BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/08/2010

American Nationwide Mortgage

Phone: (800) 375-8698Fax: (813) 978-1075View Additional Phone Numbers3820 Northdale Blvd Ste 111A, TampaFL 33624-1842View Additional Web AddressesLinkedIn

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/08/2010

BBB has determined that American Nationwide Mortgage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Nationwide Mortgage's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on American Nationwide Mortgage

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchase a home through American Nationwide Mortgage Company and after we closed they changed the payments on me resulting in a 10k difference.
On August 1st I closed on a home through American Nationwide Mortgage Company. The address of the home is 1700 Gray Road. The process up until closing and right after was a smooth one even though I had to get flood insurance. On August 29, 2014 I received a phone call from a lady named ****** that works for American Nationwide. She told me that there was a problem with the loan. She said that they were unable to sell the loan to Well Fargo because the Flood insurance doesn't match the homeowners. The loan was for 137k, the flood was for 160k (more than covering my loan) and the homeowners was for 185k (the house is all stone). ****** told me that I had to do one of 2 things lower my homeowners or up my flood to 250k. She stated that American Nationwide would cover the difference in the flood policy to get it to 250k to sell it to Wells Fargo and that I could lower it back down when it sold. I told her that i didn't feel okay with lower the home owners, my flood covers my loan, I would like to research if Wells Fargo would let me lower it back and asked here to please see if another investor would buy my loan from them. She said that she would. I didn't hear another word from American Nationwide until they send me a letter in mail on Sept 8. The letter stated that they increased my coverage on my flood insurance and they paid the increase in premium of $339 for me. They also sent me a new payment letter where my payment went up by over 30 dollars a month and asked that I sign and send back to them (which I did not sign or send back). I called ***** and *** the next morning to see if American Nationwide did raise my flood insurance to 250k and they stated yes. I then called ****** at American Nationwide to ask why she didn't get with me 1st of the issue and if it was common practices to change peoples payment amount and insurance amount without them being aware. I also told her that I called Wells Fargo and they stated that I could not change my flood to be less than full replacement on my loan as long as they have the loan. She stated that she was out of town when it happen and would get back with me. She later called and left me a voice mail stating that *** the owner of the company stated it is what it is and there is nothing they can do, they can't sell the loan to anyone else and she said she would have *** call me. I emailed ****** again a few days later about how I had not heard from *** the owner of the company. I stated in the email how disappointed in this company I was. *** called me later that day, he told me that they couldn't sell the loan to anyone else and they had to up my flood insurance because they had to sell the loan. On or around 9/17 I received another letter in the mail from Nationwide. In this letter it states that has been sold to Wells Fargo Bank and that my payments now need to me made through them.

Desired Settlement
I am not seeking a settlement really, I just want to express to you all how helpless it feels when you have a big business just tell you the way it is going to be. I did everything right in the purchase of this home and had all my ducks in a row. They should have done their homework and found out before closing that Wells Fargo needed the flood a homeowners insurance to match. I don't feel it is right that this company called my flood insurance company (after closing) and changed my policy by 90k without my knowledge or blessing and just send me a letter stating what they did after the fact along with me new payment rate to sign. The change that American Nationwide made that day will cost me 10,170 dollars over the life of the loan. That is 10,170 dollars more than what I agreed to when I signed my closing papers that day. In the letter with my new payment information it states that in order to move forward with your file we need this new payment letter signed and returned to us, I never signed this letter and they still moved forward and sold my loan to Wells Fargo. I don't ever what another person to have to go through the stress that this company has caused me. I feel like American Nationwide is only focused on the selling of the loan in the end and not looking out for their customers. I am very disappointed. If you have any questions please feel free to give me a call XXX-XXX-XXXX

Business Response
This is for the branch in Chattanooga, TN


Sincerely,

** ******
American Nationwide Mortgage Company
**** ********* **** ***** ****
Tampa, FL XXXXX
Telephone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ***
Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Email: *****@americannationwide.com
NMLS# XXXXX


Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

I don't have any complaints about the branch in TN. The problem is when the loan got to the branch in FL they called and said they couldn't process the loan because Wells Fargo didn't want to accept he loan because the replacement cost insurance was $285,000. I understand that the appraisal didn't have the replacement cost on it. They told me I had to lower my home owners insurance or raise my flood insurance to $250,000. I did not want to change my home owners insurance and it didn't seem right to raise the flood insurance when my loan was much less. The FL branch said they got a quote for raising the flood and they would pay for it. I told her I wanted to research it first before doing anything. I researched and found I would have to keep the flood coverage for the life of the loan. The Tampa branch never called me back and then I got a letter in the mail saying they paid the increase in flood insurance and raised my mortgage payment by $30/month. I called to complain that they did this without my permission. I never signed agreeing to pay the higher mortgage. I don't feel like they should be able to just make the decision without my approval and I believe some type of compensation should be due for them making a $10,000 decision on my mortgage without my consent.

Final Business Response
****** *** closed on a home loan near the end of August. The investor was having an issue with purchase of this file because it is there policy to have Flood Insurance and Hazard insurance coverage to have the same amount of dwelling coverage. In Kendras case her Hazard Insurance had a higher dwelling coverage than her Flood Insurance.
l called her to discuss the issue and the possible remedies to resolve the problem. Our choice was either to raise the Flood Insurance or reduce the Hazard Insurance so that both policies had the same coverage.
****** did state that she wanted to investigate her options by calling both her Insurance companies and the end lender (in this case Wells Fargo.
I left for vacation on August 30, 2014 and returned on September 10, 2014. During my absence the Flood insurance was increased and was paid for by American Nationwide Mortgage and notification was sent to ******. She did call upon my return and said she was not happy with the decision made. We called her to let her know that there were no other options and that increase of Flood insurance was necessary for the finalization of her loan.
Regards,
****** *****
American Nationwide Mortgage Co Inc
XXXXX *********** **
Odessa, FL XXXXX

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/13/1996Business started: 05/09/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL 33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

Department of Financial Services
200 E Gaines St
Tallahassee, FL 32399
(877) 693-5236
http://www.myfloridacfo.com

BBB records show a license number of 24081 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 13392 for this company, issued by Department of Financial Services. Their web address is http://www.myfloridacfo.com.

Type: Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System

BBB records show a license number of 32883 for this company, issued by Department of Financial Services. Their web address is http://www.myfloridacfo.com.

Type: Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System

BBB records show a license number of MLD394 for this company, issued by Department of Financial Services. Their web address is http://www.myfloridacfo.com.

Type: Office of Financial Regulation

Check License Status: http://www.flofr.comMLD394

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of LO2242 for this company, issued by Department of Financial Services. Their web address is http://www.myfloridacfo.com.

Type: Office of Financial Regulation

Check License Status: http://www.flofr.comLO2242

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1996, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James B. Rogers (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Edward S. Rogers (Director)
Business Category

Mortgage Brokers, Reverse Mortgage Companies, Mortgage Bankers, Mortgage Lender, Mortgages - Buy & Sell, Escrow Services

Alternate Business Names
American Nationwide Mortgage Company, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Nationwide Mortgage

3820 Northdale Blvd Ste 111A

Tampa, FL 33624-1842

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3820 Northdale Blvd Ste 111A 

    Tampa, FL 33624-1842Fax: (813) 964-1269

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Nationwide Mortgage is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (813) 964-1268

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (813) 964-1269
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Mortgage Brokers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.