BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Scooter Link

Phone: (888) 910-0444Fax: (888) 927-7513

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
02/17/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered and paid for Amigo RD 3 Wheel Electric Scooter on 07/07/2014 that was supposed to be shipped to me January 1, 2015. I have not received it.
I ordered the scooter with Shabbat Controller from SCOOTERLINK Medical Equipment Superstore(XXX-XXX-XXXX) PO Box XXXXXX Tampa Florida XXXXX-XXXX on 07/07/2014. Invoice #XXXXX was sent to me on 09/15/2014. Sales person was ** *******. Payment in full was received as a Money Order from Muscular Dystrophy Toronto, Canada in early December. I was told that the scooter would be shipped "after the holidays", specifically "after the first of the year". It is now February. I have been waiting for almost three months and I have been housebound throughout the winter. Being disabled (I cannot walk for any appreciable distance) I am in need of a scooter of this specific type with the Shabbat Controller. I made repeated phone calls requesting an actual delivery date, but the date was always delayed for some reason or other: order backlog, a certain last mechanical check ("and it's ready to go"), cash flow problems at this time of year, etc. In some instances a promised return call ("We'll call you back and let you know as soon as it's shipped out") never came. We have notified the Toronto chapter of Musclar Dystrophy Canada and will take legal action.

Desired Settlement
A full, complete and immediate refund in American dollars payable to ****** ****** *** ********** ****** ******** ******* *** *** ******

Business Response
In response to case #XXXXXXXX - We at Scooter Link strive every day to give our customers the best possible service. It is important to us as a business and as people who respect the needs of our customers. We would like to apologize to Mr. & Mrs. ****** for the extended period of time this mobility scooter took to get to them. With that said, we would like to point a few things out. Although we had given Mr. & Mrs. ****** a quote in July of 2014, the actual invoice was not created until we received a check for the full payment. We received the check from the MDA on Dec. 10th, 2014. Please understand that this is a time of the year that just by its nature slows things down. In addition, this was a shipment that was being shipped into Canada. Canadian shipments require extra time for documentation to get over the border. Putting these things together with us playing catch up in January, the scooter did get out from the manufacturer late. For this, once again we apologize. The good news is that the scooter arrived today to Mr. & Mrs. ******. We followed up with it every day while it was in transit and call Mr. & Mrs. ****** today after we knew it had arrived. Our call was to once again apologize and let them know we were here if they had any questions about the scooter. Although they have now received the scooter along with a free gift as part of our apology, they are still waiting for aN over head canopy cover and a vinyl cover that the manufacturer had on back order. We have been assured by the manufacturer that these two items would ship out next week. We will once again follow them and call Mr. and Mrs. ****** once they arrive. Mr. & Mrs. ****** are aware of this. We hope we have regained their confidence in us here at Scooter Link, wish them well and hope that they enjoy their new scooter. We also want to thank the BBB for their assistance in this matter.

Consumer Response
This response was taken verbally by the BBB: The business has delivered the scooter. I am still waiting for the over head canopy cover and a vinyl cover which I understand is on back order. The business has promised to deliver this when it arrives. I am satisfied and you may close this case.

10/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**** promised to reimburse me the cost of a new joystick if I purchased it. Afterwards he said he would only give me half.
My wheelchair is still under warranty with Scooter Link. It was suggested by **** it needed a new joystick. I told **** I found a new joystick on line for $150.00. He told me to go ahead and buy it and send him a copy of the invoice and he would reimburse me. He acknowledged receiving the copy and said I would get a check soon. After three weeks had passed and no check I called **** and he said he could only give me $75.

Desired Settlement
I want the full amount of $150.00 as **** promised.

Business Response
In response to Mr. *******'s complaint, here is our formal response. On January 22, 2014 Mr. ******* purchased a used pride Jazzy 614 HD power wheelchair. The chair included a one-year parts warranty. Mr. ******* did not purchase a labor warranty which Scooter Link offers to all of its customers on new or used power wheelchair purchases. Mr. ******* contacted Scooter Link on September 2, 2014 and advised us that he had just installed new batteries trying to solve the problem he was having and that his chair was still surging (speeding up and slowing down). He concluded or diagnosed, on his own that his joystick controller had gone bad and wanted Scooter Link to replace it.

As we told Mr. ******* there are many possible causes for surging which include a bad motor, a bad power module and a bad joystick. Our goal with our parts warranty customers is to get them the correct part the first time so that Scooter Link does not spend money on parts which do not fix the problem and further delay the repair for the customer.
Typically, unless there is only one possible cause or the symptoms are clearly defined, Scooter Link requires that customers engage the services of an experienced technician to diagnose the problem or have us send one or our technicians out to his home. This way we are certain to send the correct part, the first time. Many of our customers purchase a labor warranty and in that case we would send the technician out to diagnose the problem to insure that the part that is sent solves the described problem. Mr. ******* did not purchase the labor warranty offered at the time of purchase. We offered to send a technician out to Mr. ******* for this issue which there would be a charge for and he declined.

Mr. ******* made the decision to purchase the part, new from someone on EBay and send his invoice for $154.00 to Scooter Link. We told Mr. ******* that we would not replaced it with a brand new joystick but with a qualified, tested replacement unit which would cost Scooter Link approximately $75.00. This is the amount of reimbursement that Scooter link offered and agreed on with Mr. *******. A checked for the agreed $75 was sent Mr. *******.
Scooter Link has been doing this for approximately 15 years and found that our warranty policy is the quickest and most efficient way to get our customer's equipment fixed and operational. We are not able to just send parts to try to fix a problem on a sophisticated power chair in the hopes that we are sending the correct part. Our goal is to get the correct and proper part or parts to our customers as soon as possible so they can enjoy their power wheelchair.
I hope this addresses all of the issues.

12/06/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I informed *** *******, of my height and short legs. Chair he sold me is too high-
cannot get into seat by myself, legs do not touch
rest. Fall danger
I am newly disabled and need a wheelchair for all out of bed activites. I saw a possible chair on Scooter Link web site. I called, spoke with ***
and asked if chair would work for me. I informed him on my height, unusuall short legs. He said it would and I ordered chair.
When it arrived that chair seat is too high, my feet do not touch foot rest. Medical danger- high risk of falls,feet swell without footrest causing swelling and breakage of skin.
I called *** and he said he would take off seat and put pillow in metal pan. This would not make seat usable; chair would still be too big for safety, foot rest too low and cannot be used.

Desired Settlement
Total refund, no payment of restocking fee, or shipping fees, or any other fees.

Business Response
Miss ***** purchased a new, built to order, Pride Mobility Jazzy Select 6 Ultra with power elevating seat. Her order was assigned Invoice/Order number **** on September 30, 2013.

The order included White Glove Delivery as part of our Upgrade To New special promotion. The chair was shipped to our White Glove Delivery service and in turn delivered to our Customer, Miss ***** on or about October 25, 2013.

The technician made adjustments according to Miss *****'s directions. At the conclusion of the delivery, Miss ***** signed off on a delivery receipt.

Several days later, Miss ***** called and complained that the chair did not fit her size and height and we advised her and directed her to the Return Policy which is listed on the Web Site. The policy clearly provides the terms and condition of any return which is timely made. When Miss ***** was told of this, she said she would have her lawyer give Scooter Link a call. Miss ***** called back a few days later and she was advised that Scooter Link did not hear from her lawyer. Miss ***** commented that she did not want to spend the $200 on the lawyer.

The Return Policy provides that timely request for Return must be made within ten (10) days and that the return would be subject to a 20% restocking fee and that the Customer would be responsible for the cost of packaging and shipping the Chair to and from the Customer's location.

Miss ***** insists that she should not have to pay any of these charges but can provide no facts or reason whys she would be exempt from the Return Policy on the Scooter Link web site.

Scooter Link stands behind its Return Policy and Miss ***** is still eligible to return the Chair, subject to the requirements of the Return Policy.

We have tried, and remain willing to work with our Customer in accordance with our posted Return Policy.

Should you require any additional information, please feel free to contact us.

Scooter Link Inc.

06/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My father ordered a scooter and paid on Jan. 30 and sent additional money by check, they cashed on Feb. 15. Dad died on Feb. 13. I called on the 14th
******* ***** ordered and paid by credit card for a scooter on January 30. My father died on Feb. 13. I called *** ******* who sold it to inform him on Feb. 14. He told me he would give a full refund. I send an e-mail on Feb. 15 so Scooter Link had it in writing. Dad also wrote a check for $614.00 to Scooter Link that was cashed on Feb. 15. The $4999.00 that was paid by card was refunded. Mr. ******* has never acknowledged or refund the $614.60, check number ***** I have sent a letter to the company with the information. The company has a 30 day money back guarantee. No services or scooter was delivered to my father. Mr. ******* had informed me that it was not even built on Feb. 14th. I want the $614.60 to refund to the Estate of ******* ** ****** I am his daughter and administrator. I sent all that information by e-mail and by letter to Scooter Link.

Desired Settlement
Since no scooter was ever made and the order was canceled less than 30 days due to Dad's passing, I want the $614.60 refunded. The check can be made out to Estate of ******* ** ****** The check was cashed on the Feb. 15, the day after I called Mr. ******** about Dad's death. I had sent an e-mail on Feb. 15th. Letters have been sent after those dates. Keeping the $614.60 is a violation of the cancelation policy and refund policy. My father was 70 1/2 when he died. No one should take advantage of a senior citizen's death.

Business' Initial Response
In our business we often have situations where someone passes **** after we receive a custom order. Although we understand that the family is grieving and feel for their situation, this can be a very expensive situation to resolve. With that said, we would like to resolve this and all situations like this amicably and in the best interest of all involved. This particular situation, with this order was set aside waiting to hear from the estate attorney. We should have made more of an effort for a resolution, for this I apologize. We have decided to issue a full refund of $5,613.61. Since it has been requested that any refund not be credited back to the original credit card we need a letter from Mr. ****** daughter with a copy of the power of attorney. Once we receive this we will issue a refund in the desired method Mr. ****** daughter chooses. We are happy to resolve this situation and wish the best for the family of Mr. ******

Thank you for your help with this resolution,

*** *******
Scooter Link, Inc.
XXX XXX-XXXX

Consumer's Final Response
Attached is the scanned copy stating I am the Administrator of ******* ** ******** estate, my father. I am requesting the refund amount of $614.60 from Scooter Link, because my father died before the 30 days of the order. I informed Scooter Link on February 14 and they cashed the check, numbered **** on February 15. I would like the refund check to please be made out to the Estate of ******* ** ***** and sent to: *** ****** **** **************** XXXXX. If you would also like a copy of the canceled check, please e-mail me and I will scan and send that as well.

Thank you for taking care of this complaint.

Sincerely,
******* ** ****, Admin.

10/11/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Incomplete Refund & Terrible Customer Service

Order Number XXXXX I ordered a power chair from ScooterLink. They sent me the wrong chair, then the one that they sent to me wouldn't work. So, techs were sent and the chair couldn't be repaired? I requested a full refund and ask that the chair be picked up and return to Scooterlink. The ordeal that took place, just to get the chair picked up was terrible and after several attemps a partial refund was made. I paid $1698.00 for the chair and ScooterLink refunded 1298.00. They kept $400.00 of my money for shipping, which according to my invoice, there was no charge for shipping? People being treated like this is really bad. I checked your website and noticed that someone else had the same problem with these people? If only I had checked your website prior to dealing with these people, I would not have done business with them. In addition to my refund, I would like for this complaint to be posted with the others so people can see the type of business these people conduct. I mailed all of this info to the Attorney General's Office in Tallahassee and they suggested that I also file a complaint through you. I can fax documentation to you if needed. Just email me your fax number.

Desired Settlement
Complete Refund and this complaint being posted on the BBB Website so others can see the complaints that have been filed against these people.

Business Response
Mr. ***** received the chair he ordered (Order Number*****), a Pride Mobility Jazzy Select 6. The chair was shipped and delivered as promised. Scooter Link did not ship the 'wrong chair'. Mr. ***** contacted Scooter Link with a purported battery or battery charger problem and also complained about the speed of the chair. During these conversations Mr. ***** suggested that he may be going into the hospital for an extended period of time and seemed to be looking for a reason to return the chair. Based on the Customer's good faith information, Scooter Link sent out a set of new batteries (at no charge) to Mr. ***** and a programmer and technician was also dispatched to re-program the power chair to custom program the chair to his needs, all of which was done at no charge or expense to Mr. *****. The technician also installed the batteries. After the batteries and re-programming was complete, we were not advised or any continuing trouble or problems with the chair.
Mr. ***** made a decision to return the power chair which is governed by our 'Return Policy' which is on the web site. The terms of the return and return policy were explained to Mr. ***** and he agreed to them and the chair return was processed.
Mr. ***** erroneously states that there was 'no charge for shipping'. This is an incorrect statement as there is a substantial cost to ship the wheelchair to Mr. *****, it is included in the price of the chair. We also had this discussion with him and he understood that he has the choice to return the chair, which he would have to pay certain charges pursuant to the terms and conditions clearly displayed on our site. To accommodate Mr. *****, Scooter Link even waived the 20% restocking fee.
I believe that Mr. ***** did not understand or did not take the time to review the terms and conditions which govern returns and cancellation. The fees he was charged in connection with the cancellation and decision to return the chair were clearly explained to him and are expressly addressed in our Return Policy portion of our web site. Mr. ***** never requested or demanded a full refund.
Scooter Link takes great pride in providing quality new and used power chairs and providing timely and attentive customer service including Mr. *****. It appears that Mr. ***** was simply looking for a way to cancel his order and avoid our Refund policy.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm not surprised to see ScooterLink's reply. Given the service and treatment that I received from ScooterLink, this type of response was expected. I gave an accurate account of my transaction with ScooterLink in my original statement, leaving out some of the details that are now needed. The wrong chair was shipped. The Jazzy Select 6 has wheels that extend out in front with a center drive. The wheels out front prevent me from getting close enough to my equipment to safely transfer over. I worked with ScooterLink for a long time, but only got sarcastic remarks and no relief for the problem that needed attention. Two Techs were sent out to install new batteries in the chair & program it, ignoring the orginal problem of the wheels out front? Two very nice gentlemen(that ran an upholstery shop in************) came by and successfully installed the new batteries. When I gave them the programmer and showed them what the chair was doing, they were unable to proceed any further? Saying that they had no knowledge of programing the chairs? And they left? I immediately notified ScooterLink of this and asked for a FULL REFUND and that the chair be picked up and returned to ScooterLink. (See Attahed Letter) The speed of the chair was never the problem? The chair would sway in all different directions. The toggle or internal controls were messed up and was VERY unsafe for someone in a wheelchair. I was amused to read where ScooterLink said I had never requested a FULL REFUND? When has anyone returned faulty equipment and asked "PLEASE GIVE ME A PARTIAL REFUND"? (See Attachments for Letter & Statement of Shipping Charges) Then ScooterLink goes off in a couple of other directions talking about discussions/Return Policy/Website etc., which never took place?

However, I have rented a powerchair until I can make arrangements for a replacement.

In addition, I don't see any need to go through any more of this "I SAY, HE DAY" process with ScooterLink. In closing, Please post these exchanges on your website for others to reference, hopefully before they contact ScooterLink.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.