BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In West Florida

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/26/2013

Elite Moving Labor

Phone: (888) 354-8303Fax: (888) 901-4464

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
05/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: our furniute was damaged and yet they are refusing to call us back or repair the damages and its been 30 days
Do not use this company for any reason! The broke our bedroom cabinet 30 days ago the mover just dropped in and broke the corner it is a very large cabinet with two pieces and they have still yet to return my calls or requests to fix our furniture even though they fully charged us at the time ,,,,they are very unprofessional and very unconcern with our damages ,,BEWARE they are a scam and use outside unprofessional to come in your home and move your belongings ! We are contacting an attorney to get this handled now and it will cost us more money on top of our damages ..........we have pictures if anyone needs them and receipts for there services paid

Initial Business Response

Good Afternoon Ms. *******,
I am writing you today to follow up with your damage claim that occurred on 2/28/2014 in
Marshfield, MO during your unload service. I understand that you have been working with our
office manager, *******, and I have been asked to review your account and respond to the claim.
Before I begin I wanted to take a moment and address the feedback you have left on public
review sites and with the BBB. We provide moving labor services to 23,000 customers annually
and we take our commitment to each one very seriously. Our company has been in business for
nearly ten years and our reputation as an honest, reliable and reputable company is our
namesake. While I understand your frustration with the clairrs process, I do not believe labeling
us as a "scam" is appropriate or honest. I hope you will consider making modifications to your
feedback that more accurately reflects the situation.
Understanding Damage Coverage
As outlined on our website, damage that occurs while the movers are on site is subject to
coverage under Released Valuation, a federally mandated coverage which is payable at up
to $0.60/per pound. There are exclusions to this coverage and the actual payout amount can
vary based on item condition and depreciation factors. For your reference we have an insurance
section on our website that can provide you with more information.
Understanding the Claims Process & Our Obligations
Your unload was fulfilled by one of our third party suppliers, a moving company that is under
contract with us to provide labor services in a specific area. Because the servicer is an
independent company it also has an independent claims process. It is our obligation to provide
that company with the details of the claim, assist with the claim investigation (if necessary) and
to verify that the claim is officially addressed and closed.
Although there is not an official duration for the claims process we can typically have a claim
closed in 2-3 weeks. Your claim has been pending for 25 days, mostly due to poor communication
by the servicing company, Movin' All In, LLC out of Springfield, MO. Your account shows that
******* either spoke with, or attempted to speak with, the company on 13 occasions during this
time period. We take our claims process obligations vew seriously, and although ******* was
unable to provide you with any new information, I do show that she spoke with you directly on
several occasions to inform you that the claim was still being worked on.
Closing the Claim
Although we have worked with Movin' All In, LLC for several years, we feel that their inability to
address the claim in a reasonable period of time is unacceptable and unprofessional. As a result,
we have terminated their contract and our relationship with them.
Because our company facilitates these services we believe we have an ethical obligation to
resolve this matter when a supplier has not. Therefore, Elite Moving Labor has decided to cover
the claim internally. Based on the photos provided I have approved a claim payment in the
amount of $60.00 which I am confident will easily cover the necessary repairs. I hope that this
resolution changes your opinion of our company and our commitment to our customers.



Before I can issue a check I will need you to first confirm your mailing address shown below
******* *******
**** ***** *** **
Marshfield, MO XXXXX
Sincerely,
******* **********
Elite Moving Labor

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

I do not accept the company's response and their offer of $60 is insulting. I did email them back asking them to call to discuss the issue but no one ever called. I was never offered any additional insurance, before booking the move I asked if they are licensed and insured and she said they are. I didn't think I needed to do anything else but that. Their mover literally dropped the furniture on the floor. They did not offer to do anything else to help, just asked me to pay them for the move. I wanted to talk to someone about the damage first but they said that is not the way it worked. I contacted the manager immediately after the movers left and I couldn't get anywhere except the run around. I tried to contact her supervisor but he never responded at all except to offer me $60. They never allowed me to fill out a damage claim form asking for the specifics of this piece of furniture, I don't know how they even came up with the $60. The piece of furniture took two guys to move it and the one guy dropped it so obviously it is very heavy. The money is not really the issue now, I just don't want someone else to go through what I went through. They should tell consumers that they have to purchase additional insurance because the guys they are sending are not covered under the company.

Final Business Response
Per our initial complaint response, an email was sent to Ms. ******* on March 28th. This email addressed the complaint as well as the time it took to investigate the claim. Additionally, we discussed how the damage coverage applies, the limitations of the coverage, the claims process and finally, offered a settlement solution. As of today, April 11th, we have not received an email response from the customer, which is why a follow up attempt was not made.

To address the customers individual complaints:

1) Additional insurance was never offered because we are not legally allowed to offer additional insurance. This is something only full service moving companies can offer for an additional cost. Our inability to offer additional insurance coverage, as well as resources for obtaining additional coverage through other methods, is very clearly outlined on our website under "Rights and Responsibilities". A link to this section is included in customer quote and confirmation emails and was also included in our initial response to the customer.

The "Rights and Responsibilities" section also describes our coverage, coverage limits, exclusions, limitation of liability and the claims process.

2) The claims and investigation process took 25 days. During that time our staff communicated with the customer 13 times. The claims process can, at times, be lengthy but we do communicate with ours customers about the status of their claim on a regular basis.

3) The $60.00 settlement offer was calculated based on our federally mandated coverage, Released Valuation. This coverage applies to items dropped or damaged on site at a value of $0.60/ per pound. From the initial value we then apply depreciation based on the values set by the insurance industry. Although the customer did not complete a claim form, we do maintain a weight, specifications and value database of standard household items. Based on the pictures provided by the customer we determined the item to be an armoire with an accepted standard weight of 175 pounds. After applying Released Valuation and the depreciation formula we determined that $60.00 was the appropriate compensation amount.

4) Our company, as well as any Supplier company providing services on our behalf, are licensed and insured. There is not a set standard from industry to industry that defines the word "insured", the types of insurance and coverage levels vary depending on a number of factors. Our company goes to great lengths to inform consumers about the limitations of liability associated with the moving labor industry. This information is very clearly explained in our Rights and Responsibilities section.

In summary, we feel that we have thoroughly addressed and investigated the damage claim in conjunction with our policies. Further, we have maintained consistent communication with the customer throughout the process. We believe the compensation amount offered of $60.00 is a fair and accurate figure. However, if Ms. ******* believes otherwise, she may complete and submit a claim form for the item. Once submitted, we will reevaluate the compensation amount offered. Our claim form has been attached to this response.

Damage claims are, of course, regrettable, but they are also a normal part of the moving process. It is our goal to address claims as quickly as possible and to communicate the status of the claim to the customer as often as possible.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: The contracted movers showed up in flip flops, had no dolly to move our belongings with and took thier time with moving.
The contracted movers showed up in flip flops, had no dolly to move our belongings with and took thier time with moving. The contract stated dollys and moving materials would be provided. Our furntiure which is less than one year old and very expensive is now broken along with sentimental items that are priceless. Elite movers had us contact the movers directly and offer nothing in return other than to tell us to contact the mover which always ensues a shouting match intiated by the movers.

Business' Initial Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The movers arrived on time for the job but the customer was waiting to do paperwork with the company. The movers waited for her to finish the paperwork off the clock. One of them did have flip flops on at that time but changed into shoes before he went on the clock and started moving. The movers did have a dolly in their vehicle but it wasn't needed and that is why the customer did not see it. These issues were addressed with the customer when she first called to complain. We investigated and advised our suppliers to handle these matters differently in the future.

In reference to the damage claim, we advise every customer prior to the move of the .60 cents per pound damage liability. After we investigated the first part of customer's complaint she brought up damage to furniture. We advised her of the process to fill out a damage claim form and submit to the supplier. The customer did not want to fill out the form or submit any documentation.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/20/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: I felt that I was violated by this company as a single female. They misrepresented the service they provided in the individuals sent to do the work.
They sent out two middle age men to move from a second story building. The main worker showed up in slippers and long, ragged pants that he would have eventually tripped on and probably sued me for. My son (26) and I had packed a portion of the truck which they proceeded to unpack to possibly extend the move and when I questioned him he became disrespectful to both myself and son; at that point I asked them to leave. This company then took an additional $150 which was not authorized. I paid the deposit in good faith that this would be a professional job. I have used labor such as this in the past and was very pleased in the help. I feel that I was taken advantage of as a single female.

Business' Initial Response
EML was originally notified of this issue by the site supervisor on the move date, 4/5/2013. The supervisor indicated that on arrival at the customers location they began to unload a portion of the truck previously loaded by the customers son, as noted by Ms. ******. However, the reasoning behind their action was logical for any professional mover. The supervisor indicated that the truck was packed primarily with boxes, not foundation items (the larger items, such as furniture) which should always be loaded first. Although our policy does allow the customer to participate (See this FAQ:http://w***************************************p) it does also indicate that more often than not the move will end up taking longer as a result. Unfortunately, the customer perceived their actions with the intention to extend billable total time while they were simply attempting to complete the move successfully without damage to her items.

Regarding the movers clothing, the supervisor indicated that they were wearing khakis and athletic shoes. We do allow our movers to wear khakis or shorts. Due to the physical nature associated with moving it is illogical for any mover to wear shoes that do not have laces. Both crew members have reported that they were wearing athletic shoes.

An attempt to contact Ms. ****** on the move date to discuss the problem was made shortly after we were notified by the supervisor. A call back from Ms. ****** was not received until after midnight at which time she left a voice mail outlining her complaint. Because we could not reach Ms. ****** on 4/5 our ability to investigate her complaint was limited to the information provided by both parties verbally.

In accordance with our policies, a $150 No Show Fee was charged to Ms. ******'s account for cancelling service after the movers had been dispatched. Had Ms. ****** contacted us directly to express her concerns we would have likely been able to reach a resolution, or at the very least, dispatch a different crew. We believe that the action taken was appropriate under the circumstances and are not willing to refund any of the amounts charged.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/06/2012Problems with Product / Service
02/20/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service estimate or agreement

Complaint: Refusal to refund down payment after failing to meet contractual agreement
Hired moving labor to load a container in my yard.Informed them Heavy items include 2 items weighing 420.& 200lbs. That container on wheels not ramped.Agreed 3 workers for 3 hrs. Informed them container had no ramp. Indicated they had performed similar work. On arrival said couldnt load the 420 item as they did not have a ramp. The heavy item needed to be loaded before the other stuff. Left immediately. Called Elite they said they won't refund. ******* said she didn't know about the items but I told her **** who I talked to had confirmed everything.Had to hire a different crew

Initial Business Response
During quoting on 5/8 and reservation on 5/9 the customer failed to inform us that the portable storage unit was actually an international container, or, that the portable storage unit would not be dropped to ground level. Our records indicate that the customer had a 20' POD, a POD unit is always placed on the ground level. The primary issue is that the customer has a very heavy (400 lbs+) piece of farm equipment called a 'bed shaper', the customer was informed that it was at the supervisors discretion as to whether or not we could move it. When the movers arrived, they found that the POD/Intl Container was 3.5' off the ground and that there was not a ramp. It is impossible for three movers to lift such a heavy item that high and against all of our heavy items policies which are in place for the movers safety. The movers could have loaded all of the remaining items for the customer but they were asked to leave without moving any additional items. Our heavy items policies and terms and conditions are very clear about what our movers are capable of moving and what they cannot, the customer would have been made aware of this had she informed us that the POD would be 3.5' off the ground. The movers were on site and ready to work as scheduled, therefore, the deposit will not be refunded and the customer will also be responsible for a $150 No Show Fee as outlined in our cancellation policy. Elite Moving Labor was prepared to service the customer as scheduled, unfortunately we cannot waive our fees and policies when we were not provided with accurate information by the customer. Our cancellation policy can be viewed here: http://www.elitemovinglabor.com/faq#cancel, heavy items policy here: http://www.elitemovinglabor.com/faq#heavy, Terms and Conditions here: http://www.elitemovinglabor.com/terms

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their response is untruthful. In our discussion, I clearly stated that I needed labor only to load a container shipping abroad. I don't believe pods do that. They initially suggested a 2 man crew, I informed them that I had an item weighing over 400lbs and that's why we agreed on a 3 man crew. For evidence, I had called a number of companies for the quote including the one I ended up using for loading. Each of those companies can attest that I informed them from the start of the heavy item. What reason would I have to have stated otherwise with Elite. In fact I asked them to provide a contract statement specifying my situation and they insisted they had done similar work. I'm willing to call the other Companies that provided quotes to confirm this if necessary

Final Business Response
The weight of the item is not disputed, it is the information provided by the customer regarding transportation. EML maintains recorded calls, we have reviewed these calls and confirmed that the customer clearly indicated a POD (portable storage unit). At no time did the customer indicate that it was an international container. Had the customer provided accurate information we would have been able to inform her that a ramp is not provided and that one was required. Moving an item that weighs 400 lbs into a POD, which is 2-3 inches off the ground is one thing, an international container is 3.5'-4' off the ground. Without a ramp this is impossible without 5 movers. Our policies, which are in place for the safety of our movers, will not allow us to move an item under these circumstances. Additionally, the customer has submitted a credit card chargeback dispute for the amount charged. We will provide the requested information to our processor to confirm validity of the charge.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

09/16/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: Elite Moving Labor's workers worked for 3 hours and charged me for 5. Refused to correct error.
Hired Elite Moving Labor for my move in Birmingham, AL on 2/28/2013. Hired 3 guys for 3 hours, which Elite Moving Labor quoted me $369 plus $95 per hour there after. The job took the movers 3 hours, but I was charged for 5 hours for a total of $560 in error. When I contacted their manager (*******) she curtly told me that the paperwork that I signed said 5 hours and refused to help me. It was late and I was tired from packing all day and did not read the paperwork thoroughly or I would have caught their error.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* - *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@elitemovinglabor.com
It appears that Mr. ********* continues to refuse to accept responsibility for the services rendered. According to his account, Mr. ********* contacted our call center on March 8th, 10 days after the services were rendered. He indicated that he was overcharged by two hours, paying for 5 hours but only receiving 3 hours of service. In accordance with our policy his work order was reviewed and the total time and amount due was indeed correct. Mr. ********* refuses to acknowledge that he willingly signed the work order at the completion of his move which clearly indicates the arrival time, end time and total time, which, in this case, was 5 hours. Further, the work order has a complete breakdown of the billable rate structure (per his quote) and the total due reflected the 5 hours of service. Not only did Mr. ********* sign the work order he also paid cash for the full amount due. Mr. *********'s demands are unresonable and he has no evidence to support his claim, he has repeatedly left poor reviews on Internet review sites claiming that we "stole" from him. Our company provides a quality and reputable service to more than 23,000 consumers annually and we pride ourselves on our reputation. Our decision not to refund Mr. ********* is based on the irrefutable evidence in the form of a signed work order. Please note that the work order supporting our decision has been attached to this response.

Consumer's Final Response
I am not denying that I signed the work order as was stated in my previous text. The work order is in error. My fault for not reading it thoroughly. Elite moving labor said that I MUST pay in cash or I would have put a hold on the check (now I see why they say that I MUST pay in cash). Yes, I did not file a complaint until 10 days after... it takes a while to move across the country. I am sorry to see the BBB's lack of resolution to this issue.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.