BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
West Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1993

Atlantic Relocation Systems

Phone: (813) 886-7726Fax: (813) 886-6321View Additional Phone Numbers5415 Pioneer Park Blvd, TampaFL 33634-4454

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1993

BBB has determined that Atlantic Relocation Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Atlantic Relocation Systems' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
10/18/2012Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Delivery Complaint Issue

Complaint: I'M NOT SATISFIED WITH THE SERVICE I RECEIVED AND ALSO HOW THE COMPANY HAS HANDLED ALL OF MY BROKEN ITEMS.
I MOVED FROM LAKELAND TO BOYNTON BEACH ON JUNE 9 USING ATLANTIC RELOCATION TO MOVE MY THINGS TO A STORAGE UNIT AND SOME TO MY SON'S HOUSE. TO START WITH, THEY WEREN'T FRIENDLY AND DIDN'T SAY MUCH WHICH MADE ME FEEL UNCOMFORTABLE BUT THAT ISN'T MY REAL COMPLAINT. I WAS AT MY SON'S HOUSE JUNE 9 AT 10:00 AM. THEY SHOWED UP AT 1 PM WITHOUT EVEN CONTACTING ME ABOUT BEING LATE. I HAD TO CALL THEM WHICH THEY DIDN'T EVEN ANSWER THE CALL. THEY CALLED BACK LATER. I DID SIGN A FORM SAYING I WOULD TAKE THE 60 CENTS PER LB IF SOMETHING WAS BROKEN. THE YOUNG, INEXPERIENCED KID WAS THE ONE THAT TOOK THE INSIDE GLASS OF MY CHINA CABINET AND SAT IT ON CONCRETE, NOT EVEN COVERED AND BROKE IT. THEY PAID ME $50 BUT IT COSTS $270 TO REPLACE. I THINK I DESERVE MORE MONEY JUST BECAUSE HE WAS REALLY DUMB AT HOW HE HANDLED THE GLASS. I WAS LOOKING FOR A HOUSE HERE AND EXPLAINED TO **** IN CLAIMS THAT I WOULD NEED MORE THAN 30 DAYS TO CHECK THINGS IN STORAGE TO FILE A CLAIM BUT SHE SAID I ONLY HAD 30 DAYS AND I COULD LOOK THRU IT AND FILE IT WHICH WOULD BE PHYSICALLY IMPOSSIBLE BECAUSE THE STORAGE UNIT IS 8 X 11 AND 40 FT HIGH. NOW THAT I'VE MOVED 60 DAYS LATER, MY COMPUTER DESK WAS BROKEN, HARD DRIVE TO COMPUTER AND NO NUTS AND BOLTS FOUND FOR KITCHEN TABLE. THIS IS $600 WORTH OF DAMAGE AND ******, SUPERVISOR OFFERED $100. THE LAST MOVING COMPANY MADE ME SIGN A WAIVER SINCE THE PACKING AND STACKING OF THE BOXES WERE SO BAD, THEY DIDN'T WANT TO BE RESPONSIBLE. I JUST FEEL THAT UNDER THE CIRCUMSTANCES OF NOT BEING ABLE TO CHECK MY THINGS IN 30 DAYS, THEY COULD HAVE TRIED TO BE MORE UNDERSTANDING ABOUT THE SITUATION, ESPECIALLY SINCE I HAD SO MANY THINGS THAT WERE BROKEN. I WOULD LIKE MORE MONEY TO REPLACE MY THINGS.

Business' Initial Response
Mrs. ******'s concerns regarding her claims settlement are understood and have been addressed in accordance with the released liability that Mrs. ****** signed for, namely 60 cents per pound per article. Mrs. ****** was offered our full replacement coverage option but chose the free 60 cent per pound option over the cost to purchase the Full Replacement Protection. The $54 settlement she received for her glass shelf is based on the weight of the china cabinet (90 lbs). I am faxing the BBB the terms and conditions listed on our bill of lading along with the extensive notes that our customer service mgr recorded during Mrs. ******'s move. These notes along with the clear terms explaining the time frame limitations for filing claims will clearly show that Mrs. ****** was aware of our process and of the fact that our limit of liability was 60 cents per pound per article. The subsequent claim for damage to a computer and a desk were well beyond the time limit for filing a claim and the mechanical condition of the computer prior to her move cannot be determined. The additional $100 settlement was offered as a compromise to Mrs. ****** to help her with the extra cost for her expensive piece of glass as a customer service gesture and she seemed to accept this settlement when it was offered. Her complaint to the BBB is somewhat upsetting considering her complete understanding of our released liability and our offer above and beyond that liability. Atlantic Relocation Systems offers superior service and customer service and we are truly sorry that we were unable to please Mrs. ******. Unfortunately in this situation, the additional $100 is all that we can offer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, they DO NOT offer superior service and customer service. If they did, we wouldn't be going thru this right now. As far as the $100, that was suppose to be for the broken computer desk which is cheap for a desk. I could have asked for more and HAVE NOT even received that. I also spoke to **** and explained the situation that I wouldn't be able to check the other items within the 30 day claim period because it was in storage and I hadn't bought my house till after two months. I thought they could possibly work with me on this since I had strong concerns about other items being broken but they did not. They could offer more if they wanted to. I have friends in Illinois that own a moving company and they make sure their customers are satisfied. This company obviously doesn't really care about this or they would go above and beyond to help. I realize about the 60 cents per lb but under the circumstance still feel they could do more considering the movers did such a poor job at moving my furniture! And again, I tried to explain to **** that I couldn't check everything in storage within 30 days but she was not compassionate about my situation at all. I will never use them again and will for sure let anyone else know not to also.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/10/1993Business started: 10/10/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Mayo Bldg Rm 217
Tallahassee, FL32399-0800
(850) 410-3800
http://www.800helpfla.com

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

BBB records show a license number of IM110 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com.

Type: Intrastate Mover

BBB records show a license number of 10536 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Business Management
W. F. Johnson (Secretary/ Treasurer)Mr. Jon Schroeder (President)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Hoffman (Vice President/General Manager)
Business Category

Movers, Storage Units, Movers -– International, Office Movers, Moving & Storage Company, House & Building Movers

Products & Services

This company offers

Alternate Business Names
Effort Enterprises of Florida, Inc.
Industry Tips
Planning a Cost-Effective Move
Relocating Across State Lines? Know Your Rights and Responsibilities
Spotting Rogue Movers Before They Have Your Goods
Tips on Renting a Self-Storage Unit

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Atlantic Relocation Systems

5415 Pioneer Park Blvd

Tampa, FL 33634-4454

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5415 Pioneer Park Blvd 

    Tampa, FL 33634-4454

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Atlantic Relocation Systems is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 292-6444
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.