BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/26/2010

Top Mobility Scooters, Inc.

(888) 364-3813View Additional Phone Numbers16609 US Highway 19, HudsonFL 34667-4381View Additional Web AddressesFacebookTwitterGoogle+YouTube

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/26/2010

BBB has determined that Top Mobility Scooters, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Top Mobility Scooters, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Top Mobility Scooters, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
02/10/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a Mobility Power Chair form Top Mobility with problems relating to STOPPING suddenly upon backing up or riding scooter, also battery problems.
I purchased a Mobility Power Chair-Jazzy Select 6-serial #************** from TOP MOBILITY SCOOTERS INC. on July 13, 2015 (online # ******* *********,) for what they called "SPECIAL OFFER PRICE" for $2,620. I called the next day for what they considered "White Glove Delivery" and was told that it was from the Clearance Dept. I told a *** that I did not ordered the Power Chair from the Clearance Dept., but that I was Quoted a "SPECIAL OFFER PRICE". He said, "I see" and stated the Power Chair will be delivered to my sisters apartment, and set-up. The Power Chair was never delivered to my sister's apartment, but in the Lobby of the Senior's building on July, 22, 2015 with the Boxes ripped, filthy, and torn, and the chairs items tossed all over. The maintenance man delivered the chair to my sister's apartment. Immediately called Top Mobility, and was informed by *** that if anything was missing to call them. Other problems, and issues with delivery were reported in a letter, 07/25/2015, to Mr. Jay F****, CEO who never acknowledged my concerns.
The problems with the Mobility Power Chair started the second day delivered, it was charged and it was okay for a week, and the STOPPING suddenly started again, and again. I called Top Mobility, 08/10/2015, and spoke to a Tom? who transferred me to a Thomas?, technician, and I explained the problems with the Power Chair that it starts blinking, stops, and my sister has to turned it off and started it again; also that the Charger they sent was not working. ****** said that it could be the Battery or the Joy stick, and will speak to the General Manager, and call a technician locally, and get back to me. I didn't hear from anyone and called again on 08/14,2015 to report the problems with the Mobility Chair again. Tom stated that he called the technician, but he never answered, but will call Pride Mobility for a technician. Pride Mobility is the manufacturer of the Jazzy Power Chairs. I called Pride Mobility, and they said that they would contact TOP Mobility. I also sent TOP MOBILITY an email because I felt that TOM was beating around the bush, and had no idea what he was doing. I also sent another email today, as I was writing on their web email, I was cut off, but sent one through my private email. My sister has ALS, and needs the Mobility Power Chair for all her daily activities which I explained to Tom, but to this day I have not heard from them.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have the Mobility Power Chair that was delivered to me as NEW, but doesn't appeared to be new but rather reconditioned either exchanged for a new, as there was no indication anywhere on the email they sent me for a "SPECIAL OFFER PRICE" that the Mobility Chair was in the Clearance Dept. or reconditioned.
My sister had a Jazzy Mobility Power Chair for more than eight years, and never had any problems with it.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Op. Man.
Contact Phone: XXX) XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@topmobility.com
Hello,

The power chair ordered with a serial number of #JXXXXXXXXXXC30 is a brand new unit shipped directly from the manufacturer. Never was the customer informed that it was a "Clearance" item. Pride Mobility can be reached at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. With that serial number, Pride can verify the condition of the unit. Our FREE SHIPPING does not include delivery on any floor but the 1st floor of a building. The customer purchased our FST (Field Service Technician) Set-up service. After the item is delivered, the manufacturer sets up with a local technician to go to the customers home to set up the unit. The technician will be the one to take the unit from the 1st floor to the desired floor. The customer ordered the maintenance man from her building to bring her unit to her which was not the standard protocol for the FST set up service. Unfortunately, yes, the unit had an issue at the time of delivery. We set up with the manufacturer (Pride) to dispatch someone to the customers home for an evaluation. The customer was informed that this will take a few days. As on 08/19/2015, we have a document signed by the customer that the issue has been resolved. Top Mobility and Pride Mobility followed standard procedures to correct any issues in a timely manner. As you will see on the attached document you will notice we had the manufacturer put a HOT RUSH for the customer. (Customers private information and signature removed for customers privacy) Repairs will take a few days as anyone can imagine they would. Thank you

Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

Part of this is resolved, but there are still issues. The scooter is not charging correctly, and the lights go out on it.

Final Consumer Response
Please see attached response and documentation.
Better Business Bureau
Serving West Florida
2655 McCormick *****
Clearwater, FL XXXXX
January 19, 2016
***** *****
4230 Dorney **** Road ****
********** PA XXXXX
Dear Sir/Madam:
I am writing in hopes that you can assist me in solving a problem with a JAZZY Motorized Wheel Chair (Serial Number JXXXXXXXXXXC30) that was purchased through TOP MOBILITY SCOOTERS, 16609 US HWY 19, HUDSON, FLORIDA XXXXX on 07/13/15, and delivered by AIT WORLDWIDE on 07/22/15. I was offered a "Special Price" offer of $2,325.00 valid only for 24 hours. Since I thought this was a good price, I ordered the Jazzy Select 6 Power Chair plus a pair of Elevated Leg Rest totaling $295.00 extra for a Grant Total of $2,620.00. Little did I know that this, "Special Offer," was going to be so detrimental to my sister's health? My Sister, Irene, has ALS, colitis and she has lost so much weight since July of 2015, due to all this aggravation with the Motorized Chair and the lack of acknowledgment she get from TOP MOBILITY SCOOTERS for her concerns with the Chair. I don't know if this Motorized Chair was new, reconditioned, or a reject. The company claims that it is a new Motorized Chair according to the Serial Number, but I don't understand why there are so many problems with it screws coming loose, Joystick's chair arm falling down since the joy stick was changed and becoming loose to the point that it feels like is braking, not charging properly, parts falling off it; my sister had a Jazzy Motorized Wheel Chair previous to this one for almost nine years and never had a problem with it. First of all it came in boxes that were ripped, torn and filthy called and reported it to a Mr. P. They had stated that they would bring it up to my sister's high-rise apartment, and set it up for an extra $150.00, but they lied so I cancelled that order and the shipping company left it in the lobby of the building. The Motorized Chair could not stay in the small Lobby of this Senior Building, so the maintenance man was nice enough to bring it to my seventh floor apartment.
My Sister, Irene, has been having problems with this Motorized Wheel Chair since she received it, but it has been like pulling teeth talking to a Thomas P., Service Manager, who also transfers her to a Tom, Technician, pretending he is someone else. All Mr. P. has done is try to intimidate my Sister, and tells her that she could fix the Motorized Chair herself. Since the purchased of the Motorized Chair, and many calls to Mr. P., and even a letter to the CEO without avail, and not until I complaint to the BBB in Florida was I able to get some acknowledgement from TOP MOBILITY SCOOTERS. The Motorized Chair lights were Flashing like crazy, it Stopped all of a sudden in the middle of wherever, sometimes it didn't stopped, even in the middle of the street when my sister rode to the store. My sister was so afraid to use this Motorized Chair, as she even got stuck behind her apt door and couldn't move.
Finally, after complaint to the BBB, a repairman was sent on 08/1 9/15 from XMed Repair Xpress, Tony Saitta, and he found that the Joystick Module was not working replaced it, but the arm continued to became loose, and the motorized Chair was still hesitating, stop and go. Again, repairman was called, and appt. was made for 08/26/15 Motorized Chair Batteries were replaced. Still problems continued, repairman was called, made appt. for 09/09/15 and replaced Shroud, and again tightened the screws.
After the BBB case was closed, TOP MOBILITY SCOOTER never again returned my calls. Tony S. didn't returned calls either, and at one time stated that he was now working for Top Mobility Scooters. Around 08/25/15, Mr. Thomas/Tom called my sister, and told her that he received a call from the BBB, and my sister didn't have to call them, among other ignorant statements of intimidation.
On October, 2015, my sister still had similar problems with the Motorized Chair again, and again with screws coming loose, and the Motorized Chair's Joystick's arm becoming looser that it seemed to be falling to the ground. She called Tony S. from XMed Repair Xpress, various times, but calls were never returned. Calls to Mr. Phillips were also made, but not acknowledged.
The last time that my sister was finally able to contact Mr. P.was on 12/28/2015, when a Tony switched her to Thomas who was supposed to fix the Motorized Chair, and answer the phone. He never did call, so she call back, and spoke to a woman, Linda, who stated that Thomas was calling someone else about the Motorized Chair. On 12/29/15, my sister called Mr. P. again, and was informed that it would take about 5 days to get a Technician, but he will call me back. Mr. Phillips also said that he will sent a repair man on January of 2016, and would call my sister on January 05 to set an appointment, he also told her that all she needed was a Allen Wrench My sister told Mr. P.that it was a lot more than that. Mr. P. never called back nor anyone else from the company. It appears that they don't want to honor their warranties.
I am hoping that you will be able to assist my sister solve this problem with TOP MOBILTY SCOOTERS before her one year warranty expires on July 2016. If you can't help me, please advise me on where I can go, or write regarding this company. My sister is tired of them trying to make a fool of her, and the disrespect that Mr. Thomas P. shows by his dishonest answers, and his uncaring attitude is unreal as he is dealing with disable people. Dealing with Mr. P. has drained my sister; all she wants is a little peace and tranquility for the time that she has left in this earth, and unfortunately all she get is frustration from this insensitive TOP MOBILITY SCOOTER employees..
Sincerely,
Irene Bake
**********@hotmail.com
******** ******, sister & POA
P.S. I will send documentation as needed.

Same Issues, nothing has changed.


Final Business Response
All items sold as new are shipped new direct from the manufacturer. This customer was sold a brand new unit at our special pricing. With this special pricing, white glove delivery was not included. The customer was informed of this. Once we were notified of the issues the customer was having with their unit we notified the manufacturer as it is their warranty. The manufacturer dispatched a technician to the customer to evaluate the unit. In warranty cases, it always takes some time for the technicians to evaluate these problems and get the needed parts. The customer was unsatisfied at the time needed to make these repairs. After this issue was resolved, the customer claimed she was having issues with the joystick being loose. Unfortunately, this is not considered a warranty issue to the manufacturer. So our service department did everything they could to assist the customer on how to tighten the joystick down. We even offered to send the needed tool (Allen wrench) to the customer. We at Top Mobility Scooters do everything we can to satisfy our customers. Unfortunately, we do have to follow certain guidelines when it comes to warranty issues as it is not our warranty but the manufactures. Our service department worked in a professional and courteous manner to assist this customer, as they do with all of our customers.

01/26/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company recommended the wrong scooter. They won't take responsibility. Consequently, we're being forced to pay either ca. $1500, or ca. $4000 more.
In the summer of 2014, my wife ran a half-marathon to raise the money needed to buy my disabled mother-in-law a mobility scooter. After clearly describing our usage conditions, Top Mobility (by accident, it appears) used misinformation to recommended we spend the donations on the Challenger Sport a scooter which proved grossly unsuitable for our environment. After time spent with the scooter and several phone calls later, Top Mobility acknowledged the scooter was not meant for our hilly environment, especially with a maximum hill grade of 10%.

Rather than take responsibility for their terribly inadequate recommendation, Top Mobility hid behind their return policy passing off a return cost of at least $1,500 to us for their mistake.

After many complaints and attempts to reason, my mother-in-law finally called up in tears to plead with the head of Top Mobility for some level of reasonable behavior. He promised to take care of it and get back to us. Turns out we had to chase him down since they never followed up. Their solution: donate the scooter to a local charity and pay an additional $4,000 for the real scooter she allegedly needs. It's like the solution was only made to make Top Mobility look good. This is not a real solution. A real solution would be achievable for the customer. What company suggests paying $4,000 more to a family that required a fundraiser to pay for the scooter in the first place? What an absurd idea.

We've been promised future contact many times and had to chase after someone to talk to. We feel like Top Mobility doesn't actually listen, that they just want us to go away, that their words aren't genuine, that they have no desire to provide help where help is due, no integrity to take responsibility for their mistakes, that their solutions ultimately serve their own benefit with little to no regard for the customer. It's cost my mother-in-law access to mobility; it's cost me valuable time with my kids and put a great deal of mental stress on all adults involved.

My expectations for this company are exceedingly low. I can't wait to see what rubbish response they now post to unjustly diminish the flame of our complaint. On the other hand, I invite a surprise of character and extend an opportunity for forgiveness. Please; Surprise me!

PS., I called the company and gave them a chance to resolve this so I wouldn't submit this complaint. I was assured a call back the same day. Never got a call.

Desired Settlement
First, we'd like to say that we're genuinely sad that a company that serves the disabled should be obliged to cover their own return costs in light of their own error. The company, we're sure, has it's own families and livelihood to support; we're not blind to this and wish it well on those grounds. For both our sake and Top Mobility's we wish the error of recommendation had never occurred.

We expect Top Mobility to (1) pay all return costs of the scooter, including their restocking fee, and (2) apologize for the stress and inconvenience they've caused.

Business Response
Here at Top Mobility Scooters we strive to provide accurate specifications on the items we sell. Every specification for our items are listed on our website. Including the climbing abilities of our scooters. When orders are placed by phone, our sales team is trained to get these specifications direct from our website which are accurate. The climbing angle that this particular scooter can handle is 10 degrees. Our sales team is highly trained on these specifications.
Once we were informed that this particular model scooter would not fit the customers' needs, we issued a return authorization following our return policy. Since the fees associated with the return were not acceptable to the end user, we tried to come up with a different solution to assist our valued customer.
The customer explained that they found a different model scooter that will suit their needs. So instead of having our customer return the other scooter, to avoid the return fees, we asked that they donate it to assist someone in need. We would then deduct the full price they paid for this scooter off of the price of the replacement scooter. We considered this a very fair offer. They would receive a full refund, as well as their second choice scooter for no additional cost.
We at Top Mobility Scooters will continue to do what we can to provide our customers with the equipment that will fit their needs. Customer satisfaction is highly important to the entire staff here at Top Mobility Scooters.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Top Mobility's ("TM" hereafter) response is not acceptable for the following three reasons:

A. TM's first paragraph hides the fact that TM made the mistake of telling us to order the wrong scooter. I say "hidden" because they list the following four facts of their sales practice as highly informed and reliable.

1. All scooter specifications are listed on website.
2. Sales team uses specs from website during phone orders.
3. The scooter the customer received climbs a maximum angle of 10 degrees.
4. Sales team is highly trained in specs listed on website (i.e., is aware of specs and understands them).

While granted, TM's sales team may be reliable at times, it certainly wasn't for us, and this is precisely the point. By listing those facts, TM has attempted to ground the credibility of their sales team in order to hide or extinguish as much as possible their mistake that is the root cause of this mess. Obviously this is because my complaint threatens their credibility: a trained staff member either failed to use key specifications for his recommendation, or, he failed to be aware of or understand the significance of such specs; in either case, it's in direct contradiction to the highly informed and reliable sales-team picture they painted above.


B. The notion that TM acted in good faith to try and help the customer not misleading. Note this TM quote: "Since the fees associated with the return were not acceptable to the end user, we tried to come up with a different solution to assist our valued customer." This is a half-truth: meaning, at first there was zero effort made to find a solution for the customer. It took a lot of prodding with many phone calls and belaboured discussions to get any kind of attempt at a solution. After being shut down numerous times (with no solution offered) we got our first "solution": that is, pay over $1,000 in shipping costs and TM would waive the 10% restocking fee. The final straw was my mother-in-law calling up in tears, distressed over the situation, pleading for some kind of reasonable action. I discuss their offered solution below and show how it's not a reasonable solution.


C. The solution TM says they offered is false (we wish it was true). Pay close attention to this TM quote: "We considered this a very fair offer: They would receive a full refund, as well as their second choice scooter for no additional cost." This is false. If the second choice scooter was really at no additional cost, we wouldn't be having this discussion matter resolved. What's really the case is that the second-choice scooter would've cost us an additional $4,000 above even a full refundit's certainly not "at no additional cost"! Even if TM back-pedals here and says "no no, we meant the customer is entitled to full refund PLUS the difference for the next scooter," I'll simply repeat what I wrote in my initial statement: that is, "what company suggests paying $4,000 more to a family that required a fundraiser to pay for the first $2500 scooter in the first place?" Ludicrous!

As a side note and to offer further clarity, the scooter that's been referred to as a "second choice scooter" has to do with a used model that we inquired about: with another generous donation we asked about a used model which, price depending, might've been within reach, but TM declined for a new one instead. That's the one that was $4,000 more than the initial scooter. As time passed, the donor was no longer able to commit. Even if he had been able, TM insisted they wouldn't accept our payment method (the same one we used the first time) - more obstacles.


At this point it should be obvious:
- This complaint is of a serious nature.
- TM has failed to respond appropriately
- TM's solutions have neither been timely, nor to our satisfaction
- TM has failed to provide a good faith effort to resolve our complaints






Final Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We have also offered to accept the scooter as a return but per terms and conditions there are fees associated with that. We offered to waive the 10% restocking fees and the customer would only be responsible for outbound shipping to get the scooter back to us. In their case the shipping from FL to Canada ($715) could not be waived. We would refund a total of $1,729.85 (CA), if they choose this option.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The point of note here is not that TM has offered us the chance to return or even that they would waive the restocking fee for the return. Instead, it's that by error of their trained and experience staff, TM set us up with a scooter that they should've immediately recognized as unsuitable for our needs.

Top Mobility can talk "per terms and conditions" all they want, but any company that sets up the disabled with a scooter where that company should've easily known it wouldn't work for the customer, and then expects that customer to pay any amount of money in returns, is... horribly unreasonable; blinded by their own bottom-line; not to be trusted; and certainly not worthy of an endorsement by the BBB.

It's also worth noting that above TM claimed our return shipping cost would be $715. I don't know why they think I wouldn't point this out, but that's their special rate, discounted because of the business they do. The customer pays a much higher cost according to them.

To add to Top Mobility's embarrassment, I just watched a video from their youtube channel *************************************************************** The video was released long after our complaint with TM started. In it, when asked "who can benefit from the new Challenger Sport?" you can hear a 10-year experienced mobility specialist alongside TM's president claim that the scooter we bought can "go anywhere out there; anywhere you wanna go...this is gonna getcha, anywhere" he says. TM knows this model has a maximum climbing angle of 10 degrees but enthusiastically recommends it as a "go anywhere" scooter anyway. This is clearly misinformation that misleads the customer and it looks, from every angle, intentional.

At first I thought TM's error was unintentional an honest mistake by an experienced staff member. But after seeing their video on the scooter, knowing that TM is aware of the scooter's limitations and that yet they solicit business clearly contradicting those limitations, I can't help believe that TM's error that got us in this mess was indeed intentional. They knew we had a hilly environment that exceeded the scooter's max climbing ability; they even published a video contradicting the scooters hill climbing abilities; and after convincing us it was the right scooter to invest in, they act surprised that it won't function for us; now they expect us to pay hundreds of dollars for a return or, keep the scooter. Do I really have to continue to prove my points?

10/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rolleez Reclining Beach Wheelchair--Defective Design

Ship Via: ESTES EXPRESS
Tracking No. :XXXXXXXXXX
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Purchase Order: *************
Internet Order: **********

Payment Method: PayPal


Item Code Product Quantity Price Amount
Rolleez-RBRolleez Reclining Beach 1 1,289.00 1,289.00
Wheelchair, Putty -
Regular Mesh
AccessorieSafety Belt - Free 1 0.00 0.00
Accessorie6 ft Umbrella (8 panel) - 1 0.00 0.00
Free
AccessorieStorage Mesh Bag - Free 1 0.00 0.00
DELIVERY East Coast Free Freight 1 0.00 0.00
____________________________________________________________________________
Total: $1,289.00
Amount Received: $1,289.00

Desired Settlement
Now that we have purchased this wheelchair, we have found several negative reviews online which we wish we would have heeded beforehand. This wheelchair is defectively designed so it cannot be backed up or steered properly. The rear wheels bind up underneath the carriage when trying to steer it making it worthless and unsafe. There is a definite tipping hazard with this poorly made wheelchair and it should be removed from the market----or at the very least---Top Mobility should warn customers of its problems. They claim it will maneuver through sand, snow and rocky terranes. I cant image how they could make such a claim when it would not even steer properly on our cement garage floor. Now we are stuck with a restocking fee of 20% and return shipping for a chair which was misrepresented in their advertising. It is NOT safe and NOT steerable. I spoke with customer service who made no apology for the product and no offer to refund our full price which is what we believe to be fair. They have lost our trust...and our business. Please help.

Business Response
After reviewing the customer's complaint, it appears the customer is not happy with the design of the chair. As such, this complaint should be directed to the manufacturer. We advertise very clearly on our website the operational mechanism of the chair. Turning the chair is very simple with the swivel wheels. Our return policy is very clear. This is a case where it would have been advantageous for the customer to try the chair out in advance to verify it would work for her application - a very simple 10-15 minute demonstration would show her exactly how the chair is to be utilized and she would be able to determine if it is suitable.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are not asking to return the wheelchair due to any other reason other than that it is defective. Other reviews on the Internet confirm the same issues we found. It does not steer or back up properly because the swivel wheels in the back bind up underneath the carriage. It is unstable especially on rough terrains which their advertising states it is perfect for. This wheelchair is a hazard and Top Mobility knows it. Negative reviews of their products are quickly removed from their website but other sites confirm the product is unusable and unsafe. Since we live in Maine their remark that we should have tried the chair first was ludicrous, at best, and their suggestion that we take the issue to the manufacture rather than standing by a product they sell to the disabled is shameful and a discredit to their company. We were aware of the return policy but wrongly assumed Top Mobility would not sell a defective product and then refuse to compensate us for our trust in them. Now we are stuck with a return shipping bill and a 20% restocking fee.

Final Business Response
The defect the customer alleges is not a defect at all, in fact it is how the chair is designed and built. This chair is not designed to travel in a backward motion, the swivel wheels permit a relatively small radius turn. If the chair was hazardous Top Mobility would not carry it, in fact the chair has been sold for years with this design with many happy customers. It is unfortunate that you are not happy with the design of the chair, but it is far from hazardous or defective.

08/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Parts have broken on the scooter after only a few uses. Agent and manufacturer want me to pay for replacement parts.
I purchased a FR168-4IT Freerider Luggie Folding Scooter from Top Mobility on January 7, 2013. The amount paid was $2,139.00 via Visa. Around the second week of February, one of the security locks broke. A week or two later, the other security lock broke. I contacted Top Mobility who stated that the security locks were not covered under the one year warranty, that this was just normal wear and tear. I explained that the scooter was brand new, hardly used and I shouldn't have to pay for replacements. They stated that they would speak to the manufacturer and get back to me. I had to call back several times over the next several weeks usually getting the response that they were waiting to hear from the manufacturer. On two occasions I had to repeat all of the information. Finally, Top Mobility stated that they could getme the locks for $78, "their cost." I again reiterated that I should have to pay anything for a defective part. Then in March, the wig wag lever in the control mechanism stopped working properly. It wouldn't return to the stop position making it difficult to stop correctly. I contacted Top Mobility which stated that I would need to send a picture of the mechanism to them which they would send to the manufacturer for consideration. I did this and got a response that I had bent the mechanism and the part wouldn't be covered. I would have to pay $174 for a replacement. I had not bent the mechanism and it looks exactly like it did the day I received it only that the lever doesn't return to the middle position. I sent an email to Top Mobility sometime in June stating all the problems that I've had with the scooter and requesting two security locks and a control mechanism at no cost to me or refund my $2,139 as he scooter is unsafe to ride. I then received a telephone call from Top Mobility stating that they would provide me the parts for $100+, the exact figure I can't remember. I told them that I declined their offer and I haven't heard from them since. The order no. is *******

Desired Settlement
I would like two security locks and a control mechanism provided to me at no cost or a refund of the purchase price. I will still need to pay someone to install the parts as a disability prevents me from doing it myself. Right now I'm stuck with a scooter that I cannot ride.

Business' Initial Response
The components indicated on the customer's complaint are considered wear and tear items that do not qualify for warranty coverage. The manufacturer of the scooter does not warranty these components. The reason they are classified as wear and tear is because their condition is contingent upon safe handling. If the scooter is accidentally dropped or mishandled, the components can be easily damaged. In this case the customer has E-mailed us a photo of the top console assembly as well as a photo of the chassis hook, both with very apparent and visible scratches. These scratches indicate apparent physical damage caused by force. We attempted to work with the customer by discounting the price significantly, however this was not to the customer's satisfaction.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The components in question broke after limited use and couldn't have been from normal wear and tear. I should never have been asked to pay anything for replacements. After several months of being jerked around, the manufacturer has finally provided me the parts at no cost to me. During this time I have not been able to use my scooter. I regret purchasing the scooter from Top Mobility.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/19/2010Business started: 02/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Agency for Health Care Administration
2727 Mahan Dr
Tallahassee, FL 32308-5407
(850) 414-6010

Pasco County Business Tax Receipt
7530 Little Rd
New Port Richey, FL 34654-5598
(727) 847-8165
http://www.pascotaxes.com

BBB records show a license number of 1313611 for this company, issued by Agency for Health Care Administration.

Type: State

BBB records show a license number of 079889 for this company, issued by Pasco County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.pascotaxes.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 4496 for this company, issued by Agency for Health Care Administration.

Type: State

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2009, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard M. Foldoe (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Gregory Johnson (Operations Manager)Mr. Jay Fares (CEO)
Business Category

Medical Scooter Suppliers, Wheel Chair Lifts Ramps Companies, General Health Medical Companies, Wheel Chair Suppliers, Medical Equipment Suppliers

Products & Services

This company offers online sales of home medical equipment including scooters, power chairs, auto lifts, ramps, lift chairs, stair chairs, wheelchairs, and walking aids.

Alternate Business Names
Topmobility.com

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Top Mobility Scooters, Inc.

16609 US Highway 19

Hudson, FL 34667-4381

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 16609 US Highway 19 

    Hudson, FL 34667-4381(888) 364-3813
    (727) 478-8520
    (888) 536-4578

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Top Mobility Scooters, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (727) 478-8520
  • (888) 536-4578
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Medical Scooter Suppliers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.