BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/30/2012

AMS WC, Inc.

Phone: (800) 282-3572Fax: (727) 471-0838

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
04/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brand new window condensation
Window installation completed on 3/19/15 noticed condensation on 3/20 and notified company. Owner came out and said it could happen. Purchasing brand new window this should not occur.

Desired Settlement
A window without condensation

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******/ OWNER
Contact Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@msn.com
RESPONSE: I WENT TO CUSTOMERS HOME PERSONALY AND YES THE WINDOWS DO CONDENSATE ON THE EXTERIOR ONLY AND THIS IS NORMAL DUE TO WEATHER.TEMPERATURE,HUMIDITY AND LOCATION. WE GAVE HER INFORMATION TO EXPLAIN THIS.KEEPING IN MIND NO WINDOW MANUFACTURER WARRANTS WINDOWS AGAINST THIS. IF THE WINDOWS FOG BETWEEN THE INSULATED GLASS THIS IS A SEAL FAILURE AND WOULD BE A WARRANTY ISSUE BUT THIS IS NOT THE ISSUE .THE WINDOWS DO NOT CONDENSATE EVERY DAY AND WHEN THEY DO AS SOON AS THE OUTSIDE TEMP. RISES THE WINDOWS ARE PERFECTLY CLEAR.WE EVEN HAD THE ENGINEERING REP FROM THE MANUFACTURE CALL HER TO EXPLAIN THAT THIS IS NORMAL.THE WINDOW ARE COVERSD UNDER A LIFE TIME WARRANTY BUT NOT FOR CONDENSATION...I AM MORE THEN WILLING TO MEET WITH THE OWNER AND THE WINDOW MANUFACTURES REP AT ANY TIME THAT IS CONVENENT FOR HER.. WE HAVE NOTHING TO HIDE AND HAVE NO REASON TO NOT RESOLVE THE COMPLAINT LOGICLY.. SHE IS A RETURN CUSTOMER OF OURS AND HOPE TO KEEP HER HAPPY WITH OUR PRODUCTS AND INSTALLATION. P.S. I TAKE GREAT PRIDE IN OUR A+ RATING WITH THE BBB AND WOULD NEVER LET THIS DROP THROUGH FAILURE TO TRY AND RESOLVE ANY CUSTOMER CONSERNS OR COMPLAINTS...SINCERLY , ***** ****** . OWNER AMS WC INC.. X-XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I now understand that the condensation can happen and was not an issue with the window or the installation. However, when living on a fixed income, it is frustrating to spend over $1100 on a home improvement and feel that the product is less satisfying than the product it was replacing. As a returning customer who was satisfied with their first purchase (an identical window) my expectations were higher for this product. I now understand that this can happen. I am just not happy about it. Perhaps explaining that the window "may condensate and this is normal" is something that should be part of the pre-installation briefing.

04/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Waiting for correct screens for 2 windows installed in March 2013. No delivery of screens and no calls with status.
On 2/1/2013 we ordered and made down payment for new windows and vinyl siding for our Florida room on our mobile, ord ********* Windows were installed late March and vinyl siding was completed about 3 wks later. When the windows were installed the installer (quality worker) was made aware the screens for 2 windows were wrong. Two front windows were to have full screens to be consistent with new windows installed in 2012 in the full mobile. He agreed they should have been and must not have been ordered correctly.
When remaining work was later completed we still had not heard a word from AMS about the replacement screens.
We finally were told when the remaining account was paid in full on 4/23/2013 that it would take 2 to 3 weeks to get the screens. Since we were leaving for Ohio for the summer about 10 days later we requested a letter agreeing that the screens and a broken window from the 2012 installation that also needed replacing would be done upon our return in the fall of 2013. We did receive the letter dated 4/24/2013 signed by ***** ******.
We contacted AMS early Nov. 2013 and were told the screens and window were there and would be taken care within a week. About 2 weeks later installer arrived here but none were the right size. The window was finally replaced in mid Jan. 2014. The 2 screens still have not been replaced. We were told **** was who we needed to talk to, but **** seems to not want to return telephone calls. Last call we made to AMS was early last week. After no call back we called again and was told he was out, the girl in the office put us in touch with a factory rep in Kentucky, who informed us the screens had already been shipped and should be at AMS. He was going to call AMS and talk to ****. We still haven't heard from AMS.

AMS handles quality products and has good installers, but once the work is supposedly done aand the bill is paid they don't want to talk to you anymore. At least that has been our experience and we have given them over $12000 in business in less than 3 years. Their customer service is non existent.
At this point we would not recommend AMS to anyone as there are other companies in the area that handle the same products from the same company.

Desired Settlement
We want the correct screens delivered here & installed.

Business Response
Everything written is fairly accurate but as you read the customer complaint you can see that he is or was very happy with our products and installation. We do not make our own windows and the manufacturer has sent the wrong screens on ( 3 ) different occasions. The Service Manager for Vi-Win-Tek is now in direct contact with Mr.***** to resolve this issue with our 100% commitment to complete the job. As for the non-existent customer service comment,I am sure this is only a statement from a frustrated customer who is simply tired of waiting. We apologize that this issue has compelled our customer to make a complaint to the BBB. Please understand that he was not neglected nor treated with any disrespect and we will do what we can to keep Mr.***** as a repeat customer. Sincerely, ***** ******

Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

The company called us a couple weeks ago saying they had the screens and they would be installed a couple of days later. That was supposed to have been last week but the company did not show up and no one has called since. We are fed up with the company.

Final Business Response

Everything written is fairly accurate,but as you read the customer complaint you can see
that he is or was very happy with our products and installation.
We do not make our own windows and the manufacturer has sent the wrong screens on
( 3 ) different occasions.
The Service Manager for Vi-Win-Tek is now in direct contact with Mr.***** to resolve
this issue with our 100% commitment to complete the job.
As for the non-existent customer service comment,I am sure this is only a statement from
a frustrated customer who is simply tired of waiting.
We apologize that this issue has compelled our customer to make a complaint to the
BBB.
Please understand that he was not neglected nor treated with any disrespect and we will
do what we can to keep Mr.***** as a repeat customer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The screens are now in. Only point on their response that I will comment to is about "customer service". The lack of customer service comment was more than just a frustrated customer. Even when bringing the screens the owner appeared at our door with no prior call to say he would be here. We were about to get ready to leave for airport to pick up family. A company concerned with customer service would have called ahead to be sure the time was going to be convenient.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.