BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
West Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/03/2003

AutoNation Honda Clearwater

Phone: (727) 231-1324Fax: (727) 538-5342View Additional Phone Numbers17275 US Highway 19 N, ClearwaterFL 33764-7524View Additional Web AddressesFacebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/03/2003

BBB has determined that AutoNation Honda Clearwater meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AutoNation Honda Clearwater's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues8
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)BBB Closure Definitions
05/16/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: Autonation failed to pay for a car rental they offered while they repaired my vehicle on issues they agreed to fix.
on 1-15-2014 to 1-17-2014 Autonation scheduled me to take care of some repairs their own General Manager approved, due to my dissatisfaction on the quality and detail of a Honda certified vehicle sold to me. They offered a rental car for a day with Enterprise next door. I've had 3 rentals from them so far from the amount of issues and trips I've had to make (I live 1.25 hrs away from the dealer).
They did not pay enterprise the $90.27 and the $1 hold on my American express was increased to that amount due. I've called, emailed, texted the repair tech who sent me to Enterprise, and nobody has replied. Enterprise said Autonation refused to pay for this rental.

This is not the only issue I've had with this dealer, the purchase of this Honda Certified vehicle has been one of the most painful and frustrating experiences I've ever had buying ANYTHING. This dealer has managed to waste hours and hours of my time, put at least 600 extra miles on my car.

Initial Business Response
We have resolved the issue with the customer by paying their rental bill. All good at this time.

Thanks,

*** ********
General Manager
AutoNation Honda Clearwater

Initial Consumer Rebuttal

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/26/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: Most relentless dealership I have ever done business with in 40 yrs. Want Harrassment to STOP!
I purchases a new 2011 Honda Civic in Oct 2010. Since then dealership has been relentlessly Calling, emailing, US Mail. I have told them I wasn't happy with the car. wouldn't buy another one, and certainly not from any AutoNation Dealer.
I have told them via phone, US Mail, and they won't stop! Other cosnumers BEWARE!! This Corp (AutoNation will harrass you forever. They have even gone as far to get my cell phone # and started calling me on that while I was at work.
I have told them in a nice way, and also in a nasty way and they will not leave me alone.

Initial Business Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

We have removed this consumer from all of our data bases and he should not be contacted any further.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I'm satisfied that AutoNations has removed my name from ALL their data bases. Will never buy another vehiole from any AutoNation Dealership.
Thanks for the help BBB.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized repair

Complaint: Auto nation did an unauthorized paint job on my vehicle, sold it, and now I have been unsuccessful in getting them to remit paperwork
I took my 2003 Taurus to auto nation to have a front end alignment after contacting my insurance company as they said I can get it done anywhere and turn in the receipt or take it to auto nation and they will pay for it. It took 2 weeks and I asked what was taking so long and they said that they were waiting for the machine that does the alignment. Finally they contacted me and said I owed them approx $2000. I was beside myself and asked what for and they said they did a paint job and the insurance company already paid me months ago for it. I told them I never wanted a paint job just the front end alignment as I had all my repairs done elsewhere. In fact, they contacted the previous repair shop to see what repairs were done that needed a front end alignment. As I couldn't pay for the unwanted paint job, they threw my personal belongings out and sold my vehicle. I have been trying for the last year to get the information like when they took possession of my vehicle and when they processed a lien on it as I can not cancel the insurance on this until I have it and have been paying over $200 a month for a vehicle I haven't had in over a year. The contact person at auto nation is Charlie Bellino and I have forwarded emails from him to a *** ******* that never get replied to. It seems everytime I call now trying to get this paperwork, someone says they are not in, off that day, and my voicemails never get returned. I lost my vehicle to their blunde and now I am still paying for it monthly.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ******* signed our repair order on April 10, 2012 authorizing repairs up to 1863.79. I have highlighted this authorization on the attached repair order. At that time, he also authorized us to secure a mechanics lien on the vehicle if the repairs were unpaid.

Mr. ******* was contacted several times and the repairs went unpaid. On August 31, 2012 we secured a mechanics lien for this vehicle and subsequently took possession of the vehicle.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/23/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: Autonation Honda Clearwater tried to fool me into spending unnecessary money on repairs that were not needed.
In March 2013, my Honda A/C stopped working so I took it to Autonation Clearwater. After running through their "diagnosis" the service manager informed me that it's best if I replace my compressor. He gave me a written quote of $792.95 plus tax. Having known my car, I had a gut feeling my compressor was in good shape. So I took it to Firestone for a second opinion and to my surprise the diagnosis came back with a need to change the A/C relay for $16. Clearly Autonation deliberately misdiagnosed my car ! Had I trusted the dealership, I would have been robbed !!! Just because I am not a mechanic, it does not give Autonation the right to mislead me into spending almost 40 times more !!! The kind of business being run by Autonation is absolutely unbelievable. On top of that, service department (XXX-XXX-XXXX) called me about 20 days ago to follow-up on the repairs since I had not gotten my repairs done at Autonation Clearwater. Upon explaining the situation, I was assured that the service manager who had recommended me the repairs will call me within 48 hours. Those 48 hours were long time ago and there has been absolutely no follow-up from anyone regarding this serious issue. The carelessness for this matter and lack of responsibility from all parties involved is a clear indication that Autonation does not care about their customers.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ***** brought his 2006 Honda Accord to AutoNation Honda on 04/17/2013 with a concern that the Air Conditioning on the Accord was blowing warm air. The vehicle was disgnosed by a Honda Certified Master Technician. He determined that the vehicle needed an A/C relay and a Clutch and Coil. In our experience we have seen on many of these models that the relay fails due to excessive draw from the compressor coil and/or the coil tends to fail shortly after the relay. Generally we would recommend that both components be replaced to ensure the continued operation of the air conditioning system. Due to the high cost of the Honda Factory Clutch and Coil, we recommended the replacement of the entire compressor assembly with a quality aftermarket product(includes clutch and coil). This would have reduced the cost by $207.00. AutoNation Honda stands behind our diagnosis as we guarantee all of our repairs for 12 months/ 12,000 miles whichever comes last. AutoNation Honda strives for complete customer satisfaction and I apologize for the lack of follow-up to Mr. *****'s concerns. AutoNation Corporation holds all of their dealerships to the highest ethical standards. AutoNation Honda is willing to refund Mr. ***** the $35.95 diagnosis fee from 04/17/13 as a Goodwill gesture. Please contact me at the number listed below if I can further assist. Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
Same exact thing had happened with my Nissan in July 2012. This time it was Autonation Nissan, Clearwater. When I took my car for an A/C check, as it was blowing hot air, the service manager told me I needed a new Evaporator and gave a written estimate of $729.70. I took it to Firestone for a second opinion, the diagnosis came back with a need to replace the A/C control head, as the plastic was stuck on hot ! Clearly Autonation Nissan was trying to fool me into replacing something that was perfectly fine. I communicated this misdiagnosis to the Autonation service manager; his response a careless excuse that the service technician had left the company since my visit ( in a matter of 1 day, so it was a blunt lie) and he did not have anyone to communicate this issue to, but he was sorry !!! Later he persuaded me into getting the repairs done at Autonation and he price matched the Firestone quote. Once again, I had to get a second opinion for my repairs. As a proof, I have attached relevant paperwork with this complaint letter.

So the pattern is clear. Go to the dealership, expect a lie, get a second opinion, get repairs done elsewhere and save money !

In order to make things efficient in future, I and everyone who hears my story on Facebook pages, on local news channels and in local newspapers will be persuaded to go directly to the local shops and bypass *** dealer hassle, since the dealers will never say the truth !! Tampa-Bay must know how Autonation cheats innocent people every-day. People can save time, money and headache by just going directly to local repair shops like Firestone since we need second opinions from them anyway !! Plus they are cheaper, responsive to our needs and have much better communication skills.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/15/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: Dealership took $1000 credit card deposit to secure a vehicle at another location. Could not deliver upon promise and delaying refund of my deposit.
Went to dealership on 11/30/12 and requested a 2012 Honda Odyssey touring. Preferred color was not in stock so I was told that they secured my preferred color and model at another dealership location in the Orlando area and they could obtain for me to purchase of I provided a $1000 credit card deposit. (the transaction was approved by female sales manager) I was informed the next day via phone,12/1/12, that this vehicle was unavailable as the promised vehicle had damage. I was offered alternative vehicle colors throughout the day but my criteria was not met. I requested a refund of my deposit on Saturday 12/1 after deciding to no longer do business with the dealership. I was advised that I physically needed to come in to present my credit card to process the refund. I agreed and upon returning to the dealership I was informed that they did not have the code to process the refund to my card. I was advised that they could copy my credit card and present to finance personnel on Monday 12/3 to process refund. I was contacted today, 12/3 and informed that I would once again have to come into the dealership as the copy of my card was insufficient as the numbers could not be read. My sales rep was Dell with which there is no complaint and as promises for availability were approved and promised by female sales manager.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******, Controller
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********************
****** ****** was refunded the $1000 deposit on 12/7/12. The dealership apologizes for not being able to locate the desired vehicle. The credit card copy provided was difficult to read and Autoway Honda did not want to refund to an unintended recipient. We were able to validate the account number and processed the refund immediately on 12/7/12.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 2
06/06/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: Email agreement with Moe Khavarian, VIP Manager-Internet Sales Guide. ************************** He reneged on the deal and increased the price

He quoted my email offer in his email, dated April 4, 2013. On April 5, 2013, he stated (email) "The price is agreed on tag transfer is fine it will save you some money as far as this evening or tomorrow which is better for you so I can set a time to meet with you?" We met on April 6th and he stated "The incentive has expired." and raised the price.

Business' Initial Response
We reviewed the customers inquiry and communications that are saved in our computer system. We also interviewed both the sales person and the sales manager to get a better understanding of what transpired. According to both, the customer claimed to have a negotiated deal at another dealership. When the sales representative brought that claim to the sales manager, he simply stated "that our company policy to price match any competitive offer. All that is needed is that quote in writing signed by a manager and we will match it." When the customer came in, there was no evidence of any such deal presented. Therefore the price she wanted was not accepted. Obviously the price she claimed to be getting was not credible.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No other dealership was mentioned in our correspondence. I made an offer of $17,500 and ************* (the salesman agreed on it.) -- As documented in email attached.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

02/07/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
01/13/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/04/2011Advertising / Sales Issues

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/02/1989Business started: 01/01/1952New Owner Date: 10/10/1998
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee
2900 Apalachee Pkwy # B441
Tallahassee, FL32399-6552
(850) 617-2000

Business Tax Receipt/Largo
PO Box 296
Largo, FL33779-0296
(727) 587-6700

Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

BBB records show a license number of VF-1001765-1 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

BBB records show a license number of 2014000929 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Largo.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of MV19698 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Hardeman (General Manager)Mr. Jim Bender (President)Mr. David Lyons (Complaints)Ms. Barbara Miles (Executive Assistant)Mr. Tom Olney (General Manager)
Business Category

New Car Dealerships, Auto Repair Services, Auto Body Shops, Used Car Dealerships

Alternate Business Names
D/L Motor Company
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AutoNation Honda Clearwater

17275 US Highway 19 N

Clearwater, FL 33764-7524

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 17275 US Highway 19 N 

    Clearwater, FL 33764-7524(727) 231-1324

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AutoNation Honda Clearwater is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (727) 531-0444
  • (727) 535-5300
  • (727) 530-1173
  • (888) 532-9181
  • (727) 536-0557
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.