BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/27/2013

Florida Family Insurance

Phone: (888) 850-4663Fax: (239) 396-7030

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
04/14/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Florida Family Insurance billed my escrow account with my lender Bank of America without my consent.
In October of 2014 I was forced to obtain flood insurance for my property located at *** ** **** ****** **** ** *** ********** ** XXXXX because of a FEMA map change. I paid for this policy by check. Our Association was able to obtain a LOMA (Letter of map adjustment). The LOMA was submitted to my lender on or around Dec. 1, 2014. It was accepted a short time after. I then attempted to cancel my flood policy with my insurance broker, Troy ******** **** ***** ********* ****** and was told that not premium would be refunded. When I received a bill for flood insurance renewal in October 2015, I e-mailed my insurance broker and informed them that I would not renew. Florida Family Insurance took it upon themselves without my knowledge or authorization to bill my lender for the premium. When I received a statement from my lender for the escrow review, Dec. 2015I noticed the payment to Florid Family. I again contacted my broker and asked for a refund of the premium for the policy via a refund request Jan. 15, 2016. On or about Feb. 15th I received a check #XXXXX in the amount of $30.00, reason for refund, "Changing policy from Newly Mapped to a preferred risk policy". Policy #XXXXXXXXXX, I also received a new declaration page.

Desired Settlement
I desire a FULL refund for a policy that I have been attempting to cancel since October 2015.

Business Response
BBB Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX. We received your inquiry on February 24, 2016. However, due to the nature of the transaction being a financial one between Mr. ********* and our company, we are not able to share information about their policy. We will respond directly to Mr. ********* and it would then be up to them to determine if they would like to share the information with you. Thank you for your inquiry.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The policy should never been renewed. I informed my agent via e-mail that I would not be renewing the policy (attached e-mail). Furthermore, I NEVER authorized Florida Family Insurance to directly bill my escrow account. I believe the funds were STOLEN from my account. It wasn't until after the funds were removed from my escrow account that I found out that the policy had been paid by my lender, Bank of America. The fact that Florida Family has to follow FEMA guidelines is all well in good, if the policy was legitimately active. I contend it should not have been active.

Final Business Response
We are responding directly to Mr. ********* with a favorable outcome, but due to the nature of the transaction being a financial one between Mr. ********* and our company, we are not able to share specific information about their policy in this response. We expect the insured will be satisfied with the conclusion of this matter. It will be up to Mr. ********* if he would like to share any information regarding the resolution with you.

01/30/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They are failing to renew my policy because of extensive claim issues per my agent Parks and Assoc. Theresa. I have resolved the repairs they wanted.
Today is Tuesday January 5, 2015. On Saturday August 22nd, 2015 the nightmare began and it took this company three months to resolve. My house suffered a plumbing issue that flooded my kitchen and laundry room. I hired a public adjuster to help with the problem because I have never filed a claim with my insurance company. This has been **** from beginning to end, at the end God prevailed and my life is back to normal almost. When the insurance adjuster Mr. Sid came to see the property he noticed a few issues that had happen a few days prior due to a roof leak that I had because of the rains, problem has been solved as of today. I have a new roof and my ceiling in the bedroom has been freshly painted as my full home will soon be as well. My husband had made a small area in the back of my property to keep our shutters and that has been torn down. ALL complaints from Mr. Sid have been cleared prior to expiration date January 6th, 2016 of my policy, which is due to renew on the same date. Today I received a call from my insurance broker Theresa at Parks and Associates that Florida Family will NOT RENEW based on my extensive claim history. I feel this is bad business practice and I would like this to be investigated by you guys as well as the Insurance Commissioner's Office in the State of Florida, I will file with them as well. I filed a complaint with company as well via email. This is the letter that I wrote to Florida Family Insurance Company
I'm contacting you today because my policy expires tomorrow and you are refusing to renew the policy based on my claims history, per Theresa at Parks and Associates. I called yesterday and made the company aware that the repairs that you asked to be done to my property prior to the renewal date would be completed by today January 5th, 2015 so that I can get the policy renewed. I feel that this is not properly being handled and that you are not being at all fare to the issue; this is bad business practice on your behalf. I will also be filling a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and the Insurance Commissioner's Office for the State of Florida. I have made my mortgage company aware of your bad business practices. If you feel that you want to rethink your position please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX

Sincerely,
Mayelin ******
517 NW 13th Ave
Boynton Beach, FL XXXXX

Please help me!!

Desired Settlement
I would like them to renew and revaluate my current policy. Based on the fact that I have completely redone my roof and my plumbing has been fixed and my kitchen is almost cleared, my house is almost a beautiful palace. I plan to live here until our great God wants. I don't plan to sell, unless I win the lottery and I can get myself a mansion, even then I love my little humble house more than anyone's mansion.

Business Response
BBB Complaint Case# XXXXXXXX. We received your inquiry on January 6, 2016. However, due to the nature of the transaction being a financial one between Mr. and Mrs. ****** and our company, we are not able to share information about their policy. We will respond directly to Mr. and Mrs. ****** and it would then be up to them to determine if they would like to share the information with you. Thank you for your inquiry.

05/20/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told by the agent that the current coverage was acceptable. After paying the money, they cancelled my insurance.
My insurance agent told me that Family Insurance would agree to cover my house $150,000.00.
After I payed the money, about a month later they cancel my homeowners insurance without giving me an opportunity to defend myself. They claimed that pictures were not provided for water damage;this info was never asked,coverage of $150,000 is not sufficient even though they originally approved it, bars on the house even though my insurance agent did not mention this and unknown breed of dog. I do not have a dog.On March 17, I paid them $561.00. Today they sent me a check for $476.00.That is a difference of $110.00. In my opinion, they are just out to scam people out of their money. They give the consumer false hope of economical insurance and then they make some cheap excuse to take the money of the consumer.
The agent that prepared this was Mary P*** at
International Insurance. Their address is **** ** *** ave. Her phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Desired Settlement
I want my full refund and not a partial one. They still owe me $110.00.

Business Response
BBB Complaint Case #XXXXXXXX.

We received your inquiry on April 26, 2016. For confidentiality reasons, we cannot share information regarding this policy in a public forum. We will be responding directly to Mr. ****************, and it will be his decision as to whether he would like to share the information with the BBB. Thank you for your inquiry.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In my opinion, it seems Florida Family Insurance is playing the blame game.In their cancellation letter they claimed that they had previously attempted to contact me yet this is not true. Now they want to shift the problem to the insurance agent. They claim they will only give me a full refund if I did not cancel my previous insurance. This is truly shameful!

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.