BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Woody & Sons Moving

Find a Location

Phone: (727) 935-4302Fax: (727) 623-077711151 66th St Apt 203, LargoFL 33773-5509http://www.woodyandsons.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Woody and Sons Moving & Storage is a local and long distance moving company, license to move in the State of Florida.

BBB Accreditation

Woody & Sons Moving is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Woody & Sons Moving's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Woody & Sons Moving

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

We hired Woody's to provide moving services. The job came in well over estimate, took two days vs one, and substantial damaged was done to our home.
I hired Woody and Sons to move a total of 6 items:
One 9X9 Rug
One Bernhardt Gentleman's Chest
One Marble Topped Short Dresser
Two Restoration Hardware Night Stands
One King Size Restoration Hardware Bed Frame

Prior to commencing the job I spoke on multiple occasions with the owner of Woody & Sons - ***** *****. I also forwarded photos and dimensions of the Gentlemen's Chest - the largest and heaviest item being moved. Additionally, I provided full addresses of all locations and MapQuest mileage estimates. There were to be two pick-up stops along the way before arriving at the final drop-off location. I also informed her that there were stairs involved at both the first pickup location and the final drop-off location. While booking the move ***** had cautioned me about using other, less quality movers who may not be licensed or did not have proper insurance. Even though her initial quote was higher than the others I received (Est. $290), I wanted to err on the side of making certain my mover was both licensed and insured.

Upon arrival at the first pickup location I received notice from ***** indicating the Gentlemen's Chest was too heavy for only 2 men and they would have to add an additional mover which would add both time and cost to the move, not to mention make it impossible to make the pickup window for the additional items located at the second pickup location. However, ***** told me there were wood floors and stairs at the first pickup location and that to ensure they would not be damaged she required a third man. That was fine. I agreed to the cost of the additional man and Woody and Sons ended up having to keep my furniture in their truck for the night , then restart the move the next day.

Upon arrival a day later at our home my wife explained the that our stairwell was wallpapered and it was critical that they did not tear or dent it. Notwithstanding the warnings, the wood floors were scratched in 3 separate locations (one being a very long and deep gouge) and they tore through the wallpaper and dented it in a large, second location. We then were presented with a bill for $419.75 which we paid and received a receipt detailing the areas in our home that were damaged and a signed form from the fellow managing the move for Woody's stating the damage would be repaired.

Following this fiasco we were contacted by Woody & Sons' damage expert - **********. He indicated he would come to our home and "take care of things". We asked if he was a licensed repair person - the answer was "no". At this point we were uncomfortable allowing anyone non-licensed to perform work in our home, especially given the recent damage suffered at the hands of Woody's. As such, we allowed***** to our home to survey the damage and we offered to get repair estimated. We also offered***** the ability to secure some estimates of his own. We took photos of the damage and forwarded them to Woody's along with our estimates.

At this point it was explained to us by***** that ***** did not want to file an insurance claim because insurance companies basically drop small moving companies if they file a claim, so Woody's was going to have to pay this out of pocket. I provided my estimates, after which they called me first with a $250 offer to settle, then later with a $500 offer - which did not even begin to touch the estimates at $2650 before the purchase of replacement wallpaper (which I'm guess is at least another $500-$600. I received a final voice message from*****(which I have saved all of his messages) stating ***** was not excited about paying any amount greater than the cost of the move.

My feelings are as follows. I was assured the company moving me was both licensed and insured. I chose a company giving me a higher estimate for that security. The company charged me well over their original estimate, the items arrived a day late, and substantial damage was done to our home which they must repair per invoice.

Desired Settlement
The damage done to our home be repaired and returned to its original state.

Business Response
This complaint was resolved and the customer has agreed to a mutually acceptable settlement.

There are some issues and facts that we would like to mention that were not included in the original complaint:

-The initial quote was for 3-5 hours. We did not guarantee a 3-hour job. The client insisted that he KNEW it would not take more than 3 hours, even though the travel from pick up one to pick up two is at least 30 minutes on a god day with no traffic.
-Although photos of the furniture were provided, we did not have the weights nor the weight distributions of these heavy pieces. When our men arrived, they determined that the pieces could not be handled safely with only 2 men. It was suggested to the client that 4 men would be optimal; the client refused stating that 4 men was unnecessary, so a third man was brought in.
-The two pick-up windows could have been met on the initial moving day, but the client did not want to pay the extra time to drive during rush hour traffic in Tampa. To accommodate his wishes, we transported the furniture to our facility and kept it overnight free of charge. This was a free service of over $250 in value provided to try and make this customer happy.
-Our movers warned the client about damage to the floors and walls on the stairwell. They would have preferred to have a 4th man, but the client said to go ahead.
-Our damage controller *********** is not a licensed contractor. He is a retired mechanical engineer and wood craftsman, and he does take care of small damage claims. His job in a situation such as this is to find appropriate contractors to do the work, which is what he did.
-We feel we did everything possible to make this client happy. Unfortunately damage did occur, and we have settled this dispute with the client.

02/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

The final invoice was double the in-home estimate we received. Also, we were not reimbursed for damaged items caused during the move.
On October 9th, a Woody & Sons representative did an in-home moving estimate. He spent 30 minutes assessing our upcoming move. He determined the move would require 2 movers, 5-7 hours, totaling $510-680. The moving company owner ***** ***** called a couple of days later and said the estimate forgot to include the $149 piano moving charge, bringing the new total to $659-829. In addition, she agreed to lower our hourly rate to $75. The move took place Oct. 30, 2013. The 2 man crew took 9.25 hours, forgot the wardrobe boxes (which were itemized in the initial estimate) and did not have enough pads and blankets for the furniture. As a result, many pieces of furniture were scratched and damaged because they loaded them unwrapped into the truck. The movers attempted to hang the clothes from a rope in the van. The rope came loose and the clothes fell into the street and onto the floor of the van. My husband and I loaded both of our cars up with boxes and lamps to speed up the process as it was getting late. The crew was exhausted and dropped a box of dishes, breaking many of them. When the 14 mile move was complete, the crew gave us an invoice for $1020.25 and noted the broken dishes on the invoice. Since it was after 10pm, we agreed to pay them and call their boss in the morning. My husband called Woody & Sons on Nov 1st and left a message regarding the damaged items and overcharge for the move. As of Nov 4, we did not get a response, so I sent an email reiterating our concerns. Nov 5, we got a response from ***** that she would talk to the movers and damage control. She also requested pictures of damages. My husband sent pictures and itemized the damages and overcharge. ***** refused a refund because the move was more difficult than they anticipated due to the stairs in the condo. Our point was that the stairs were there when the rep did an in-home estimate. There were actually less items that needed to be moved since we had taken several carloads to the new home after the estimate was given. She sent an email to us implying that we should have told her movers that the last movers had a difficult time navigating the stairs. We did tell them that the previous movers dented the staircase, which is why we decided to go with a different company. Many emails were exchanged trying to convince ***** that the reason we had her company representative do an in-home estimate was so there would be no "surprises". She also implied that she was not responsible for the broken dishes since they did not pack them. The box fell approximately 4 feet from the top of a stack of boxes on the hand truck. The dishes would have broken if anyone packed them being dropped that hard. On Dec 17, we had still not even received reimbursement for the dishes, which she had agreed to. We contacted ***** and she said she would have a check sent that day. On Jan 14, we still had not received the reimbursement check and sent a reminder email.

Desired Settlement
We are requesting the balance of the highest in-home estimate ($680+ 149 piano charge= $829) and what we were actually charged $1020.25. We were actually charged $85/hr instead of $75/hr which we had agreed upon (we have the emails stating this). We did get a $100 check for the damaged dishes but no compensation for the damaged furniture.
An actual charge should fall between the estimate. With that in mind, generously using the highest point of the estimate (680) plus piano charge $149 (which should have been included in original estimate, since it was present when the Woody & Sons rep came to the house) totaling $829.
Invoice: 1020.25 less 829 = 191.25 reimbursement.
Again, this is a compromise, since it does not even take into account the furniture damages.

Business Response
The $75 an hour offer was to be honored should the client hire Woody & Sons Moving for both moves that he was having quoted, he did not. Secondly, the quote that he accepted was written at $85 per hour. All quotes are sent to the client on an "estimate" basis only. We did perform an on site in the home, however we could not account for ther issues that we had on moving day with the items coming down the stairs. It was shared with my movers by the client(s) on moving day that the movers had the same issues when moving the items into the home, why this was not shared with us at the time of the estimates is unknown. In our written quote it is very clearly stated "MOVE DURATION Each move is unique and its duration is determined by many factors, eg: customer preparedness, stairs, weather/driving conditions, truck loading proximity to property, distance between locations, size/weight of furniture pieces, and etc. " as well as "LABOR TIME There is a minimum of 3 hours for every move. Labor time starts when our movers arrive to your starting location and begin paperwork and concludes when they are finished unloading your shipment at your final delivery destination, eg: loading beginning at 9:00am, with unloading finishing at 5:00pm, equals total labor time of 8 hours. Driving time between pick-up and delivery locations on local moves is included in labor time." which make it very clear that the total payment is based on actual move time. An estimate is an estimate not a guaranteed rate, nowhere does it state the estimate is guaranteed and I will again state that we can plan or be prepared for size and fitting issues coming down the stairs with just looking at the items... this is something you learn about verbally by the client who knew it was an issue on move in or by actually beginning to move the items down the stairs.. we discovered this issue by moving the items. Also it is not stated that my two man team completed this very same move in less time than the four man team that moved the same items in...again information that it took 4 men "all day" was not relayed to our team at the time of the estimate but instead it was relayed at the time of the move.

Finally, as for the furniture damages, our rep many numerous attempts to contact the client via phone and email in order to resolve the issues, he failed to get back with him and even told me at one point that "he could not answer his phone at work, though he was at work talking to me on it" and to have him email him ... we emailed several times with no response. Now months later we are here.

We will not be honoring any discount as I feel this was unethical from the beginning, details of original move time and issues were with held, discount offered if BOTH moves were performed by our company, written estimate at $85 an hour was accepted.

We will have not further offerings or action on this account.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response from Woody and Sons is full of inaccuracies.
First , we did respond to the requests about the damaged furniture by emailing photos of the damaged items, as they requested. The response we got was that they would forward them to their woodworker.
Second, they keep mentioning that our previous move required 4 movers and it took them longer. I am not sure where they got this information. There were 3 movers previously and they took 8 hours to complete the move. We did relay this information to the representative that did the in-home estimate. We also pointed out that they damaged furniture during the move and that is the reason we chose to hire different movers this time.
Third, the $75/hour was agreed upon via several emails since we had planned on using Woody & Sons for another move. We decided not to use them after all the problems that arose during the first move.
Finally, we are not professional movers. Woody & Sons keeps blaming us for not giving them enough information about our previous move. The issues that arose during the previous move could have resulted from inexperienced movers. They did not see the stairs until they arrived with the truckload of furniture, so they were unprepared. Our previous move should be irrelevant since we had a Woody & Sons rep physically assess our move. He saw the stairs, as well as the piano, clothing, furniture and boxes that needed to be moved. Yet, they forgot wardrobe boxes and a sufficient number of furniture pads for our move.
We are shocked at the lack of accountability that Woody & Sons has taken for the many problems during the move. We never received any type of apology. They immediately took on a defensive stance and blamed us, the customers, for the issues.

Final Business Response
First, yes the client did response to the us with the photos and description of damages - we then did forward to our wood worker - it was the numerous attempts to contact by the wood worker that went unanswered by the client. Wood Worker notes state "called - left message 11/11 &11/13 emailed 11/18 - all with no response Copy of sheet with notes uploaded
Second, whether it was 4 men all day (which the woman stated and the male didn't argue in our previous emails regarding this issue until now) or if it was 3 men at 8 hours...lets go with 3 men at 8 hours, it took my TWO MEN 9 HOURS --- I would say that this supports the fact that our team was efficient and in equal standing with the previous movers. If the client knew it took 3 men 8 hours to move the same items in, why would he himself accept a written estimate of 4-6 hours with 2 men and not speak up knowing this would have been impossible based on his previous experience -- not having to be a professional mover himself, but knowing that a professional moving company had 3 men take 9 hours and our written estimate was much less...and again, nothing was explained of the difficulty with the stairs or previous move time until the day of the move. so here we have ,lack of information and acceptance of a under bid estimate with less men being offered followed by a request for discount and complaint bc the known under bid was just that...though it was not a purposely unbid estimate.
Third, yes the $75 an hour was "for each move" prior to the written estimate quoting $85 per hour being sent and accepted by the client. - no mention of the $75 an hour was mentioned when the quote was accepted (clearly written at $85 an hour) and again the offer of $75 an hour was for each move...this did not occur --- needless to say, I am willing to offer a $10 per hour return to the client for the hours worked.
Finally, I believe I already address this and what I feel is the major issue. The client doesn't have to be a professional mover to relay previous issues with a move - most clients tend to be more than willing to offer and share previous move issues so that they can be properly quoted. however this client, with held information whether it was intentional or unintentional, then accepted a written estimate of 4-6 hours with 2 men knowing it took 3 men 8 hours to move the same items ---you don't have to be a professional mover to see any red flags here.
I personally have apologized numerous times to the client, did not place any blame, but have stated facts - just as we have laid out above. What I have not done is agreed to offer a refund the difference of actual cost to the highest estimated amount... the client knowingly accepted a 4-6 hour range with 2 men that he knew took 3 men 8 hours to complete --- I don't feel any further explanation is needed on this as anyone in the public reading this will more than likely see the clear issue here.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/13/2009Business started: 08/09/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Mayo Bldg Rm 217
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800
(850) 410-3800

Department of Transportation-Movers

Tallahassee, FL
(850) 414-4100

BBB records show a license number of IM1805 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is

Type: Intrastate Mover

BBB records show a license number of USDOT 2174270 for this company, issued by Department of Transportation-Movers. Their web address is

Type: Department of Transportation

BBB records show a license number of MC755159 for this company, issued by Department of Transportation-Movers. Their web address is

Type: Department of Transportation

Type of Entity


Incorporated: August 2009, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sarah A. Jones (President)Ms. Diane Brockhoff (Treasurer)Mr. Bob Brockhoff (Marketing Manager)
Business Category


Products & Services

This company provides residential and commercial, local and long distance moving in the State of Florida. Services include apartments, condos, houses, and offices.

Alternate Business Names
Sarah Jones Enterprises, Inc., Woody & Sons Moving & Storage

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Woody & Sons Moving

11151 66th St Apt 203

Largo, FL 33773-5509

To | From


2 Locations

  • 11151 66th St Apt 203 

    Largo, FL 33773-5509(727) 935-4302
    Fax: (727) 623-0777

  • PO Box 164 

    Safety Harbor, FL 34695-0164

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Woody & Sons Moving is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Movers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.