BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/27/2012

Ford of Port Richey

Phone: (727) 868-9545

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Problems with Product / Service8
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints13

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (13)BBB Closure Definitions
02/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Engine seized up 150 miles after timing belt kit was installed.
On (I can provide date if needed) I brought my 2001 Ford Focus in to be repaired for a squealing belt and a minor oil leak. I was informed by the service writer that the timing belt needed to be replaced and the oil leak was from the oil pan gasket. A "complete timing kit" was installed and the oil pan gasket replaced. The next day I was told the vehicle repairs were finished. When I came to pick up the vehicle it wasn't ready. They stated the wrong "timing kit" was delivered. A few days later I went out of town. As I backed the car out of the driveway (leaving on my trip to Ft. Lauderdale) I noticed a very substantial amount of oil on the floor. I had to take the vehicle back and they re-tightened the oil pan gasket and let the vehicle run while on the lift to verify the leak had stopped. I left to Ft. Lauderdale and made it to Estero, approx. 170 miles. I broke down on I-75. I had the vehicle towed to ******* **** **** Dealership. They diagnosed my engine for $99 and said it had seized up. They said it was inconclusive why it had done so and that they would have to completely dismantle it to find the cause (at $95 dollars and hour). I declined. I informed Ford of Port Richey what had happened and they unbelievably blamed me for poor maintenance of the vehicle. Stating the engine seized due to lack of oil changes. I have owned that vehicle for seven years and have never had a single check engine light come on and they have inspected the vehicle on previous occasions for other general maintenance. I was offered a settlement of $500 by a manager named **** ****** which to me implies some sort of guilt of damaging my vehicle. I accepted the offer and I still have not received any money from them. One thing I have received is many solicitation attempts to buy a new vehicle from them which I adamantly declined on numerous occasions. They continue to call. I have all maintenance invoices and and an email response from manager **** ****** which I can furnish to you on request.

Desired Settlement
I want my entire repair cost of $998.00 refunded to me due to loss of time and complete loss of vehicle. I was forced to get rid of the vehicle as it was in Estero so I had it donated. Long story short I gave them a full functioning vehicle and due to their negligence the engine seized up less than 200 miles later. Of course I can't prove any of this and they know it. They got me good.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** - Oper Dir.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@fordofportrichey.com
Mr. ****** is correct that we did replace the timing belt and a oil pan gasket. He is correct that the replacement took a day longer due to the wrong parts being shipped. He is also correct that the next day after he picked up he did have an oil leak due to the oil pan bolts not being torque completely. We did retighten all the bolts and had to add a quart of oil to the vehicle.
I actually did not receive a call from Mr. ****** at first about the vehicle. The first call was from ***** at ******* ***** **** in Estero. He told me everything that occurred and he stated that his technician found the engine seized due to internal failure and had nothing to do with low or no oil or any timing issues. They also stated that the engine just seized with no warning, no lights of oil pressure, or any check engine light. They shared with me that in their professional opinion the problem occurred due to lack of maintenance and high mileage. ***** also stated that Mr. ****** did not want to do any other diagnosing because he bought the car cheap years ago and got his money out of it.
My first conversation with Mr. ****** was actually when I returned one of *****'s calls because he had called me to let me know that the customer was good with everything. Mr. ****** happened to be in front of ***** so I asked to speak with Mr. ****** just so I can let him know that if there was anything we could do to help on getting him another vehicle please let me know. This is also when I offered to assist him by giving him a $475.00 refund as a goodwill gesture in the hopes that he would consider doing business with us. A couple of days later I received a standard survey that gets done by a third party where Mr. ****** was very insulting and stated that he wanted a full refund. I emailed Mr. ****** with a response on 12/30/14 (I can provide a copy if needed) explaining to him that what I offered was done as a goodwill gesture and not because we had done anything wrong. He never replied and I've been waiting to hear from him. At this point we will not be refunding the $998.00 and the only thing we are willing to do is put $500.00 towards another vehicle.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Firstly I would like to address the lies in the response from Ford of Port Richey. They state that the check oil light and engine light did not come on prior to the engine seizing. Both the oil light and check engine light came on prior to the car becoming disabled. Secondly, when or for how much money I purchased the vehicle is irrelevant. I gave them a fully working vehicle with a minor squeaky belt and received back a vehicle that made it only 170 miles after they "repaired" it. The vehicle had 120k miles on the engine. It was running just fine other than the annoyance of the squealing belt. I never had so much as a single check engine light come on at any time during my ownership of the vehicle prior to the time it came on when the engine seized. I followed the maintenance schedule and changed the oil religiously at every 3k miles. At no time did I state that I was OK with my engine seizing a mere 170 miles after work was performed on it. I encourage you at the BBB to obtain my transcript from the third party verification company that called me after the incident. I'm sure it will shed light on the fact that my story hasn't changed a single iota. The fact that this guy said I never responded to his offer of $475 is also a lie. Just because his ploy to get me back into the dealership to purchase another vehicle didn't work it does not negate the fact that he offered, I accepted and he reneged. He has my address so he knows where to send the check. We need to speak of nothing further and I don't need to do business with these people ever again but what does need to happen is that even though I will not buy a new vehicle from them he needs to honor his word and send me the check for $475 that he promised.

Final Consumer Response
This response was taken verbally by the BBB: The business has offered goodwill and agreed to overnight me a check. I am satisfied and you may close this case. Thank you.

02/16/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
18 days after trading in our truck the dealer still hasn't paid off our $32204 loan.
On December 22, 2014 we traded in our 2012 Ford F350 on a new 2014 Ford F150 truck. We owed $32204 on the trade which the business manager *** New said would be paid off the next day by overnight mail. We had a payment due on the loan by auto deduct on the 25th of December. He assured us the loan would be paid off before then. As of January 10, 2015 our loan still has not been paid off, we have been forced to make another payment of $700 on a vehicle we no longer own, plus interest charges. We how have two vehicle loans outstanding, and they have our truck. This caused us to be denied refinancing of our mortgage due to having two large vehicle loans. We were also required to sign a Monroney and Dealer Addendum Label Acknowledgment saying we received the window sticker but after the truck came back from detail the sticker was missing. We asked for it stating that we signed a paper saying we received it. They said to come back the next day and pick it up. We came back the next day and they said come back again tomorrow. We came back again and they still did not have it. Then we were told they would mail it within a week. They never did. We were also given an invalid temporary registration for our vehicle. We were stopped by law enforcement and told our tag was invalid. The tag was issued to the wrong vehicle. We also were charged full price for dealer added extras, even though during negotiations we were only supposed to pay 50% of dealer installed options.

Desired Settlement
Immediate payoff of our original $32204 loan balance on our trade plus the $700 loan payment we had to pay after they took possession of our trade, the interest accruing on the loan back to Dec. 22, 2014. We also want our Monroney Label and the approximately $750 discount that was agreed upon on the dealer installed options.

Business Response
We have sent the payoff to the bank and provided the customer with the tracking number. Since the customer made an extra payment, the bank will provide the customer with a refund of the extra balance left.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No. We want our window sticker that the dealer was required to provide to us. Their detail person threw it away and the dealer was going to order a new one from Ford and mail it to us within a week. It has been 4 weeks and we haven't received it. It took 29 days for the dealer to pay off our trade the least they can do is get us our window sticker.

Final Business Response
I have requested a replacement window sticker from Ford. We should have it in 2-3 weeks. When we receive the replacement window sticker I will call Mr. ********** to let him know it's here. I can also mail it to him after it arrives.

Final Consumer Response
This response was taken verbally: I have received the sticker and you may close this case. Thank you

05/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Multiple vehicle repairs and still does not work correctly.
I own a 2013 Ford Escape that has been having engine issues which are covered under a recall. My vehicle has been in the shop three times in the past four weeks and continues to have the same issue. I fear for the safety of myself and my daughter because the vehicle is unreliable.

Desired Settlement
Negotiable.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ******* GMS
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@fordofporrichey.com
******** has a problem with Ford Motor Company not Ford of Port Richey. The vehicle she purchased has broken down several times for the same problem. I have reached out to Ford to see if they can do something for ********.

Consumer Response

09/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
on 7/17/13 we paid for a pre-purchase inspection for a Ford Focus we were considering buying from Price Buster Auto Sales in Pt. Richey. My Ford dealership contact person was **** Governale,Service Advisor. I told **** I was considering purchasing a car out of state from a ***** car lot in Pt. Richey and wanted it to be independently inspected by a Ford dealership and that our decision to purchase would be made based upon their report. I specifically asked for the engine, electrical, AC and all other major car functions to be inspected along with the underbody of car for rust, as well as tires and general body condition of the car etc. A few hours later we received a call from **** with "Good news-the car looks great with no major issues" other than asking the sellers to "refresh the AC freon as the AC seemed weak." Based on this report we purchased the car and had it transported to WA. When we started the car the first thing we saw was smoke coming from the engine. Upon further inspection we discovered the AC is completely non functioning (broken evaporator core) along with the radio, washer fluid pump, back hatch release and the engine smoke was from a bad valve cover gasket. There were also 2 bad tires, bad struts and a broken tail light. After talking to our local mechanic the cost of repairs on this car are over $1700! Obviously this car was NEVER inspected and we would NEVER had made the purchase based on an accurate and truthful inspection of the car. When I contacted **** by phone she apologized saying the mechanic was "a new guy who dropped the ball." I asked for a refund and **** said she'd speak to her manager. We have had no response to further emails or phone messages in the seven weeks since.
Product_Or_Service: pre purchase used car inspection

Desired Settlement
refund to our credit card in the amount of $68.48

Business Response
Talked to customer approx one week ago and resolved issue. Offered a full refund that was credited back to his card. Transaction was processed 9-9-2013. Customer happy

Final Consumer Response

07/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am registering a complaint against Ford of Port Richey, located at:0715*************** ********** XXXXX PHONE: XXX-XXX-XXXX

On 5/24/2013 I paid a $400.00 down payment on a 2003 Ford Ranger, which I was allowed to drive for almost a month while the dealer tried to arrange financing. On the 25th of June it was decided that I must return the vehicle so I did, without delay. While I had the truck, I kept it washed and waxed, I drove it carefully and took extra care so that no scratches or dents occurred. The dealer promised me that my down payment would be returned, on the following Friday, the 28th, at 7pm. The money would come from their corporate office in Tampa , the refund would come over here, to the dealer along with the paychecks. Well, that did not happen, I have been communicating with the used car sales manager, when my refund did not arrive, he told me to check with him on Saturday, the 29th, at 10:00 am. I waited until 10:15am before I called, and the deposit refund still has not been sent from Tampa . I need that money back NOW! The house I live in is situated in the woods, the closest business is 5 miles away and I now have NO TRANSPORTATION. I have some more money, I need that $400 to put with what I have if I am going to be able to find any type of vehicle. This dealer is well aware of my situation, the salesman who dealt with me came out to my house to pick me up when he was trying to sell me the truck, so he knows how isolated my daughter and I are out here, in the middle of nowhere.
I feel these are VERY BAD business practices, I have always had an allegiance to Ford trucks but no longer. I am switching to Chevy, Dodge, maybe even Toyota , after all of this run around they are giving me. If I was not isolated out here it might not be so bad, but I am and they(the dealer) are well aware of my dilemma. All I have learned of this business is that they do not care about people, they only care about their money. I understand they are in business, they need to make money, but they also need to have some consideration for the residents of the towns and county in which they do business. thank you for you time, if there is anything your organization can do to either help me, or help someone else in the future. please do.


Sincerely,

***** ********

XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
wants refund of deposit

Business' Initial Response
I spoke to ***** ******** on Saturday June 28, 2013 via email. I apologized for her not getting the refund and I informed her I would get the refund handled on Monday July 1, 2013. On Monday I arranged to have the check delivered to ***** ******** at her home in Spring Hill. On July I, 2013 at 4:30pm we sent a driver to ***** ******** home with the refund check.

Page 1 of 2
07/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A routine visit for an oil change resulted in two major breakdowns within a week, one within hours of leaving and an unnecessary repair.
I went into Ford of Port Richey on June 20th for an oil change and diagnostic to make sure my car was running properly. I had mentioned my headlights (low beams only) did not work. Also, my car had stalled out at a light a couple of times within the past couple of months. It was not a recent occurrence, nor was it large issue on that day.

I was told (by **** ********* I needed a new switch for the lights and there was a small leak in the thermostat housing that needed repair. A spark plug change was suggested by the mechanic to fix the issue for the couple of stalls I had in the past months, which we both thought could wait. I told him I would be able to make the above repairs in a few weeks when I had funds available. I paid for the oil change and diagnostic and drove home.

After being home for a couple of hours, I proceeded to go back out to the store. The car was dead and would not turnover at all. I called **** ******** and asked why my car died after leaving the mechanic just two hours before. I was told is was probably the battery. I stated that I had just replaced the battery within the past year, but he had me check it anyway. The car did not start with a jump. I called back and he said I would need to have it towed into the shop, but I would not be able to have it towed until Monday, June 23rd.

On Monday, June 23rd, the car was towed to the shop and they performed another diagnostic test. I received a call later that evening stating that my starter was broken and it would cost $630 to fix. My car would be ready the next day, June 24th.

On Tuesday, June 24th, I picked up the car. I was told the total was around $750. I argued that was not the price I was quoted. Apparently I was quoted a price pre-tax. She took it to the manager and came back with $649. I paid and left.

Thursday, June 26th, I was out with my family, including my 7 yr old daughter and 5 yr old niece. My car stalled out and died on SR 50 in the middle of traffic. I managed to restart the car, but it died again on a side road in the middle of the street. My sister called AAA and we waited about 45 minutes in the afternoon heat.

The AAA mechanic examined the car and told me the alternator was shot. I told him that I just had TWO diagnostic tests and the starter replaced. He stated the diagnostic test would have revealed the alternator was weak and the cause of the problem.

After speaking to **** ****** (of Ford of Port Richey) though email, he is suggesting I went in for a routine oil change and diagnostic test to see if my car was running properly. I drove home and my starter coincidentally broke within HOURS of my visit. Then, TWO DAYS after my starter is fixed my alternator coincidentally broke in the middle of traffic.

My car broke down twice within six days of going in for a simple oil change and diagnostic test that revealed nothing wrong. The idea that my car "happened to break down" two hours after having it in for a full diagnostic showing nothing wrong with that system is ridiculous in itself. While I had serious doubts about the quality of service, at that point I just wanted it repaired. However, to allegedly replace the wrong part in hopes that in a couple of weeks I will be back into their shop paying for a new alternator is outrageous.

I went in initially with a $20 coupon for an oil change, and ended up paying $89.99 in diagnostic fees the first visit and $649.31 for towing fees and a repair I believe was completely unnecessary.

**** ********* (of Ford of Port Richey) solution is to have my car towed to a place I no longer trust and have the alternator replaced at an unspecified cost to make a second major repair on a car that was running fine before my first visit. Under the circumstances, I think that is an unacceptable solution.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of $649.31 for the unnecessary tow and repair.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ************ Ops Dir
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@fordofportrichey.com
I have reached out to Mrs. **** multiple times via email because she refused to speak with me over the phone which has caused a lot of delay. I have offered to have the vehicle towed here at no charge to her. I have offered to have it diagnosed at no charge to her. and I've assured her that we would come to a resolution that she would be happy with. I can not quote anything at this time nor commit to anything because the vehicle has not be diagnosed. The tow truck driver stated it was an alternator but it has not been diagnosed by a certified technician.

We replaced the start because originally it was towed in for a no crank/ no start. Not even jump starting it would work. We tested the starter, it tested bad, we replaced it and the car started right up. If the alternator was bad then the car would not have started and the battery would have been dead. Jump starting it would have at least started the vehicle but once the cables were disconnected the car would then die. The fact that she was able to pick up and drive away from the dealership states that the starter was the problem not the alternator. Again, if the alternator was bad then she would have never made it out of the parking lot without the car dieing. My offer stands to have it towed and diagnosed at no charge to Mrs. **** and once it's diagnosed we **** then decide what we can do to assist Mrs. ****.
Unfortunately, there is no reason to refund for the work performed because it was diagnosed and repaired correctly.
Our goal is to resolve this issue for her in way that's fair to both parties.
I have just emailed Mrs. ***'s letting her know that my offer still stands with the towing, the diagnosing, and if the alternator is truly needed I am offering her the part at cost with no labor charge at all. Again, I will take care of the towing, diagnosing, and the labor charge to install the alternator if needed.
This is more than a reasonable offer and I look forward to resolving this issue and earning Mrs. **** trust and business in the future.
Sincerely,
**** ******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ****** is offering a resolution that does not address the issue. My complaint is the unnecessary repair of the starter, which is why I am requesting a refund. Having the genuine problem repaired is not the issue. The alternator has already been diagnosed and replaced by a reputable mechanic - Again, I was told a diagnostic test would have revealed the alternator was weak and the cause of the problem. An alternator will show it's not functioning properly in a diagnostic test before it actually fails. A faulty alternator can also cause other parts to malfunction (battery and starter) until the alternator is repaired. The car was not diagnosed and repaired correctly by Ford of Port Richey.

09/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In the repair of body damage done to my vehicle during a mechanical service additional body damage was done by dealership
My truck received body damage at the dealership while having the transmission serviced. 1. Dealer representative ****** ***** committed to repair damage. After 2 rescheduling appt's ****** ***** then refused to fix all damage claiming they would only fix part of the damage stating he now didn't believe they did it. I tried to show him pictures of his service bay & how I thought it *** have happened, he refused to listen & only stated "I'm not going to argue with you & we are only fixing the paint" I brought the truck in for the paint repair & in doing that repair I NOW have additional damage done to the rear window molding & the window seal. All from what appears to be from wedging the window trim out & away from the truck while painting the back corner of the cab. The rear window now LEAKS !!!
(Note: the written estimate I obtained from another ford dealership stated the rear window seal needed to be reset)

Desired Settlement
I want the dealership to pay for the proper repair to be done at a different body shop. Preferably the other Ford dealership.

Business Response
***** ****** came in for service and claimed we damaged roof of his truck. When ***** ****** meet with *** ***** they looked at the truck and *** stated it looked like a brake lever from a motorcycle or bike caused the damage. *** agreed to fix the area on top of the truck even though we believe this damage didn't come from Ford of Port Richey. *** ***** also spoke to the painter and asked him to tape around the window gaskets due to the truck being well over 10 years old. I also talked to the painter to confirm the window gasket was not disturbed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not except this answer. If we compare the pictures that *** took the day I showed him the damage & the pictures now after the partial repaint, the difference in the window gasket is very plain to see, it was disturbed & is not seated proper now. *** had me come back 3 times & was going to do the proper repair until I complained about being without a vehicle for 3 days while they got the work done, this is when everything changed. What they would do to fix it & how. I also showed a service employee there the picture of the truck with the motorcycle loaded..What *** is suggesting is IMPOSSIBLE to do,further I would remind them that this was a dent on the corner of the cab body & not just a scratch, it would take a much harder impact that what a brake lever or handle bar could possibly do.
*** also tried to claim that it was impossible for one of the service lifts to do this damage, I have attached pictures that **** show: 1. Exactly how I believe the damage was done. (This is their shop) 2. The obvious damage to the window seal. 3. Exactly how the motorcycle is positioned locked into a loading dock installed in the back of the truck.


10/23/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealership salesman sold a vehicle with desired options as requested. Calls, trips, Time and resources spent ultimate result options not on vehicle.
7/13 - Went to "Ford of Port ****ey" in search of a lightly used Ford Edge with GPS Navigation, Backup camara, sync option. Was told and sold 2011 Ford Edge VIN 2FMDK3KC5BBA64858 with these options by *********** (sales Associate) & ************ (Sales Associate).
After obtaining online owners manual and asking several people without success in getting Navigation to work, contacted Ford of Port ****ie and was told a chip needed to be replaced to make the Navigation system work. After minor push-back, the dealership agreed to replace the chip.
9/10 Made appointment to take time off from work to get chip replaced 9/12.
9/11 ***** and Ford Tech attempted to install chip. Was told the vehicle didn't have GPS navigation system at that time. Requested a Manager, *********** eventually came out and told me he was New Car only and I needed to call ************ the next day. I told ***** that since I was at the dealership, it would seem that I should be able to leave a message for **** and he could call me the next day agreed to 12:PM call time.
9/12 Relative at the dealership the next day for repairs and called to see if **** had called. Since he had not, she found him and put him on the phone with me. He seemed to be unaware of the situation. He stated that he would work out a solution to this problem.
9/13 ************ (Director of Finance) requested that I contact him if I didn't receive an acceptable response/solution. I called Bryan, explained vague response from ****. Called back right away and was told they were looking for a replacement and I would have a 2011 or newer with similar miles including the options I was originally promised and sold within 7 - 10 days.
Monday 9/24 contacted Ford Motor Company Customer Service with complaint. Was put immediately on conference call with *********** who immediately said I was offered a total refund of my money. Although I had never been told that, I was in agreement to this resolution.
I called to make an appointment for Wed. 9/26 to stop by and get the refund promised at 4:PM.
When I showed up at 4:PM they couldn't give me money back because trade In was sold and attempted to sell me a new car (Bait and switch?).
On 9/27 I told them I was not interested in a new car and additional debt. I wanted my money back as promised.
I have been promised resolution (once again) in 30 to 60 days. This is totally unacceptable! ************ said he is looking for a Ford Edge Limited with GPS for an even trade. Since I've been given the "run-around" several times and out right lied to by this dealership, I do not believe anything they say.

Desired Settlement
Trade In of $7717.33
Down Payment $13,000.00

Sub total $20,717.33

- Loan to be paid off by Ford of Port Richey
- Any principle based on payments and additional principle paid refunded to customer.

Business' Initial Response
Mrs. ***** purchased a pre-owned 2011 Edge from us on 7/13/2012 for $26,990
Almost 2 months later Mrs. ***** came back in to get repairs on the vehicle. During this visit she also inquired on what she said was GPS. She was told about the Sync class and was offered help. On 9/11/2012 Mrs. ***** came in to attend the Sync technology class we offer on every Tuesday. *** ******* confirmed she didn't have navigation but had the touch screen with information. The two systems look the same but what she has is turn by turn directions from Sync without the map. This will allow Mrs. ***** to ask Sync Services for turn by turn directions. Then Sync will down load the directions to her vehicle and will prompt her when to turn like navigation systems do. She was not happy with the Sync Services and wanted a map. *** ******* informed her with her smart phone she can download an application that would have a map that works with the Sync turn by turn directions. She stated she wanted the screen in the car to have the map on it. At that point *** ******* told her we would try to find a pre-owned Edge with Navigation and give her full credit on what she had spent on a different pre-owned vehicle with Navigation. I did inform her that it might be a little more than what she paid to get this extra feature. Mrs. ***** left that night upset but was offered a solution to the problem if she wanted to have it corrected.
9/24/2012 Mrs. ***** contacted Ford Motor Company and did have a 3 way call with *********** the New Car Director with Ford of Port Richey. During this phone call it was addressed like this was a new vehicle she just bought. *********** thought she just purchase the car and offered to refund her money. She made an appointment to come in on 9/26/2012
9/26/2012. Mrs. ***** came in to get the refund and unwind the deal. *********** then realized the information he was given by Ford Motor Company was incorrect. Mrs. ***** purchased a pre-owned vehicle not a new one. He also found out that she purchased this vehicle over 2 months earlier and we no longer had her traded vehicle. In fact we had sold her traded vehicle to another customer. At this point we wanted to still do the right thing and offered to give her full credit of the amount she paid for the Edge towards another vehicle. She stated her father was a car salesman in another state and he was looking for the vehicle for her but had no luck. She also stated she just wanted her money back so she could purchase a vehicle from him instead. We informed her we could not give her a cash refund and we would give her 100% credit towards a different vehicle. If she wanted another 2011 Edge it would take time to find one with the color and options she wanted. We even offered her a new 2013 Ford Edge MSRP $36,980 with Navigation for $60 extra a month in payment. That is almost $10,000 more than the pre-owned Edge she purchased. She drove the 2013 Edge home and seemed like her and her mother were happy with the vehicle. Her father got involved and still wanted her to go see him out of state to purchase the vehicle from him. We will still offer her the deal of trading her into another vehicle like the 2013 Edge for $60 more a month or any other vehicle she might want from our dealership giving her 100% credit of the money she paid almost 3 months ago.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am very disappointed with the response from Ford of New Port Richey. It fails to acknowledge that I was sold a vehicle from the dealership with Navigation (as specifically requested). Although the vehicle purchased has several nice features, the point remains that it does not have the feature as represented.
With a full time work schedule and a husband currently deployed, I did my best to determine if this was a user problem before finally giving up and consulting the dealership for help in getting the navigation system to work.
There was certainly no indication from anyone at the dealership that the vehicle lacked Navigation until I arrived to have a "chip" inserted which reportedly was causing my navigation to not work.
When purchasing a vehicle from a dealership, especially a Ford from a Ford dealership, I should not be expected to know about or if all the options that I requested are on the vehicle and in good working order. I fully expect the staff of the dealership to represent the vehicle correctly. And, if there is a mistake in that representation, say what they will do, and do what they say, to resolve the problem expeditiously.
I find it very discouraging that there was still no mention of an agreement to provide me with the vehicle I purchased (with navigation). My concern when contacting BBB was the previous commitments had gone unfulfilled and my lack of confidence in this agreement has been validated.
With money in hand, I will find a 2011 Ford Edge Limited with similar mileage and the options I requested. I wouldn't be surprised if Ford Of New Port Richey finds much more incentive to find me that vehicle if in fact I have the money versus what has taken place so far. Yes, it will also permit me to look elsewhere for the vehicle I was led to believe I had purchased.
Bottom line;
1. The debt associated with a 2011 is all I'm comfortable with. I realize it is standard practice to qualify and entice customers with monthly payments. Aka. Only $60/more. I look at total debt and have determined what I am comfortable with.
2. I just want what I was sold. A 2011 Ford Edge Limited with reasonable mileage and the options I requested. Why is that too much to ask?

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.