BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/21/1994

Smart Move Moving & Storage, Inc.

(727) 327-5520View Additional Phone Numbers1601 22nd St N, Saint PetersburgFL 33713-5600View Additional Web AddressesFacebookLinkedIn

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/21/1994

BBB has determined that Smart Move Moving & Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Smart Move Moving & Storage, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Smart Move Moving & Storage, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
04/02/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Furniture was moved from Sarasota to storage and sent to St Augustine.On 1&2nd delivery items were missing. Compensation offered is insufficient.
We are attempting to receive compensation for items broken and missing. Company refuses to acknowledge items missing and compensate for them. Hiding behind document that was signed but agreeing we were not allowed to see inside the truck when items were delivered but rather we had to sign the document otherwise the would not allow them to be unloaded. They poorly packed a desk on its side before shipping rather than horizontally causing the desk to break. Compensation was at .60c /pound($142) on a desk which new was about $850 Also a wrought iron side table is missing and they are hiding behind the signed document even though they agree we could not see what what in the truck.

Desired Settlement
They have agree to pay $172 for the(Desk$142) and $30 for missing casters but nothing else. We thought initially a wheel was missing for a wrought iron lounger but found it hidden away it a garden pot later after the initial assessment and informed the company of this.. We would like $50 (estimate $50 to $100) for the missing antique wrought iron side table and believe $250 is a more realistic estimate for the broken desk repair which was negligently packed for moving. Total requested is therefore $172 plus $158total $330. The company was paid approximately $4000 for moving and storage.

Business Response
This letter is in response to the above referenced case number.
Moving services were performed by Smart Move Moving & Storage Inc. for the Dyson residence on 12/3/14 and 12/4/14. On 12/17/14, a claim for damage was submitted for damage via email for 4 damaged/missing items:
1) Damaged desk
2) Missing antique wheel
3) Missing wrought iron table base
4) (1) broken castor from (1) leg of chair.
A claim was opened and the following was established:
(1) Damaged desk-A representative from our company asked for a receipt or comparable sku/item number for the damaged desk. An email was provided for a comparable desk and is attached for your review. The liability for the desk is limited to $0.60/pound. If you reference the specifications on the desk, the weight is listed at 23$ lbs. At $0.60/pound, the maximum payout for the desk is $142.80. (0.60x238 lbs.)
(2) The missing antique wheel was found and reported on 01/06/15.
(3) The missing wrought iron table base was reported as lost. The customer signed paperwork on 12/4/14 stating that "Service was completed as ordered. Except as noted, all items/articles delivered and received in same condition." 2 items were listed on contract, none of which included this table base.
(4) Smart Move limits its liability regarding matching pieces or sets.
"Smart Move Moving & Storage Inc.'s liability with regard to matched pieces or sets shall be limited to repair or replacement, whichever is less of the lost or damaged piece(s) only and shall not extend to repair, replacement, or recovering the entire set."
Despite this clause in our coverage limits, we extended the offer to replace the entire set of casters. The amount to do so based on my conversation with Mr. ***** was $30.00.
On 3/11/15, I explained to Mr. ***** that we would be sending a check for $172.80...$142.80 for the desk and $30 for the casters. This was not satisfactory to Mr. ***** and a BBB complaint was subsequently filed. In an effort to close this claim and extend an offer of good faith, we are prepared to pay the $50 that Mr. ***** is asking for to replace the wrought iron table base. However, the maximum payout for the desk is $142.80. We are prepared to offer a settlement check for damages in full for $142.80(desk) + $50.00 (table base) + $30.00 (casters) for a total check of $222.80. Given that we went above and beyond the limits of liability that are clearly stated in the signed estimate and contract, we feel this is a very fair resolution to the matter.

Kind Regards,
****** ******
Operations Director

03/12/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
movers damaged a desk which took two weeks to get compensation. at time of discovery of damage to desk.also mentioned that our refrigerator had damage
upon delivery of our desk. when it was unwrapped it fell apart, due to negligence of the movers. we notified the company of the damage and, mentioned that our refrigerator was also damaged, we called our ***** of the problem by the time ***** came 8 days passed. when ***** checked the damage they found the bottom door hinge was bent and the door wood not close properly. the bill came to $248.00. we notified the company how much the damage was and was told the claim was denied.because it passed the deadline to file the claim. but the company was notified about the damages to both the desk and refrigerator. I could put in a claim for the refrigerator till ***** gave me an estimate.

Desired Settlement
pay for the damage to our refrigerator.

Business Response
This letter is in response to the above referenced customer complaint.
I have attached supporting documentation to back up the following statements.
On 12/29/14, we moved Mr. ******* from XXXX XXth ***** N in *** **** to XXXX XXth Street in ******** ***** One of the items moved was a particle board desk. Please note that on all moves a "Pre-Existing damage" form is completed by our driver and signed by each customer noting all prior damage to furniture. If you reference this form for the ******* move, you will see that the particle board desk was "loose all over, scratched, faded and very fragile." The customer acknowledged this fact by signing the form. If you also reference the back of the signed estimate and contract, it states "Smart Move's liability will be limited to sixty cents (.60) per pound on the following items: particle board, pressed wood, self-assembled furniture, concrete statues, any outdoor furniture or items that have been exposed to the elements (weather), any glass or marble or granite tops that are not crated." Mr. ******* filed his claim for damage to the desk via email on Friday 1/2/15, within the 5 day time frame stipulated in his contract. The claim was initially denied in writing, 2 business days later on Tuesday, 1/6/15 due to the extensive preexisting damage listed above. The customer rebutted and we re-evaluated the claim. Even though the proof was black and white in writing regarding the desk, we decided to issue a claim check out of good faith. The customer submitted all information regarding the desk and a check was mailed out on 1/16/15. On the check memo it states "damages paid in full."
When Mr. ******* called after his move, he was advised that all claims for damages must be submitted in writing within 5 days. He submitted a claim for the desk in writing but not the fridge. On 1/21/15, Mr. ******* emailed *** ******** to say he had received the check for the desk and that he would be submitting a claim for the damaged fridge....23 days after the move was coming to fix it. *** stated in a return email, "I have forwarded to claims dept. I don't directly deal with these, all I can advise you is DO NOT proceed and just submit a **** and expect payment." At that point, Mr. ******* stated that he would be contacting the Better Business Bureau.
We have performed all of our obligations to Mr. *******. We paid out on one claim for a desk, which was clearly damaged before, out of good faith. The claim for the fridge was not submitted within the allowable time frame, as stipulated in our contract terms and conditions. Mr. ******* was provided this paperwork outlining our terms and conditions, including how to file a claim, on 11/28/14...a month prior to his move. The claim was submitted 23 days after the move. For these reasons, this claim has been denied.
We thank you for taking the time to listen to our case and are available anytime for any questions.

01/29/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Biz says I owe past due amt but refuse me copies of invoices,statement,documentation.I deny claim of ANY past due amt.They deny access to my units!
We have had storage units at Smart Move since Feb. 2012. On 11/13/14 I called Smart Move office to authorize entry to my units by a third party. The office staff (******) told me 'ok'. When the party arrived they were denied access. After denying access I was called by the office staff and told the units are 'locked out' for past due balance.
I told her I was unaware of a past due balance.
I asked for copies of all invoices, statements and documents to substantiate charges resulting in past due balance. Smart Move provided partial statements that were incomplete. No invoices or documents were given. I cannot reconcile my acct with incomplete information.
I called the owner, *** ********. Wow! What a shock! He was shouting - he was rude - and he refused to send anything further. He told me I would 'get them attached to the lawsuit'.
The (incomplete) statement they did send had a charge for $1164.99 dated 7.31.14. This is an amount that has nothing to do with my account. I have never received an invoice for the charge - I wholly challenge responsibility for and dispute the charge.
This has truly been handled poorly by Smart Move. They have been under-handed and dishonest by omission - failing to inform me of a charge that to my acct is not mine, denying substantiation, failing to give me opportunity to challenge and dispute the past due claim - and denying access to my units due to the contested claim of a past due balance.
On the handling of the third party access denial; why was I not informed they would be denying access when I called in the authorization earlier in the day? Smart Move was fully aware someone was coming - that they would be denied access. Was this to embarrass me - to coerce me to pay a balance I do not owe?
I cannot imagine a consumer, let alone anyone in my age group retired who would subject themselves to be treated in this disrespectful intimidating and unprofessional manner.

Desired Settlement
The opportunity for me or my representative to review and confirm the validity of charges from documentation that they are due and my responsibility. Cooperation to supply me with proof of charges to my acct. Removal of charges that have been added to my acct that are inaccurate and/or not due. A resulting final written statement from Smart Move confirming the good standing of my acct.
Immediate access to and inspection of my units to ensure no damage or removal of items has occurred.
Unencumbered access to my belongings.
Immediate removal of lock out. Close out account without further harassment.


Business Response
Case #********-***** ******

I am slightly perplexed by this complaint...Ms. ****** has been receiving monthly invoices since she signed an agreement to lease a storage unit in February 2012. Monthly invoices list current and past due amounts for storage fees. Ms. ****** was also just provided with a detailed statement listing all invoices sent and all payments received from 2012-present. Per the signed agreement, "If tenant does not pay rent on due date, access will be denied on the fifth day, thereafter." Please find attached the storage lease agreement and most recent detailed statement that was recently provided to Ms. ******.
Regarding the charge for $1164.99 on July 31, 2014...Ms. ****** was advised of the charge at the time for services provided by Smart Move.
Ms. ****** called to authorize a third party access to her storage unit. Once I pulled her file I noticed that the unit had been locked out due to non-payment. I called Ms. ****** to advise her before anyone showed up here. Once the party arrived, who had obviously not heard from Ms. ******, they too were advised that the unit had been locked out and that they would not be able to access the unit.
On 11/24/14 our office received notice that Ms. ****** had retained an attorney to handle her payment dispute. Company policy prohibits us from commenting further due to possible litigation. Her file and payment records have been requested and are being submitted to her attorney.
Please let me know if I can assist further in this matter.

Thank you,


****** ******
Senior Operations Director
Smart Move Moving & Storage Inc
Corporate Office
XXXX XXnd Street North
Saint Petersburg, Florida XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We have had storage services since February 2012. I am asking for invoices from February 2012 until present. I am also asking for documentation for the charges that appear on the statement. The $1100 charge was not authorized and they need to document that it was my charge and not someone else's. They will not be able to prove this because it is not our charge. We were never notified of any late payment, we paid the bill every month. Now they have locked us out of our storage unit.

I believe the $1100 charge was from when I referred my son to them. They moved my son and he signed the paperwork authorizing them to move his belongings. They quoted him $500 and then they tried to charge him $1100 more. My son refused to pay the additional $1100. They called me and asked me to speak to him to pay the remaining bill. That had nothing to do with me. My son is a grown adult and they would have to take up the account with him. I did not want to be in the middle of that dispute. The company then put the outstanding balance on my bill and I never knew about it until November when they refused to allow me to gain access to my unit saying I was past due on my payment. That is when I discovered what they had done. This is not the right way to do business, I just want to get my belongings away from them at this point. I have paid my storage bill every month when it was due. They added my sons balance onto my account without ever notifying me and now they are holding my belongings and forcing me to incur more storage bills.



Business Response
I wanted to give you some positive news and an update with regards to the ****** dispute that we were unable to resolve with the BBB's help. As we have previously discussed I told you that I was going to give 150% to try and fix the unfortunate situation, knowing that litigation was probably the easiest way but I was determined to try every over avenue before having to take that last step.

Well I'm very happy to inform you that after many emails and phone conversations with MS ******'s attorney ***** ***** we were able to accomplish just that. Please see attached a copy of the letter and payment that has closed the disputed amount owed to Smart Move. Mr. ***** and I were able to discuss the entire matter and all of the complexities that went along with it and I must say it was a pleasure working with him. We believe all of MS ******'s concerns have now been satisfied and in our eyes are 100% behind us. MS ****** requested to rent her units for a least one more month which we were happy to oblige, and we also have extended the offer that if she so chooses can continue to rent form us as long as see wishes as opposed to having to pay the extra expense of hiring another mover and finding another facility knowing that just as always her belongs are safe and secure here.

I can't speak for MS ****** but I would like to believe that after her discussions with Mr. ***** her faith has been restored in our company and how we were always working with the very best of intentions and did so in a very transparent and professional manor. In closing I would like to thank you for all of your hard work you put into this and let you know it was very much appreciated. Please feel free to call me with any questions or concerns.

10/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Smart move sent 2 incompetent, inexperienced and totally under qualified people to handle the job. Move was estimated, by the managing partner, to take a total of 4 hrs but even after 12 hours they were not able to complete the job.. Two men came the following day to finish the work. During this agonizing move, the men created large amounts of damages to the exterior door of the condo we vacated along with damages to the walls, molding, doors and flooring in the new unit. In addition, they managed to damage beyond repair, 6 pieces of furniture in their feeble attempt to move the furniture into the new unit. Today, after 1 month of delays, excuses and misleading statements the Operations Manager made an offer of $200 to settle our claim. This is an unbelievable insult and unacceptable and feel that Smart Move took advantage of our advanced age.

Desired Settlement
We would be willing to accept a settlement payment of $950.00 for replacement of furniture and repairs to interior damages in our condo. We expect Smart Move to honor their promise to repair the dented front door at the condo we vacated without delay. It is now almost 6 weeks from this disaster and nothing has been done, absolutely nothing despite the many promises made.

Business Response
Have been in contact with customer on multiple occasions, to include an onsite visit. Have photo documented details of each aspect of complaint. Have arranged repairs for the move out unit and am waiting for customer to provide a contractor estimate for repairs to the move in unit. A value has been placed on the items in question of $247, and that offer has been made to the blacks. The value is based on market research for comparable items available on the used furniture market.

Final Consumer Response
This response was provided to BBB verbally:

We received the first payment. However, the second payment due by 9/15/13 has not been made. It is now 9/23, and I have not heard anything from the business.

Please send the $475 that was agreed to by the business.

Final Business Response

01/18/2016Problems with Product / Service
10/02/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Broken and missing items after 4 months in planned storage.

Worst move EVER Moved out of my old house in March of 2014 and put all my belongs in storage, with Smart Move, for 4 months until my new house was ready. The move out went fine. The move in was another story. Items had been repack by Smart move and 4 tall silk plant were destroyed by a broken floor lamp crammed into the same box. The glob for the lamp was missing. Was told twice that the locker was swapped out and nothing was found. When pushed on this , I was told they had found it. Part of my car ramps are missing. 8 items that were wrapped in bubble wrap and in side a plastic storage container were broken beyond repair. Just about all of our furniture was scratched or had small pieces missing.
Smart Move did NOTHING, as they said they did not pack anything and we were beyond 14 days. They gave us the wrong E-mail address twice. After 3 phone call, BY ME, I was give the right address and told I was beyond 14 days. IS THIS THE MOVER YOU WANT??

Desired Settlement
I think replace of the 4 plant an the floor would make up for ALL the damage that was done.

Business Response
This letter is in response to the above referenced case. I am also attaching supporting documents that I
will reference throughout this letter.
Per our contract signed by Mr. ****, Smart Move Moving & Storage, Inc. "shall not be liable for the loss
or destruction of/or damage to the items/articles tendered hereunder, or any part thereof, unless claim
is made in writing and filed with Smart Move Moving and Storage, Inc. within fifteen (15) days after the
date the items/articles are delivered." Unfortunately, Mr. **** did not submit his claim within that time
period. His move was on 06/21/14 and he submitted his claim in writing on 7/11/14. We simply did
not give him the wrong email address. Had that been the case, he would have received an email back
from his email provider stating that the email had been returned and could not be delivered. Please see
attached his email on 7/11/14 and our response on 7/15/14.
With regard to Mr. ****'s claim of "missing" items, car ramp parts and metal shelving, they were not
listed on his original inventory or warehouse receipt form. All items we moved are listed on the
warehouse receipt form, also attached for your reference.
lt should be noted as well that Smart Move gave Mr. **** a credit on his final bill in the amount of
$59.00 for a damaged lamp. Please find attached the credit on the final bill/contract.
Though we are unable to reach Mr. ****'s desired resolution due to our insurance guidelines stated
above and agreed to by Mr. ****, we would like to extend an offer of good faith. We would like to offer
one free month of storage (a $400 value) to Mr. ****.
Please contact me for further questions, comments or information via email or phone and I would be
happy to assist in this case.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Smart Move couldn't have giving a credit on the final bill as they did not know at this point that the lamp had been damage! Its very convention to hide behind this "WAREHOUSE LIST" as many small items were NOT LISTED!!!!!!!!
What good is free storage as I have moved and am on the other side of the state, how big of them

Final Business Response
The contract provided clearly shows the $59 that was credited to Mr. Noels final bill. Unfortunately, because Mr. ****'s claim was filed outside of the time frame per his signed paperwork, we are unable to honor his claim for any other damages.

11/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company moved us on Sept.23. During the move they destroyed a box spring and a bird bath as well as damaging a coffee table.
The two movers that moved us were like two bulls in a china shop. No consideration, whatsoever, about what they were doing. The banged into walls, were very rough with fragile items and did not protect the the furniture well enough to protect against their rough handling. It is amazing that there was not even more damage than there was. The movers made no effort to note the damages on the final paperwork after the move. We made sure that the damaged items were noted on the signed bill after the move was completed. The movers wanted us to pay in cash or check (that raised a red flag) and we insisted to use Amex instead, which we did.

On Sept. 24 I emailed the company and told them that I wanted to file a damages complaint. I sent pictures of all of the damage (estimated at $325) They told me that our claim number was ******* and that it would take 7 - 10 days for processing.

On Sept. 28 I followed up asking how a claims damage claim would be paid - check or credit to Amex. In an email on Sept. 30 from Smart Move it was apparent that nothing had yet to be done to resolve the matter and I told them that I would contact Amex to alert them about my credit card charge, which I did. This apparently got Smart Move annoyed. They also said, since we contacted Amex they would no longer be able to proceed with the claim. By this time, as we have been settling in after our move. We proceeded to have the damages taken care of on our own and submitted paid receipts for the repaired coffee table and a new replacement box spring (totaling $281.38)We had not yet replaced the bird bath estimated at another $60.

On Oct 8 Smart Move emailed me back. Apparently still nothing had been done to resolve ths case (18 days after the move). They now claimed that they would have sent a rep to our house to assess the claims and make repairs themselves but since I had already taken care of the repairs of the box spring and coffee table they washed their hands of issuing any reparations for those damages. How convenient, on their part. They Now claim that no payments for damages will be coming, especially since I got Amex involved. Wow, nice customer service. That will get them lots of referals.

This is a totally unreputable company both in the quality of the movers as well as the management. Depending on their response to BBB I will be proceding to contact the consumer protection dept. of the local TV stations to obtain their assistance as well and to further expose this disreputable company.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund for actual damages, most of which has already been paid for out of my own pocket and supported by paid receipts. $281.38 + $60 = $341.38

Business Response
Dear Sirs:
In response to above case number dispute, please find enclosed the following.
Submitted Documents
1.) Contract for services (signed by cardholder) -- Attachment A-1
2.) Estimate for services (signed by cardholder) -- Attachment A-2
3.) Copy of Smart M0ve's Terms and Conditions - Attachment B
4.) Email correspondences -- Attachment C1, C2, C3
Document Summary
1.) Attachment A-1 - This is a copy of the Contract that was submitted and
subsequently signed by the cardholder on the day of the move. The cardholder
agreed to the price and terms of the Contract.
2.) Attachment A-2 - This is a copy of the Estimate that was given to the customer at
the end of an in house visit on 9/12/13.
3.) Attachment B -- This is a copy of our TXXXXXX and Conditions. It is printed on the
back of every Estimate and Contract, including the ones signed by the cardholder.
The cardholder received a copy if this 11 days prior to his move.
4.) Attachment's C1, C2, C3 -- These are copies of email correspondence from Smart
Move to the customer.
a. C 1 ~ Top 2 emails dated 9/30/13 and 9/28/13. Two separate emails
explaining the initial processing procedure for claim disputes.
b. C2 -- This email contains our final assessment of this damage claim.
c. C3 ~ This email was sent to inform the customer that we would not be
refunding the earlier agreed upon amount of $60.00 until this dispute was
complete. This is what American Express advised us to do.

PLEASE NOTE
This customer is using American Express's dispute policy to settle an issue that has
NOTHING to do with American Express. The customer has submitted a damage
claim with our company. By placing this dispute, it would appear that he is now
covering his basis and attempting to recover the cost of his move in the event that he
is not happy with the results of his damage claim.
Smart Move performed a service for the cardholder (the move). The cardholder's
Damage Claim and subsequent repairs or reimbursement are a completely separate
business transaction.
0 This customer submitted a claim to our claims department on 9/24.
0 He was informed within 6 hours of his submission and on 4 separate occasions
over a 4 day period via email that the claim would take 7-10 business days to
process and at the end of this time period he would be contacted and alerted as to
how the company wishes to proceed.
0 Within 3 days of submitting his damage claim, the customer took it upon himself
to get some of the repairs completed and replace one of the items he was claiming
damage on.
0 We informed the customer in our email (Attachment C-2) that according to the
terms and conditions of his Contract, "Smart Move shall be given reasonable
opportunity to inspect alleged external or concealed damage in the original
package. The decision to repair or replace any such item/article shall be
determined by the company."
0 The customer made repairs and replaced 3 of the 3 items he was claiming
damages on without informing us ahead of time and without giving us the
opportunity to inspect the items.
0 Therefore, according to the terms and conditions of the signed contract, he has
forfeited any chance of reimbursement or repairs paid by Smart Move for these 2
items. The 3"' item has not been fixed or replace.
0 We agreed to pay the customer the amount he was asking to replace this piece.
We will not approve a discount to the cardholder. This cardholder SHOULD NOT be
allowed to take advantage of the credit card company's legitimate dispute process in this
manner. This cardholder SHOULD NOT be allowed to "double dip" from both ends
of our Company. He should not get reimbursement for damage and not have to pay for
his move. Our company does not complete damage assessments or payouts until we have
been paid for the job. This is a common business practice and an industry standard.
We WILL NOT make any pay outs to this cardholder. However, if we are awarded the
payment in full, we will happily refund $60.00 to his account.
Thank you for your interest in this matter.

Respectfully,
******** ********
President

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If this company would have spent 1/4 the time in doing the right thing after they damaged our items in a move, instead of spending all of their time trying to avoid settling any damage complaints, maybe they might have gotten some small complement for doing that. But no - all they did is make it as hard as possible to settle a claim. Our first clue of a potential problem was after the move, and before final payment. The movers did not make any notes on the paperwork of the damages until we insisted they do so. Then they requested check or cash for payment instead of credit card. We insisted on credit card payment because the whole transaction felt sleezy. Glad we did the credit card or this whole thing would have had no exposure. Now, because we tried to put pressure on them by issuing a complaint though our credit card company, they are refusing to make any payments for damages whatsoever. They are quick to rely on their small print on the back of their contract as an easy out and delay tactic. Well this is my small print and I hope the world reads it. This is a company to stay away from for any moves. There are plenty of reliable movers out there without getting involved with this one. Hopefully, at this rate, this company will go out of business and no one will have to have to deal with them. On to small claims court now. See you in court.

03/29/2013Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/11/1994Business started: 05/04/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Mayo Bldg Rm 217
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800
(850) 410-3800
http://www.800helpfla.com

Business Tax Receipt/St Petersburg
PO Box 2842
Saint Petersburg, FL 33731-2842
(727) 893-7241
http://www.stpete.org/billing/business tax division

BBB records show a license number of IM247 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com.

Type: Intrastate Mover

BBB records show a license number of 15-00008371 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/St Petersburg. Their web address is http://www.stpete.org/billing/business tax division.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 15-00008370 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/St Petersburg. Their web address is http://www.stpete.org/billing/business tax division.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1994, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Benjamin J. Saunders (President)Mr. Brennan Hervey (Secretary)Mrs. Barbara Saunders (Vice President)
Business Category

Movers, Storage Units, Packing Crating Companies

Alternate Business Names
Smart Move Moving Company, Inc. (Old Name)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Smart Move Moving & Storage, Inc. has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Smart Move Moving & Storage, Inc.

1601 22nd St N

Saint Petersburg, FL 33713-5600

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1601 22nd St N 

    Saint Petersburg, FL 33713-5600

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Smart Move Moving & Storage, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (727) 443-2464
  • (813) 221-0231
  • (800) 258-4398
  • (941) 746-3800
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.