BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/07/2011

Citrus Homes/Meadowood Homes of Florida, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (727) 535-5262Fax: (727) 535-6822View Additional Phone Numbers6030 Ulmerton Rd, ClearwaterFL 33760-3944View Additional Web AddressesFacebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company designs, sells, and arranges for the setup of manufactured mobile homes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/07/2011

BBB has determined that Citrus Homes/Meadowood Homes of Florida, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Citrus Homes/Meadowood Homes of Florida, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Citrus Homes/Meadowood Homes of Florida, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/11/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Attempts to contact Citrus/Meadowood by e-mail to my salesman **** go unansweres after many tries.

I sent a list of things asking if any of them are covered by the Halo warranty. I sent numerous e-mails to the listed e-mail address and none have been been returned. I have had problems with this company in the past. They want to sell the home, but after the transaction they don't want to know you and won't respond.

Desired Settlement
Please respond to my original inquiry about which items if any are covered by the warranty.

Business Response
I just talked to Mr. ********, and explained to him that I was in the hospital last week having my appendix removed. That is why I couldn't respond to his emails. I told him he should have just picked up the phone and called my office. My assistant would have been more than happy to answer all your questions. He said he was sorry, and would call you and retract his complaint.
Thanks,
************

Final Consumer Response

04/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I would like your bureau to become aware of some problems moving into my 2013 Jacobsen park model home April, 2013. The sale was not BBB A+.
First, the salesman made serious plan errors. Second, the salesman gave a glowing review and written referral to non-Jacobsen parade park and did not explain the ''parade of Jacobsen parks.'' He was only attentive regarding the floor plan of the home. The salesman had been in real estate with Plumlee Realty in Indian Rocks, Fl. I trusted his judgment based on the BBB A+ rating. I have only a single wide park model. He tried to sell me a double wide. I realize he appeared distant, aloof, busy and lacked BBB A+ skill level, although he may be conversant with zoning, effluent requirements, plats and land use regulations, codes of numerous nearby cities and counties
The salesman had worked with the park in other deals. i.e. The home was sold by Citrus Meadowood salesman and the lot was sold by the park president. The salesman put in at least three Jacobsen homes the Eagles Nest, St. Petersburg, Fl. He arranged for it to be built it in spring of 2013. The salesman announced proudly he would ''woo'' the City of St. Petersburg in regards to the carport and permitting to raise it to accommodate my small Airstream travel trailer. There was no need for wooing, because his contractor simply filed and retrieved a permit.
I don't know what issues he is having with his life to displace aggression onto me but he should not allow these to spill over into his business activities. He would say things like he was like a used car salesman. Perhaps he was acting that way. He has an A+ BBB rating. He knew there was no lemon law on these homes; they are RV's. He knew I was looking for a park where I could park my RV and own the lot. He needed the sale. Also, the salesman bemoaned his past in Indiana, living in an Airsteam trailer in the cold. He had propane. He had to go to the pharmacy. He repeatedly mentioned ''six inches,'' when referring to my home's placement. He was smug. It was placed on the lot off center and he failed ''flip his design,'' but not submitted to Jacobsen. I have proof. The former matter raised concerns with my new neighbors, the latter ''no flip'' barely allows room to open my car door.
A lady from the Jacobsen mfg., not the dealer, called me on the phone after the home was placed awry on the lot. ''The salesman asked me to call you.'' She announced they would move the door on one side and exchange it for a window and put a door on the opposite side. If she had done this there would have been more problems. I asked the salesman to move it and for the cost. I spoke to the owner of the mobile home dealership by phone. He was a bully and yelled at me in a rant. I asked him to stop, he continued until I discontinued the call.
The salesman gave the first key to my new home to the president of the park, who had informed me he was being investigated for something-allegations made by park residents. I have not seen any legal documents regarding the allegations. I heard the gentleman tell me he was being ''investigated.'' The key package was opened on the table. There was no front door key. I now have home security. The same day the key was left, the salesman sent his daughter in ''to clean'', without my permission, I learned from ***** ********* (sp), an employee who used to work at Citrus Meadowood in 2013. A key to a new home should have been given to the owner by the seller/salesman. I have had to change the locks.
There may be intimidation again from the owner. There may be retaliation with regard to the complaint.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have the home moved in a Jacobsen parade park.

Business Response
In response to Ms. ******* ***** Complaint to the BBB of West Florida
Hello my name is **** ********** and I am the owner of Citrus/Meadowood Homes of Florida. To give you a little background about our company. We are a Manufactured/Modular home dealer based in Clearwater Florida. I have been in the manufactured housing business for over 20 years. We offer a quality product (Jacobsen Homes) which is a family owned and operated business, which has been located in Safety Harbor since 1959 and is rated above all other competitors. Jacobsen builds over 40% of the product in the state of Florida. The reason for that is, they build the best home and provide the best service. Citrus Homes / Meadowood Homes are among the top Jacobsen Dealers and have an outstanding reputation with our customers (mostly retiree's) and the many retirement communities we deal with. We are held to a super high standard by our clientele and are always eager to make our customers happy. I would invite you to research us online and view the many testimonials from our satisfied customers on our website www.citrus-meadowood.com . We can also provide individual references from the management, board members and residents of all the communities we serve including Eagles Nest where Ms. ****'s home is located.

I am, to say the least, overwhelmingly surprised by this complaint. We recently had a Jacobsen service man out to Ms. ***** home and upon him leaving, ******* called our office to say how happy she was and what a great job he had done. ******* has also brought **** ****** gift certificates to McDonalds after her home was installed almost a year ago. This is usually a pretty good sign of a job well done. I must admit that this complaint was very difficult to decipher. I will now attempt to do my best to answer what I believe the complaint is in regards to.

Over the course of several years ******* **** came by our dealership in search of a place to call home. After searching the county from one end to the other she announced one day that she had purchased a lot in an RV/ Mobile Home community called Eagles Nest. This happened to be one of the many communities that we suggested that she look into that would allow a Park Model mobile home. We delivered Ms. ****'s home on March 5, 2013, upon inspection of the home it was determined that the factory had made an error on the floor plan and the door and window were on opposite sides from what was ordered. We notified the factory about the issue, they immediately agreed to come out and move the door and window at no cost to Ms. **** to correct this mistake. After much deliberation, Ms. **** declined to have these items moved and agreed to accept the house as it was. We have all supporting documentation/email/voicemails to that effect. There then was no longer an issue and we continued on with the project as planned and received the certificate of occupancy from the City of St. Petersburg on April 29th 2013. After receiving the C/O Ms. **** came into our office and closed on her home and made final payment. This Closing would not have taken place had there been any unresolved issues.

Below is a list of numerous other items that Ms. **** alleges that are inaccurate as well.

1. We did not coerce Ms. **** in her decision to buy a lot at Eagles Nest, this was one of many options she had to choose from. She informed us that she had purchased the lot there after the fact. We did not provide Ms. **** with a written referral to Eagles Nest. If we had, it would exist and it does not!

2. Ms. ***** home was placed on her lot exactly as planned maintaining the required setbacks. The site plan was approved first by Ms. **** then by Eagles Nest and then with the Permit application from the City of St. Petersburg. The door and window being on the opposite sides had no bearing on the site plan.

3. We applied for building permits for this Job the same as we do with any job, with a permit service. There was no special considerations that would require any special permits/variances.

4. Jacobsen Homes is not directly affiliated with any of the communities we install homes into. There is no such thing as a Jacobsen Parade Park.

5. Ms. **** bought a singlewide Manufactured Home of which the construction is governed by HUD
(Department of Housing and Urban Development). This is not an RV as Ms. **** mentioned.

6. My understanding of "The Lemon Law" I believe is for people that have numerous service issues for the product they purchased. I am unaware whether or not this law is applicable to RVs or Manufactured Homes as we have never had it come up before. Other than the factories admitted mistake on the door/window placement which was accepted by Ms. ****, there are NO OPEN SERIVICE COMPLANINTS on this home. As I mentioned the service list that Ms. **** submitted to us was recently completed to Ms. ****'s Complete
Satisfaction. So I am unsure what the Lemon Law reference was in regards to?

7. My Salesman **** ****** has been in the manufactured housing industry for over 30 years and has never had a valid complaint against him from any agency related to manufactured homes or real estate. **** being a licensed realtor was never a factor in Ms. ****'s purchase. **** is well loved by his customers and has an impeccable reputation. A large percentage of ****'s customers are referrals from his customer's friends and relatives that have had the pleasure to deal with him. He goes above and beyond to satisfy his customers on a daily basis and I am grateful for the job he does for my company. He really takes doing a good job personally and lives and breathes this business. I tell him that he over does it, but that is just how he is, a super hard worker. *******'s unappreciated name calling to myself and **** in her complaint is unbelievable, completely unwarranted and childish.

8. We provide cleaning on every new home we install. This is a free service and is done prior to closing. We do not require "permission" to enter our jobsites for any reason while they are under construction as they are still our liability.

9. After 4 attempts to personally deliver Ms. ***** keys and countless phone calls, we ended up having to lock the keys inside her new home and left the access key with the community president, who to my knowledge is not being investigated for anything. We were never notified that any keys were missing or that locks had to be changed. The front door key had be used to access the home initially which is the key we left with the park
president which is the one that is stated missing.

In the end I really hope Ms. **** can rectify the issues she is having with the other residents and living there at Eagles Nest and not feel like she has to move. I unfortunately have no control over these issues and I am not responsible to move her home to another community because she no longer wants to live there. We will not be getting involved in this unfortunate situation that Ms. **** has created for herself.

Sincerely
******* **********
Citrus Homes / Meadowood Homes of Florida Inc.
President

Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

I want the complaint closed as is.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/15/2005Business started: 01/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee
2900 Apalachee Pkwy # B441
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6552
(850) 617-2000

BBB records show a license number of DH-1032676-1 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

BBB records show a license number of DH-1032676-2 for this company, issued by Department of Motor Vehicles-Tallahassee.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2009, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark E. Malanowicz II (President)Mr. Mark E. Malanowicz (Director)
Business Category

Mobile Home Manufacturers, Modular Home Builders, Manufactured Home Agencies, Mobile Home Dealers

Products & Services

Jacobsen Homes - Quality Built Manufactured and Modular Homes

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 10:00 AM to 04:00 PMSun: 01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
Service Area

Services All of Florida

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

9 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Citrus Homes/Meadowood Homes of Florida, Inc.

6030 Ulmerton Rd

Clearwater, FL 33760-3944

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 5327 14th St W 

    Bradenton, FL 34207-3307(941) 758-3633
    Fax: (941) 758-3660

  • 6030 Ulmerton Rd 

    Clearwater, FL 33760-3944(855) 695-2246
    Fax: (727) 535-6822

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Citrus Homes/Meadowood Homes of Florida, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (855) 695-2246
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Mobile Home Manufacturers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.