BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1987

Broward Factory Service

Phone: (727) 442-3400Fax: (727) 441-2030View Additional Phone Numbers1231 N Hercules Ave, ClearwaterFL 33765-1921View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1987

BBB has determined that Broward Factory Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Broward Factory Service's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Broward Factory Service

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
01/28/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought appliance warranty with all parts/labor. Later say circuit board cover add't $80.Contract stating that not rec'd til AFTER I PAID $199.Cheated!
On 8-13-14 bought extended appliance warranty for $199 +tax covering all labor and parts for selected appliances.The same ad still running in papers 1-9-15. Later letter says $79.50 additional to cover circuit boards. Contract(XXXXXXXX) states circuit boards not covered (in small print) BUT I DID NOT RECEIVE CONTRACT TIL AFTER I PAID, nor was I advised that control panels were not included in cost at purchase time.
The ad clearly states that all labor charges and functional parts (including no deductibles) were covered. Telephone complaint was ignored as was my letter of 12-10-14. From the ad I understood that all functional parts were covered in the warranty. I consider the control panel a functional part of the appliance as would anyone reading the ad.
Minimally guilty of false advertising and/or the old bait and switch tactic.

Desired Settlement
Refund of purchase price.

Business Response
this warranty was sold over the phone. We go over everything possible and mail the applications to potential customers before the purchase in most cases. He must have wanted to purchase over the phone without seeing the terms and conditions of the warranty that are clearly printed on the back.
We never hide anything we are always up front that there are exclusions. We need in writing from Mr. ***** that he wishes to cancel his warranty and we will send him a refund.I can use this complaint to cancel his warranty if that's what he would like.

Consumer Response
This response was taken verbally by the BBB: Yes, please use this BBB complaint process as my written request for cancellation. Please return my refund via the same credit card that was used. You may close this complaint.

05/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to repair freezer after 3 service calls. Now want extra money to order the parts.
This company is a rip-off. They claim to have repair and replacement warranty, but they have not repaired my freezer. I have been here at least 3 times over the last 6 months. I have been told it was fixed, but it keeps breaking. All food ruined. They have replaced a few thermistors, but now they say its the circuit board and will cost me an additional $200. To be honest, the entire refrigerator needs to be replaced, but they will never do that unless an 11 ton truck falls on the house and crushes it. We also had a problem with an air conditioner where they tried to high pressure us into buying an entire new system.

Desired Settlement
Refund of our warranty cost for the year. About $700

Business Response
First call in one year for refrigerator was on X-XX-XXXX coil was frozen. Coil was defrosted and new defrost heater needed to be ordered because we did not have it in stock. Returned on X-XX-XXXX and installed parts. Homeowner called on X-XX-XXXX service tech went to home on X-XX-XXXX found electronic circuit board had failed and needed to be replaced. While service tech was at home she was quoted on new circuit board 185.00 plus tax. We do not cover circuit boards unless the homeowner takes the coverage for 75.00 a year and that covers all circuit boards for appliances that you have covered on your plan. We have terms and conditions on the back of our warranty that explain what is covered and what is not covered. This warranty was purchased on X-XX-XXXX then renewed 9-18-2014. During that time we mailed two separate mails to all of our customers. It explained our circuit board option for 75.00 that would have covered the circuit board the home owner needed. Home owner did not take the coverage. Nothing was ever said by the home owner to me or the service tech that there was any food loss. We do cover up to $50.00 for food loss due to our neglect. I don't believe there was any neglect on our part. I did try and speak to Mrs.****** while my service tech was at the home about the circuit board cost and coverage. she cursed me out and hung up the phone. The air conditioning compressor failed and we replaced that on X-XX-XXXX at no charge. During that service call our service tech noticed the system seemed to small for the home. They explained that a room was added to the home and the ac system was not increased. We did a load calculation on the home and found that there system was to small for the home and should be increased from 3.5 to 5 ton. They were given an option to replace the system at a discounted price because of the bad compressor. If there wish is to cancel the warranty we can do that with a letter from the owner to do so. There will be a refund it will not be $700.00. The home owner paid 389.44 for the silver repair warranty and 337.05 for the gold replacement warranty. As per the terms and conditions of our warranty if they cancel the refund would 90 percent of the pro-rated refund less any claims. I will attached a copy of the warranty. I don't feel that we did anything wrong in this case and we do everything possible to let them know about the coverage. The best I can offer at this time is I will split the price for the circuit board they need and replace it for 92.50 plus tax. If they wish to cancel the warranty then all they need is to send a letter to cancel. Please let me know if there is any additional information you need.

***** ********
Manager
Broward Factory Service

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr.********* omitted several facts. Firstly, even though they *** have mailed the extra coverage option, we have never received it. I did receive a flyer about an additional plan for a/c maintenance, but never for the circuit boards. Secondly, he never offered to split the cost with me. After discussing this with corporate management, this is apparently a company practice if a client takes the coverage for the circuit boards but it was not offered to me. Mr. ******** was rude and said this is a direct quote "this is not up for discussion" to which I did curse him out. After having four meltdowns in my freezer and having to wait at least a week for each part to be ordered and installed, I was told that they did not cover the part that I really needed the circuit board. I did tell the repair tech that I had to throw food away, but he never mentioned that there was any compensation available. So, I did tell them, contrary to Mr. ********'s statement. Regarding the air conditioning repair we were told that the price they quoted to upgrade the entire system was good only for one day at which time the price would go up at least $1000. The house addition was built in 2008 and when we first took coverage with Broward Factory Service in 2013 the current air conditioning unit was in place. The company did an inspection before we signed a contract and never once brought up that the unit was undersized for the house. We were also told that because we chose to repair instead of replace that the repairs and the unit would no longer be under warranty I found out later that this is a blatant lie. Just another high pressure tactic to make us buy a new unit instead of repairing the current one. I would also like to add that Mr. ******** did not respond to my allegation that because we decided NOT to cave in to their high pressure tactics, that he delayed the air conditioning repair by four days. It was originally scheduled for Friday, but because we declined to spend $6500 for a new unit, they called us Friday morning and pushed our installation out until Monday afternoon. It cost my husband and I an additional $400 to buy a portable air conditioning unit so we could get out of the sweltering 90 degree Tampa, FL heat. I just received a bill for our new coverage effective in September of over $760. I have shredded it. I understand that this company has had a stellar BBB rating, but the Tampa/Clearwater office is a poor reflection of the company. I sent a letter to the President and asked that Mr. ******** be fired due to his poor management and customer service skills.

11/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
2 Brand new AC units installed continuously breaking down.
My husband and I purchased a brand new Rheem AC unit from Broward Factory Services in August 2014. A few days after they installed it, it broke down, followed by 14 more times over the course of the next 3 months. I was 9 months pregnant at the time and temperatures were in the 90's. They sometimes made us wait days before even coming out to see if they could service it. Every time they said they "fixed" it, it just would break down again days later. They finally admitted they didn't really know what was wrong with it and that they just had been guessing every time they were out to "fix" the BRAND NEW unit. In October, they finally replaced it with a Goodman unit. When we went to turn on the heat a few days ago, Same problem, terrible rattling sound that wakes up our neighbors and system not working properly. They send someone new out nearly every time and many of the technicians do not know what they are doing and state they are in training. They either refuse to put the booties on their feet (as I request due to the fact that we have a baby in the house) or say they don't have them even though they do. They are extremely when they come out, but don't tolerate it when you get firm back to them. They always say they are going to call a few minutes before they get here, they never do and then ring the doorbell and leave if I don't make it downstairs in time with the baby or they aggressively try to open the locked door immediately after ringing the doorbell. When I call, they are also all extremely rude saying they are doing us a "favor" when they come out even though it is their job to do so if the AC is not working as they are legally bound to a 10 year warrenty with the system.

Desired Settlement
Full and complete refund plus reimbursement for cost of other AC companies to come out when they refused to as well as reimbursement for not being able to stay in our home safely due to temperature concerns being that I was 9 months pregnant when this all started and then having a newborn in the house for the first 2 months of his live with AC/heat that doesn't work.

Business Response
We installed new air conditioning system on 06/16/14. They started having warranty issues with the system on 09/05/14. After the system had four different warranty issues
We replaced the system with a new different brand system on 10-21-14. They then had
Another problem and we could not make the homeowner happy. I then agreed to remove
The system and refund them 100% of the fees paid. This was done on 11/05/14. We are
Truly sorry for any inconvenience the homeowner may have experienced. We did
Everything possible, and tried to resolve this matter as quickly as possible for the homeowner.


Sincerely

***** ********
Manager
Broward Factory Service
CACOXXXXX


Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

They did remove the ac unit and refunded our money but they did nothing about the damages they caused. They tried to install a new unit keeping the old copper lines while in the process they kinked a line and put a small hole in it which caused the freon to leak out. They cut corners and admitted it. They just didn't care, it was a terrible experience. I think this company need to be investigated.

The unit was leaking freon which leaked all over our back patio. We have to pay the new ac unit more than we should have because of the mess that this company left behind. This company was in the wrong and we had to deal with this for 3 months while the company kept blaming everyone but themselves. We had to pay about $120 to have the patio pressure washed, my husband had to take multiple days off of work, I had to stay with family and friends while our home had no ac with a newborn baby. Over 3 months and 16 service calls our lives were completely disrupted and more than anything I think we should be compensation for the inconvenience they caused in our lives.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/21/1987Business started: 01/01/1967
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach
100 S Myrtle Ave Rm 202
Clearwater, FL 33756-5520
(727) 562-4567
http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp

Pinellas County Construction License Board
12600 Belcher Road, Suite 102
Largo, FL 33773
(727) 582-3100
http://www.pcclb.com

Hillsborough County Contractors License
5701 E Hillsborough Ave Ste 1140
Tampa, FL 33610-5428
(813) 272-5600

BBB records show a license number of CAC057400 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of ES0000336 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of BTR-0010536 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach. Their web address is http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of BTR-0010537 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Clearwater & Clearwater Beach. Their web address is http://www.clearwater-fl.com/gov/depts/devel svc/Building/occupational license.asp.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of I-CAC057400 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of I-ES0000336 for this company, issued by Pinellas County Construction License Board. Their web address is http://www.pcclb.com.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of CAC057400 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of ES0000336 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1974, FL

Business Management
Mr. Crockett Herd (President)Ms. Judith H. Stalheber (Director)Ms. Christine Walton (Vice President)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Ferguson (Branch Manager)
Business Category

Major Appliances Service & Repair, Small Appliances Service & Repair, Air Conditioning Companies, Air Conditioning Repair Companies

Alternate Business Names
Herd Enterprises, Inc., BFS

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Broward Factory Service has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Broward Factory Service

1231 N Hercules Ave

Clearwater, FL 33765-1921

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1231 N Hercules Ave 

    Clearwater, FL 33765-1921(877) 237-1313

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Broward Factory Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 237-1313
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Major Appliances Service & Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.