BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/22/2013

Coconut Point Ford

Phone: (239) 498-3673Fax: (239) 390-5742View Additional Phone Numbers22400 S Tamiami Trl, EsteroFL 33928-4402FacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers new and pre-owned auto sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/22/2013

BBB has determined that Coconut Point Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Coconut Point Ford's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Coconut Point Ford

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Bad service department as I was wold a bunch of lies and excuses.
I wanted you speak with you on a bad experience I received today while trying to get my car worked on from the service department. It all started on Saturday, 3/5/2014

Saturday----I spoke with Mike in the service department to schedule an appointment for Wend to get my AC fixed. The appointment is set and I am told to use the drop box if I was going to drop the car off before normal hours of business.

Tuesday---I call to confirm my appointment for Wend, This is when I was informed that there is no record of my appointment, but not to worry as I can make a new appointment now. LOL

Wend--03/05/2014----I drop my car off at 4:15AM and use drop box to leave keys. There are no envelopes, so i just drop the keys into the box. I was told on tuesday, that a service tech will call me in the morning to give me an idea of the status of my car. So today around 10am, I have yet to receive my phone call. I then call the dealership and speak with the service department, I was informed my car was in line to be looked at and there is no update. At 2:00, I have a co worker drop me off at the dealership where I am prepared to wait to get my problems resolved. The tech informs me that my car was not worked on because the job takes longer then the time they had left in the day. LOL, why wasnt I told this at 10am when I called to check status??? So I go into the service managers office to speak with him and thats where the ********* really started flying. Your manager informs me he spent 1 hour looking for my phone number that he did not have, he used sources such as google, yellowpages, etc.

I am prepared to write an review on google, yelp and any other source of reviews I can write on. Too many excuses and unprofessional workers at your dealership. This was my first experience at your dealership and hate to say it, but I wont be back nor will any of my associates. Please feel free to contact me

Desired Settlement
I would like them to apologize

Business Response
Mr. ******* visited our dealership on March 5, 2014. We made a couple of mistakes when it came to making sure the customer was completely satisfied. We realize these mistakes and want to make them right with Mr. *******. One of the concerns was there were no envelopes in our night drop box. We will be checking this process and make sure they are filled daily. The other issues our guest documented will be resolved hopefully to his satisfaction. These things should have not been over looked. The dealership has taken necessary steps to resolve any further concerns from any of our guests in the future.
The dealership has currently set an appointment for Mr. ******* for March 11, 2014 at 1:30pm to meet with us and have his vehicle worked on. I apologized to our guest and thanked him for bringing some of his concerns to our attention so we as a team, the dealership could put our best foot forward and resolve these concerns together.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you Coconut Point Ford. All issues have been resolved and I would recommend others to your service center. The rental car suggestion and set appointment time was the proper way to go here. Chalk it up to bad communication and shake hands in the end. Thank you again.

06/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Brought vehicle in for air bag recall. The part they put in the drivers side does not fit my vehicle.
On 4/21/15 I had a appointment for 9:30 A.M. I arrived at 9:10 A.M. While watching my vehicle sit with the flashers on until 10:15 A.M. I inquired to ***** ***** if he was going to work on my vehicle that day as I had another appointment? He told me he would have 2 workers on it immediately. One replacing the new air bags on each side. The vehicle was ready by 11:O5. I realized as I was driving out of their parking lot that the driver's side was not flush and was sticking about a quarter inch high off the steering colum. I called Ford Motor Company that evening and talked to ***. She would look into it. I called ***** ***** to reset a appointment on 4/22/15 to have them relook into the work they had done as I felt it wasnt installed properly and was unsafe. He told me to bring it in anytime and I agreed I would return the following morning on 4/23/15. I called Ford Motor company again on 4/22/15 and talked to ***. I took the truck in again by 10:00 A.M. to have them re evaluate the air bag. The shop steward was called to look at the air bag installation on the drivers side. He was upset and wanted my keys mumbling he would have a talk with a certain mechanic but ***** told him that particular person had not worked on the vehicle. A short time later I witnessed ***** ***** in charge of service , the shop steward and the manager discussing how the air bag had been installed. By gesturing I could see the shop steward was agitated and showing how it did not fit into my steering coloum. I was then called into ***** ****** office where he informed me there was nothing more that they could do for me. That they had replaced several like this and no one complained before. I informed him my gut feeling told me this was very unsafe and that he had not heard the last of me. I would contact my attorney if need be. I again called Ford Motor Company and talked to *******. She assured me I would get a phone call the following morning trying to resolve this issue. I recieved a phone call from ****** the following morning stating there was nothing more they could do for me. I informed her when I went out to go to another appointment that morning that now my battery was dead. I told her this was unacceptable and very poor proffessionalism and disrespect to me and my vehicle. I also reminded her that if something happened to me because of the safety issue this would be their problem. I once again called ***** ***** to ask him why all of a sudden my battery was dead? They had just done a inspection on my battery and it was fine. He said he didnt know maybe I had a dead cell. I called AAA to document the dead battery. The ***************** discovered a broken post terminal on the negative post. He replaced this and restarted my battery. When Glenn came home he checked the battery and indeed I had a low cell on the positive post. I replaced the battery. I have before and after photos and I deeply feel the wrong part was put in for the air bag replacement. I am afraid for my safety. It does not sit flush on the steering wheel and I feel it could fall off at anytime. They are just makeing excuses for bad and unsafe repair.

Desired Settlement
I was told by ***** ***** that they had taken photos and sent it to the Ford Engineer. It is obvious to me that they do not have the proper air bag replacement parts for certain models and years of the Ford Re Bag recall. I deserve the proper placement and safety that I deserve. The other consumers need to know that they may not be getting the safety or the same look as when they go in for their recall. Their attitude was sarcastic and smug. I am a 60 year old woman who knows Fords. My father was a Ford Mechanic for 45 years. Not all woman are iliterate to the runnings and repair of vehicles. I request respect and a sincere apology. Thank you

Business Response
Ref # Case number XXXXXXXX
Coconut Point Ford

In the case number referenced above, Ms. *****'s concern is the air bag cover not sitting flush.
After the service visit on April 21, 2015, Ms. ***** contacted us and stated the cover was not flush. We offered to inspect the cover and she agreed to come in. Our shop foreman inspected the cover and determined the air bag was properly installed. We did remove the air bag module and installed it again to verify the repair was properly completed.
Ms. ***** was not satisfied with the results and was going to contact Ford Motor Company. We called her on May 1, 2015 and she stated she was going to another Ford dealership to have the cover inspected. We called Ms. ***** on May 20, 2015 and offered to pick up her vehicle and replace the air bag module to see if it would fit any differently and deliver her vehicle to her after completion.
As of this time Ms. ***** has declined our offer. We are currently waiting for her to visit the Ford dealer of her choice and have the air bag module inspected.
Our Service manager contacted Ms. ***** and apologized to her for how she felt she was treated. Our goal is to ensure quality and make sure our guests are always completely satisfied.
We are also sending two free coupons for free oil changes so she can experience our service again.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)a
The manager did call and offer to pick up my vehicle and replace the air bag module once again. However I had been to another FORD dealership and they agreed that the air bag had not been properly installed. This dealership will be re-installing the air bag on my truck to my satisfaction. I told the manager, ******, that after two attempts by his service department that I did not trust them doing any further work on my vehicle. He did send 2 coupons for oil changes but I would never go back there and let them under the hood of my car. I still believe they give poor service and certainly would never recommend them to anyone.They could have cared less about my safety with the awful job they did installing the recall.

07/08/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Lied about trade-in value. Pushed to buy more expensive vehicle.
I heard advertisement on a minimum of a four thousand dollar trade for any vehicle on the lot as long as the trade in car runs. I spoke to them on the phone and coconut point ford confirmed the advertisement and said to come in. I went in, test drove the ford fiesta, and found the one I wanted. The salesman said he would do the trade and I was ready to buy. I went to get the papers for the loan and make sure I had the title for my vehicle. The next day I get a call from ford salesman saying we cannot do the trade, that I need to purchase a vehicle that had more play in price. The car I chose was not expensive enough. I was all set to buy this vehicle and they did not stick to there advertisement of any vehicle with your trade would give 4,000 toward purchase.

Desired Settlement
I've decided not to purchase a new vehicle at this time, because of the time and hassle dealing with coconut point.
All I would like is a written apology for wasting my time.

Business' Initial Response
We apologize for any confusion that the customer may have had regarding the $ 4000.00 guaranteed trade program. However, like most programs there are certain limitations and conditions.
The ad does clearly state to see the dealer for details.

The program states; we will give the customer $4000.00 trade in allowance on the purchase of a new or pre-owned vehicle at Coconut Point Ford:

1. In stock units only.
2. Prior sales excluded
3. The offer is not compatible with any additional discount, or discount programs (i.e., A-Z-X-D programs from, Ford, wholesale club savings, and other sale priced vehicles)
4. The offer is not compatible with internet discount pricing & quotes.
5. All rebates and factory incentives are assigned to dealership.

There is no mention in the ad about the vehicle needing to run, there are vehicles that won't run and still have a value of $4000.00 or more. With respect to buying a more expensive vehicle, we do know that the customer had found a more expensive one at another store and that we could not honor the $4000.00 trade in on an out of stock vehicle as mentioned above.

There appeared to be confusion with the customer regarding the rebates as well. The customer wanted the rebates and incentives assigned to them, instead of the dealership as mentioned above.

We still want to help the customer and gave them a call. They said they will call us in a week. We can give them the $4000.00 on the unit that they looked at in stock and would love to satisfy this customer.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/30/2007Business started: 11/21/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee
2900 Apalachee Pkwy # B441
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6552
(850) 617-2000

Lee County Business Tax Receipt

Fort Myers, FL 33901 criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria

BBB records show a license number of MV54118 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

BBB records show a license number of VF-1001645-1 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

BBB records show a license number of 0502664 for this company, issued by Lee County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 0502665 for this company, issued by Lee County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is criteria.asp?searchtype=OCCLIC&c=occlic&r=1&page id=searchcriteria.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity


Incorporated: November 2002, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sam Galloway (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Sam Galloway III (Owner)Ms. Katherine G. Dougherty (Manager)
Business Category

New Car Dealerships, Auto Repair Services, Auto Body Shops, Auto Part Suppliers, Auto Dealers - Online, Used Car Dealerships

Alternate Business Names
Sam Galloway Ford South, LTD, SGFS, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Coconut Point Ford

22400 S Tamiami Trl

Estero, FL 33928-4402

To | From


1 Locations

  • 22400 S Tamiami Trl 

    Estero, FL 33928-4402(239) 498-3673
    (888) 461-2361
    (888) 389-4511
    (888) 209-4266
    (888) 268-8091
    (239) 206-3994
    (239) 390-5700

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Coconut Point Ford is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 461-2361
  • (888) 389-4511
  • (888) 209-4266
  • (888) 268-8091
  • (239) 206-3994
  • (239) 390-5700

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for New Car Dealerships


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.