BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1980

Suddath Relocation Systems of St. Petersburg, Inc.

Phone: (727) 288-9673Fax: (727) 572-86034756 122nd Ave N, ClearwaterFL 33762-4431View Additional Web AddressesFacebookLinkedIn

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1980

BBB has determined that Suddath Relocation Systems of St. Petersburg, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Suddath Relocation Systems of St. Petersburg, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Suddath Relocation Systems of St. Petersburg, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
11/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They overcharged me for my move and also damaged furniture and my walls in my brand new house.
Invoice XXXXX:
We were moving into our brand new house. First, they did not bring tools needed to disassemble my bed and sat there for an hours trying to disassemble by hand. When I found out I lent them my tools to do the job. Then, one of their sub contractors did not show up and we were all just standing around waiting for them on both trips of this move. Then, my newly painted walls were covered with sweet and dirt from the movers. Lastly, they did not assemble my bed properly and my wifer and I almost was injured from laying on it. I have to take it apart and assemble it my self.

Desired Settlement
I want a partial refund of what was charged.

Business Response
We have reached Mr. ****** and reviewed these issues. All will be resolved to his satisfaction. An apparent mis-communication, or lack of communication on our part, caused him to believe items were being left unattended. A verbal agreement has been reached, followed by written confirmation via email. All items being processed for full customer satisfaction, which is always our ultimate goal. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response

12/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contracted Saddath in May 2013 to move my household furniture and belonging from Brooksville Florida to Fort Collins Colorado, paying for two months storage. I purchased a townhouse June 28, notifying Saddath on June 17 requesting my furniture to be delivered ASAP. On July 18, I received the first delivery. My bedroom set was smashed into pieces, along with major damage to many pieces of furniture and dishes etc. I had nothing to sit on, eat with or sleep on. On June 31 I received a second delivery. Now I had pots and dishes and more damage to my stuff. On August 13 I received another shipment that finally provided a table and some chairs with more damaged goods. They informed me that all my other items were missing and they were trying to locate it. I paid for full insurance coverage and now they are trying to give minimum replacement cost. I am still sleeping on the floor and do not have a good amount of my expensive furniture. The stress with this move and dealing with Saddath is becoming unbearable! It is almost two months since the first delivery, and I am still living in a camping type environment with many of my precious belongings shattered, and still no satisfaction from this company, only excuses!!! I feel helpless and abused by a national major corporation.
Product_Or_Service: Moving and Storage
Order_Number: UXXXX-XXXXX-X

Desired Settlement
I paid for insurance in the amount of $23,200.00 and $5,120.19 in costs to delivery my goods?!! As of this date I have no resolution of my claims and am looking at putting a large portion of personal funds to replace all that is missing and damaged. I would like to mention I am a senior citizen living on a fixed income. I only want what is fair, but being up against a large corporation seems to be hopeless. Giving me all of the above is the least they could do!!!!!

Business Response
Ms. ******* did contract us for relocation services. We did pick up her goods and place them into storage, with subsequent delivery to Colorado. During the storage process we had a mishap with one of her storage vaults from our forklift. Prior to her request for shipping it to Colorado, I called her and advised her of the accident in the warehouse and the damage caused to her personal possessions. I also advised her we would handle her claim in an expeditous manner for a quick resolution.

Since her delivery, we've been in constant contact with Ms. *******. We did need to initiate subsequent deliveries of her goods, because this was again related to the intial accident in the warehouse. To show good faith, we offered her a substantial reduction on her storage charges due to the mishap, and this reduction is over and above any claims settlements. This refund is being processed back to her credit card. We continue to try and do the right thing for her.

Her claim is in the settlement phase and her daughter has requested all communications proceed through her. This has caused Ms. ******* to feel we've stopped communicating with her and nothing is proceeding, when in reality, we are moving forward with full settlement. All items damaged beyond repair will be replaced and all items repairable will be repaired.

It appears by the complaint Ms. ******* prefers to have all moving costs refunded and a check written to her for the full valuation coverage amount. Unfortunately the settlement process does not work that way. But it does allow for repairs and replacement pieces, which we are in ther process of settling. In the end, we do hope Ms. ******* comes to understand the efforts we're putting forth and is happy with the final settlement of her issues.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Since they did not deliver half of my goods, I do not see why they should be paid for delivery that did not occur. It will be 3 months since I started filing claims forms to United for lost and damaged goods. At this time I can not even get the adjuster, ***** ******* to call me back or, even attempt to settle my claim. How long must this go on.? I still have my damaged goods sitting on my front porch as a reminder of this nightmare. What can I do to resolve this matter?

Final Business Response
Thank you for forwarding this information. If ******* ******* has requested a refund of two-thirds of her invoice for relocation, I am not in receipt of it. This type of refund is not a part of any policy. Her move was covered with valuation coverage and she is working directly with United Van Lines toward the full settlement of her claimed items. To my knowledge, they have extended a settlement offer, but I am not aware of whether they've reached a final settlement in that process. We hope she can obtain final settlement with this process soon.
Thank you.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/31/1979Business started: 01/01/1969
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Mayo Bldg Rm 217
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800
(850) 410-3800
http://www.800helpfla.com

Department of Transportation-Movers

Tallahassee, FL
(850) 414-4100
http://www.fhwa.dot.gov

Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

BBB records show a license number of IM215 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com.

Type: Intrastate Mover

BBB records show a license number of MC425403 for this company, issued by Department of Transportation-Movers. Their web address is http://www.fhwa.dot.gov.

Type: Department of Transportation

BBB records show a license number of USDOT1018395 for this company, issued by Department of Transportation-Movers. Their web address is http://www.fhwa.dot.gov.

Type: Department of Transportation

BBB records show a license number of WM22463 for this company, issued by Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Type: Weights and Measures

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1969, FL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Stephen M. Suddath (Chairman)Mr. James G. Barnett (Vice President)Ms. Barbara S. Strickland (Secretary)Mr. Barry S. Vaughn (CEO)
Contact Information
Mr. Michael Brannigan (CEO)Mr. Gary Paul (Vice President)
Business Category

Movers, Moving & Storage Company, Relocation Companies

Products & Services

This company offers relocation services for household moving, office moving, international moving, packing and storage. In addition, a supplier of portable containers for moving locally or long distance or storing goods.

Alternate Business Names
Suddath Relocation Systems

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Suddath Relocation Systems of St. Petersburg, Inc. has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Suddath Relocation Systems of St. Petersburg, Inc.

4756 122nd Ave N

Clearwater, FL 33762-4431

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4756 122nd Ave N 

    Clearwater, FL 33762-4431(727) 288-9673

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Suddath Relocation Systems of St. Petersburg, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.