BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/22/2013

AutoNation Toyota Fort Myers

Phone: (239) 938-2800Fax: (239) 936-4214

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

31 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 19 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues8
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service20
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints31

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (31)BBB Closure Definitions
03/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Odometer issues with the car
I purchased a certified 2011 toyota prius in august 2014. The car only had 34,633 miles on the day I bought the car on 2-19-15 I took the car to ******* who did a auto check on the car I was going to see what they would pay me for it. When they pulled the autocheck they said and printed out the paperwork for me told me that on august 2014 the car was registered with having 64,633 miles. I have left messages with autonation to help me with this issue and no response. This is there mistake My girlfriend just bought a car and we have nothing but a problem with them. The car to this day does not have 64,633 miles on it. I would really appreciate them to handle this issue. This is very frustrating I work hard for my money and take very good care of my stuff and to be treated like this and get the run around for there mistake I would never recommend any one to purchase a vehicle there. If I dont get a response soon from someone I will go to The dealer board with this. Im very disapointed with how they handle business. They are very quick to get you financed but when you have an issue that is there fault they are not so quick to help you.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to fix the problem.

Business Response
OUR RECORDS INDICATE THE CAR WAS DELIVERED TO MR **** WITH 34613 MILES ON 8/2/2014. CARFAX AFFIRMS THIS TO BE ACCURATE.DMV HAS BEEN CONTACTED AND ANY MILEAGE DISCREPENCY HAS BEEN CORRECTED. HE CAN CONTACT MY GENERAL SALES MANAGER ******* ***** FOR DETAILS OR ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTTION. XXX-XXX-XXXX

02/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This dealership have been using my VIN for services performed on another car.
On Tuesday, January 13, 2015, I attempted to trade in my current vehicle, a 2009 Toyota Venza (VIN: 4T3BK11A09UXXXXXX) for an SUV. When the appraiser and salesman obtained the Carfax report for my vehicle, there was a flag referencing a ''potential odometer rollback.'' However, when I initially purchased my vehicle, the Carfax report provided to me by the salesman did not contain this flag. As a result, I was told they could not accept my vehicle as a trade due to several inconsistencies with the odometer readings and service history. I was advised to file a report with the Motor Vehicle Association (MVA) and to contact the dealership where I purchased my vehicle from to address this issue. The following day, I went to the MVA to file a dispute and I also visited the dealership (Fitzgerald Lakeforest Toyota) where I purchased my vehicle. I explained the situation to a service manager (***** ******* and he began to investigate. After spending several hours at the dealership waiting for them to provide me with an explanation and mutually agreeable resolution, I was told that a car dealership in Fort Myers, Florida (AutoNation Toyota) was using my *** number for services performed on another car. Therefore, the Carfax report I received (as well as Toyota's vehicle history report) when I purchased the car was inaccurate and reflected another individual's vehicle located in Florida.
I purchased my vehicle from this dealership with the assumption that my car was well maintained by the previous owner and had multiple services and repairs that I would not have to deal with for an extended period of time (if at all). If I had any idea that the service history physically provided and explained to me by my salesman was inaccurate, I would not have purchased this vehicle. For example, on 1/20/2015, I had to pay $170 for a new battery to be installed at the Toyota Service Center in Bowie, Maryland. However, my vehicle service report states that a new battery was installed in my car on 7/25/2013 (just one month before I purchased the vehicle). This was completely unfair to me because I purchased the car with the assumption that I would not have to replace the car with another battery at least until the year 2017, which would have served as money savings for me. When asked if they could provide me with any type of service reports that actually reflected my vehicle I was told that they did not have it and the situation would need to be investigated. They also could not provide me with a timeframe of how long the investigation would take. I am in URGENT need for a larger vehicle and this is a complete disservice to me for several reasons:
* The number of individuals in my household is soon to increase (which includes two additional children in car seats) whom which I have no seating for in my car for transporting
* I was offered a new job out of state and need a bigger vehicle to transport my family and personal items
* I have a car that no dealership will purchase or allow me to trade due to the Carfax report (as well as Toyota's vehicle history report)
* I've missed several incentives offered by other dealerships because I could not trade my car in
* The value of my car will continue to depreciate (due to increased mileage) and I will not be offered the original appraised amount
* I've made unnecessary inquiries on my credit report which will negatively impact my score and possibly future credit decisions

In addition to being in contact with the service manager at *********** I have also been in contact with the service ************ ************ at the AutoNation in Ft Myers, FL regarding this issue. Mr. *********** stated that the issue needs to be investigated due to ''legal matters'' and he also could not provide with any time frame in which the issue will be resolved. I am in NEED of a larger vehicle and am unfortunately unable to purchase one due to activity performed(whether legally or illegally) at AutoNation.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to purchase my vehicle back for the amount I owe or offer me all the incentives I've missed from other dealerships for a vehicle I am completely satisfied with.

Business Response
Ms ****** was contacted and informed the problem has been fixed. She thanked us and informed us she had purchased a ***** and contends she never opened a BBB complaint. I will take her response and comments over the phone as her being satisfied with the outcome.

Consumer Response
This response was taken verbally by the BBB: The issues have been completely resolved and you may close my case.

Final Consumer Response

01/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Toyota failed to provide a true and honest cost of repairs and service. Then charged me for service for unnecessary work.
I am a local Firefighter and Marine Corps Veteran. I purchased by 2001 Toyota Tacoma from Ft Myers Toyota and have been a loyal customer for the last 14 years when servicing and repairing my auto.

On January 16, my vehicle had front driver-side brake and wheel bearing issues. Service Advisor ******** ***** (#XXXXX) called and quoted me a cost of $1,651 to repair the vehicle. She later called advised me of further damage to the vehicle requiring more than $2,400 dollars to repair. I stated that I could not afford that cost and to not repair my vehicle. I advised her that I would come pick up the truck - she stated that was fine. I told her it would be Sunday since I work 24 hour shifts at the fire station. She then called me back an hour or so later told me that if I wasn't paying to fix the truck that they were not putting it back together.

The next day (Saturday) I called to speak to the service manager. The service manager stated that they were not assembling the vehicle. We argued and I stated that the truck needs to be put back together as it was brought in. Later that day I was informed the vehicle was put back together and available for me to pick up once I paid $425.72 ****.

I picked up the truck Sunday morning (January 18)and paid the ****. The **** invoice #XXXXXX does not state the hours of labor and charges me for rear axle repair. The rear axle is not the issue at all or at any time.

I paid for labor and repairs that were unnecessary. I was provided wrong quotes and poor service. I also believe threatening me with not putting the vehicle back together is unlawful and was used as a means to get me to pay whatever price the required.

Make/Model: Toyota Tacoma 2001
Vin: *****************
Invoice: #XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund and apology as a 14 year customer.

Business Response
Mr ***** had his vehicle towed in on Friday, January 16, 2015. his concern was the brake pedal was going to the floor. Mr ***** stated to the service advisor that they had been driving around for a while with a noise coming from the rear. Upon inspection, the technician found the left rear wheel bearing to be damaged, causing the brakes to malfunction. The technician recommended replacing both the left and right rear axle bearings and seals due to the age and mileage of the vehicle 2001 with 340,455 miles on it. Mr ***** approved moving forward with the repair and approved the amount of repair. Attached is a copy of the repair order with his approval. Verbal time stamped by advisor.

Once we proceeded with the repair, the technician removed the axle to replace the bearing and found that the driver's rear axle was damaged. The technician stopped the repair at this point and informed the Service Advisor that the axle required replacement. There was no way of knowing this prior to removing the axle and bearing. We informed Mr ***** of the additional repairs needed and the cost. Mr ***** declined any further repairs, asked us to stop and put the vehicle back together. We informed him that he would still be responsible for the labor involved up to this point. If we would have proceeded with the additional repair, the difference in cost would have been mostly parts with minimal additional labor. The guest agreed to pay the labor up to that point and we put the vehicle back together as per Mr Tobins request. He proceeded to have vehicle towed from dealership.

I have attached two pictures from the repair that show the axle and where it is damaged as well as the wheel bearing. At this time I will apologize for whatever he believes we did wrong and give his store credit in the amount he is requesting to be refunded. If he would like to take the offer he can contact *** **** my service Director at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept their response and believe the vehicle should be thoroughly inspected before providing a quote. I had the vehicle repaired at nearly 1/2 Toyota's estimation of $2,500. Yes, all front and rear issues related to the bearings, axle, etc..

I will continue to go to Ft Myer's Toyota (AutoNation) and look forward to buying a new vehicle there in the near future. I am not going to let one instance stand between my commitment. They have been good to me in the past.

********* *****

01/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i was sold a vehicle that has left me stranded 5 times in 6 weeks from repairs preformed prior to buying
numerous repairs were performed prior to purchase. several neither happened or weren't done right resulting in consistently leaving me stranded along the roadside and ultimately having to pay to have the repairs done again. costing more money an lost wages each time. the vehicle was returned to dealer several times for issues. none of which were ever fixed, nor after standing watching the work supposedly being done did anything ever get done. i feel i was lied to or mislead on several occasions. and the end result was sorry about your bad luck you purchased it as is . end result i found out this vehicle was in a reported fire a yr ago . which made it virtually difficult to trade it in , other dealers didn't want to give anything for a vehicle in a fire . Toyota and the finance company say they were willing to make things right by getting me into another truck. the dealers idea of this was to roll the balance of the truck into another vehicle .and wanting another hefty down pmt, not acceptable .this is not making it right . i had a several thousand dollars down pmt on this vehicle and i also have several hundred in repairs , and thousands in lost wages an being left sitting along side the road 5 times in 6 weeks . i depend on my truck to feed my family . this is my way of support. i have carefully documented all instances with the dealer an what was said. even have witness's ready to speak an testify in my behalf of what was said . i have exhausted many avenues of resources trying to get this matter resolved. and its ultimately at my expense of hurting my credit rating by them dragging this on longer an longer . because i found out there is documented proof with a police report this vehicle has been in a fire . i do not want it , as it has proven to be one disaster after another .

Desired Settlement
either a refund of down pmt and repair costs or a replacement of equal or greater value .

Business Response
MY GENERAL SALES MANAGER WENDELL HARDY HAS BEEN IN FREQUENT CONTACT WITH MR ******* AND HAS OFFERED TO TAKE CARE OF SEVERAL ITEMS THAT WERE OF CONCERN TO HIM. FUEL FILTER, BALANCE TIRES, GREASE JOB AND CHECK BRAKES. MR ******* NEVER SHOWED UP TO LET US ADRESS ANY OF THESE ITEMS.I AM ENCLOSING THE PAPER WORK MR ******* SIGNED STIPULATING THE VEHICLE IS "AS IS". IN CLEAR SPECIFIC LANGUAGE ON THE "FEDERAL BUYERS GUIDE" IT STATES "YOU PAY ALL COSTS FOR REPAIRS" THE DEALER ASSUMES NO RESPONSIBILITY. IT FURTHER STATES THAT HE HAS THE OPTION OF "PRE-INSPECTING THE VEHICLE BEFORE PURCHASE WITH HIS MECHANIC ON OR OFF THE LOT" ENCLOSED IS THE CARFAX ON THE VEHICLE THAT CLEARLY STATES NO ACCIDENTS OR FIRE. I WOULD BE MORE THAN HAPPY TO TRADE HIM OUT OF THIS TRUCK IF HE CAN SECURE FINANCING. WE HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO DO SO. IF THIS OPTION DOESN'T WORK I WILL BE WILLING TO HELP WITH THE COST OF THE REPAIRS HE STATES IS NEEDED... WITHIN REASON AND UPON INSPECTION OF MY TECHNICIANS AND THE STIPULATION THE WORK IS DONE AT MY FACILITY.THE TRUCK IS A 2007 WITH 219,000 MILES ON IT AND HE IS USING IT AS CAR CARRIER HAULING CARS ... WHICH IN MY OPINION IS BOUND TO CREATE ISSUES FOR A TRUCK THIS OLD WITH THAT MANY MILES. IF MR ******* WOULD LIKE TO PURSUE ANY OF THE OPTIONS I'VE PUT FORTH HE CAN CALL WENDELL WHO HE IS VERY FAMLIAR WITH AND CAN ARRANGE A CONVINIENT TIME TO BRING THE TRUCK IN. HE CAN REACH WENDELL AT XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is correct I have been in Contact with ******** Who was informed the truck kept breaking down out of town due to the repairs the dealer preformed prior to buying.And i would get back as soon as i could as i could afford to redo their repairs . And yes Mr ***** offered to fix the problems but they were already fixed by myself because i was stuck along side the road out of state. And yes everyone said they would help until it came right down to it. And the dealers idea of assisting with repairs was unacceptable in my views due to the fact the failing on this vehicle was all due to their work .I was informed by **** ***** they had no obligation to stand by their repairs prior to purchase. ultimately regardless what i did with the truck the fact remains that all failures were due to incompetence of the Toyota service dept. the last thing that happened was the transfer case went out leaving the truck stranded in the middle of the intersection. later to find out while they had this unit out of the truck never refilled it with fluid. and i wasnt able to establish financing due to the fact they didnt want to give me much for a broken truck when it was broken when i received it i just didnt know it for a week or so when the problems started. Unfortunately i was also out of town when the first failure happened. So its not fair to say i refused or never showed up when i wasnt able to an returned as quickly as i could an when i could afford to redo Toyota first repairs. I cannot believe any establishment with any sort of reputation would not honor anything they do no matter what the case is if the failure is a cause of their repairs. As far as the brake problem it was brought back immediately to the dealer as soon as it happened to be giving the run around of everything they could think of instead of just removing the tires to see the problem , which never happened the entire 4 hours it was on the lift.regardless of what the statues are for used vehicle sales this is a FDOT safety issue an should of been handled appropriately. FDOT super cedes local requirements when it can potentially harm or hurt or kill someone as the failure of the brakes very easily could of done. The dealers idea of helping was to try an roll over 90% of the vehicle in questions financing into a new one when we all know that wasn't going to happen . instead of giving me a fair price an making things right. The current finance company was more then willing to help an went out of their way as well to work with the dealer to get me into something that would serve my purpose. and the dealer didn't want to work with the bank according to the officials at the bank in a manner to get this resolved an make everyone happy . In my opinion if Toyota is not going to stand behind their service work they preform before someone accepts delivery they have no business doing any said work as they are putting lives at risk , by hiding behind sale statues, to try an relieve themselves of responsibility or accountability when it endangers another's life. Lastly in closing the person I had been in contact with , Mr Wendall Hardy, i was later told, he was instructed to step aside because they were not going to do anything regardless of what i had to say . If i cannot get this matter resolved i will seek legal assistance in filing a complaint for damages against the dealer for causing damage to my truck which resulted in thousands of dollars in repairs lost wages an down time prior to taking delivery. and i have a copy of the work order showing all work preformed, an each thing on that list either failed or was not done. And everything has been documented with pictures an witness testimony of every encounter with Toyota's service department . All i ever asked for was the wrongs that were done be made right.And since i had already forked out the cash to redo the repairs by no choice i could of been given a better alternative on the remaining repairs other then full over priced work , and asking me to have them do the work was a stretch in my book when their work was what has caused all the damages in the first place.

Final Consumer Response

12/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dear Sir or Madam,

I would like to file a complaint regarding a used truck I purchased on October 18th. I kept getting an error when I tried to complete the process on your website. I (***** ******* XXX-XXX-XXXX) am filing this complaint on behalf of ***** ******, as he is an HVAC Technician and in the field all day with no access to a computer. His cell phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. The letter below was sent to the car dealer and explains the situation. I can forward you all the contracts and carfax report if you need it. To date we have not had a response from anyone and would appreciate your help.

Thank you,
***** ******* email: *******@att.net

***** ****** ******
**** ******* *********** ****** ** XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX

November 14, 2014

Auto Nation Toyota Ft. Myers
2555 Colonial Blvd.
Ft. Myers, FL 33907

On October 18, 2014 I purchased at 2000 Toyota Tundra from your dealership at the above address. On November 4th the vehicle started making a loud banging noise while accelerating. I brought the vehicle back to your dealership on November 5th and your service looked at it on November 7th and informed me that the rear differential carrier was broken and that you would not repair it because it was purchased as is. I believe that you knew at the time it was sold to me that there were issues with the truck. I was led to believe the truck only had 137,249 miles on it, however according to Carfax you titled the truck with the "Not Actual Miles Status" (NAM). There was never any discussion or indication that the odometer was not accurate.
It is also interesting that there is no mention of the cracked carrier on the Carfax report on your "inspection" 11/8/14.
From Carfax:
11/8/2014 AutoNation Toyota Scion Fort Myers Maintenance inspection completed
Fort Myers, FL Body electrical system checked
137,834 239-936-4114 Tire condition and pressure checked
AutoNationToyotaFtMyers.com

This makes me wonder what other repairs may have been performed that you did not disclose. I have only put 585 miles on the truck in the 18 days I drove it to work and back and I could not have possibly caused this condition to occur in that short amount of time. The vehicle is still at your dealership and cannot be driven and I have yet to make one payment on it. You misrepresented the mileage and the condition of the vehicle. I am amazed you could find someone willing to finance a vehicle well over book value and in questionable condition.

Based on these facts and the fact that you priced the vehicle well above book value at this time I demand you terminate the purchase contract and loan agreement on this vehicle.

This morning I spoke with *********** ********** regarding everything stated in this letter and I am awaiting a call from their "Dealer Relations" department.
Copies of this letter are being sent to the AmeriCredit Acceptance as well as the Better Business Bureau.

Sincerely,
***** ******

Desired Settlement
terminate the purchase contract and loan agreement on this vehicle

Business Response
Mr ****** bought an AS-IS car, he signed multiple papers specifying it's AS-IS I am attaching the forms signed by him on OCT 18th 2014. The vehicle is 14 years old with stated miles of 137,000. We sell 3 levels of cars, AS-IS , Certified that come with a 60 day unlimited mile warranty and Toyota certified that mirrors the factory warranty for 1 year and covers the power train for 7years 100K miles. On the AS-IS cars there is absolutely no warranty implied or otherwise. As far as recinding his bank contract that would be between him and the lender. I will be happy to look at trading Mr ****** out of his truck with special considertion due to his issues with his current vehicle. My recommendation is if he decides to take me up on my offer that he consider buying a warranty or ensure the next car has some type of warranty coverage. If he would like to pursue my offer he can contact **** ***** my preowned Director at XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer Response

Page 1 of 5
02/16/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid $85 for a recommended alignment, after which the car was parked in my garage. Five months later, I was told the car needed an alignment.
On July 14, 2014, I took my 2011 Toyota Highlander to Auto Nation Toyota on Colonial Blvd in Fort Myers and paid $100.66 for a recommended alignment. On this same date, and having driven the car only 15 miles, the vehicle was then parked in the garage of my residence until December 16, 2014 when I returned from an overseas employment assignment in Morocco. On December 16th, I took the vehicle into Fort Myers Toyota to have the air checked in my tires since it had not been driven for five months and to have the tire sensor reset. On this date (December 16th) I was shown a printout revealing that the rear wheels were out of alignment and I was then told by the service representative that the vehicle needed an alignment. I questioned him since I had one done on July 14th and had not driven the car since then. He immediately stated that he was not aware that I had one done because he hadn't checked the "Service History" of my vehicle. After checking and realizing that the car had only been driven approximately 15 ***** since their "alleged" alignment in July, the car was taken into their service area to attempt to find the problem. At this time, I asked to speak to the supervisor who then attempted to explain that the vehicle was driven over a preliminary machine which found that it was out of alignment. This supervisor then stated that this machine is "unreliable," and therefore the car was going to be checked by their expert service person on a more reliable machine in the service area. My point to her (and to BBB), is if the first machine is so unreliable, why is it still being used, and it is this first unreliable machine that this company bases their decision on when it is time to EXTORT money from their customers. The other questions that I have is 1) Did I even need an alignment on July 14th, when this unreliable machine released a printout saying that I did, 2) If so, did this company even do an alignment when they charged me $100.66, 3) Has this company ever did ANY of the work they charged me for when I have brought my vehicle into their shop in the past, 4) How many of their customers receive a printout from this "unreliable" machine and are then convinced by thecToyota Representative to pay $100.66 for an alignment that their vehicle may not need, and 5) what other SCAMS is this Auto Nation Toyota Scion pulling on their customers EVERY DAY???

Desired Settlement
A full refund of my initial $100.66 since I really am NOT convinced that I needed an alignment on July 14, 2014 and certainly am NOT convinced the "alleged" alignment was ever done AND a written apology from this company's Corporate Representative showing me that they have been made aware of this incident and will do everything they can in the future to attempt to regain the trust of their customers, because I certainly cannot be the only one who has raised questions about their falty practices. As a matter of fact, I know I'm not, because on the very date I had my vehicle in, I overheard another of their customers state, "every time we bring our car in here, they find something wrong with it."

Business Response
Spoke with the consumer and are refunding the $100.66. Check went out on Friday and she should have it this week.

Consumer Response
This response was taken verbally by the BBB: Yes I have receive the check for $100.66 but I have not cashed it. I want an written apology from the Corporate office and not the Fort Myers Location. When I receive this written apology, I will then close this and cash the check.

Final Business Response
Ms ******** has recieved her reimbursement I extend our sincere apologies and hope she has not lost faith in us. We make mistakes, we are human and when we do we do not run from them. My service Director is *** **** and is aware of the incident and is closing the loop on any holes that would allow this to happen again.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes, I have received reimbursement from this company, but NOT the requested written apology from the Toyota Auto Nation CORPORATE Office. I ask this simply because I feel their corporate office should be made aware of the SCAMS that this Fort Myers business conducts on the general public on a daily basis. As a matter of fact, even their written response to the BBB didn't include the name or signature of the person who claims to have apologized. As far as I know, it could have been written by the person who does the oil changes in the service department. As I stated in my initial complaint, there was a woman in the waiting area at the same time I was there on December 16th who, after speaking to one of their customer service representatives, stated, "they find something wrong with my car EVERY TIME I come here and IT'S A BRAND NEW CAR." So, it's quite apparent that this company conducts such shady business on a regular daily basis with their customers. The general public needs to be made aware of their deceptive practices. And shame on them if in fact their corporate office is aware and actually condones such practices!

12/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Incompetence regarding working on my MR 2 Toyota. I drove it in but couldn't drive it out. $1,750.00 later and it runs worse.
On Aug.21st. I drove my car to AutoNation Toyota for a $30.00 1- hour diagnostic test. Four hours later I was told to get a ride. I told their service rep. I'm on a fixed income and if repairs are needed,I would have to wait. Aug.22nd. I was called and told I needed a TCM at a cost of $1,200.00. Aug.23.rd. I reminded them I'm on a fixed income and would have to pick my car up..I was told my car couldn't be driven. I asked how a car can be driven in and now can't be driven out? I was told their 30- year tec. Tried to reprogram my TCM and it wouldn't take (not advised he was doing this ) I agreed to pay for a new TCM and it was installed. Two days later they call and say the New TCM was bad and ordered another one. Then the next day they tell me the ECM Computer is also bad and that one is $1,500.00. After complaining to Managment they agreed to send the ECM to Jacksonville Fl. To be rebuilt @ their expense. They didn't give me this option

Desired Settlement
On Aug.21 st. I took my car to AutoNation Toyota for a $30.00 1- hour diagnostic test. 4- hours later I was told to get a ride home and come back the next day. On Aug. 22nd. I was told I needed a new TCM. I ask what happen to mine and was told the 30- year tec. Tried to reload my TCM and it didn't work.( I didn't ok it) Now they tell me it Needs a new TCM @ $1,200.00. I told them I'm on a fixed income and it will have to wait. I told them to put the hood down and I'd drive it home. They told me that the car I drove in can't be driven home. I agreed to the TCM and was called a couple days later and told the new TCM was bad and they ordered another one. The put the TCM in and called me to let me know the other ECM Computer was bad. And it will be another $1,500.00 for a new one. I contacted their General Mgr. And talked to **** and told her I am very upset and rather have them make this right With me. They agreed to send the ECM to Jacksonville Fl. To have it rebuilt. ( I was not given this option) a week later I was told the ECM was fried and couldn't be rebuilt. They agreed to sell me a New ECM @ cost. I agreed and had it installed. After TWO MONTHS I get a call to pick the car up on a Friday night @ closing. I drive it 5- Blocks and it is doing the same thing it did when I took it to them. I contacted them the next day and was told it depends on how much money I'm willing to spend on my car to fix it. I have found at least two other MR2 owners that was treated the same way. The previous owner also spent $5,000.00 with this Company trying to get this car fixed. If I would have known this,I wouldn't of gone here. I told the service Mgr. The reason people have their car's serviced @ Toyota is because their Techs. Are trained and shouldn't guess. I feel that if they don't know how to work on a MR2 they should be honest and admit it. I drove my car in but couldn't drive it out. $1,750.00 and TWO months later it runs worse then it did! This is the second time in three years they put a TCM and ECM in this car that didn't correct the problem.They remembered the car but failed to share any of this with me.My guess is there are more then me and the other two I met on Spyderchat.com. This is a sit for other MR2 owners.

Business Response
Mr ****, brought his 2002 92K mile MR2 in August to have **** my service Manager give him a second opinion on a repair quote from another facility. Our diagnosis found multiple problems. Without being too technical the cars computer, electrical and transmission has problems. We tried to re-program his computer to save him money but the computer could not be re programmed. The car has a re built transmission and has been repaired and serviced at multiple facilities including ours for numerous related and unrelated problems. My service Manager and technician believe its a flood damaged car. Both are master certified technicians. They have the highest credentials that can be earned in Toyota. I've included a carfax that shows 4 privious owners. Which may suggest they all had similar problems with this car (as stated by Mr ****). It may be time for Mr **** to retire the MR2. At this time I consider this matter closed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They may have the Credentials from Toyota but they lack the ability to work on a MR2. They have made as of date $7,000.00 in repair bills on this car. There are at least two other MR2 owners that has issues with this company. Treated the same in terms of picking a part,if it doesn't work they pick another. I researched this company after the fact an they have a 1 1/2 star rating out of 5,I am obviously not the first to get screwed by AutoNation Toyota. Their go to response when they can't fix a car is,must have been hit by lightning or flooded. They have no proof of eather. If I was their owner I would try and figure out how Germain Toyota 30 minutes down the road has a 5- star rating. I have sold Toyota's and have been around service departments my whole Adult life. I have never seen anything like this one. They installed two new computers that are under the seat,my car runs worse then it did. I am supposed to believe they replaced them? I wouldn't trust this company to do an oil chage.

10/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
AUTONATION TOYOTA NEVER PAID OFF MY TRADE ON TIME
I PURCHASED A NEW 2014 TOYOTA SIENNA ON JULY 9TH 2014MY CREDIT SCORE WAS 743 I TRADED IN A 2013 HIGHLANDER..FRIDAY THE 15TH OF AUGUST 2014 GOT A LETTER FROM SOUTHEAST TOYOTA FINANCING LETTING ME KNOW THAT I WAS REPORTED TO CREDIT BUREAUS BECAUSE I WAS OVER A MONTH LATE ON PAYMENT ON THE 2013 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER MEANTIME THEY HAVE MY CAR ON SALE IN THEIR LOT AND STILL ON MY NAME??? ..I CALLED THE BUSINESS MANGER TO DISCUSS THE ISSUE HE SENT ME TO A FINANCE MANAGER BACK AND FORTH, THEY SAID THEY WILL OVER NIGHT A CHECK, MONDAY AUGUST 18TH 2014 CALLED SOUTHEAST TOYOTA LATE AFTERNOON THEY SAID THAT NO CHECK WAS RECEIVED, I CALLED AGAIN AUTONATION NOBODY SEEMS TO CARE ABOUT MY PROBLEMS,SO I KEPT INSISTING THAT I NEED THE TRACKING NUMBER OF THE CHECK TO FIND OUT THAT NO CHECK WAS SENT ON THE 15TH AND THEY WILL SEND A CHECK ON THE 19TH, ASKED FOR THE TRACKING NUMBER THE FINANCE DIRECTOR SAID THAT HE WILL CALL ME BACK NEVER DID, THE NEXT DAY I CALLED SOUTHEAST TOYOTA AND THEY SAID THAT THEY RECEIVED A TRACKING NUMBER OF THE CHECK AND TO CHECK LATER ..MEANTIME I EMAILED **** ***** THE GENERAL MANAGER OF AUTONATION TELLING HIM THE PROBLEM AND HOW IS STAFF DID'NT CARE ABOUT MY PROBLEMS HE EMAILKED ME BACK APOLOGIZING AND THAT HE WILL LOOK INTO IT AND GET BACK WITH ME NEVER DID UNTIL NOW, SO I CONTACTED TOYOTA CUSTOMER SERVICE COMPLAINING TO THEM THEY SAID WE WILL CONTACT THE DEALER AND THEY DID, THE DEALER RESPOND THAT THEY WILL CONTACT ME AND FIX THE PROBLEM THE GENERAL SALES MANGER ***** DID CALL ME AND LEFT A MESSAGE WHEN I CALLED BACK I NEVER GOT TO TALK TO HIM THEY CONNECTED ME TO ***** WHO WAS ASKING ME ABOUT MY PROBLEM AGAIN I HAD TO TELL HIM MY STORY AT THE END HE SAID THAT HE WILL CHECK WITH THE GENERAL MANAGER AND GET BACK WITH ME LIKE ALWAYS NEVER HAPPENED, MY CREDIT NOW IS 696 AND ALL THE PROBLEMS THAT COMES WITH IT CREDIT CARD LOWER THE BALANCE CREDIT RATIO GOES DOWN ON AND ON..

Desired Settlement
I NEED THEM TO FIX MY CREDIT ISSUE AND REFUND MY 3800 DOLLARS THAT I GAVE THEM TO PAY OFF MY 2013 HIGHLANDER AND NEVER DID, THIS IS THE LEAST WHAT THEY CAN DO..I AM NOT A HAPPY CUSTOMER AND WILL NOT STOP UNTIL PROBLEM IS FIXED.

Business Response
I replied to Mr *********'s email the minute I got it apologizing for the mix up. I told him I would look into it. Attached is a copy of the check dated the 18th of August like I said. I also have attached a letter I have sent to South East Toyota explaining that it was our mistake. We make mistakes every now and then and I have owned up to it. I again I apoplogize for the mix up.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
i called southeast Toyota and they said they received the check and because it's over a month late they reported me and my wife to credit bureaus as delinquent auto loan account and our credit will suffer for a years to come because of **the like you said mix up now and then** and you expect us to pay for it by paying high interest rate and get denied for a loan, when i called Toyota customer service they told me that when they contacted you.. with my problem you said that you will fix the problem friendly, the reason that i didn't file a complaint form with DMV nor the attorney general or called the local news, I'm still hoping to not go further on this and if you think you are not responsible and your headquarter are so i will do the necessary to let them know what happened to my wife and i credit am still asking for what i asked in my original complaint and it's fair, we have been a loyal Toyota customers since year 2000 and we still with the old store and yours and i wish for you to understand the problem, and your apology is accepted but you need to do better than that to make us satisfied.

09/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Almost lost car sale over a 700.00 Down payment agreement that should have been resolved without pressure.
I purchased a 2010 Toyota Rav 4 from this dealership. I traded in my 2006 Saturn Vue. We went to get financing for the purchase and it came down to a required down payment from us to the dealership. The finance officer originally accepted a 30 day hold on a check for the amount of $700.00. We signed our first set of financial contract which included the gap coverage as well as top of the line vehicle coverage. We got home and got another call saying we needed to come to the dealership to sign some more papers. We were told that the original contract had a higher interest rate. We got to the dealership and was told by **** **** that we needed to sign a new contract but the gap coverage and the vehicle coverage was removed. He then told me that someone from Capital One needed the 700.00 down payment immediately or we would have to return the vehicle. I called Capital one and they told me that the contract was delayed because of the down payment and they told us it was an agreement between us and the dealership. They proceeded to tell me that we had a week to settle the deal. I called the dealership back up and told them what Capital One told me. I also asked them if they could for all the trouble they caused write off the down payment. The dealership told me that if I did not have the 700.00 by the next day that I would need to bring the vehicle back. At that time we had the vehicle in our possession for over a week. I was in a state of panic. I had to borrow money from my employer with intent to repay the doctor that I work for. This whole situation should not have happened. I can not believe that they would not budge over a 700.00 down payment.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded for all of the aggravation to be refunded the $700.00 down payment. I would also like to have the Gold vehicle warranty removed and refunded as well. I would also like to make sure this does not happen to anyone. I also recommend that they do not over price their vehicles. I have seen the Autonation Toyota commercial and it said that they sell the cars lower than any other Toyota dealership in that area. I have found that we were over charged for the 2010 Base Model Toyota Rav 4.

I would like this resolved as soon as possible. It has been on my mind since we purchased the vehicle in June 2014. I have lost sleep and now have my reputation on the line and have to be responsible for paying back my employer.

Business Response
I apologize that Ms ****** was not given a better explanation of the financing part of her transaction. We are not a finance company, her car loan was done through *********** *******. They stipulate the loan requirements according to risk.That includes interest rate and down payment or loan to value. She was able to excercise some options. Bring the car back and cancel the deal. Secure a loan on her own behalf. The date of her transaction was June 14th 2014. Unfortunatley it's been almost 3 months. I am unable to give her any down payment money back or offer any other options other than the cancellations of the warranty products she purchased. She just needs to contact the store at XXX-XXX-XXXX and we'll take it from there. Again I apologize for the confusion.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
To be totally honest. I was not given much of an option or a window of time to settle the deal. I find this to be very insulting. I know it has been 3 months since we purchased the vehicle. I was caught off guard to the fact an actual dealership that makes itself known to be in the business of selling cars, was going to stoop so low as to wanting the car back a week later after the original paperwork was completed. I can not believe that a dealership would be so petty over 700.00 down payment or bring the vehicle back and return to the vehicle we had traded in. I have lost sleep and now my reputation of repaying my supervisor back for the 700.00 is on the line. How do people sleep at night when they swindle people like this?

06/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They could not Fix my Truck for Miss Fir
AutoNation had my truck for 10 days could not fix it, I taken my truck to Germain Toyota Naples to fix my truck, they had my truck for 7 days ,they fig out that was something wrong with a vale in the number 5 cinder. They coast was going to coast $1,800.00 to fix i.e. thought that they at Auto nation could done something wrong when they did Time Built replacement, I though they should pay to get fix. Now am waiting to find out if Auto Nation going to pay to fix my truck

Desired Settlement
I think that Auto nation should pay to fix my truck, they where the last one to Fix my truck when I taken in to do the Time build replace, and how **** ****** talk to me on the phone that day about my truck. They where telling me that I should bring my truck there to fix it, I told them not going to bring it there.
So give Germain Toyota %500.00 to pull the head and to tell me if the Auto Nation was the one to miss up my Engine. Of now waiting them to call me to tell me what going to happen and how is going to pay to get my truck back

Business Response
On 2/26/14 Mr ****** brought his 2006 sequoia in with 111354 miles on it for a drivability issue. we did several repairs plus timing belt. there were two other occasions 4/5 and 4/7 where we diagnosed and replaced an injector because of misfire. during this repair we put him in a rental because the replaced injector did not fix the problem. we asked for authorization to tear down the motor because it appeared to be a more complicated issue. He refused and took it to another Toyota dealer where he apparently authorized the tear down and was repaired for a tight valve keeper that was causing the misfire. Mr ****** is asking we pay the other dealer for a repair he authorized. He was told by my management staff that if we tear down the engine and determined we caused the issue we would fix it. The other dealer confirms our original repair had nothing to do with his current engine failure. At this time I have no compelling evidence to substantiate Mr ******* claim.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
they had my truck for 10 days they did not have any idea what was wrong with it, they told me that they have some guy to look at it out town, from Toyota. And this guy could not find any thing wrong with it ,ask what the guy name was what he did, they told me any thing at all when I ask on the 10 about the paper work they give me Plank pies paper, on this paper did not say what kind test they did or how long they work on my truck, I thinking that they where trying to hide something. Then I ask what kind of work you need to do they told me something about too Replace the computer in the truck, they did not want to buy new computer they say it coast to much, and they where going to use used Computer, then I ask how much to cast to fix my truck they could not give me a price.
But the bottom line is they where the last people that work on my truck 2 months a go, when they did tune up and Replace my time built, when they but the built back they did something wrong with the built..
the big thing is this vale came lose when I was driven it could trash the engine could got on fire or could hurt my self or my Family, or I could DIE..
I token my 2006 Sequoia to Germaine Toyota of Naples, they had my truck for 7 days found out what wrong with it, they show me what they did and let me talk to guy how was working on it, so now is the cast to fix my truck,$1800.00
So the people Auto Nation at Ft Myers did not take care of my truck, or my self ,I think there is something Real Bad going on over there, and I was caught middle of it, I still think that they should pay to fix my truck

Final Business Response
Mr ****** was put in a rental car for the entire time we were trying to diagnose and fix his car. It is completely unreasonable for him to suggest our attempt, was anything but thorough. When we told him we would have to tear down the motor for a better look... he refused. He then took it to germain and did exactly what we recommended and requests we pay for the repair. I regret to inform Mr ****** I will not pay for the repair to his car.

Final Consumer Response
Bottom line they where last person towed my Toyota Auto Nation Ft. Myers. What they did could hurt or kill my self or my family. This is not about money this is about saving life

Page 1 of 2

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.