BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/17/2013

Transworld Van Lines

(727) 408-5259View Additional Phone Numbers5160 140th Ave N Ste B, ClearwaterFL 33760-3769FacebookTwitterGoogle+

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/17/2013

BBB has determined that Transworld Van Lines meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Transworld Van Lines' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service11
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Transworld Van Lines

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (18)
11/09/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I picked the company to move our household goods from Palm Harbor to Baltimore. Refusal to respond to claims despite paying replacement insurance.
Load date was Nov 25, 2014 and delivery in Baltimore was on Dec 3, 2015. There were multiple packing boxes missing which was noted at delivery. There was also damage to some furniture they wrapped and transported. We filled out their detailed claim forms and submitted them along with pictures of damage as requested. That was in June 2015. I was asked to contact a Mr. Carl ********* who was supposed to handle our claim. He acknowledged receipt of the package and informed me that he would need to sit with the head of the company to resolve this claim. I called Carl weekly for updates and always got the same answer - he is trying to meet with the "boss". Finally, after 2 months Carl advised me that I needed to contact the Clearwater office for further action. I did that and spoke with Terri. She asked that I email the claim forms to her again, which I did immediately. Since then, for a month she has told me that she has sent the information to the "boss" who is the only person who resolves damage claims. The contact person has changed but the story I have been told for 3 months has remained the same. I cannot even get a call back from these folks.
They are a BBB accredited business. This is not what I expect from a business with such a reputation. I was informed when I filed the claim that all claims are resolved between 30 and 90 days. It is now past the 90 day mark. I would like this matter resolved immediately. Thank you.

Desired Settlement
Payment for replacing items from the missing boxes and repair to damaged furniture.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: ********@AOL.COM
WE ARE WORKING ON HER CLAIM - WE ARE HOPING TO HAVE AN OFFER FOR HER WITHIN 14 DAYS OF HER ALLOWING US TO INSPECT THE SHIPMENT

WE CAN NOT DO ANYTHING UNTIL WE INSPECT THIS.

IF YOU ASK HER TO ALLOW US TO COME OUT
WE CAN GET THIS GOING.

OUR OFFICE - AMY - XXX XXX XXXX CAN GET
AN INSPECTION OF IT

CUSTOMER BOXES ARE NOT INSURABLE IF THEY
PACKED THEM THEMSELVES, PER FEDERAL LAW.

*****
XXX XXX XXXX

11/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our furniture was damaged during shipping. We made a claim for the damages which they have denied.
******* ****** moved our furniture from Tampa to Atlanta on the dates from 11/26/14 to 12/1/14.
In the process they damaged two tables and a sofa. They damaged other items as well, but we are not making any claims against those.
We had purchased $100,000 worth of insurance with a $500 deductible. We obtained estimates to repair the two tables, but the Sofa was unrepairable.
The leather sofa was 6 months old at the time and the leather stained in patched so that it no longer matched. We contacted the manufacturer, Restoration Hardware, and they said it could not be made to match again.
We submitted our claim on 1/6/15. We were repeatedly told that a review was in process. In the March time frame we were told to begin the process over again with their Claims Adjuster. I refused because I did not want the 120 day review period to start over.
The moving company had a leather repair company come and inspect the sofa. They acknowledged the leather patches were a different color while inspecting it and said they could darken it, but would not guarantee that they could match it exactly.
Our damage claim was to cover the quoted repairs to fix the tables and replacement value for the sofa. We believe since we had a brand new sofa that could not be brought back to it's original condition, we should not have to settle for a inferior sofa after the move. That is why we purchased insurance.
After 120 days the moving company responded to our claim that the repairs did not meet our $500 deductible. Their reasoning was based on reviews of our pictures of the tables stating that the repairs could be made for $125 or less per table, and that the sofa could be repaired for $300. That the color change was due to normal fading, and was probable caused by us mistreating an earlier issue with the sofa. As a result their are declining to cover the repair of the sofa. As a result we do not meet the deductible.
We are not satisfied with the offer and would like to request arbitration as is specified in the DOT regulations.
I have supporting documentation (pictures, quotes, e-mail correspondences, etc) to support our arguments that can be submitted to the arbiter.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting Arbitration as is specified in the DOT regulations.

Business Response
I have dealt with Mr. ****** on his claim for since early April. I asked that he file his claim through our professional claims administrator, and he declined. I reviewed the photos of the damged three items from his move to Atlanta and had professionals give me estimates on repairs of the items. Mr. ****** has expressed his desire and intention from the beginning of our communication to carry this to arbitration. After I finished with my review, I determined that we would deny coverage on one item and pay for the other two. The total of the estimates given on those two items did not add up to enough money to exceed the $500 deductible, so the customer was naturally disappointed.This claim for arbitration was the result.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In accordance with Section XXXXX of ***** *** United States Code, under the authority of the U.S. Department of Transportation:

1) A claim for loss or damage must be filed within 9 months of delivery. The moving company must acknowledge the claim with 30 days and must either pay, deny, or make a settlement offer within 120 days.

2) The moving company must participate in an arbitration program in case the settlement offer is unsatisfactory. For claims less than $10,000 arbitration is mandatory for the moving company.

I will explain below how I made my claim as I was originally instructed. I allowed access for ******* ****** ******* to inspect my furniture. I allowed them the required 120 days to make an offer. They made an offer that was not satisfactory, so I am now entitled to arbitration and this arbitration is mandatory for ******* moving ********

12/1/14 - ******* ****** ******* delivered our furniture. Some damage was noted on that day, but due to the late hour at which they finished, some damage was not noticed until the next day.

12/2/14 - I called the moving company and explained the situation and they said they would send me he necessary forms and instructions.

12/8/14 - I received an e-mail from ***** at ******* ****** ******* with an attachment that included two forms to fill out as well as the instructions for making a claim.

12/11/14 through 12/23/14 - I sent an e-mail with some questions regarding completing the forms they sent. They responded to my questions and instructed me to "complete your part of the forms and return them back to us for processing."

1/6/15 - I submitted the completed claims forms along with pictures and repair estimates from a furniture repair company. The Claim was for $7285. This consisted of $1050 to repair one table, $525 to repair the other table (both estimates from a furniture repair company) and $5610 to replace the sofa (the sofa was a 4 month old Restoration Hardware leather sofa that according to Restoration Hardware could not be repaired).

1/7/15 - ***** from ******* Moving Company acknowledged receipt of the e-mail and the attachments.

1/19/15 - Kerri Gardner at ******* Moving Systems asked me to resend the pictures of the damaged sofa and I sent them to her that day.

1/21/15 - I sent an e-mail to Kerri to ask the status of the claim and to confirm that she received the pictures I sent 1/19/15.

I received no e-mail response to the e-mail dated 1/21/15. Over February and March I made several calls to ******* ****** ******* to inquire about the status of my claim. I was told each time that it had been submitted to their insurance company and that it was in-process.

4/6/15 - I received an e-mail from Carl Sheffield telling me to resubmit my claim through their Claims Handler CSI.

4/7/15 - I called CSI to discuss their process. They explained that the claim process would start over as if I had never made my original claim with ******* moving, even though 90 days had elapsed.

4/8/15 - I sent the following e-mail to Carl Sheffield at ******* ****** *******

Mr. **********
This e-mail is to document our conversation from earlier today.
The two main points of our conversation were:
1) Under federal law you must either make a settlement offer or deny a claim within 120 days of receiving a damage claim. My damage claim was submitted and acknowledged on 1/6/15. The 120 day period expires on 5/6/15.
2) Participation in an arbitration program is a requirement of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration for all interstate movers. Under the regulations all interstate movers must agree to offer shippers neutral arbitration as a means of settling disputes that may arise concerning loss or damage.
CSI is not an arbitration program. They are a third party claims company/adjuster.
In regards to item #2 above, please provide me with the name of your Arbitration Program.
As we discussed, please acknowledge receipt of this e-mail first thing tomorrow morning.

**** ******
XXX-XXX-XXXX

4/9/15 - Mr. Sheffield acknowledged receipt of the e-mail above and sent me the AMSA Arbitration program.

4/10/15 - I searched the AMSA website for ******* ****** systems using their MC number, MC-XXXXXX, and your DOT number, XXXXXXX, and it did not list them as a member. I sent an e-mail to Mr. Sheffield to inform him of this and to have him provide the name of an arbitration program that they were a member of.

4/16/15 - I received an e-mail from Mr. ********* stating that I would need to submit two more estimates for the furniture repair. I responded that if they wanted to schedule someone to come out and inspect the furniture that I would be happy to accommodate that.

5/6/15 - A leather repair technician that had been hired by ******* moving systems came out to inspect the sofa. I informed Mr. Sheffield of this and informed him that I expected their response to my claim by 5/8/15.

5/8/15 - I received ******* ****** ******* response to my Claim. Their estimate to repair the tables was $125 each and they denied my claim on the sofa saying that the damage was not their fault. As the total repair, $250, did not meet our deductible we must bear the costs ourselves.
After reviewing ******* ****** ******* offer I asked them for the name of their Arbitration Program, as is required by the DOT, to which Mr. ********* responded "Mr. ******, any arbitration case at the present will be handled by the Better Business Bureau."

Items I would like to refute from ******* ****** ******* BBB submittal

1) I was not made a settlement offer when I initially submitted my claim. I was not made an offer until 5/8/15 and at that time the offer was $0, since they said I did not meet my deductible.

2) Instructions to file with CSI were not received until 90 days into the claims process and this contradicted their original instructions.

3) I searched the ******** ****** and ******* *********** for ******* ****** ******* using their MC and DOT numbers and they are not listed as members.


Final Business Response
Hi

Once again, the only person holding up this
is the customer, mr ******. Again, ******* ****** made a " quit claim " one time no paperwork offer - Mr ****** denied to accept it.
At that time Mr ****** is required under Federal law to complete a formal claim form with our claims company - CSI -

Mr ****** has refused to do that.

We are certain of our case. We would invite
Mr ****** to please simply complete the CSI
claim form

In 35 years of handling moves, I have never, ever,
NOT EVEN ONCE - had a customer refuse to complete a claim form

Thank you

***** *****
XXX XXX XXXX

We are not required to go to arbitration
unless the claim has been denied formally. We
can not affirm or deny the claim since no claim has been filed. Thank you

Final Consumer Response

09/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I and the company agreed on the amount of a claim filed for items damaged during a move. Can no find anyone to tell me when my check will be issued
Would like my check or a date check will be mailed that is reasonable

Desired Settlement
Check for the agreed amount of 363.18

Business Response
this claim was paid in full

PLEASE DISREGARD THIS AS A COMPLAIN

SINCE WE PAID IT IN FULL

CHECK ## **** $ 363.18


ERNIE
*****
XXX XXX XXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Yes I received my check, the company would have been more professional if they address the disbursement be if the check with out my having to file a claim with the BBB

Getting the company to process and approve my claim was also very difficult

06/05/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
1) Fraud Complaint Against Transworld Van Lines, Dolphin Moving Systems and Commercial Moving Solutions.
1) Fraud Complaint Against Transworld Van Lines, Dolphin Moving Systems and Commercial Moving Solutions. We engaged Dolphin Moving Systems to move us from Largo, FL to PGA Village in Port St. Lucie, FL. ***** *****, the company's Sales Representative, quoted us a price for packing, loading, and delivering to our new home in the amount of $3,928. This did not include storage

Desired Settlement
Refund for overcharging on move and storage & damaged goods.

Business Response
We have been talking with Mr ****** both by phone and by email for the past three days and are coming close to a resolution of the problems detailed in his complaint. It is important to note that one of the allegations was that we are operating under a defunct company name. The Transworld Van Lines name was once a corporation, but since 2010 has been a DBA owned by Commercial Moving Solutions. A check on Sunbiz.org will show that we are listed under a search of fictitious names for businesses. We certainly regret any conflict or misunderstandiing with any cutomer and we intend to do our utmost to set this right.

Consumer Response

02/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company failed to provide qualified labor for packing shipment and failed to honor insurance contract for damages as a result of loading and packing.
Date - 06/11/2014
Lading ref - XXXXXXXXXXX

Quote phase:

I had ***** ***** out twice to assure me that this would all fit on one 28 ft long trailer, and twice he said it would all fit. It did not fit, not even close. Also, this quote was initially represented as Arpin, then became Transworld Van Lines.

Load phase:

The crew consisted of 2 people, and one was new in the business. My first thought was there is no way this will get done before dark with 2 guys and me. As the day went on things went downhill, they tried to make it all fit on one truck and extended the load compartment beyond the acceptable mark forcing the hand truck and the ramp to be placed inside the load (!).

I warned them repeatedly about a storm on the way, yet, they did not react and a considerable number of pieces got soaked in the downpour. Finally, with my help we got all the wet pieces back into the garage. The material they were using to wrap pieces got soaked and was ruined. The remainder of my load was not wrapped properly. Instead of calling the base for a backup truck, they continued and wanted to put my overflow in the back of their van they used to get to the job. I finally told them enough is enough, this is ridiculous, get an overflow truck here in the morning. The following morning I returned to finish the load with them and they showed up with a uHaul type truck, the overflow would have to be repacked onto another truck at the warehouse...putting more of my load at risk for being lost or damaged.

Resulting damage:

Main load:

- Master bedroom furniture:
+ King bed center rail missing (rendering the bed frame useless)
+ King bed headboard finish rubbed off
+ King bed footboard finish rubbed off
+ Night table finish rubbed off top surface
+ Night table 2 finish rubbed off top surface
+ Armour finish rubbed off

- Queen sleigh bed headboard finish rubbed off
- Queen Pottery Barn headboard finish rubbed off
- Cedar chest finish rubbed off
- Leather couch ripped and side broken (collapsed due to weight)
- Leather love seat ripped
- Leather recliner ripped
- Wooden couch table crushed by load
- Storage bin shattered
- Lamp shade mangled
- Large print shattered glass frame


Overflow:
- White Pottery Barn bookcase - demolished beyond recognition
- White Pottery Barn shelf finish rubbed off (20%)
- Multiple missing bike parts

I called repeatedly to discuss the insurance policy I had, and they refuse to take my call. The only communication was over IM with ***** *****, and he refused to honor the insurance, saying it only covered a disaster like fire or flood.

Also, I was not provided with an accurate Bill of Lading, nor was I provided with the insurance policy I paid for.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the insurance claim honored, and a partial refund for my trouble and lack of service.

Business Response
This customer was quoted a FULL SERVICE move thru Arpin Van Lines
(see attached bid)
However, he chose a SELF SERVICE move option where he Rented his own tractor trailer and the only service we provided Was to LOAD the shipment at his specific direction.
The coverage was for Catastrophic Coverage, such as a tractor trailer Accident. This customer knows full well that he chose the self service option And that damage is not covered. In addition he did all the UNLOADING Himself, for all we know the damage could have occurred when he unloaded.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Arpin / Transworld secured the vehicle for transport, the labor to load the vehicle, and the actual transportation. I dispute the statement 'he Rented his own tractor trailer', I had nothing to do with this aspect of the transaction.

As far as loading and coverage, I was initially told that the insurance covered anything that happened at load time, before the truck was locked and the load left the house. I called ***** at Transworld to let him know what was going on with the loaders and he assured me it would be taken care of, and that my concerns with the load were documented that day (loading day).

As far as where the damage occurred, I have visual evidence of the loading events and the nightmare as it unfolded. Including pictures of furniture and boxes getting soaked in the rain on the day of loading, items left for an overflow truck. And, on the other end visual evidence of items undisturbed and clearly broken and damaged on the truck, etc..

I had ***** at the house twice to go over the space requirements, and both times he told me it would all fit on one truck...it was not even close. To make matters worse, the loaders tried to get everything on one truck and things were damaged due to improper loading techniques. I assumed this company, Arpin / Transworld were professionals and knew what they were doing, and had labor available that also knew what they were doing. Bad assumption...

The fact of the matter is, my items were damaged and broken due to the events on the day of loading.

Final Business Response


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I take exception with page 16 of the rebuttal from 09/18/2014, 'Bill of Lading Used *'. There is blue ink with the words 'No Damage At Loading', then my signature at the bottom. I never signed any paper with that language in the field. In fact, there was SERIOUS damage at loading, that is what this whole complaint is about. This company did not provide qualified labor at load time and the load suffered significant damage as a result. So, now are we talking about fraud here as well? This document has been altered well after my signature was applied.

Why should this company have no responsibility for the actions of the labor they employed to load the truck? Why was this document altered after my signature was applied?

Page 1 of 3
04/20/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure of Dolphin Moving Systems to deliver all of the items moved from previous address. It has been six months since Dolphin Moving Systems picked up our furniture from Florida and moved it to Michigan. Very long saga but I have documentation to prove complaint.
Product_Or_Service: Delivery of furniture

Desired Settlement
Either find our furniture or make restitution for same.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@aol.com
We delivered this customer's goods into a self storage unit on 7/12/15 because their residence was not ready yet. The customer signed that 'all items' were delivered at destination. When their home was ready they hired a mover in MI to deliver their items from the self storage unit to their home. If items are missing now they should contact the mover that delivered to their home on August 1, 2015.

Sincerely, ***** *****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The documents signed (11 pages) were so unreadable as to be like in braille! In order to leave the premises where they were unloading our furniture (some in unmarked boxes, some wrapped in moving blankets) we had to sign these unreadable documents. How can anyone see into unmarked boxes or view things under moving blankets to see what is in there? We trusted Dolphin Moving would do the honest thing and treat us right. We paid for the move immediately and they would not unload into the storage unit until we fully paid. At our peril we trusted the moving company to do right by us. I mailed the original documents as directed by Dolphin Moving, to their Clearwater office. I have copies of the unreadable documents on file. I have spoken to many and varied people in that office about our dilemma and I have emails from them. Again I ask...how can anyone see exactly what is unloaded off the large semi (which held other clients stuff, too) and be able to remember just what was unloaded and what was not. As I stated, I saw the lists of the things that were supposedly off loaded to the storage unit, but could not make out the writing. Was I supposed to sit there (very hot day) and go thru all that had been unloaded? Impossible. This company is just trying to get out of making compensation for our lost items. They did find our statue of the Blessed Mother and did deliver it to our new residence so they acknowledged things were missing.
All we want is just compensation for our lost items or the return of same. It has been since July 22, 2015 since Dolphin Moving took possession of our items to be moved. Where they stored the items before moving them to Michigan and the storage unit here is anyones' guess. We did not know where our items were for a long time. We were in a hotel waiting to find a living place and I kept checking on where our furniture was. It was not moved to the storage unit in Michigan until Mid July, 2015.
It had been picked up from our Florida home on June 22, 2015. I have documentation of everything I state.
We left it there because we had no where else to put it. All was under lock and key. Each unit had a separate lock and the renter of that unit had the only keys. Which would be us. Tom and Gert **********. By the way, the drivers' signature is not on the documents. Mr. *****, of Dolphin Moving Systems stated we hired a mover to move our furniture from the storage unit to our new residence and we should contact that mover. WRONG!
Our family had to rent a U-Haul and family trucks to move our furniture to our new residence. So I refute what Mr. ***** stated because he wasn't here when the furniture was moved from our home in Florida nor was he here when it was off loaded in Michigan, nor was he here when our family moved the furniture to our Michigan residence. So how can he make that bold statement that we hired a different mover? Again, just trying to get out of accepting responsibility for a move gone wrong.

03/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mover insists that signed claims limitation of $.60 per pound governs loss caused by deliberate misconduct of mover.
Two glass items were properly packed and crated by Mover. However, both items were broken beyond repair as a direct consequence of deliberate misconduct (refusal of a subordinate employee of Mover to follow a specific instruction of supervisor). Mover does not dispute fact that loss was caused by deliberate misconduct of Mover employee. The replacement value of both items was approximately $400. The Mover insists, however, that signed claims limitation of $.60 per pound applies and that the maximum claim is $63.00 even though loss was result of deliberate misconduct. Claimant position is that loss claim limitation of $.60 per pound should apply only if loss occurs where reasonable care was taken during course of move, but should not apply where (as in this case) the loss was caused by deliberate misconduct.

Desired Settlement
Claimant has provided the Mover with a detailed written claim and factual narrative recitation of all of the circumstances pertaining to the loss and claim. The Mover has not disputed any of the factual aspects pertaining to the claim reflected in that letter. Claimant requested that Mover replace the broken items or refund their replacement value. The Mover refused, arguing the we signed claims limitation and agreed that maximum claim for any loss, including a loss occasioned as result of Mover's deliberate misconduct, was limited to $.60 pound. Mover offered to pay $63.00 for items that will cost at least $400 to replace. Claimant refused.

Business Response
We would respectfully request that you dismiss this invalid complaint and NOT count it as a complaint in any way.

This customer received a firm price to use us for her move. We charged her the exact price. She opted for the free coverage of $0.60/lb per item. When things were broken we swiftly paid her in full for her claim based on the weight of the items times $0.60/lb.

Federal and state law allows customers only to be paid by the weight of the items broke, lost, or destroyed. So, we have done nothing whatsoever wrong and are fully compliant with federal and state laws. This customer tried to extort cash from us by threatening to start a smear campaign on the internet. Should this happen, we will respond legally with all allowable actions. Please dismiss this invalid and totally bogus complaint.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response submitted by Transworld Van Lines (aka Dolphin Moving Systems) ("Mover") to the Complaint totally misses the point. Attached is a copy of the loss claim filed with Transworld Van Lines. In responding to that claim, Transworld Van Lines did not dispute any of the factual allegations regarding the cause of the broken items referenced therein, namely, the deliberate misconduct of an employee of Transworld Van Lines.

The Complaint, therefore, is NOT about compliance with applicable law. Indeed, the Complaint doesn't even suggest that the Mover acted illegally. Rather, the Complaint is predicated upon the short-sighted and wrong-headed POLICY AND PRACTICE of Mover of limiting a loss claim for broken property item to $.60 per pound even though (as in this case) the breakage occurred as a direct result of admitted, deliberate misconduct by an employee of the Mover.

We do not dispute the fact that we signed a waiver that generally limits the amount of loss for broken items to $.60 per pound. However, we believe strongly that limitation is based upon an underlying assumption that the Mover will use due diligence and exercise ordinary care in moving the items to prevent any breakage. In this case, the Mover has admitted that the loss items in question were broken as a consequence of deliberate misconduct of a subordinate employee who failed to follow a specific instruction of his supervisor. Accordingly, the Complaint is focused solely upon a POLICY AND PRACTICE of Transworld Van Lines to pay customers who sign the general loss limitation waiver of $.60 per pound only such amount for any item that is broken during the course of a move even though that item was broken as the result of deliberate misconduct by an employee of Transworld Van Lines.

SUCH A POLICY AND PRACTICE IS WRONG AND CONTRARY TO COMMON SENSE, BASIC FAIRNESS AND HUMAN DECENCY. If any property items of a customer are broken as the result of deliberate misconduct by the Mover, the Complaint argues that the general loss limitation of $.60 per pound should not apply. Otherwise, Transworld Van Lines can act with total impunity and in any manner it may chose in performing its responsibilities of moving the property of its customers, including acting recklessly, with deliberate disregard and/or intentional misconduct in handling its customers' property. Under that scenario, the maximum claim the Mover can be required to pay is $.60 per pound notwithstanding the admitted fact that the loss was caused by the recklessness or deliberate misconduct of the Mover.

In conclusion, the Complaint filed against Transworld Van Lines begs the following question:

WHO WANTS TO HIRE A MOVER THAT SAYS, "WE'LL MOVE YOUR PROPERTY, BUT IF YOU SIGN THE GENERAL CLAIM LIMITATION WAIVER OF $.60 PER POUND, IT IS OUR POLICY AND PRACTICE TO ONLY PAY YOU $.60 A POUND FOR ANY PROPERTY ITEMS THAT WE MAY BREAK DURING THE COURSE OF THE MOVE EVEN THOUGH SUCH ITEMS WERE BROKEN AS THE RESULT OF RECKLESSNESS OR DELIBERATE MISCONDUCT ON OUR PART"?

The Complaint in question is both PROPER and VALID. If the Complaint is not resolved voluntarily by Transworld Van Lines, it will be pursued formally in a court of law in Pinellas County, Florida.




Final Business Response
FEDERAL AND STATE LAW ONLY ALLOW FOR CLAIMS
SETTLEMENT FOR THE AMOUNT OF COVERAGE THE CUSTOMER DECLARED.

IN MULTIPLE PLACES CUSTOMER SIGNED THAT THEIR GOODS WERE WORTH NO MORE THAN 60 C PER LB PER ITEM

SO, THAT IS WHAT THEY WERE PAID. EXACTLY.
TO THE PENNY. WE HAVE DONT NOTHING WRONG

REGARDING YOUR COURT THREAT, FEEL FREE TO
SUE US IN COURT- THE LAW IS VERY, VERY CLEAR.

THANK YOU

ERNIE *****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Response of Dolphin Moving Systems, aka Transworld Van Lines (collectively referred to as "Mover"), merely repeats the firm's response to our original Complaint, stating that (1) we signed a general waiver wherein we agreed to a valuation of $.60 per pound for any property item that was damaged beyond repair (i.e., destroyed) by the Mover, and (2) the Mover has not violated any state of federal law.

The original Complaint DOES NOT DISPUTE either proposition. We admit signing the waiver limiting the value of damaged property to $.60 per pound, and we have not made any allegation that the Mover violated any law.

The SOLE FOCUS of the Complaint is directed toward the POLICY AND PRACTICE of the Mover of applying the loss limitation waiver of $.60 per pound to property losses caused by the deliberate and intentional misconduct of the Mover. Our position is that such limitation should only be applied where the property loss occurred notwithstanding the fact that the Mover exercised due diligence and ordinary care in performing its contractual responsibilities under the move contract. Stated differently, the value limitation of $.60 per pound should not apply in any case w2here the property loss was caused by the deliberate or intentional misconduct of the Mover.

In this case, the MOVER HAS NOT DENIED OR OTHERWISE DISPUTED THAT THE LOSS IN QUESTION WAS CAUSED BY THE DELIBERATE, INTENTIONAL MISCONDUCT OF ITS EMPLOYEE. In our view, it is patently unconscionable and contrary to basic fairness to take the position (as Mover has in this case) that once a customer signs the waiver limitation of $.60 per pound, the maximum claim for the destruction of that customer's property by Mover will be $.60 per pound even though that loss was caused by the admitted deliberate misconduct of the Mover. By following such a policy and practice, the Mover effectively proclaims to its customers: "If you sign the waiver limitation of $.60 per pound, it is our policy and practice that the maximum claim you can make against us for the destruction of any of your property will be limited to $.60 per pound of the weight of such property even though such destruction was caused by our deliberate and intentional misconduct."

SUCH IS THE UNDISPUTED AND EXPRESSED POLICY AND PRACTICE OF MOVER IN THIS CASE. SUCH A POLICY AND PRACTICE IS WRONG AND INHERENTLY UNFAIR ON ITS FACE. ACCORDINGLY, IN THE ABSENCE OF VOLUNTARY REMEDIAL ACTION ON THE PART OF MOVER, WE HAVE NO OTHER RECORSE THAN TO FILE AN APPROPRIATE COMPLAINT IN A COURT OF LAW WITH JURISDICTION OVER MOVER TO COMPEL SUCH REMEDIAL ACTION.

10/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contracted service, did not deliver the service requested, strong-arm tactics. Refuse to acknowledge claim. Overcharged.
WWe spoke with Ernie M in February 2015 with Transworld/******* Moving Systems/Commercial Moving Solutions and came to an agreement on his company moving our home 3 miles down the road. It was important to my husband and I that we have enough space, people and that our items not be offloaded off the truck at any time to prevent damage. We were promised all of that. He told us that our furniture would stay on the truck regardless of changes in our closing dates and that we would be provided 4 days free on the truck in a worst case scenario. He surveyed our entire home and presented us with the estimate for the move. My husband and I spent the entire evening of 3/10 prepping for the move, including moving all boxes and most furniture downstairs to make the move as efficient as possible.
On 3/11, a box trailer showed up at our home, instead of the tractor-trailer that was promised to us. The moving crew told us that our items were supposed to be offloaded at a warehouse instead of stored on the truck. When my husband contacted M**** to question why we didn't receive what was promised,M**** hung up on him. The moving crew supplied the name of Mr. **** ******* who, even after listening to our complaints, told my husband that he could either take what they had or Mr. ******* would tell his men to unload the truck and leave. Since we literally had no choice, due to the closing the next day, we had to take what was sent. We did accept the offer of $30,000 in replacement cost insurance with a $500 deductible at no cost to us because Mr. ******* said he would charge the deductible cost to M****.
During the move, one mover did not move anything; instead, he inventoried and tagged items. Both of the moving crew told us that the bait and switch tactic that we received were typical of what they have experienced with the salesman, M****. Due to not having the proper moving equipment, the movers were not able to move the appliances efficiently and a lot of damage was done to brand new washers and dryers. These were our primary reason for contacting the moving company in the first place.
After the pick up on 3/11, I reached out to Terri at Commercial Moving Solutions due to a change in delivery date from 3/18 to 3/19, Terri said we would have to sign a new Order for Service. I reiterated to Terri to make sure that the moving crew that arrived this time had the moving straps to move the appliances. On 3/19, the delivery truck arrived at our new home and despite asking repeatedly, the movers did not have moving straps for moving the appliances. They also refused to offload anything off the truck prior to receiving my credit card. We were given no recourse to dispute the charge, instead our items were held as ransom.
There was much damage done to the appliances, furniture and my house itself during the move. I filed a claim with the company and could not get anyone to acknowledge receipt of the claim even sending it Certified Mail. In addition, after multiple attempts, someone finally told me that I needed to go online to file the claim, thus starting the process all over again. Once I filed the claim online, I could not upload any of the pictures or supporting documentation for the claim. I contacted the help desk and Commercial Moving Solutions for their claim and was told to email them directly. Once I submitted the claim and emailed it, I received an email that said that the claim would be denied immediately if pictures were not uploaded. This was back in May. To date, I have still not received any confirmation of my claim submission or any response to my inquiries. I attempted to dispute the charge with my bank and M**** falsified the receipt that I signed, adding additional information that was not there when I originally signed. The bank views this as a contract issue despite never signing a contract with M**** or receiving even a full executed request for services. The movers basically told us to sue them.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking repair of the items damanged and a partial refund for the hours paid due to the fact that if the movers had proper moving equipment and if the truck had been the trailer that we were promised, the move would not have taken half as long.

Business Response
This customer booked their move on March 4th
to Load March 11th, They called march 10th and cancelled the job. They re booked later that day.
we gave them a non binding estimate. Once we loaded they refused to pay any money saying that
they did not have any to pay us. We stored their
goods and when we delivered, they tried to get us
to unload first, then pay us later. in the moving business, you MUST pay prior to unloading.
No one held their goods ransom, they were to pay
1/2 at loading and the rest at delivery. we feel this was a deliberate act meant to de fraud us. the customer signed a legal document that they
knew this was an estimate, they knew they had to pay us prior to delivery.

coverage - they admit in their statement
they have a $ 500 deductible. For their claim
to be settled, they must complete the claims process. see their statement - they must upload the pictures of their claim - they have refused to do so. They have refused to allow our
claims company to inspect the shipment and most
importantly - when you have a deducible - you
obviously must pay the $ 500 deductible before any work is done. Case in point - when I crashed my car, I had to pay the Roberts collision first
the $ 1000 deductible, then they fixed my car.

same here,

simple - complete the claims process

pay the $ 500 deductible

we will fairly settle your claim

regarding the credit card company

they REVERSED the customers dispute
saying their dispute had " NO MERIT"

Please ask her to complete the claim process

pay us with a cashiers check or wire transfer

for the deductible

we will settle it quickly

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am just amazed at this company's response and their complete lack of integrity.

First, we signed a "non-binding Order for Service" (attached). That is not a contract and in fact, the Department of Transportation FMCSA division (which regulates moving companies) states just this and that a moving company, once the items are loaded, is held to that estimate. According to FMCSA, they can only charge 110% of the original estimate absent any additional services ordered after loaded, in addition, they have to detail the charges on the bill of lading which is the actual contract for your move. I've attached the references to these regulations.

We never refused to pay once our items were loaded, in fact, we specifically asked the mover at the time (Mr. **** L.) if we owed them anything and were told, no you pay us at delivery. That is a complete fabrication that we refused to pay them.

Their non-binding estimate was originally $1,188.00 and they knew up front that we were going to have to store the items (on the truck) through the 18th as our closing date was pushed back. Mr. M.0.old my husband that would not be a problem. The additional charges for storing the item on the truck was $225. However, they requested we complete a second non-binding estimate to push the cost to $1957.50 (168% more than the original estimate) when I called back to extend the storage one more day to March 19. I questioned the additional hours at the time and Terri told me it was an estimate and would be adjusted at delivery. However, when they showed up at delivery, they asked for the full amount and would not offload anything until I gave them my VISA even though, at that time, I offered to pay half and then the remaining half at the end once we negotiated the problems from the original loading. Our bill of lading details charges adding up to $1,264.00. (see attached)

As detailed in the complaint I originally sent the BBB, the deductible was to be paid by Mr. M. per Mr. D.. This was offered to us at the time of the loading due to them no longer being able to store on the truck which was the service we had requested. See the Bill of Lading which even details the no cost to us. That aside, no one has contacted me about paying any deductible. I sent my claim via certified mail and email to Commercial Moving Solutions and at the end of March. In April, I was told that I now needed to resubmit the claim through another process (a month later) and basically restart the process. (see emails regarding move and claims)

Again, refer to my original complaint and the attached emails - I have never refused to upload any pictures. Their new claims website wouldn't let me upload anything at all and I never received any responses to my emails. I finally ended up submitting everything via email and spoke to Jessica the end of May who told me that they had everything and the claim was in "review". However, no one has EVER contacted me from the moving company or the claims company to inspect the shipment. I have kept everything exactly the way it was aside from having to get the front of my washer fixed as it was unusable upon delivery due to the front board being pushed in.

The bank did originally reverse the chargeback based on Mr. M. falsification of documents until I provided them the additional documentation showing that he altered the bill of lading after it was signed. He added additional charges and comments and a total at the bottom that were not there when I signed and I have the carbon copy to prove it. He also, incorrectly, informed the merchant and bank that they have 9 months to resove the claim when, in fact, the client has 9 months to file a claim. It is currently in a final review between the merchant and the bank but I they only have limited power which is why I filed this complaint also.

I have been hoping and trying to resolve this outside of court, however, if I have to, I will take them to court. I have worked in law firms for over 15 years and I am not afraid of the court process but I also suspect they may have an attorney who is willing to bend the rules as much as they do.

So to address what the business said -

1. We never refused to pay at any point. We only requested that we be charged fairly. We were charged for two movers who didn't both move and didn't have the right supplies to move us despite us specifically requesting the same both for unloading and loading. I don't think we should have to pay additional time for my refrigerator to be completely dismantled due ot the lack of moving straps, for them to inventory our items when they were never supposed to be moved off the truck to begin with or the additional time for them to figure out how to get everything to fit on the truck because they didn't bring the size truck we originally requested. The move in took less time then the move out and that alone is ridiculous because we moved everything to the first floor and packed it for the movers and on the move in, they had to carry the items up the stairs. We offered to pay something at loading and were told we didn't have to.

2. Per Mr. D.on 3/11, Mr. M. was to pay the $500 deductible on the insurance for the move.

3. No one from the moving company or the insurance company has EVER contacted me for inspection or any information, including payment of a deductible. I would happily make myself available. That being said, the claim and pictures were sent via several emails to the moving company and the claims company. I have never refused to help expedite this claim. That is just outright ridiculous. Why would I want to slow down the claim process and then file a complaint because I can't get the claim handled?

If at any time, this company had even deigned to provide us with the slightest bit of customer service instead of using strong-arm and fraudulent tactics or outright ignoring our requests (see emails), we would not be at this juncture. I have never charged anything back through my bank in 30 years of banking with them. I have never refused to work with a vendor and I have never filed a BBB complaint before this. I am still hoping there is a way to resolve this amicably without resorting to the court systems.

Attachments -

Please see the attached files, including email submissions of claims, original bill of lading, altered bill of lading, non-binding estimates, and pictures as further documentation of this complaint.

Please note that both OFS and the Bill of Lading all show that the materials were to be "Held on truck" which was never done and both OFS specify a 58 foot tractor trailer that was never provided.

I've also attached some of the pictures of damage including my refrigerator both before and after. A refrigerator that was purchased in October 2014 and wasn't even 4 months old. This is not all the pictures that were submitted, only a couple.

Final Business Response
Regarding ***** ********:

the customer changed the nature of the contract.
by changing the dates, we no longer had any
obligation to keep her goods on the trailer. we needed the trailer, so we put her things in storage.

She claims we were to hold her things on a fifty eight foot trailer. That's ridiculous, the largest trailer in the united states is 53 feet long.

She admits she had a $ 500 deductible. She claims
that I ( mr m.) agreed to pay the deductible. that is ridiculous. Why would I do that ?
I am on commission, I get 8 % of the move.
In fact, I had told my boss that we should NOT
move these people at all.

This case should be settled in court. We would
suggest that she accept our generous offer of $ 400 to settle. otherwise, we would welcome seeing her in court.

Sincerely,

***** M.
XXX XXX XXXX

09/29/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
total billing not coming close to billing expected

I contacted the moving company on 2/3/15 to move 2 households. the first one was packed on 2/15/15 and put into storage. I was given one order for service for the first household and a second one for both households with the second house. the second was packed on 5/2/15 and placed with first order on truck to be delivered in Newport, Tn. it was delivered on 5/12/15. when the first was packed I was asked to give them deposit of $2079.12, which I gave them. when I received the quote for the full move, the deposit wasn't recorded on it. I spoke with ***** ***** at that time and questioned this and was told my deposit would be taken off the bill at the time of delivery. the order for service charges consisted of
Total charges before discount, Total discount applied, and total estimated cost. no where did it state anything about the deposit. when the van arrived in Tennessee I was requested to pay the total cost without the discount. I called to office and was told that was the amount I needed to pay. I paid this so that I could have my things unloaded.
On 7/15/15 I called the Jacksonville phone number and asked to speak with the corporate billing of financial office and was told that they were in a meeting. I never got a call back. I called again and 7/20/15 and a person named Ernie answered and I told him what I needed again. He asked me for my invoice number. I told him that there was no number on the paperwork. He insisted he didn't believe me and because I wouldn't (couldn"t) give him this number that he couldn't have me talk with anyone else. He told me that I should send him all my paperwork by certified mail and then maybe they could help me. I did upset and was yelling or talking very angryly. He also was. he implied that I was a fraud. I asked to speak with his supervisor and was told that everyone was one vacation and he was the only one there. I then called that Clearwater number to try to get the invoice number and it was picked up by Ernie in Jacksonville. He told me not to call back again.
I did submit a request to them on 7/20/15 for a copy of the paperwork with the invoice number on it. I also tried to send the request by e-mail
I waited to start asking for my deposit returned until 7/15/15 because I didn't move into the house where everything was delivered until a month after that and I wanted to wait until I unpacked all the boxes to make sure all was okay with my things

Desired Settlement
I would like to have my deposit returned to my since it was never taken off my bill as far as I can tell by the order for service I was given

Business Response
this customer has a signed copy for the
exact amount. This complaint is totally bogus.
she had us put her move, and her dads move all on one bill of lading. if you want to see
the signed order, we would be pleased to send it to you.

The customer NEVER paid any deposit, this
is a fabrication.

Sincerely

Ernie *****
XXX XXX XXXX


Please do not count this as a complaint
as this is totally made up.

this nice lady is very elderly and her
father is about 100 years old.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all I have a copy of the check that states I paid a deposit to Dolphin. When my things came to Tennessee, prior to unloading I called Clearwater and spoke with a women, who's name I don't have and it was confirmed that by her records that I have given them a check for the amount stated as a deposit. She didn't stat that it was a deposit but did acknowledged that they had received a check from me. I agree that the 2 households were moved as one as I stated in my complaint. I do have all the paperwork that was given to me. There was no lading number on it. As I stated I do have a copy of the check that I gave them when they picked up the first household. I could not have a copy of this check from my checking account if it hadn't been written and cashed so this isn't a fabrication. If the BBB would like to see a copy of this I can mail this to you.
As for Mr. *****'s comment that I am very elderly. that isn't true either. I am 62 yrs old and have completely aware of what is going on. AS they say in medicine, I am orientated times 3. As for my Dad he doesn't come into this problem and again he doesn't have his age correct either. I would like this problem solved to the correct completion.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have reviewed the business's response. You may note that every paper they sent to you that had my signature on it was signed and dated on the day it arrived at the new location. They didn't send you any of the paper work that I signed before the move. The only piece of paper that they sent that I have never seen before was the Bill Of Lading. I saw and signed all the other papers when the households arrived at the drop location. Again my problem is that ALL the paper work I signed stated that the disputed amount is said to be a discount not a deposit. I see that it does say that on the bill of lading which as I have stated I have never seen before this. I would like to know how a discount can change into a deposit.

Final Business Response
this complaint is totally bogus. See the attached, signed copies of the bill of lading.

a. no deposit was ever paid

b. she paid part one and then on delivery

she paid part two. the total of the receipts

matches the total of the bill of ladings.

c. please disregard this blatant attempt

at fraud by this customer to get money back

for a service she received and at the exact

price she was quoted in total


ernie *****
dolphin moving systems

11/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poorly packed furniture caused damage during transit.
Their employees assisted in the move. They wrapped the furniture and packed it on to the truck. It was poorly wrapped and this resulted in damage during the 1,000 mile truck ride.

I called them to tell them we suffered some damage, just to give them the feedback. They refused to talk to me and did not want to discuss it at all.

I was told that I declined the insurance. While that may have happened, I do not recall that discussion. However, that does not give them the "green light" to pack the furniture in a manner that will result in damage during the 1,000 miles of vibrations during the trip.

Talking to me after the move is complete is just as important as talking to me before the move. They were really friendly BEFORE the move. However, after the move, during my call when I mentioned the word "damage", ***** immediately said, "I gotta check some paperwork and I'll call you back". He never did.

I called *****, they guy that sold me the move. He said, "Hey, I'm in sales, you declined the insurance, too bad for you."

This is "poor business". It's a free country and they can run their company any way they want. Customers can "vote" with their dollars and look elsewhere for their moving business.

My goal is to make potential customers aware of their poor attitude before doing business with this company.

Desired Settlement
I would like this posted on the BBB web site to make other potential customers aware of their attitude.

Business Response
HI

This customer did not hire us to move him,

he rented a container. There is no insurance

on container moves, it is just a very inexpensive

way to have your goods transported. This man

was solely in charge of how his shipment was

wrapped and loaded... he was offered insurance,

he declined. There is no " attitude". This is

the same as moving things in a uhaul truck, there

is no insurance, we are not liable. he did

his own Unloading - we were not there, we have

no idea of what may have happened on his end

Sincerely

***** *****

Consumer Response
"I take exception to the Transworld response. They had two of their employees show up to wrap and load the furniture for 1.5 hours as that was part of the arrangement. Could they be mistaken and think that was not part of the service? If we had rented a Uhaul truck, it would not have come with two employees to help load it. See the attached letter from Transworld that clearly states, "We include two men for up to three hours to load this for you." Does Uhaul this service. This is what made the deal attractive to me. I'm in WV and need to get the furniture in FL to WV. I was not able to load the furniture. I did have a friend there to let the Transworld men in the house and tell them which pieces to take.

I do not recall declining the insurance for the move. However, even if I did decline it, that would not relieve them of culpability from negligent acts of their employees. The furniture was wrapped in disposable paper packing. The move was in a 28 foot "pup" trailer (not a container) that has virtually no suspension. Due to inadequate wrapping of the furniture and the improper loading/stacking of the furniture, there was significant damage from the rubbing and bumping of the pieces together for the 853 mile ride to our house.

You will see the damage that was sustained in the move in the attached pictures.

How can they claim it was a "self-move" when their employees wrapped it and packed the furniture? The damage was not the incidental nicks and dents that occur in every move. These pieces suffered some significant damage during the ride to our house.

We feel that with the level of damage that a $500 payment from them would be an adequate amount to repair the furniture.

See the attached pictures of the damage and letter from them stating they would provide two men to wrap and load the furniture."

Please let me know if you got my response which is above and the 12 attachments.

****


Final Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

Our position does not change. The customer elected to use container and loading services only and in these types of situations the customer is ultimately responsible for their own items should they get damaged.

Page 1 of 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/29/2010Business started: 01/13/2000Business started locally: 12/15/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Mayo Bldg Rm 217
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800
(850) 410-3800
http://www.800helpfla.com

Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

BBB records show a license number of IM1793 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com.

Type: Intrastate Mover

BBB records show a license number of WM18850 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Type: Weights and Measures

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2000, FL

Business Management
Customer Contact: Mr. Greg Dolphin Sr. (Co-Owner)
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Gloria Dolphin (President)Mr. Ernie McNab (Sales Manager)
Business Category

Movers, Packing Crating Companies, Piano Movers, House & Building Movers, Office Movers

Products & Services

This company is an agent for Arpin Van Lines, Inc. and provides full intra and inter state moving services.

Alternate Business Names
Commercial Moving Solutions, Inc., Dolphin Moving Systems

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Transworld Van Lines

5160 140th Ave N Ste B

Clearwater, FL 33760-3769

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5160 140th Ave N Ste B 

    Clearwater, FL 33760-3769(727) 408-5259

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Transworld Van Lines is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 734-1446
  • (813) 740-1444
  • (727) 608-0806
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.