BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/27/1994

Ferman Chevrolet/ Ferman Mazda of Brandon

Phone: (813) 623-2411Fax: (813) 621-7994

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service13
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints16

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)BBB Closure Definitions
02/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealership changed terms of deal in financing and then charged more than the agreed upon amount. Dealership agreed to reimburse overage but has not.
I purchased a 2014 Traverse from Ferman Chevrolet in Brando, FL after looking at all the Chevrolet dealers in the Tampa, Fl. area. My salesman was Jose Inoa who was as courteous and professional as any car dealership salesperson I have ever dealt with. But after his help, everything went downhill from there. I was going to pay cash but the sales manager talked me into letting them finance the car for me. We agreed verbally that the rate would not exceed a certain per-centage rate. My fault for trusting a verbal agreement. Since my credit is excellent, I was allowed to take the car, and they took my trade in, without signing all of the paperwork for the financing that I was assured would not be a problem.When I came back a couple of days later to sign the finance papers, I was advised that they couldn't get me the verbally agreed to finance rate due to the fact that the car had been titled to the dealership and could not be sold as a new vehicle. I had already put my money back into a CD and felt trapped so I agreed to the increased finance rate. Additionally, the out-the-door price that was in writing was more on the finance papers. I questioned that and was told that when I got my refund back on the tag and title fee, since their number was an estimate, that the out-the-door price should actually be a little lower than our agreed upon price. I got my refund and I was still over the agreed upon price. Additionally, because they didn't advise one of the finance companies, that they had checked with on financing my car, that I had chosen another finance company, that finance company denied me credit. I am now left with having to deal with that fiasco myself and with my credit reports myself. I would never recommend this dealership to anyone unless they were paying cash for a vehicle, and then I would advise them to get everything in writing in triplicate. Also, I was told I would probably get a survey to rate my experience, needless to say, I haven't received one. I presume the dealership gets to decide who gets the survey and will not send a survey to a customer that they know wasn't happy with their overall experience.

****

Desired Settlement
$32.74 refund plus explanation of why Ferman Chevrolet doesn't abide by common courtesies such as living up to their agreements.

Business Response
We apologize for the delay on Mr. *******' s refund check. I verified that it was fed ex'd to him last night and he should be receiving it today. We never meant to not live up to our agreement.

11/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My auto insurance company paid Ferman to fix my truck after an auto accident. My truck is still not fixed.
September of last year 2013 I was struck by another motorist. My front end was badly damaged. I asked that my truck be taken to Ferman Chevrolet to be fixed. After about 2 weeks of repairs. I picked up my truck and while I was driving it home, I was not happy with the way it was driving. I called the attendant that was assisting me and told him my truck is still not fixed right. He asked me what the vehicle was doing and I told him the front end still has a lot of vibration and it was pulling to the right. He wanted to know at what speed this was happening I told him around 40 miles an hour. He told me to bring it back. I brought the truck back to him about 2 days latter. When I brought the truck back he said lets take a ride and he drove and told me it felt ok with him and he would have someone take a look at it. He tried to make me fill like Im a woman and like I don know what Im talking about. He tried to blame the road for not being level. I know my truck. You know your vehicle when you have been driving it for several years. I left my truck again. I called the next day and they found a problem with the tire and they would call my insurance and tell them and have it ready in a couple of days. I picked up my truck and once again it still didn't feel right. I was in the process of moving at this time to another county. I called ferman about a week later and told them I now live in another county and have to travel to a new job which takes me an hour to and from my new job. I was so upset I told Ferman they need to come and pick up my truck and fix it right. They told me to take it to the nearest Chevy dealer which ended up being Cox Chevrolet. I was told by Cox that the front end needs repairs. I told them that Ferman was suppose to have fixed it. Cox Chevrolet had my truck for about a week. Once again I picked up my truck and was driving home and still felt a vibration. I cried because I am so ****** at everyone. I live in the county have a new job and cant afford to lose my new job. I drove my truck for about a week and it just kept getting worse. I took my truck to Kaufman tire to have my tires rotated hoping that this might help. It felt like all of my tires where going to fall off thats how much vibration I had. I called my insurance company and told them all of this and they told me to take it back to the dealer. I decided to take my truck to a dealer that was a little closer to my new home which was Chevrolet of Arcadia. They had my truck for about another week. I told them my truck has been to two other Chevrolet dealers so they better get it right. They were also told by my insurance company this is the last time they would pay for anymore repairs. My truck is still not fixed as of today. My truck keeps eating tires and I am fed up. I bought my truck brand new and I have been in two bad accidents which none of them were my fault. I can not believe the service that I have been given. I cant afford to keep buying tires and I'm afraid it may be causing more damage. I need your advise please.

Desired Settlement
I Want an answer and I want to know if my truck should have been totaled and If the Auto companies were just taking my insurance company for every penny they could get. This is what it seems like to me. After three Chevrolet dealers and my truck is still not fixed. I have all the documents from all of the dealers available if you need them. I kept everything.

Business Response
The insurance company would be the one to make the decision to total your vehicle or not. We did an alignment when the vehicle was in our shop in 10/2013. We do not know what the other dealers or tire shops have done. Our Collision Manager has tried to reach the guest, but has not received a return call.

Consumer Response


11/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** Chevrolet failed to reimburse me for rental car, stating *********** should be responsible for payment.
Email sent to ****** ******* on 3/17/14 explains it all:

I've put together all the information that you will need when speaking to representatives at USAA and/or *********** so I can get reimbursed for my Enterprise rental car. I've exhausted myself trying to take care of getting paid for my rental car but after numerous conversations, it seems I'll need you to figure this out. As you recall, I was rear-ended by a driver with *********** insurance but I chose to have my car serviced at your collision shop which is a **** collision center. Since the accident was not my fault, *********** said they would reimburse me for a rental car while mine was in your shop. Upon receiving the estimate and final bill for damages, ***** at *********** told me they would only pay for 10 days worth of repair, which they mailed me a check for. However, my car was at Ferman Chevrolet for almost three weeks so I had the rental car for longer than ten days. ******** argument is "why did Ferman have the car for so long, why did the repair take three weeks" to which I cannot answer. Please take care of this asap, as I need to get reimbursed for the total car rental payment I put on my Visa card.

Important information:

USAA claim # XXXXXXXXX-XXXX-X
*********** claim # XXXXXXXXX

***** at ************
Phone XXX-XXX-XXXX
Fax XXX-XXX-XXXX

Equinox at ******
1/23/14 to 2/12/14
and again
2/18/14 to 2/20/14

Rental car from **********
1/23/14 to 2/12/14 ($988.01)
and again
2/18/14 to 2/20/14 ($141.41)

Total paid by me to ***********
$988.01 + $141.41 = $1,129.42

Reimbursement from ************
$470.50

So, total I paid to ********** ($1,129.42) - Reimbursement from *********** ($470.50) = $658.92
$1,129.42 - $470.50 = $658.92

I will need to be reimbursed $141.41 from Ferman for rental from 2/18 to 2/20
AND
the rest of the ********** bill (either by Ferman or ************

******, please figure this out asap and let me know if you have any questions or need anything else from me. Thanks in advance!!

********* *******
*** ** ******* **** ****
****** ** XXXXX
cell: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
I want Ferman Chevrolet to pay me for the part of the rental car bill that *********** did not pay ($658.92) due to the length of time my car was in the shop. Ferman Chevrolet needs to pay me, or argue with *********** and tell *********** why the repair took so long and convince *********** to reimburse me for the remaining balance I paid Enterprise for the rental car.

Business Response
As a goodwill gesture, we will reimburse Ms. ******* $141.41, for the rental from when she had to bring her car back in 2/18-2/20, but the balance should be worked out between her and the insurance company.

08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
recall fixed but returned with a broken blinker
I waited 3 months for my recall parts to come in, when they finally did I took my car into the dealership and my blinkers where woking fine, but when I received my car back, my blinkers were broke. I returned the car back to the dealership and was told that my blinker was broke and that it was going to cost me about $190 (part/labor) to have it fixed. They told me that it was a coincident that it got broken while they were fixing my igniton switch recall and that they weren't even in the area of where my blinker was, so it wasn't there fault. When i got my car back after they looked at the broken blinker, my radio was messed-up, so I called that in also. The radio screen shows up green symbols all over the whole screen,even when its off, the radio problem kind of fixed itself, but its still happening everyone in a while. Like they pinched one of my radio wires in my steering wheel or something.

Desired Settlement
I just want them to fix/replace the broken blinker that happened while my car was in their possession.

Business Response
Guest came in for us to check the turn signal swith, it is working, but not cancelling out. We found it is an intrnal failure in the switch that would not have been touched in the recall. As a good will gesture, we will install the part for free, if she purchases the part for $65.00 plus tax.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My blinker had no problems before my car went into the dealership, but when I got it back it was broken, this is no coincident. Which means it broke while in the possession of the dealership, making it their fault.
When something breaks while in your possession, you are held responsible for repairing that damage by Florida state law.

Final Business Response
As a good will gesture, Ferman Chevrolet is going to fix the blinker for the guest, no charge. She is scheduled to come in on Monday August 4th.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
My car went into the dealership yesterday and the car dealership fixed my blinker. I thank you for helping to get this issue resolved.

05/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charging me for repair that should be covered by warranty.
I bought my new truck from Ferman about 1 year ago. The air conditioning system has blown steam and made a whistling sound since new..and failed to produce cold air. It has been in for repair to a Chevy dealer 5 times for the same problem. It is 100 miles over the warranty limit and they want me to pay for the repair, now.

Additionally Ferman sold me a 100,000 mile Full warranty. They are telling me the the air conditioner is not covered by this warranty. THis repair is not the extended warranty companies problem anyway because GM has failed to provide a fix.

ADDITIONALLY the door is falling off the truck and doesnt close properly...this is was a brand new vehical 1 year ago and the door is falling off....They want me to pay for that as well.

Desired Settlement
I want them to fix the truck 100% at no cost.

Business Response
customer had vehicle in on april 7, 2014 and picked up on april 10,2014 we repaired rear door issue, we cleaned out the drains for the water issue these were done at no charge to guest as a goodwill gesture, the a/c was repair repaired with guest paying only for parts and ferman paid the labor as the vehicle is out of the chevrolet factory warranty. and it was offer to guest that as goodwill he would pay a $100 ded he still did not like that so he only charged for the parts which was only $60.80

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept their reponse as it fails to address the 2 things..

1. That it was worked on 5 times before for the same issue and GM has failed to fix it. It was under warranty the whole time and now that it is a 100 miles past the warranty mileage it is now MY problem. No...I diod my part and brought it in MANY times toi get this problem resolved.

2. I bought a warranty from Ferman to take my existing warranty to 100,000 miles...They will not even talk to me about this.

3. They finished the repair..I paid $60 and the problem is still ongoing. I have taken pictures of the steem flowing from the A/c and had other listen to the truck whistleing as I drive drown the road. Water is dripping from the vents. I have owned 7 brand new cars in the last 5 years..and this one is a lemon. As a matter of fact it was 85 deg yester day and it was so hot in the truck we were seating. I am going to my attorney next week to bring a lawsuit against ****** and GM and following thru with the lemon law process.

Final Business Response
If the issue is not fixed, we would be glad to look at the vehicle again to resolve the issue.
This is the first time we have seen the vehicle since it was purchased from us a year ago. We do show that it was at a dealer in Georgia in October 2013, and there was work done to the AC. We will contact the customer to see about getting an appt. to come back in to have the vehicle looked at.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Air conditioner still doesnt work

Page 1 of 3
03/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Damage to gear shifter was fixed but then was told the instrument panel now does not work.
Dropped my car off on 1/22/15 because the gear shifter broke in half (my fault). Cost $600 to repair. The service agent ***** was rude as soon as I got there and the first words he said after I told him the problem was, paraphrased, "Well, we have to look at the warranty and we may not be able to repair it here and...". It is not under warranty and for this issue I wouldn't expect it to be paid for even if it was. I wanted to leave but unfortunately my car wasn't driveable. That being said, I will say ***** has kept me updated and has called me to tell me everything I need to know which I find to be very good service.

Now, I get a call saying my shifter is fixed but all of a sudden the whole instrument panel doesn't work. He told me there were lots of codes coming up and that it wasn't working and told me the price but he didn't offer anything in the way of an explanation or even candor of any kind. Just, again paraphrased, "It broke, we don't know how, it will be $550, we are open until 6pm to pick up your car."

My instrument panel was fine when I dropped it off. There was one issue, the tire pressure sensors were not working correctly and always telling me my tires need to be filled. Other than that, I've not had one problem with the instrument panel. How replacing a gear shifter can cause this problem I am not sure. Before contacting a GM Representative I would like to settle this with the dealership. I should not have to pay for fixing my instrument panel when it was working fine when I dropped it off. The only thing that wasn't working when I dropped it off was I could not shift out of the D setting.

Desired Settlement
I do not want to pay to fix the instrument panel problem. The car is still at the dealership. I will pay the $600 for the fix to the gear shifter as that was my responsibility.

Business Response
The guest came in on 1/22/2015 stating the automatic transmission floor shifter won't shift out of gear ***** ****** generated an #ro and for mileage had to used 999999
Because could not read mileage on the cluster. After checking the vehicle tech found it needed a floor shifter, tech replace floor shifter and we finished the car, the guest picked up vehicle 1/28/2015 he called back later stating his cluster was not working, we explained to the guest that it was not working when we wrote it up we couldn't even pull the mileage off the Cluster
We offered for him to bring it back, which he did on 2/3/2015 so we could double check everything, we provided a rental at no cost and found it was internal failure nothing to do with the floor shifter or even in the same area, We offered the guest parts at cost and we would install it at no cost, he ok repair and pick his vehicle up on 2/4/2015

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First, if the issue had nothing to do with the floor shifter, and it worked fine when I dropped it off but didn't work when I picked it up, that pretty much answers the question of who's responsibility it was to fix. Very shady.

Second, I am very concerned that this response says I called back later to say the cluster wasn't working. The cluster wasn't working when I picked it up and the only reason I had to get it was because I needed my car that weekend. I dropped the car off after the weekend so they could repair what they broke. Also, I dropped the car off on 2/2, NOT 2/3. It took until Wednesday to fix because I was told something went wrong with the system and the part wasn't ordered on Monday so they had to wait another day to get it. I have the rental car papers proving I rented the car on 2/2, not 2/3, and I'm sure the rental company can verify I was picked up from the dealership on 2/2. Very shady #2.

Third, there was absolutely no compensation for a rental. They only offered me a rental AFTER I had already rented a car for 2 days. The day the cluster was fixed was the day they offered a rental. Again, I have the paperwork to prove it and AGAIN, very shady response.

The final result was I had to pay another ~$360 to get something fixed that was working fine when I dropped it off. They paid the labor. I was actually fine with this until reading this response. Saying I called later like they didn't know about the problem is a very shady practice. I paid over $200 for a rental for 2 days and have all of the paperwork to prove it yet they say they provided a rental at no cost. Someone should check the paperwork and ask them to prove that I actually received a rental from them. I have proof I had to pay for a rental.

Considering it will probably take legal counsel to get anyone to verify their claims, I will consider this complaint closed, unsatisfactorily, but I will not accept the response. I'm not going to spend more money over their shady practices to fight this. Yet my comments should still be available to warn potential customers of the hassle that can occur here.

Final Business Response
When the vehicle came in for the shifter, we were unable to get the mileage because the cluster was not working. We had offered the guest a rental vehicle, which he declined. But as a good will gesture, if he sends us a copy of his rental bill, we will reimburse him.

04/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I BELVIVE ****** CHEVROLET SOLD US A $2000.00 PART THAT WAS NOT NEEDED BECOUSE MY TRUCK STILL DOES THE SAME THING AS WHEN I TOOK IT THERE.
I TOOK MY 1997 CHEVY TRUCK TO ****** CHEVROLET TO BE REPAIRED, IT WAS NOT STARTING. THE NEXT NEXT DAY *************** HAD CALLED ME TO TELL ME THAT I WOULD NEED TO REPAIR THE OIL COOLANT LINES WITCH WOULD BE AROUND $770. SO I DECIDED TO SEND MY WIFE TO PICK UP MY TRUCK AND THEY SAID IT WOULDNT START AND THEY NOW HAVE A DIFFERNT DIAGNOSE NOW ITS THE INJECTOR PUMP, SO I TOLD TO GO AHEAD AND FIX IT. THAT BILL WAS $2109.98. SO I PICK UP MY TRUCK AND NEXT MORING IT WOULD NOT START IT WAS THE SAME AS WHEN I TOOK IT THERE. I HAD ANOTHER SHOP LOOK AT THE TRUCK AND TOLD ME THAT IT HAD SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE GLOPLUGS, I BELIVE THEY SOLD ME SOMETHING THAT WAS NOT NESSARY. I WOULD LIKE A REFUND.

Desired Settlement
I WOULD LIKE A REFUND.

Business' Initial Response
guest had vehicle in on X-XX-XX for concern of will not start at time after inspection we found the diesel injector pump had an internal failure with customer authorization we repalced the injetor pump which was bad, we contacted customer on friday X-XX-XX and we had the customer bring vehicle back on monday 4-1-13 we have reinspected the vehicle and have found no issues with vehicle not starting. (on the repair in question the injector pump was failing and customer did auth us to repair) again we rechecked our repairs and have found no issues with vehicle not starting.

Consumer's Final Response
The vehicle still has the same prolbem sometimes it starts sometimes it don't. That is why we took it there to begon with.

Business' Final Response
We had Mr ****** bring is vehicle back in on 4/1/13 to recheck is issue,The tech test drove vehicle over multiple days for over 127 mies at no time did we have any issues,. we return the vehicle back to the guest on 4/6/13. just called the guest on 4/10/13 at 10:07 with a follow up, guest states he has not had any issue at this time.

08/07/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/05/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.