BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/05/2012

Suncoast Moving & Storage, Inc.

Phone: (239) 337-5550

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)
10/22/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am disputing additional charge of $618.98 after having paid $5715.34 (110% of original estimate of move) and my signature being used fraudulently.
On 4/22/15 Frank **********, President of Suncoast Moving & Storage, estimated my move to cost $5195.76. On 5/20/15 he signed an estimate of $6581.28. Frank was never available to talk to me when I called to question the difference - I had to leave messages with the gals in the office. I told them I would pay 110% of original estimate and that was acceptable to them. Their packing charge went from $645.65 on 4/22 to $1241.65 on 5/20 to $1205.12 on the invoice I just received. I was charged $199.80 to pack a 32" flat screen TV. I packed 96+ boxes myself, most with my materials. When the packers came on 5/14 they didn't pack everything they should have - said movers would do it next day - I had to point out items they left in cabinets, etc. and sloppy packing that had to be redone. When movers came next day, the driver was outraged because the packers did not pack all they should have and he did not have manpower or wrapping supplies needed. He sat on the floor for awhile and then said he could not get the job done that day - could I wait until next day. I told him no, I was having my car transported and flying out of state the next am and could not change my plans. He then called Suncoast Moving who sent out an extra man to assist, along with supplies needed. I was assured by the driver there would be no extra expenses incurred by me for this problem; however, I feel this all contributed to their request for the extra $618.98 in an invoice sent from Suncoast on Atlas' letterhead dated 5/29/15.

After the move, I contacted Suncoast to request copies of my complete inventory, which I had not received from the driver. When I received the 4 page descriptive inventory list, I was extremely angered to find what looked like my signature on 3 of the pages with fraudulent descriptions of "condition at origin" information on several articles. I never signed these forms, nor did I ever see them until I received them from Suncoast. I did not give anyone permission for my signature to be assigned to any forms regarding this move, nor was I given a copy of anything else that shows my signature. This appears to be a fraudulent use of my signature and indicates that I am agreeing to things which I did not agree to. The "condition at origin" comments are also fraudulent. My furniture was in excellent condition without the numerous scratches, chips, gouges, dents, stains, loose legs and faded fabrics, etc. described on these forms. There is no way I would have signed off on these forms - again, fraudulent use of my signature as well as description of my furniture. I think this was just a ploy to protect their business, just as Frank's first estimate was a "lowball" amount to obtain my business. Also, a Gazelle was on the inventory list - it was never moved to Colorado.

On 7/24, after receiving the invoice for $618.98, I emailed Frank to advise him of my concerns. He replied by asking for copies of the inventory lists I had just told him I received from his office. On 7/26 I sent requested sheets to him with my request for writing off the additional charge. I have heard nothing from him since 7/25; however, I did receive a copy of the 5/29/15 invoice from Atlas Van Lines indicating I was obligated to pay this invoice with 30 days of the letter which was dated 8/3/15. This invoice came directly from Atlas Van Lines so I assume Frank turned the matter over to Atlas for further handling rather than responding to me.

This entire process has been frustrating since the beginning causing needless stress for me and making Suncoast Moving & Storage and Atlas Van Lines appear to be completely unprofessional with lack of any concern for their customers.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting Suncoast Moving & Storage/Atlas Van Lines to write off the additional $618.98 balance they say is due.

Business Response
We are in receipt of this complaint and are preparing our response to this consumers complaint.
This shipment is a Interstate shipment and services were perform through our Interstate affiliation (***** ***** *****.
We are completing a full response. In order to complete a full response, all entities involved are being review.
I spoke with the Customer Service Manager Marilyn ***** today. She stated it is currently in the process of being Audited by the Headquarters' office.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did receive a letter from Kimberly ****** Claim Representative in Evansville, IN, dated 9/10/2015, indicating they were in receipt of my inquiry regarding the charges assessed for transportation of my shipment. She indicated they would review all pertinent documents and discuss the file with agency personnel involved with the shipments and make every effort to conclude the claims in a prompt manner. They asked me to allow sufficient time for this process. According to regulations in their published tariff, they must pay, decline to pay, or settle within 60 days after receipt by the carrier. On 9/1/2015 I mailed a check in the amount of $618.90 to the Evansville office. I paid this because they had sent it to their collections department and were going to add 1% to total amount due each month, and because I have an excellent credit rating which I did not want destroyed by *****.

The only correspondence I have received from ***** are invoices and a letter dated 8/3/2015 explaining the 1% charge being applied every 30 days the payment is not made, and the letter referenced above. Nor have I received any phone calls from them addressing this matter.

On 8/8/2015 I sent a letter to Beverly ***** Collections, along with emails and inventory lists pertinent to my complaints about the charges. I never received any type of response from them until after I filed my complaint with BBB. The first notification I received that indicated they had received my information was in the letter dated 9/10/2015.

I feel this has gone on far too long. Not only did I originally pay $5715.34 (110% of the original estimate), but now I was forced to pay an additional $618.98, which I deem fraudulent, in order to avoid additional charges and defamation to my excellent credit rating. The amount of $618.98 should be "written off" and a check in that amount should be sent to me immediately.

Final Business Response
Suncoast moving and Storage is actively communicating with its affiliate ***** *** ***** to resolve Mrs. Goods claim. We are working with their claims department to assist in expediting a resolution. The disputed charges by Mrs. Good are inclusive to the contractual agreement which she signed.

12/18/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Suncoast moving damaged my bamboo floors when they moved my furniture from my condo to my new home. I also claimed a damaged end table on delivery with the driver and sent pictures and an email to the owner ***** ********* immediately.

I purchased full replacement insurance with Suncoast and they have denied my claim after 5 months. Please see next email as follow up.

Apparently taking pictures identifying and noting all damaged items to your driver, ******* and following up with a call and email to your owner, ***** ** **********, the next day after purchasing full value coverage for $348.00 is completely worthless filing a claim with your company? All of which I will document with the Better Business Bureau. (My next email) I wrote on the paperwork the floor and furniture were damaged with your driver ******* personally. Who also documented the damage with pictures. Which lead me to believe the items were noted on delivery to Suncoast Moving Company. So now 5 months later you are denying my claim for furniture that your representative, *** ******* Service Tech from ***************************** so noted after visiting my home and condo.

I don't know what else I could of done to document the damaged items and my bamboo floors.

Business Response
November 7, 2014

Better Business Bureau
Serving West Florida
Attn: ***** ******
**** ********* *****
Clearwater, FL XXXXX

RE: Case # XXXXXXXX: ***** *****

To Whom It May Concern:

Thank you for the correspondence in regards to Mrs. *****'s concerns about damages to her bamboo floor. However, the damages Mrs. ***** is referring to are indentations to the bamboo floor, which was determined to be pre-existing. Given that Mrs. ***** is a valued customer we had our repair vendor provide an estimate to repair the floor. Once the vendor's inspection was complete, and we were provided with a cost of $250.00 to make repairs, a settlement was offered. (Coincidently prior to our investigation and the estimate for repair, Mrs. ***** suggested to Suncoast Moving & Storage, Inc. a settlement of $250.00 for the damaged floor.)

Suncoast is in a position that this damage was not caused by the mover. Mrs. *****'s claim is that the damage occurred when one of our men was spinning a chair during the furniture wrapping process. (However, the indentations claimed to be damage caused by Suncoast Moving & Storage, Inc. are clearly vertical/horizontal indentations from a back and forth motion. If the damage occurred from spinning a chair, the indentations in question would be circular in nature.)

As a result Suncoast Moving & Storage, Inc. provided a goodwill inspection and settlement offer of $250.00 to Mrs. ***** for the floors. Although Mrs. ***** suggested the $250.00 settlement for the floor, she quickly denied our settlement offer, as she wanted her whole floor replaced. Based on our investigation into Mrs. *****'s claims we feel we have been more than accommodating with our settlement offer.



Sincerely,


***** ********
Office Manager
Suncoast Moving & Storage, Inc.
Agent for ***** *** *****

Consumer Response
***** thank you for the follow up to my complaint.

I am requesting a settlement of $348.00 for the full value coverage insurance I purchased with Suncoast Moving & Storage. The floor was damaged by their moving company and is well documented . My realestate agent can also verify my floor was not previously damaged before the move by SunCoast. Apparently taking pictures identifying and noting all damage items, calling and emailing the owner, ***** ** **********, the next day after purchasing full value coverage-%deductible of $348.00 is completely worthless filing a claim.

Even after *** ******* Service Tech from *** ******** ********* ****** verified damage to my end table and floor. The response from SunCoast Moving & Storage

Suncoast is in a position that this damage was not caused by the mover. Mrs. *****'s claim is that the damage occurred when one of our men was spinning a chair during the furniture wrapping process. (However, the indentations claimed to be damage caused by Suncoast Moving & Storage, Inc. are clearly vertical/horizontal indentations from a back and forth motion. If the damage occurred from spinning a chair, the indentations in question would be circular in nature.)
is the first I have ever seen since their "Goodwill offer" of $250 and denial of my end table claim. After having Wright Flooring the original installer of my $9000 floor come to suggest repairs on my damaged floor. Wright Flooring said the floor would have to be removed to the wall in order to install the new boards (that I had an original box of). There estimate would be hundreds of dollars more due to the labor necessary to replace the damaged boards.

It is obvious that Suncoast Moving & Storage strategy and tactics is to ignore legitimate claims for months hoping the client will give up.

Thank you for your help documenting my claim and my good faith effort to resolve the dispute.

***** *****

Final Business Response
Thank you for the correspondence regarding Mrs. *****'s Rebuttal to our first response regarding her claim with Suncoast Moving & Storage, Inc.

Suncoast Moving & Storage, Inc., as well as Mrs. ***** have come to an agreement with her requested settlement, her file has now been closed.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.


Final Consumer Response

02/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Inaccurate estimate for services given, and customer expected to pay although companies error.
Suncoast movers gave me an estimate for my recent move on 12/31/2013, which I accepted. A few days after packing and shipping all of the items in my home, they contacted me to let me know that the shipment was over the estimated weight and would cost 33% more than perviously quoted.
When I contacted the gentleman who did my estimate (who is also the president of the company,) he stated there was no error on his end and I had added items to the move to cause it to go overweight. He was also very harsh and conducted himself poorly over the phone by yelling at me and not letting me speak.
My registration number for this move is*********
The items were packed on the 13th of Jan and loaded on the 14th of Jan 2014.
My sales representative is ***** **********

Desired Settlement
I feel that Suncoast Movers should cover the cost of their error, and not try to bully me to pay for their error.

Business Response
Thank you for reaching out to me today by telephone and this email. For most I want to assure you that our Companies are committed to providing our customer with the highest quality of service, which includes at the onset a clear understanding of the types of services a customer requests. Your request was for our Company to provide packing material, packing service and transportation to your new home as well as limited unpacking (limited to your mattresses). At my initial visit to your home, I provided and presented you with our Companies service capabilities through our various company brochures, toured your home on a room by room basis and created a typed out detailed room by room inventory of all items to be packed and to be relocated. In my presentation to you, I presented the care our staff will take in handling your personal belongings, I further explained my role as the relocation counselor during your relocation, the valuation/insurance options, and most importantly the accuracy of the inventory of items to be relocated, that you and I had previously taken as we toured your home, since that is what drives the cost for packing and transportation. The above items that where presented to you, where provided to you with the assistance of our Companies Material and presented to you page by page, as our Company does with all of our customers. At the onset of my creating that inventory, you had made it very clear to me that the amount of items to be listed on the inventory may change by you adding additional items to be packed or furniture to be added, in the event certain items did not sell or you could not find a new home for. The moving industry has three (3) options of pricing - non binding, total not to exceed and binding, each option has a specific reason: 1. A non binding estimate is provided to customers that have agreed in writing (with there signatures) that they are not sure exactly what will go and an inventory is created with the best information provided by the customer, which is reviewed and signed by the customer. 2. A total not to exceed price is provided to customers that state that I know what I am taking, however it could be less, an inventory is created verified and signed by the customer. 3. A binding estimate is provided to customers that know exactly what they are moving and agree in writing with there signature that the inventory is correct and except the price for those services and transportation only. The documents that we reviewed with you and where signed by you, clearly state that a non binding estimate was provided to you, as was the detailed inventory of items to be relocated. In addition, the documents that we both signed where in fact presented to you weeks prior to your relocation could have been altered to any of the other options per your request, which than would have opted me to come back to your home and create a revised inventory and pricing, however that contact was never received. I have reviewed actual charges on your relocation and as I conveyed to you in our conversation earlier today by phone, based on the actual packing services provided (which you verified where performed with your signature) and actual items that where inventoried and received certified weights, both the packing and items moving where more than what you asked me to document on the day we created the initial inventory of services to be performed. I do apologize that you feel that your not completely satisfied with our service, however our staff provided services based on a none binding estimate that we are now billing you for.

******** **********
President
Suncoast Moving & Storage Inc.
Agent for Atlas Van Lines
XXX-XXX-XXXX Office
XXX-XXX-XXXX Cell ***************************

06/27/2016Problems with Product / Service
07/30/2015Problems with Product / Service
01/26/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Damage to furniture, household furnishings, lost items on delivery. Unjustified overcharges on invoice compared to Quoted cost and storage overcharge
Suncoast Moving and Storage, 2020 Ortiz Ave., Ft. Myers, FL XXXXX was contracted to remove our furnishings and furniture from our home at *** Shadroe Cove Cir., Unit ***** Cape Coral FL, XXXXX on May4, 2015, store these items in their storage facility, and return all items to the same home address on Oct.19, 2015. We had our "like new" furniture and furnishings returned to us with chunks of wood knocked completely off along with numerous gouges ,chips, and scratches. We had an artificial 7 1/2 foot palm tree broken in half as well as personally witnessing holes knocked through our new walls. These movers were totally unprofessional and were not equipped with moving straps or any other equipment for moving heavy items which resulted in all the moving damage. A claim form was filed for damaged items on Oct.28, 2015. Suncoast Moving informed us the entire claims process would take 3 to 4 weeks. It has now been 6 1/2 weeks and Suncoast has not had any individual come to our home and inspect the damage let alone complete the claims process. This despite our numerous phone calls to their offices and claims representative. I have a letter of acknowledgement dated 10/22/2015 acknowledging damage to our items from the Suncoast claims representative proving they received our claim yet our phone calls are only met with unreturned phone calls and unanswered questions. Suncoast Moving also took pictures of the damage with their camera taken by their supervisor named Mario at the time it happened on Oct. 19, 2015, when the items were delivered. Suncoast knows they did take pictures on the scene regardless of them acting as if they do not know what I am talking about. Their supervisor Mario showed them to me himself on the day of moving the items back in our home. All the damaged items we received certainly did not match up with the "white glove rhetoric" and Better Business Bureau Ratings we received from the Suncoast Moving and Storage General Manager. We are extremely disappointed. In addition, Suncoast Moving came to our home prior to moving, went through each individual room, and gave us a quote of $3721.26 for moving the items out of our home and moving them back in. The storage costs were to be billed separately. We were billed $2236.70 for moving the items out and $1708.35 for moving items back in. This came to a total of $3945.05. We packaged all the smaller items ourselves in 83 boxes as per the quote. This is an overcharge of $224.79 as compared to the quote we were given. There was no extenuating circumstances to justify being billed more than the Suncoast Moving quote. The Suncoast Moving General Manager was in our home for several hours quoting our costs and nothing was added or subtracted from the contents of our home. We were also given a separate quote with Suncoast doing the packing of the smaller items, however, this quote was not used as this was not what we chose to do. We were also unfairly overcharged for storage by Suncoast during the last month of our storage. We were forced to pay for 31 days of storage from Oct.6, 2015, thru Nov.5, 2015. The fact is we only used 13 days of storage rather than 31 days of storage as our furnishings were moved in to our home on Oct.19, 2015. These charges should have been prorated which would have amounted to a charge of only $85.54. We were forced to pay $204.00 for 31 days. We should be entitled to a refund for unused storage charges. All the damaged items are here in our home for inspection and I have all the documentation for all the excess charges that Suncoast Moving should not be entitled to receive.

Desired Settlement
I want all damaged items in our claim for damages with Suncoast Moving repaired to my satisfaction if possible, and if not possible to repair, then full replacement cost. I want damaged oil painting that was repaired and reframed by Frame Gallery of Cape Coral, FL, with the permission of Suncoast Moving claims representative at a cost of $376.30 refunded to myself in full. Suncoast Moving has this receipt in their possession. I want a settlement for items that were missing or lost upon delivery of $100.00. I want the excess billing charges for moving household furnishings out of the home and back in to the home totaling $224.79 credited to the charge card Suncoast Moving charged them on or refunded to me via check. I also want a refund of $118.46 for excess storage charges which we did not use but were forced to pay for if we wanted our furniture and furnishings.

Business Response
Mr. ********,

We are sorry that your experience with SM&S was not up to your standards as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service.
In regards to the complaint our response is as follows:
regarding charges, your estimate was $3721 and actual charges were $3945.05 a 7% variance. The reason for the overage is that our company provided additional packing, relocated and the storing of extra items that were not included on the original items, such as the fact that in the estimate, some items would be packed by customer and some by SM&S however, upon arrival additional items were added such as house hold appliances. Those items were requested to be moved and stored after the estimate had been prepared. The estimate is a non-binding non-contract ESTIMATE that does vary depending on different circumstances.
Storage charges: Mr. ******** states that 1 month of storage was charged rather than 13 days. Unfortunately, it is customary in the moving and storage business to charge for a full month and with not option to pro-rate, as we do not have day to day storage but only offer monthly storage. We do not pro-rate storage fees.

to address the damages and qualifications of moving staff:

Our staff is well trained and equipped to handle any relocation needs a customer may have . (customer rated staff at time of delivery with excellent scores on survey-which we can provide documentation for) however, sometimes mistakes happen for which Suncoast Moving and Storage will take responsibility as written under the agreed upon contract.

Items damaged during moving process:
settlement will be administered according to State and federal law of customer agreed contract terms. Which represent 10 items claimed as damaged.

Unfortunately, to address a claim that ensures customer satisfaction, it can result in a timely process. We are working on your claim and are waiting for inspection and estimate of the items that are damaged from the repair company that was sent to inspect. (******'s **** ********** when I receive correspondence from them I will then begin to conclude your claim.

I hope that this gives you some insight into how our billing process works and that your claims for damaged items can be resolved as soon as possible.

If you have any questions or concerns that have not been addressed, please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX x 214 or by email at; ****************@suncoastmoving.com at your convenience.

Thank you,

Nakia ******
Customer Service Representative
Suncoast Moving and Storage



















It is claimed that holes were put in newly remodeled walls, SM&S was called by contractor who remodeled home to ask if he could repair a dent in hallway staircase that our guys had caused while carrying an over-sized armoire up the stairs. This damage was taken care of the day it occurred at no expense of the Hornbecks' which was followed by an apology.

In regards to missing items,
such as missing woman's shorts and a strobe light. it is difficult to address these items as they would have been considered packed items and would have been in addition to many other items that were not noted as missing. There was also signed documentation by the Hornbecks' that all inventoried and removed items were received at time of delivery. (documentation can be provided)




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As far as damaged and lost items are concerned, Joseph's Fine Furniture has been out here to assess the damage and verify it with pictures. This was done on December 18,2015. He stated at that time we would be hearing within a couple days of where we would proceed from there. I can not close out my complaint because I have not heard a word about where we go from here or when the damage will be repaired. Just sending an individual out to assess the damage approximately 8 weeks after the damage occurred does not resolve the complaint until something is done that repairs or compensates for the damage. In addition, no response was given as to the broken oil painting frame and picture in which the frame was completely unrepairable and broken in half and the oil painting itself was damaged with footprints and chips and dirt lines. The painting had to be shrunk and reframed with a new frame at a cost of $376.50. Your firm has the receipt from Frame Gallery and Gifts of Cape Coral showing a cost of $376.50 that I was assured would be reimbursed to myself as I had to pay the bill myself to obtain the painting. . The picture was repaired with permission from your claims representative at the time named Joshua ******. I do not want to hear the excuse he is no longer with the firm. That is no excuse as he was your claims representative at that time and represented Suncoast Moving and Storage Company. I would love to resolve this claim and move on with our lives as we have had damaged furniture and it has been sitting around our home for approximately 2 1/2 months in this condition. As for the excess charges that were added on to our storage and moving invoices, I am certain this also is customary practice as you call it to stick it to the customer for unjust charges. I would be interested in knowing if you can show me any invoices that were less than the stated quotes given to the customer before moving. It is not worth it to me to quibble over the excess charges because it would not do me any good as I have read other complaints on your firm stating the same problem and grievances. Apparently, it is customary for your firm to charge more than the quotes and also unjustly charge for unused storage charges. I was told by ***** Dethlefson, your General Manager, on the day the damage occurred while in the care of Suncoast Moving and Storage that he himself would be with us himself all the way through to the end until these damages were taken care of and repaired. We have not heard one word from him since that conversation. Your firm has already been paid in full for all charges we have been invoiced as the charges were placed on our charge card. Nevertheless, I do expect the damages on our claim to be resolved and repaired to our satisfaction and be reimbursed for repairs to our damaged painting and frame. Until these things are accomplished, I must keep my complaint active.

Final Business Response
This response was taken verbally by the BBB:

At this time we have reached a settlement with the Customer and will be sending out a check per our signed settlement agreement.

01/21/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
22 items moved, 5 items damaged. Movers were slow on the cell phones alot. Billed for 5 hours $780 when it should not of taken more then 2 hours.
October 16, 2015 - movers moved 22 pieces of furniture, 3 were heavy. 5 pieces damaged. My credit card was charged $780.00 for 5 hours billable hours. Employees on cell phones and slow moving. Job should not of been more then 2 hours.

Desired Settlement
They can refund the whole $780.00 they charged my credit card. This will cover the overage on billable time and the cost of damage to 5 pieces of furniture.
Emails and phone calls go unanswered. Was told billable hours would be refunded 3 weeks ago and nothing has happened.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Nakia-customer service
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@suncoastmoving.com
Dear ****, **********,

We are sorry that you experience with SM&S was not up to your standards as we Pride ourselves on excellent customer service.
In regards to the complaint or response is as follows: as stated on the order of service upon arrival and completion of the job there was 5 complete work hours for packing un-assembly and assembly loading delivery and unloading of your items in which you signed off on. (see attached) It states, Customer agrees to actual time and material to apply+ 1 hour travel time. I am sorry for any misunderstanding that you may have had but you were only charged for the time our delivery crew was on the job and the travel time. which you agreed. we will not be **** to refund you for the full cost of your move. Services were rendered and charged accordingly. you signed on time stamped sheet as well with no notation.
We have had contact with you regarding this matter on the following dates
11/11: advising that a repair company was coming to view damages for inspection and estimate
11/12: Brandon from Lee co. handy man advised SM&S that you were looking for monetary reimbursement
11/13: this day you explained you wanted a refund of billable hours and was told the claims process does not work that way.
11/23: customer called regarding status of claim stating that no estimate was done.

attached: Please see the email you received upon booking of the break down of billable charges.

The status of your claim for damages of 5 items is as follows:

I have prepared and sent a settlement letter that has been sent out. When the settlement letter is signed and returned to my office we will request a check and move forward with closing your claim.

We here at Suncoast Moving and Storage are genuinely sorry for any inconvenience that you have incurred due to the process of your claim. Unfortunately, it can be a lengthy process.

I hope that this gives you insight on how or billing process works and that your claims for damaged items can be resolved as soon as possible.

If you have any questions, or concerns that have not been addressed, please feel free to contact me at: XXX-XXX-XXXX or by email: *********************************** at your convenience.

Thank you,
************
Customer service representative
Suncoast Moving and Storage

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Joshua T. Rodriguez already agreed with me that 5 hours was too long and it should not of taken that long. I was told 4 weeks ago I would have an answer on a refund for billable hours. 3 weeks of calling Joshua T. Rodriguez, he ignored my phone messages and never called me back once. I signed off when the TWO MALE movers were done, I was by myself standing in my kitchen, I was not getting into an argument with them over how slow they were moving because of playing on the cell phone, and who knows what else.
Damaged furniture - the guy wanted to take the furniture and repair it. Seriously - who does that? That's crazy, another stranger in my house, take my furniture and would I ever get it back?

What was discussed and promise - has not been done yet. I am due a refund!

10/22/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
VENDOR SERVICE INCLUDED INSURANCE FOR DAMAGES FILED CLAIM IN APRIL REFUSE TO PAY OR REPLY TO CALLS
VENDOR CONTRACT INCLUDED INSURANCE. VENDOR SENT OUT ESTIMATOR THEY CLAIM WAS NOT AUTHORIZED. CLAIM IS MINOR DAMAGES TO FURNITURE & SMALLL ITEMS VENDOR WAS NOTIFIES IN APRIL THEN CONTACTED IN APRIL, MAY, JUNE & JULY & REFUSE TO REPLY OR HANDLE CLAIM

Desired Settlement
WANT FURNITURE AND BROKEN ITEMS REPAIRED. REPLACE BROKEN ITEMS THAT CANNOT BE REPAIRED

Business Response
Mrs. ****** is a client of Suncoast Moving & Storage Inc. (SMS), and she has been reassured by SMS personal we will not walk away from its contractual agreements nor its good faith practices when a customer is not completely satisfied. Unfortunately our CSR representative who started the claim process fell ill, with weekly treatments, just at the time period that Mrs. ****** claim with our Company should have been concluded. All correspondence is based on documented fact:
Mrs. ****** was contacted on April 10 the day after her move by our OPTS. department to thank her and address her documented comments she had made about her service experience with our crew and items she had documented that received minor damage during her relocation (2 lamps, a dining rm. chair and a night stand). SMS staff assured Mrs. ****** that the Companies CSR would contact her and send out a claims form. On April 20th,2015 after speaking with Mrs. ****** a claims form was send and it was received back from Mrs. ****** on April 28th. Upon receiving Mrs. ******s Claim Form and its review of items claimed, Mrs. ****** claimed all 8 chairs had leg damage (not just the 1 as it had been documented on the work order on the day of the move) but also items that had not been mentioned on the day of the move nor the day (April 20th) that CSR had contacted her. It was decided that by CSR Department to contact its inspection and service Vendor to provide us with an inspection of report based on Mrs. ******s Claim, who than was instructed on April 30th, 2015 to perform an inspection on Mrs. ****** damaged goods.
Although Mrs. ****** had only chosen to take the basic coverage/legal liability of .60 cents per lbs. per article, the CSR of SMS felt it would be best based on the additional claimed items to receive a report to establish a best practice in addressing Mrs. ******s relocation claim.
Unfortunately our CSR had to resign do to her illness and Mrs. ****** claim has not been concluded.
Mr. D********* responded to an email from Mrs. ****** to assure her that our staff will address her claim and conclude her claim as it is company policy and practice, now that a knowledgeable and dedicated replacement has been in place.
SMS has been servicing customer with relocations in Collier, *** and ********* Counties for over 20 years, it has and always will be dedicated to servicing its clients in its entirety.
SMS is dedicated to conclude Mrs. ****** claim by July 31, 2015.


Consumer Response
Attached is correspondence from Suncoast Moving. They have not contacted to resolve issue. The have only stated they will look into my claim. When I contacted them by phone I have been told by ****** in claims service that my claim has been denied.

No, I am not satisfied with their response to BBB.

********** ******



Final Business Response
***Document Attached***
Our Customer Service Representative Dept. sent out a "revised settlement letter" on August 7,2015 (attached). We have not heard back from Mrs. ****** since then.
We have full intentions of trying to resolve this claim. However, communication has stopped with Mrs. ******.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I replied to the business back in August when they sent this response to damaged items. It is unacceptable as they claim damage to furniture was pre-existing. That is not the case and they have eliminated items from my claim on their list. Furnishings were not damaged prior to move and refinishing/touch up is needed, to offer $12 towards a 36" tv that was broken in move is unacceptable. Again, this company is evading their responsibility and the law that requires them to provide insurance under the contract for all items moved. None of the items listed were pre-existing damages and need repair or replacement as originally stated.

08/12/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company misled us as to when they could move our furniture, and after picking it up made us pay extra before they would deliver it.
Suncoast was contacted for a telephone quote. The following points were discussed:
-Availability for pick up on June 25th in the afternoon and delivery after 2 p.m. on June 26th. I was advised that there was room on the schedule and an additional holding charge per day would be applicable. Shannon indicated she would ask the schedulers to pencil it in.
-Latest time for delivery was 4 p.m.
-As it was a telephone quote, they would confirm the hourly rate, but could not verify how long it would take them
-A written quote would be provided by end of day
Based on this information, we decided to proceed with using Suncoast versus continuing to check on other companies.

The quote was received June 23, however I noted there was no mention of the requested times. To ensure this was clear, I did add it on the bottom of the quote that was emailed back. I confirmed that Suncoast received the quote, and that the times were sufficient in a second phone call early afternoon.

June 24th: A call was received at 5:00 p.m. from Suncoast indicating that the pickup was now scheduled for 8:30 - 9a.m. June 25. When I mentioned that we had requested afternoon pickup, Ashley advised they do not pick up in the afternoon. This late change of time required us to change appointments on the 25th with our developer, as well as work through the night to finish packing.


June 25th: The movers did not arrive until 9:30 a.m. When I enquired as to whether the same staff would be delivering the furniture the next day (in order to determine how I should tip), I was advised that the work order stipulated same day delivery. I was asked to contact the owner directly, who indicated:
-The front office were aware of the days, but neglected to relay this to the scheduler
-They could not deliver at 4 p.m. Nor could they guarantee 2 p.m. If 2 p.m. was the time, then he would have to assign 3 movers and charge me accordingly.
-I should push the developer and title company to release the keys prior to closing as this is done all the time.
-If the keys were not available by 2 p.m., delivery would not be possible until the following week as Saturday was fully booked. We would have to think ''outside of the box''.
The phone call ended with my advising the owner that I would try to push the closing, and would advise their office as soon as the keys were available.

The move was completed prior to 1:30 p.m. June 25 and Suncoast was in possession of all of our furniture. Around 4 p.m. a call was received from Ashley at Suncoast indicating that due to the lateness of the delivery on the 26th, we would have to pay for 8 hours for that portion of the move. This was non-negotiable. We had to agree as they had our furniture.

June 26th: Access to our new place was confirmed shortly after noon, and a call was made immediately to Suncoast at 12:18 p.m. with a follow up at 1:24 p.m. Movers arrived at 1:30 p.m.
The mover received a call shortly after arriving and advised me that, in order to deliver the equipment they needed to process our payment for approximately $2,225 for the entire move.

Our complaint is based on the following:
- If the company had a policy not to deliver after 2 p.m. - we would not have accepted their quote. We knew the timing of the closing of our new place was going to be late and would not have put ourselves in such as compromising position.
- They were aware of the times we requested at time of the quote. Why were we not advised that they could not accommodate? Again - if we were advised at the time they received the signed quote, we would have cancelled.
- Their staff initially told us 4 pm. was acceptable
- As indicated - the pick-up of the equipment was not completed until 1:30 - which means delivery would not have occurred until AFTER 2 p.m. if it was the same day. Why were we forced to pay more just because it was the next day? We already paid an extra $150 for them to hold it for a day.

Desired Settlement
- It took 3 men less than 3 hours to deliver the furniture, and that included some set up (which we would have done ourselves, but didn't bother since we were paying for the time anyway). If there was only 2 men - that would have been 4 hours - if you add the 1 hour travelling it relates to 5 hours and we paid for 8. That equates to almost $400 extra charge - even more when you consider we would have done the setup of beds etc. ourselves.

The actual movers themselves were very professional - we do not blame them, and while it was tempting to reduce their tips in order to get some of our money back, we did not as our issue was with the owner and office staff. They caused us additional stress during an already stressful period, and I feel we were taken advantage of. We want the cost of the move to be adjusted to reflect true moving time.

Business Response
IN RESPONCE TO THE CUSTOMERS COMPLAINT: THESE ARE BASED ON FACTS DOCUMENTED:
MRS. ********* CONTACTED OUR OFFICE BY TELEPHONE ON 6/22 TO SCHEDULE A RELOCATION DATE OF 6/25. ON 6/23 MRS. ********* RETURNED THE ESTIMATE/ORDER FOR SERVICE WHICH WAS BASED ON AN ACTUAL HOURLY CHARGE AND MATERIALS PROVIDED.
AFTER RECEIPT OF THE DOCUMENT, STAFF NOTICED THAT THE CUSTOMER HAD HAND WRITTEN INTO TO THE CONTRACT THAT A MOVE DATE OF 6/25 AND A MOVE IN DATE OF 6/26 AFTER 4PM WOULD BE REQUIRED.
OUR STAFF IMEDIATLEY CONTACT MANAGEMENT WHO THAN INFORMED THE CUSTOMER THAT WE WOULD NOT CONSIDER MOVING SOMEONE INTO THERE NEW HOME AFTER 4PM AND IF WE WHERE REQUIRED TO DO SO A THIRD MAN WOULD THIRD MAN WOULD BE REQUIRED TO COMPLETE THE JOB IN A MOST RESPONSIBLE TIME FRAME.
MRS. ********* INFORMED OUR STAFF THAT SHE WOULD MOST DEFINETLY NEED A DELIVERY THE FOLLOWING DAY (6/26) AND THAT SHE WOULD TRY TO MAKE THAT DELIVERY URLIER THAN 4PM. SUNCOAST MOVING & STORAGES STAFF INFORMED THE CUSTOMER THAT WE WOULD HAVE A HOLD OVER FEE AND IF DELIVERY WHERE TO OCCUR AFTER 4PM A THIRD MAN WOULD BE BILLED FOR. MRS. ********* AGREED AND TOLD OUR STAFF AND MR. ********** THAT DELIVERY WOULD BE SCHEDULED IN THE MORNING OF 6/26 AND THAT SHE UNDERSTOOD IF ADDITIONAL DELAYS OCCURED CHARGES WOULD APPLY, THIS WAS AGREED UPON ON 6/23.
ON MOVING DAY OUR STAFF CONTACTED MRS. ********* TO INFORM HER THAT THE CREW WAS LEAVING TO ARRIVE AT HER HOME AND TO ASK IF THE DELIVERY ON 6/26 WAS TO OCCUR IN THE MORNING OR AFTER 4PM. MRS. ********* INFORMED US THAT SHE WAS WORKING WITH THE TITLE COMPANY TO INSURE A MORNING DELIVERY AND IF ANYTHING CHANGED WE WOULD BE CONTACTED.
AT 5PM ON 6/25 OUR CREWS WHERE SCHEDULED FOR THE FOLLOWING DAY AND SINCE WE HAD NOT HEARD FROM MRS. ********** THE PICK UP CREW WAS SCHEDULED FOR 8AM FOR 6/26 TO REPORT TO WORK AND MAKE DELIVERY. OUR STAFF CONTACTED MRS. ********* THE MORNING OF 6/26 TO ADVISE OF HER DELIVERY, MRS. ********* APPOLIGIZED AND INFORMED OUR STAFF THAT SHE COULD NOT MAKE ANY CHANGES WITH THE TITLE COMPANY AND THAT DELIVERY NEEDED TO BE MADE AFTER 4PM, HOWEVER SHE WOULD TRY TO GET THE TITLE COMPANY TO POSSIBLY ADJUST THERE TIME AND SHE WOULD CONTACT US IF WE COULD SHOW UP EARLIER THAN 4PM. STAFF INFORMED MRS. ********* THAT THE LAYOVER FEE AND ACTUAL DELIVER TIME WOULD APPLY DO TO OUR CREWS ALREADY BEING SCHEDULED AND BECAUSE A 4PM DELIVERY MAY OCCUR A THIRD MAN WOULD BE ADDED TO STAND BY TO ASSIST IN THE DELIVERY.
MRS. ******** AGREED AND STAFF STOOD BY TO MAKE DELIVERY. ON THAT DAY 6/26 MRS. ********* CONTACTED OUR OFFICE AT 12:45PM TO INFORM OUR STAFF THAT SHE WAS READY FOR DELIVERY AND SHE WOULD BE ON HER WAY TO MEET OUR CREW. THE RELOCATION SERVICES WHERE COMPLETED BY 4:15 PM WITH OUR CREW RETURNING TO OUR OFFICE AT 5PM.
SUNCOAST MOVING & STORAGE INC. COMMUNICATED AND ACTED ON THE SERVICE REQUIREMENTS PUT FORTH BY MRS. ********* FOR WHICH SHE HAD AGREED TO IN ADVANCE. OUR COMPANY ONLY CHARGED FOR SERVICES REQUESTED.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response is basically regurgitating what I said, except it has left out meaningful information relating to timing of their responses,
1) my signed quote from the 23rd had the times quoted on it and it was accepted - i was only told they could not accommodate the 4 p.m. delivery on the 25th when they arrived.
2) There is no accountability as to the charges applied - where is their breakdown of the charges?
3) I was told by the owner there was NO possibility of a 4 p.m. delivery - and that 2 p.m. was the latest they could accommodate - after that we would have to'think outside the box'. This is not portrayed in their response.
4) based on the 1:30 arrival time on Friday - why were there additional charges.
5) if they charged for services requested - then how could they quote it at 4 p.m. the day before delivery?

It looks like they do not want to take accountability for the actions of their office staff. After I sent in the quote, Shannon of their office verbally confirmed the times I requested were available and that I was pencilled in. I have attached the email that I sent with the quote. It would be pretty hard not to notice my request.


I also am attaching a synopsis of the calls and emails that were made as best as I can remember.

Again - the service of their moving staff was wonderful and I felt we treated them fairly when we tipped them - we could have kept back those tips to get back some of our money - but that would be penalizing a total of 4 hard working men for the actions of their office staff.

Thank you for taking the time to review this matter.

03/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My complaint is about service of Suncoast from their inability to do an estimate and not following thru on their promise to repair damage to my house
I have with Suncoast moving company in Fort Myers, Fl. I called them to get an estimate on a move within Fort Myers and ***** came to my house for the estimate. I was told that it was a binding estimate at the time. I explained that I would be packing as much as I could but then later decided that I could not get it all done in time. So I called him out a second time for a better estimate that included more packing - I did this to be honest about what I needed done and to make sure that they were adequately prepared with men and supplies to get the job done. I was told that it was a one day job and ''not a big deal''. The estimate went from $2200 $2500. The only change I told ***** was about the additional packing that needed to be done- nothing changed about the amount to be moved.
The major reason why I chose them was because their location is in a safe area and barbed wired and has video cameras since I knew the truck would be there for 2 nights.
When it came time to officially book the move I was told it was a non-binding estimate and that it could change. I was told that the estimator had been doing this for years and that it would not vary much so I agreed to the change. This was a BAIT AND SWITCH tactic.
WELL when it came to the day of the move it turned out not to be so easy and he did not estimate well. I got a phone call and email on Saturday Oct 18th asking if I could switch the day of my move since the crew did not show up-that gave me a panic attack since I was scheduled to close and be out of my house on Mon 9 am. I guess they pulled together the scraps of a team that showed up at my house at 9:30am. It took them until 9:30 at night to pack the truck. And Yes the sent more men than were estimated. The staff was also very new on the job and took longer than necessary to do all the tracking. ***** came to the house during the day to see how they were doing and was teaching the lead mover how to list the items on the tracking sheet. The furniture and boxes just barely fit on to the truck- I was nervous that they were not going to be able to fit it all in. The original estimate of the weight and value of our property was off by 50%. So the amount of time and man hours needed was way off as well as the weight/value-so what is the purpose of having someone come to the house TWICE if it not even going to be close.
On Monday the day of the move-in - we arranged to meet around noon. That was when ***** informed of the incredible increase of charges that they were trying to charge. I explained the situation of the 2 estimates and that I thought the increase was incredulous since I was honest with them and that they switched the estimate to non-binding at the last minute. We agreed on a small increase to pay to get the furniture moved into the house.
During the move the movers dropped furniture on our large wooden doors and scratched them. *****( the lead person) told us that would be no problem- to just contact the office and that they have people who come out and fix them. WELL-that was not the case- I had to put it on a claim form. They sent out to companies for estimates on the repair- the only one that said he could do the repair correctly sent them an estimate for $1050.
I was never contacted by anyone at the company to discuss the balance on my acct. I did have someone call me to TELL me that the balance on my acct was in the $500 range. I told them that I would not pay that based on all factors I have stated and that it needed to be discusses further.
I received a letter in the mail from ***** with increased and made up charges (additional time in storage) stating that they would not be paying anything for the damage that their movers did to my new house. The letter only includes the charges that they could come up with to increase my balance but not about the damage done to my house. They think they should not have to pay since their guy does not know how to estimate a job within reason.

Desired Settlement
I feel this company has been lacking in communication and in their ability to estimate what it takes to get a job done. I am looking for them to repair the damage that was done to my new house. It is not in the expectations of any moving company to not repair damage that they caused. It was not something that came from the original house. I never liked the idea that I had to include it on the CLAIM FORM since it was not part of the furniture that came from the original house. I had to do that in order to get the estimates done.
I am hoping that in the age of online reviews and social media that Atlas cares enough about their reputation and their relationship with the BBB to resolve this matter.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:

Please accept this correspondence as our formal response to Mrs. *******'s complaint.

Mrs. ******* was originally provided a binding estimate on August 19, 2014. This estimate was provided after our first initial visit to the *******'s residence. Then on August 27, 2014 Mrs. ******* had called our office with questions and to inform us she would not be able to complete everything she had thought she would. At that time we scheduled our sales representative to go back out to residence to see what had changed and what additional services would need to be performed.

The *******'s were then provided the new non-binding, actual time to apply estimate on September 11, 2014. The estimate had went from a binding to a non-binding estimate do to the fact Mrs. ******* was still unsure if she could complete all that had to be accomplished. It was explained to her at that time the estimate was now a non-binding, actual time to apply estimate and that any further services we would perform would ultimately change the final cost of her relocation.

Mrs. ******* then signed this non-binding, actual time to apply estimate (Please see Attached) on October 15, 2014. Her signature on this document indicates her knowledge that the final cost of her relocation could increase with any additional services we might happen to perform at her request.

The original binding estimate was in the amount of $1,861.88, which did not include any additional valuation for her shipment and had very minimal packing services. The non-binding estimate that was provided to Mrs. ******* was in the amount of $2,429.41, this came after our sales representative visited her residence a second time to see what additional services were needed. The second estimate included additional packing services and additional valuation on her shipment valued at $45,100.00.

When we arrived at the ******* residence on October 18, 2014 to pack and load her household goods, there was additional packing needing to be completed than what had been included in the non-binding estimate she had signed. This additional packing increased the cost of the materials and time to perform the duties required. In addition to the additional packing needing to be performed, the customer also increased the valuation coverage on her shipment to cover up to $61,600.00.



The customer's relocation costs increased by a total amount of $1,352.75, with the final count of additional services performed and the increased valuation of her shipment, which were not included on her original estimate.

On the date of delivery Mrs. ******* paid $2,672.35 with a credit card, which in turn left a balance due for her relocation of $589.36. On October 31, 2014 our accounting department reached out to Mrs. ******* by phone and email regarding the balance still due on her relocation account with us.

Then on November 4, 2014 our accounting department again reached out to Mrs. ******* by emailing her balance still owed. On this date Mrs. ******* did call our office as a response to the email she received regarding her balance. During that phone conversation the customer did state she was extremely unhappy with her final cost and was not willing to pay the balance.

Suncoast Moving & Storage, Inc received the customer's completed claim form in our office on November 5, 2014. At that time we were still working with Mrs. ******* on trying to receive payment for services rendered by Suncoast Moving & Storage, Inc. A vendor was assigned to inspect the damages the customer is claiming. The vendor did inspect the damages and provide us with an estimate for repair.

Unfortunately due to the balance the customer still owed to Suncoast Moving & Storage, the only option we had was to offer clearing her balance with us in lieu of any repairs or cash settlement for the damages. Generally when customers have an unpaid balance for relocation services, any pending claim is put on hold until the balance is paid in full.

We sincerely hope the above explanation assists in the understanding of the course of action Suncoast Moving & Storage, Inc. has taken with this account.


Sincerely,


***** ********
Office Manager
Suncoast Moving & Storage, Inc.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this response. There are points in there that are not the truth. I was not informed that the second quote was non-binding at the time it was not until I went to book the move. I feel that is where they did the bait and switch on me as I had no other choice of movers since we were down to the wire. I take offense to the point that I misrepresented that amount of moving and packing that they would need to do. It did NOT change from the quote date. If anything I did more packing than I had asked him to quote. So to infer that I inaccurately represented the amount of work that would need to be done is FALSE. I was told that the estimator knew his job and it would be close which is why I paid more than the original quote. The estimator did not know how to do his job correctly or it would not have had a large difference. I wasted my time having him come out twice since he was sooo far off.
As for communication, there are false statements in there also. I was not approached as many times as they make it out to be. I was called once and informed of my balance- no attempt at talking to there.
As for the damage to my new house that should not be part of a claim or have anything to do with a balance that was totally inflated by the lack of skill of their workers. Their day workers dropped a large piece of furniture on the door and scratched it to where it needs $1000 worth of repairs. That should be on them and they should care about their reputation in doing quality moves. I was told at the time that they had people to do the repairs. That turned out to be not true also since the company that they sent out for an estimate had never used them before. The fact that it is even involved in the "claim" status shows us that they just do not care.
I will never be satisfied with their service as long as they take the attitude that we are not responsible for our workers. I will make it my mission to make sure that the community at large knows that they switch their estimates from binding to non-binding and that they do not stand behind their workers and their ability to not damage property that had nothing to do with the move. It is unheard of that I have to go through this ordeal almost 4 months later.
From the move when they gave me a nervous breakdown by saying the crew did not show up and then they were there until 9pm at night and barely fit everything on the truck, to having my house damaged by their workers to still trying to get repairs done, Suncoast movers has been a complete nightmare. This is not what customer service is about!

Page 1 of 2

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.