BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/15/2010

American Appliance, Inc.

Phone: (727) 527-3854Fax: (727) 525-0289

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
05/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Worthless Merchandise + Personal Property Damage Due to Worthless Merchandise/Worthless Warranty + Horrible Customer Service = Upset Customer
2/18/2014 I decided to stop into American Appliance. I was greeted by young man who was very attentive. I explained to him that I just moved in my new home 2/14 and needed a W/D. Most of their items were singular. I requested a matching set. Casually he made a comment that due to the time of year most of their appliances were going fast so sets were limited. He located a matching Kenmore set. At touch it appeared set, when asked he explained the moisture was due to ''touchup paint.'' I thought nothing of it. I brought it for the same reason anyone purchases anything; a need, demand, & customer service experience which at the time was great. The unit was delivered the next day as promised however without an exhaust tube nor had the company changed the plug as they said they would. He changed the plug and left.
The initial flood was on 2/25/14 which was my first time using the unit. I attempted to turn on the dryer. It never came on. I checked the breaker box, it was not tripped. It was just a dud. I loaded the washer, turned it on & left to the garage to call the company. About 20 minutes later I went to gather my laundry & take them to the neighborhood Laundromat, only to find a flooded garage. Everyone in my household works, previously stated we just moved into our new home 2/14 so many of our unpacked boxes are still in the garage. At least 3 cardboard boxes & their contents are ruined. I have a wooden rocking chair that belonged to my grandmother which is very important to me also has slight water damage. Not to mention several other wooden things. My garage is now the breeding grounds for mosquitoes.
Eventually I was able to get in contact with American Appliance. The receptionist explained that someone would get out to me & correct the issue. No one ever came out that day.
Wednesday 2/26/14 my garage flooded for the 2nd time.
A guy name ***** came out to fix the washer and dryer. He assured me that everything was done correctly & that my 30 day warranty would start over from this day due to the defective merchandise. About two hours later I attempted to use the washer. While in the garage I decided to test the dryer again. I turned it on, the unit made a popping sound and smelt of burning rubber. I was very distraught, I phoned the company again requesting to speak with management. This was my first rude encounter with *******. I explained to him my displeasure & requested a new dryer be sent out today. At this time 8 days had passed since my purchase & I had not been able to wash in the comfort of my own home. Bluntly he responded ''all my trucks are out for the day, you will get one tomorrow.'' As I attempted to respond he hung up on me.

When I phoned back no one answered so I decided to call ***** back. Very politely he explained that he was sorry but he was just a service man & that they would have to send him back, not what I wanted to hear but I understood. Going back into the garage I noticed my floor was flooded again. Ironically no one answered the phone for remainder of the day. 1st thing Thursday morning I contacted them again. Explained the situation to ******* again, I explained that my garage was flooded & that I was very unhappy. He told me he was busy, that he would get a replacement unit out to me the following day, which would have been 2/28/14. I explained that I was uninterested in waiting another day to receive another unit. I requested a new complete unit be delivered today as well as someone to clean up this mess in my garage. He replied, ''that's all I can offer, I'm not about to go back and forth with you.'' He hung up on me again. I was LIVID. I called back the nice woman answered again; I asked to be transferred to *******. She obliged, 11 minutes went by, he never cam to the phone. I called me. I asked to speak to someone higher then him. I was then informed that he was the owner. I asked to speak to someone over him. I was then informed that he was the owner.

Desired Settlement
I then asked his last name, the young lady declined. She stated that she was not at liberty to give out such information. Not wanting to be rude to her, I said thank you and hung up. Not believing that the owner of the company would be so rude to a paid customer, I went to sunbiz.org to locate the ''real'' owner's name. To my disbelief ******* ******** was indeed the owner.

I phoned back, the young lady answered again. I asked to to speak with Mr. ******** (purposely saying is name)She placed me on a very brief hold. When she returned she said in short that he didn't want to talk to me and asked was there anything that she could assist me with. I was done with his blatant disrespect. I told her that he does not have to speak with me ever again. I asked her to ask him to refund my money, clean up my garage, and pick up his merchandise. I was placed on another very brief hold. She replied that he agreed and that someone would be out tomorrow to pick up the merchandise.
Friday has come and gone.
Today is Saturday March 1, two whole days later; I took off a half of day of personal time of work Friday 2/28/14 so that I may finish this issue. No one came. My garage is still the storage area for two defective products. My garage is still under water in the rear (as we have been diligently soaking up the water every chance we had). I went back to the laundromat again Thursday night and spent $51 dollars washing and drying not only my families clothing but also linens used to get up some of the water in the garage. How unfair is that? Why do have to spend money at a launder mat twice in one week when I purchased a washer and dryer a week before? ******* ******** has not refunded my money nor even phoned me.

In a perfect world I would request that ******* ******** be reprimanded in some form for his lack of compassion and his blunt nastiness.

However what I am asking for is...
My money fully refunded $374.50
My money that I spent in the laundry mat last week: approx $72
The company to pay for someone to come clean up the rear area of the garage.
$200 for personal effects damaged in boxes due to flood.
My grandmother rocking chair has been taking care of.

I would also request that I be compensated for storage if property is not picked up soon. I cannot put a new unit in my wash area until the defective merchandise is gone.

I believe this to be more than fair due not only to the length of time that has elapsed, but also due to unnecessary water damage.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We do intend to go out and pick up the washer and dryer and give her a full refund. We have her on the schedule for the end of today and will give her a call if something changes.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company still did not come and pick up the merchandise in a timely fashion, thus my garage was their storage unit for approximately 3 weeks. I am sure if I stored anything working or not, in a storage facility I would be charged. Also what about the damage to my personal belongings due to not one but two floods due to faulty merchandise and/or the fact that I was without a working washer and dryer thus having to spend money to do laundry.v I would like to be compensated for such.

Final Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We will offer the customer $150 for the troubles.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
"In a perfect world I would request that ******* ******** be reprimanded in some form for his lack of compassion and his blunt nastiness.

However what I am asking for is...
My money fully refunded $374.50
My money that I spent in the laundry mat last week: approx $72
The company to pay for someone to come clean up the rear area of the garage.
$200 for personal effects damaged in boxes due to flood.
My grandmother rocking chair has been taking care of.

I would also request that I be compensated for storage if property is not picked up soon. I cannot put a new unit in my wash area until the defective merchandise is gone.

I believe this to be more than fair due not only to the length of time that has elapsed, but also due to unnecessary water damage. "


This was already submitted however if you are looking for a more definitive amount I believe about $400 should suffice.
I have already received my refund of original purchase amount spent so this $400 would encompass property damage due to flood, approx. amount spent on laundry as well as storage of an inoperable unit for an excessive amount of days.

07/17/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
American Appliance agreed to purchase my washer and dryer for $200. They have since reneged on paying me and continue to lie to me regarding payment.
On Monday, June 3rd, 2013, I visited the showroom of American Appliances Inc. at XXXX XXth ****** ***** in St. Petersburg. I spoke with a representative, whose name I do not recall, regarding my need to trade my full size Roper washer and dryer for a stacked washer and dryer unit that would fit into my new rental home at XXXX Xth ****** ****** As I looked at a Maytag stacked washer and dryer, the representative explained to me that they did not combine buying and selling transactions, nor do trades, however they would sell the Maytag unit to me and pick up my used Roper washer and dryer for evaluation, and if interested in buying them, would make me an offer of $75-100 each. I was told that someone would contact me a day or two after my appliances were picked up. I went ahead with the purchase of the Maytag stacked washer and dryer unit for $450. and paid with my debit card. Delivery of the new stacked unit, and pick up of my used washer and dryer was completed the following day, Tuesday, June 4th. As I did not hear anything from American Appliance, I decided to give them a call on Monday, June 10th, at which time I was told by ******** that the check, in the amount of $200 would be mailed that day. As I am a 29 year veteran employee of the United States Postal Service, I am quite familiar with the daily operations of the US mail, and as such, recognized that the check mailed from St. Petersburg should have arrived the next day, Tuesday, June 11th. When it didn't arrive, I called American Appliance and again spoke with ***** who told me the check didn't get out in the mail, but that he would take care of it. I told him I would expect the check in my mailbox no later than Friday, again allowing for more time than is actually necessary for mail to be delivered locally. When the check didn't arrive on Friday, I again called and spoke with ***** who this time told me that he didn't mail the check when he should have on Wednesday. I told him to just hold on to it and I would come by on Saturday to pick it up, at which point he told me that it had been mailed already, on Thursday, so I would have it on Saturday. Again, I trusted that he was being honest, and I agreed to wait. When the check failed to arrive on Saturday, and again on Monday, I called American Appliance and again spoke with ***** He offered no excuse, other then to admit sheepishly that he hadn't mailed it. I adamantly insisted that he keep his word and mail the check immediately as I am a single parent and struggling to make ends meet. I told him that I needed the money and that if I didn't have it by the end of this week, I would have no recourse but to speak with an attorney. At this point he hung up the telephone.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking immediate payment in the amount of $200 as fair and just compensation for my Roper washer and dryer which he is in possession of, as we agreed to as a condition of the sale of the stacked Maytag washer and dryer unit I purchased from him.

Business' Initial Response
Customer should have received payment by now. If not please let me know will stop payment and issue new check Thanks mike

10/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Defective product which I was told worked fine.

On 08/20/2014 I purchased a refrigerator from this company. It was delivered the following day. Temperature in the unit fluctuated from 34 to 58 degrees. I called to request repairs. I was told it would be the next day. The next day I awoke to spoiled food and with symptoms of a virus and requested to be rescheduled. By mid afternoon the refrigerator was totally dead and food was spoiled. Once again I called requesting a replacement or a refund. I was told that wasn't possible because only the owner could do that. I was assured he would call me first thing Monday morning. At noon I called them and the owner was there but refused to speak with me. I paid in good faith and expected good faith in return. The lady on the phone was rude and when I mentioned I would do a charge reversal she threatened me with being arrested for possession of stolen property. Being a senior citizen I resent being threatened for any reason. These people have cost me in terms of lost food, stress and downright frustration in trying to settle this matter. I refuse to be intimidated and ignored so we will go forth in new forums. I have notified the company that any future communications must be in a written form. They seem to think simply hanging up the phone makes the issue go away. I have also notified them (in writing) that their refrigerator is on my front porch under cover and requested they remove it by 3 PM, August 26, 2014. Additionally they are aware of my intentions regarding filing complaints if they fail to resolve this matter immediately and in a satisfactory manner. These people have no regards for the fact a lack of refrigeration not only ruins food but can become a health hazard. This company has gone from excellent customer service to threats, intimidation and just hanging up on customers.

Desired Settlement
Full refund plus $60 for spoiled meat and produce. Additionally I am storing this and should be compensated. They delivered to the house next door and could have removed this.

Business Response
This letter is in response to the complaint by Mr. ******** ********. Mr. ******** purchased a refrigerator from our company on 8/20/14 and it was delivered on 8/21/14. Mr. ******** called around 3:00 PM that afternoon and stated that he felt the temperature was cooling but may not be not cold enough. Being that it was just delivered a few hours prior, he was advised to keep the refrigerator closed so that it could cool down entirely and that we would schedule a service technician to follow up with him as one became available. On 8/22/14 he was called at 8:00 AM the next morning by a technician to come and check the unit and make sure it was working properly now that the refrigerator had time to cycle through it's cooling and defrost cycles. At that time Mr. ******** REFUSED SERVICE. He was rude and uncooperative with the technician and told us not to come on his property and that he would pursue this through your department and other avenues. He also indicated that he intended to stop payment on his credit card that was used to purchase this refrigerator.

As stated on his receipt our guarantee and warranty is as follows:

Guarantee
First 30 days 100% guaranteed. Any appliance malfunction will be repaired free of charge. If a guaranteed appliance cannot be repaired after reasonable attempts, it will be replaced free of charge with a comparable appliance.

2 Year service Warranty
Discounted service charge of 19.25 plus part, no labor charge.

ALL SALES FINAL

Mr. ******** did not allow us to honor our guarantee by refusing service. Therefore, we will not provide compensation for spoiled which may have been preventable.

On 8/25/14 Mr. ******** sent our company an email demanding a check for a refund as well as compensation for spoiled food by 3:00PM. It is our policy that refunds are issued via the same method used for payment, which in this case was credit card. Mr. ******** indicated that he was calling his credit card company to initiate a chargeback/refund, refused service and access to his property and was not cooperative as to resolving this issue, there has been no further communication until now.

Mr. ******** has in fact contacted his credit card company to initiate a chargeback refund for this item. We have received this documentation and did not dispute his request. Therefore, he will receive a refund via the credit card company.

If he would like the refrigerator removed from his property, a written request will be required to do so.

Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

I haven't verified receipt of the refund yet but the company says they did refund. I have the refrigerator outside waiting for them to come pick it up but I will not let the business on my property unless they reimburse me for the food that was lost. I want $60 for the food that was lost and I believe that is more than fair. I had meat, produce, fruit and vegetable that was lost. The refrigerator could not be repaired and couldn't be trusted. It didn't work in the first place. I have been used this company for many years but something has changed recently with their management and they do not seem to care about their customers like they used to.

04/02/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.