BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/30/2012

AMS WC, Inc.

Phone: (800) 282-3572Fax: (727) 471-0838View Additional Phone Numbers6334 118th Ave N, LargoFL 33773-3728

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/30/2012

BBB has determined that AMS WC, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AMS WC, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on AMS WC, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
04/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brand new window condensation
Window installation completed on 3/19/15 noticed condensation on 3/20 and notified company. Owner came out and said it could happen. Purchasing brand new window this should not occur.

Desired Settlement
A window without condensation

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******/ OWNER
Contact Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@msn.com
RESPONSE: I WENT TO CUSTOMERS HOME PERSONALY AND YES THE WINDOWS DO CONDENSATE ON THE EXTERIOR ONLY AND THIS IS NORMAL DUE TO WEATHER.TEMPERATURE,HUMIDITY AND LOCATION. WE GAVE HER INFORMATION TO EXPLAIN THIS.KEEPING IN MIND NO WINDOW MANUFACTURER WARRANTS WINDOWS AGAINST THIS. IF THE WINDOWS FOG BETWEEN THE INSULATED GLASS THIS IS A SEAL FAILURE AND WOULD BE A WARRANTY ISSUE BUT THIS IS NOT THE ISSUE .THE WINDOWS DO NOT CONDENSATE EVERY DAY AND WHEN THEY DO AS SOON AS THE OUTSIDE TEMP. RISES THE WINDOWS ARE PERFECTLY CLEAR.WE EVEN HAD THE ENGINEERING REP FROM THE MANUFACTURE CALL HER TO EXPLAIN THAT THIS IS NORMAL.THE WINDOW ARE COVERSD UNDER A LIFE TIME WARRANTY BUT NOT FOR CONDENSATION...I AM MORE THEN WILLING TO MEET WITH THE OWNER AND THE WINDOW MANUFACTURES REP AT ANY TIME THAT IS CONVENENT FOR HER.. WE HAVE NOTHING TO HIDE AND HAVE NO REASON TO NOT RESOLVE THE COMPLAINT LOGICLY.. SHE IS A RETURN CUSTOMER OF OURS AND HOPE TO KEEP HER HAPPY WITH OUR PRODUCTS AND INSTALLATION. P.S. I TAKE GREAT PRIDE IN OUR A+ RATING WITH THE BBB AND WOULD NEVER LET THIS DROP THROUGH FAILURE TO TRY AND RESOLVE ANY CUSTOMER CONSERNS OR COMPLAINTS...SINCERLY , ***** ****** . OWNER AMS WC INC.. X-XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I now understand that the condensation can happen and was not an issue with the window or the installation. However, when living on a fixed income, it is frustrating to spend over $1100 on a home improvement and feel that the product is less satisfying than the product it was replacing. As a returning customer who was satisfied with their first purchase (an identical window) my expectations were higher for this product. I now understand that this can happen. I am just not happy about it. Perhaps explaining that the window "may condensate and this is normal" is something that should be part of the pre-installation briefing.

04/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Waiting for correct screens for 2 windows installed in March 2013. No delivery of screens and no calls with status.
On 2/1/2013 we ordered and made down payment for new windows and vinyl siding for our Florida room on our mobile, ord ********* Windows were installed late March and vinyl siding was completed about 3 wks later. When the windows were installed the installer (quality worker) was made aware the screens for 2 windows were wrong. Two front windows were to have full screens to be consistent with new windows installed in 2012 in the full mobile. He agreed they should have been and must not have been ordered correctly.
When remaining work was later completed we still had not heard a word from AMS about the replacement screens.
We finally were told when the remaining account was paid in full on 4/23/2013 that it would take 2 to 3 weeks to get the screens. Since we were leaving for Ohio for the summer about 10 days later we requested a letter agreeing that the screens and a broken window from the 2012 installation that also needed replacing would be done upon our return in the fall of 2013. We did receive the letter dated 4/24/2013 signed by ***** ******.
We contacted AMS early Nov. 2013 and were told the screens and window were there and would be taken care within a week. About 2 weeks later installer arrived here but none were the right size. The window was finally replaced in mid Jan. 2014. The 2 screens still have not been replaced. We were told **** was who we needed to talk to, but **** seems to not want to return telephone calls. Last call we made to AMS was early last week. After no call back we called again and was told he was out, the girl in the office put us in touch with a factory rep in Kentucky, who informed us the screens had already been shipped and should be at AMS. He was going to call AMS and talk to ****. We still haven't heard from AMS.

AMS handles quality products and has good installers, but once the work is supposedly done aand the bill is paid they don't want to talk to you anymore. At least that has been our experience and we have given them over $12000 in business in less than 3 years. Their customer service is non existent.
At this point we would not recommend AMS to anyone as there are other companies in the area that handle the same products from the same company.

Desired Settlement
We want the correct screens delivered here & installed.

Business Response
Everything written is fairly accurate but as you read the customer complaint you can see that he is or was very happy with our products and installation. We do not make our own windows and the manufacturer has sent the wrong screens on ( 3 ) different occasions. The Service Manager for Vi-Win-Tek is now in direct contact with Mr.***** to resolve this issue with our 100% commitment to complete the job. As for the non-existent customer service comment,I am sure this is only a statement from a frustrated customer who is simply tired of waiting. We apologize that this issue has compelled our customer to make a complaint to the BBB. Please understand that he was not neglected nor treated with any disrespect and we will do what we can to keep Mr.***** as a repeat customer. Sincerely, ***** ******

Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The company called us a couple weeks ago saying they had the screens and they would be installed a couple of days later. That was supposed to have been last week but the company did not show up and no one has called since. We are fed up with the company.

Final Business Response

Everything written is fairly accurate,but as you read the customer complaint you can see
that he is or was very happy with our products and installation.
We do not make our own windows and the manufacturer has sent the wrong screens on
( 3 ) different occasions.
The Service Manager for Vi-Win-Tek is now in direct contact with Mr.***** to resolve
this issue with our 100% commitment to complete the job.
As for the non-existent customer service comment,I am sure this is only a statement from
a frustrated customer who is simply tired of waiting.
We apologize that this issue has compelled our customer to make a complaint to the
BBB.
Please understand that he was not neglected nor treated with any disrespect and we will
do what we can to keep Mr.***** as a repeat customer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The screens are now in. Only point on their response that I will comment to is about "customer service". The lack of customer service comment was more than just a frustrated customer. Even when bringing the screens the owner appeared at our door with no prior call to say he would be here. We were about to get ready to leave for airport to pick up family. A company concerned with customer service would have called ahead to be sure the time was going to be convenient.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/1981Business started: 01/01/1981New Owner Date: 08/24/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Pinellas County Construction License Board
12600 Belcher Road, Suite 102
Largo, FL 33773
(727) 582-3100
http://www.pcclb.com

Pasco County Contractor's License
7530 Little Rd
New Port Richey, FL 34654-5598
(727) 847-8009

Hernando County Contractor Licensing Div
789 Providence Blvd
Brooksville, FL 34601-3043
(352) 754-4050

BBB records show a license number of CGC1515749 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of I-CGC1515749 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CCC1329853 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of I-CCC1329853 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 019312 for this company, issued by Pasco County Contractor's License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CGC1515749 for this company, issued by Hernando County Contractor Licensing Div.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CCC1329853 for this company, issued by Hernando County Contractor Licensing Div.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2008, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry W. Getgen (President)Mr. Dale Andrews (Vice President)
Business Category

Mobile Home Repairmen, General Contractors, Roofers, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Siding Contractors, Remodeling Services, Window Installation Companies, Contractors-Aluminum, Hurricane Storm Protection, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Windows - Vinyl

Alternate Business Names
Advanced Mobile Home Systems

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AMS WC, Inc.

6334 118th Ave N

Largo, FL 33773-3728

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6334 118th Ave N 

    Largo, FL 33773-3728(727) 471-0820
    Fax: (727) 471-0838

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AMS WC, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (727) 471-0820
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Mobile Home Repairmen

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.