 Little Rd
New Port Richey, FL34654-5598
(727) 847-8165
http://www.pascotaxes.com

BBB records show a license number of MV36667 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

BBB records show a license number of VF-1002137-1 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

BBB records show a license number of 029715 for this company, issued by Pasco County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.pascotaxes.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 077918 for this company, issued by Pasco County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.pascotaxes.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John P. Gilliss (President)
Business Category

New Car Dealerships, Auto Repair Services, Used Car Dealerships

Alternate Business Names
Friendly Kia and Isuzu, Gilliss & Gilliss, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Friendly Kia

5819 US Highway 19

New Port Richey, FL 34652-2935

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5819 US Highway 19 

    New Port Richey, FL 34652-2935(727) 815-9611
    (727) 815-3722
    (727) 569-1932
    (866) 996-1527

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Friendly Kia is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (727) 815-3722
  • (727) 569-1932
  • (866) 996-1527
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for New Car Dealerships

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.