BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Ceridian Benefits Services

Phone: (727) 864-3300

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

47 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues18
Problems with Product / Service28
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints47

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (47)BBB Closure Definitions
02/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ceridian CONTINUALLY mails my invoice so I receive it with TWO or THREE days to pay. I get the bill just about at the end of the month. UNACCEPTABLE
Every single month, I get my bill from Ceridian with just two or three days to pay on time. My bill is due the 1st of each month. EVERY MONTH, I RECEIVE MY INVOICE ON THE 28TH OR 29TH. This is unacceptable.

I don't know whether Ceridian does this on purpose, to encourage on-line/phone payments, which include an EXTRA FEE.

I call Customer Service and am told continually that bills are generated on the 19th or 23rd. I don't care what the system says....I get my invoice practically with NO TIME to get my payment in on time. I realize there is a grace period, but for something as important as continuing health coverage, Ceridian needs to make it as CONVENIENT as possible, not introduce billing headaches each and every month.

Desired Settlement
Since customer service offers no solutions for me, I am appealing to someone at Ceridian to start sending my bills in a more TIMELY fashion. It is unacceptable and RIDICULOUS to expect on-time payments when you receive your invoice with 2 days to spare.

Business Response
Ceridian will respond directly to the continuant.

12/31/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called to cancel my COBRA service on 11/28/2014, before my December payment was due. I was unable to speak to a person and finally decided to use the automated system to cancel my coverage. I was still billed on 12/1/2014. When I called again and finally managed to speak to a live person (****) I was told that I would have needed to cancel before my bill was sent out on 11/19/2014. I explained to **** that I did not have my new coverage on 11/19/2014 and that cancelling before the bill was due should have been sufficient. He stated that I need to stop payment with my bank because the invoice had already been sent out. He further stated that if I had spoke to an actual person on the 28th they would have told me this. I explained that I was not ABLE to get through to a live person because their automated system did not give me that option. He became angry with my repeated explanations and stated that they could not issue a refund once the payment has gone through, despite the fact that I had canceled.
Product_Or_Service: COBRA insurance
Account_Number: NC-XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like my $1225.06 refunded since I did cancel before it was billed. I no longer need their services.

Business Response
Ceridian will respond directly to the continuant.

12/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unhelpful customer Service representative placed me on hold for over 45 minutes without checking in when I asked to speak to his supervisor.
I called Ceridian on 3 separate occasions regarding an issue I was having creating an account and logging into their online system to pay my bill. The first time I called I never received the follow-up information I needed to create an account. The third time I called for the same issue I was placed on hold for over 45 minutes without anyone checking in. When I was finally taken off of hold, the employee offered no help and then informed me that I would have to pay an $8 "convenience fee" (each month!) to pay my bill over the phone or online. He next placed me on hold (and eventually hung up on me) when I asked to speak to his supervisor about this. The issue is still not resolved.

Desired Settlement
I'd like to be able to pay my bill online without being charged an $8 "convenience fee" per month (on an $8 bill!). It is completely unacceptable for a company to charge this large of a fee for a service that is considered standard in every other business. I'd also like to speak to a supervisor about alternatives without being hung up on by customer service agents.

Business Response
Ceridian will respond to the continuant directly.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was contacted regarding this complaint by ***** ****** whom I assume is a representative of Ceridian (though she didn't identify this explicitly). It seems Ceridian misunderstood the initial complaint and/or is attempting to shift the blame to their partner company, Fistserv. I therefore am responding in hopes of clarifying several key points.

1) The complaint is not that I don't have options for paying. Rather, it's that the options Cerdian provideshere I'm meaning to refer to Ceridian and not to their business partner, Fistservare outrageously outdated.

Requiring people to pay by paper check (because this is essentially what the company does by charging a deterrent $7.95 service fee PER MONTH for paying by any other option) is simply unacceptable for a business in 2014. Paying the fee to pay online or over the phone every month would literally double my bill, thus the fee is unreasonable and imposes an unnecessary hardship.

2) Another key aspect of the complaint, and one that the Ceridian representative seemed to doubt from the tone of her email, was that a customer service agent from the company placed me on a series of lengthy holds without checking in when he couldn't answer my questions about payment, eventually hanging up on me. What's particularly telling here is that this incident took place while I was in the midst of my third customer service call to Ceridian. The other two agents I spoke with (re addressing a separate issue) failed to follow up with me via email as they had indicated that they would. Thus, the larger theme here is that Ceridian customer service agents and managers are poorly trained, cannot answer customers' questions about key aspects of the company (e.g., payment) that are outsourced and, finally, don't know how to properly direct questions to someone who DOES know the answer. Had my questions been answered in my first (or even my second!) call to the company this complaint would have never been filed.

Final Business Response
The Compliance Department is in receipt of Ms. ********'s rebuttal to our previous correspondence. There are four options to remit a premium payment to Ceridian for a ***** payment: (1) U.S. Postal Service (2) IVR (telephone) (3) Web, or (4) designated walk-in at a participating ****** retail location. All options require a service see with exception to payments being sent by the U.S. Postal Service. Sorry, there are no exceptions. Thank you.

08/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I GETTING LETTERS ABOUT ASKING TO PAY CERIDIAN FOR HEALT COVERAGE SINCE THE MONTH OF JUNE 1 2014 THE PAYMENT THEY REQUEST ARE FROM JUNE TO AUG 2014 AND THE WAY IS GOING THIS COMPANY WILL BILL ME FOR THE ENTIRE YEAR THE SAY MY COVERAGE BEGING THE MONTH OF JUNE BUT THE MONTH OF JUNE I WAS COVER BY MEDICARE I CALL THE PHONE LIST AT THE LETTER AND THE PERSON RESPONDING THE PHONE SAY WELL YOU HAVE TO PAY THEY ARE ASKING A $503.60 FOR EVERY MONT SINCE JUNE TOTAL $1010.80I NEVER USE THIS COMPANY FOR MEDICAL OR DRUGS AND I. WONDER IF I.HAVE TO TAKE THIS PEOPLE TO COURT AND EXPOSE TO THE NEWS MEDIA FOR THE BILLING FOR SERVICES I NEVER USE AND NEVER SIGN IN TO PLEASE CAN YOU HELP THIS COMPANY STOP SENDING ME BILL AND TREATING WITH DAMAGE MY CREDIT AGAIN I NEVER USE THIS INS ANY TIME BECAUSE I HAVE MEDICARE SINCE MAY 2014 PLEASE I NEED HELP SINCEARLY P ****** JULY 26 2014GOD BLESS

Desired Settlement
TO HAVE CERIDIAN REMOVE ALL THE FICTICIOUS CHARGES FRO SERVICES THEY NEVER SERVICES IF THEY CAN PROVIDE WITH A BILL FROM DOCTOR OR PHARMACIS I USE WITH CERIDIAN I WILL PAY I CHALLANGE THEM TO CAME WITH PAPERS OR I WILL TAKE THIS COMP(ANY TO COURT AND PUT THEN IN U TUBE ,FACEBOOCK AND ALL THE MEDIA AND MY SENATOR THAT WAY EVERYONE WILL KNOW THE SCAN THIS COMPANY IS MAYKEN WITH THE SENIOR CITICEN THANKS AGAIN

Business Response
Ceridan will respond directly to the continuant. Thankyou.

08/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
It takes 2 weeks after payment for the RX coverage data to be sent over to medication company. Perscriptions could not be filled even thou the premim
Premium was paid and Ceridian could not get the info over to the RX company in a timely manner to have Rx filled on time. It would take several hours each month to talk to managers to have this rushed over to the RX people. Both of these meds are for chronic conditions and need to be taken on time. I had to spend several hours on the phone every month with customer service reps that were rude.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have the company fix the issues with their customer care so other individuals do not go through what I had to. I would like a refund for my time that I had to take away from my job to get this setteled each month.

Business Response
Ceridian will respond directly to the continuant.

Page 1 of 6
12/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I've have paid two months premiums to Ceridian for Cobra health insurance at $1600a month. I have been denied access to my health insurance benefits
I've have paid two months premiums to Ceridian for Cobra health insurance at $1600 a month. I have been denied access to my health insurance benefits at the Pharmacy and cannot see a doctor as Horizon denies coverage as they have not received the needed continuation of benefits from Ceridian. I call Ceridian and they acknowledge payment, update my file and send it to Horizon, who doesn't get it. I call each, they blame each other but nothing gets fixed. At this point back dating coverage does me no good as I could not afford to pay either a doctor or pharmacy for the services so I didn't get what I needed. Neither Horizon or Ceridian will fix the issue so I am ''UNINSURED'' even though Ceridian took my money.

Desired Settlement
I should get a refund of premiums paid until the actual date Ceridan and Horizon confirm coverage together. I do not agree to back dated coverage as they denied me coverage while in control of MY payment in full.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Compliance
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@ceridian.com
Under the COBRA regulations, a group health plan is not required to provide coverage until a timely election is made and required premiums are paid. Accordingly, notification of coverage occurs only after a participant has timely elected and paid for the coverage. Ceridian may provide this notification of coverage directly to the insurance carrier, or to the former employer, who in turn notifies the carrier; in some instances, both entities must take action to update records to reflect active coverage. The entire process may take 30 days or more from receipt of a participant's payment, but carriers are required to retroactively reinstate coverage so that the participant will not experience a break in coverage. Ceridian will respond directly to the consumer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response is simply passing the blame onto someone else - when they never addressed the problem to make sure I had the service I paid for. Our payments were received on time by Cerdian and listed as paid in their system. However, whenever I contacted Cerdian, in October and November, and informed them that Horizon did not receive the information they blamed everyone else rather than address the issue. Cerdian consistanly needed to update their records for 24 hours to then resend the information or had to call you back - which they never did. Ceridean ALWAYS stated the information was sent but could not produce any form of documentation to prove they did sent the information. They could not produce a tracking number, transmittal number, fax conformation - nothing. Could tell you who to talk with to fix the issue.... Cerdian could not explain to me or the Horizon representatives how they processed or transferred this information, just that it was done. Horizon NEVER received the information. If Cerdian could drop your coverage for not paying by the due date, how is it that 6 to 7 weeks later they couldn't still provide proof they process the information and sent it on to the other parties?

Final Business Response
Ceridian will respond directly to the consumer

09/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I applied for a Healthcare Flexible Spending Account for 2013. I had payroll deductions from my company ************** payable to Ceridian, as they managed the Flexible Spending Account (FSA). The monies were pre-tax and to be spent only on medical issues. The FSA started on 01/01/2013 & continued to 04/15/2014. I sent in my medical receipts on 04/02/2014. They were accepted as per the "Claims Basket" on Ceridians website. On or around 05/29/2014, I called Ceridian to inquire about my reimbursement. They said they had no record of my receipts & asked I send proof that I did indeed submit them before the cutoff date of 04/15/2014. I was given a case no. XXXXXXXX. I never heard back, so I called on 06/06/2014 & 07/08/2014, both times Ceridian asked me to submit the same information as on 05/29/2014. On 07/11/2014, I spoke with Ceridian and they did confirm that my claim was submitted on 04/02/2014. At that time they informed me that they no longer were handling ************** accounts and I would have to have someone from ****** call them, which I did. The Lucent representative called Ceridian and the three of us discussed the matter. ****** and Ceridian would have to work out among them who was responsible for reimbursing me. On 07/14/2014, I called Ceridian. They told me to call ****** who then told me to call Ceridian. On 07/28/2014, Ceridian informed me that the last checks for the 2013 Flexible Spending Accounts were sent out on 06/30/2014 (a month after I started my case) and they can no longer authorize any more checks.As it stands now: -My receipts were handed in before the cutoff date. -Ceridian for whatever reason did not reimburse me.-Neither Ceridian nor ************** want to take responsibility.-Ceridian claims it is no longer making out checks for the 2013 Flexible Spending accounts.
Product_Or_Service: Flexible Spending Account
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
My 2013 Flexible Spending Account deducted from my paychecks amounted to $2,200.00. I sent in medical receipts totaling $2,497.62. Ceridian is accountable for $2,200.00 of the total.

Business Response
Ceridian **** communicate directly with Mr. *****.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ceridian made the error of not paying me. They admitted they received my claim & receipts on time. They continue to stall my payment. This has been going on since the end of May, see my original "Complaint Description". I call them; I make my case; they say ok we will call in three (3) business days to update you and I get nothing, no call, no messages, no email, NOTHING! They ran out the clock with their excuses & now their justification for not paying me is: "they can no longer authorize any more checks after 06/30/2014. They promised to call me back on several occasions & they never do. I was also given the excuse that they called and called, but no one answered. I am disabled and spend the majority of my days in my house. I would have answered the phone had they called, and they never left a message on my answering machine! I am thru playing their games. The only payment I am asking for is the pre-tax money taken from my pay each month. They are not paying out a dime of their money, in fact they actually made interest on my money!

Final Business Response
We have spoken directly to Mr. *****. We advised him his appeal has been sent to his employer, and will advise him in writing when they respond back to Ceridian.

04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They have two of my checks to pay for a COBRA payment. The checks have never posted to my account, even though one is cashed.
On January 16, 2014, I mailed two checks to Ceridian:
Account ID: NC-XXXXXXXX
COBRA Payments: PO Box XXXXXX
*** *********** FL XXXXX-XXXX
As of 1/27/14 - they still had not posted. Ceridian requires that full payment is received. I sent two checks: 266.18 and 719.69. Which totals my bill. They have accepted this before. On 1/27/14 I called and emailed, and they stated that they received a partial payment (one check) and it was returned to me in the mail. On the 28th - I emailed them that I DID send two checks, and that they lost one. I said I would send two checks back in, and I would have to stop payment on the lost one. Then later on the 28th, I noticed that the 719.69 check was cashed. I called in. They stated that it was not cashed. I contacted the HSA account, and they sent me a copy of the check with Ceridian endorsing it. I called back to Ceridian. They said that it would take 24 hours to post. They had no more information about the other check for 266.18. On the 29th I called them b/c I needed to know to send in another check for the 266.18 or not. At that time, a supervisor told me that in fact they DID have both checks, and that it would take 48 hours to post to their system. They gave a reference number for XXXXXXX. It has been 48 hours, and the 266.18 check has not been cashed. I called today. I got two supervisors, both telling me different things. Today they said that they don't have either check, and that they received one check and mailed it back, and that they have no record of cashing any check. I have faxed the front and back of the check today to check processing at XXX-XXX-XXXX. I have spent much of my work time dealing with this. I have asked to put my wife on the account so that she can talk with them (since she handles this) and they said I would have to have a power of attorney. The grace period ends 1/31/14. They did extend it to February 10, 2014. This has been a horrible experience. I get a different answer every time and it affects the health coverage for my family.

Desired Settlement
Resolution. I need to know where things stand. Whether they have both checks - I want my account to be up to date so my health insurance is not affected. I don't know how to make it right since they can't even tell me what checks they do or don't have.

Business Response
Ceridian Benefits Services will respond to Mr. ****** directly. Thank you.

Consumer Response
update on case. The 266.18 check was in fact received back in the mail yesterday, 2/4/14. This check was dated 1/16/14. The check for 719.69 which was also dated 1/16/14, and in the same envelope, was kept by Ceridian, and cashed (confirmed by PNC) and copy of the check was faxed to Ceridian's check processing. If they will just confirm they have it, I would be more than happy to mail in the 266.18 and this will be done.

However, I DON'T want the 266.18 sent back due to it being a partial payment - if the 719.69 is not showing in their system as having been received and posted.

I was not sure where to update my case/complaint.

Thanks!

***** R. ******

05/24/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed up for Ceridian Cobra in April 2012. Ceridian has not activated Health coverage with Kaiser and I am currently uninsured as a result.

I elected to continue my health insurance coverage through Kaiser Permanente from my previous employer through Ceridian Benefits Services (Account XXXXXXXX). I elected this within the time frame provided to me, and have been paying Ceridian on time each month since May X XXXX, with my most recent payment on February 28, 2013. In December 2012, Kaiser says it has not received ANY payments from Ceridian on my behalf, and I was retroactively terminated back to May X XXXX. This happened on the day I showed up to Kaiser to have a colonoscopy performed (nice timing). I have contacted Ceridian and Rockwell Collins (my former employer) numerous times since December and each time they say they are working with Kaiser, but Kaiser says they are not providing any proof that Ceridian has ever sent a dime to Kaiser, therefore they **** not turn my coverage back on. I believe that Ceridian Cobra is a complete scam and I am running out of options. I really need my health insurance reinstalled, and I am unable to refill needed prescriptions I am currently on.

Please help.

Desired Settlement
I want my fully paid Cobra insurance coverage reinstated ASAP.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Vicki Veres
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********@ceridian.com
Ceridian **** respond directly to the continuant

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My coverage is still not turned on from 5/1/12 to 12/1/12 due to being retroactively canceled by Kaiser for non-payment by Ceridian Cobra. I still have a **** for $1394 due to Kaiser because of this.

05/06/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ceridian COBRA Services does not send the billing statements out in a timely manner. I have just recieved my medical statement on 2/25 and it must be paid by 3/1 to provide continuous coverage. Mailing a check right away takes almost 2 weeks until it is processed. Sending a payment without a statement would already add to the confusion that seems apparent in this company. Paying online or over the phone adds a charge of $7.95 to each payment for each coverage as in my case medical and dental are separate bills.

Desired Settlement
Send the billing statements earlier in the month to allow time for regular postal service.

Business' Initial Response
Ceridian ****** respons directly to the continuant

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of March 12,2013, I have not heard from Ceridian. I do not hold their response in good faith as I have had to deal with them over a period of a week to try and resolve an issue of billing. This issue was not resolved and has cost me more money by forcing me to use their "partners" to pay by internet or by phone.

Page 1 of 2
12/01/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Resubmitting bad check more than once after being told it would only be submitted once. Constantly lied too...no record of anything on their computer.
Check # *** for the amount of $376.09 was submitted on the September 4 and then again on September 11 for insufficient funds. Their employee lied to me about not having any record of it. Talk to management with no help. They actually told me the bank was resubmitting it, which was another lie.Their employee said they could only submit it once, but lied about that also. Poor management with no accountability. Calls recorded for quality assurance?

Desired Settlement
$35.00 for resubmitting bad check , after they were notified of the insufficient funds. I was told it would only be submitted once due to me notifying them early. Even before it showed up on their computer. I was ignored and constantly lied too.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********@ceridian.com
Ceridian responded to this continuant on 11/03/14. This is a closed issue. Thank you.

Consumer Response
They did refund $35.00 for submitting my check twice, but I also had to pay the bank $35.00 x 2 in overdraft fees. They knew this because I called several times about it.
*still owes me $35.00!! one time was my fault, the other was theirs.*

Thanks for your help... at least i got part of it!

Even though the bank fee was not in my original complaint. They knew and only paid this to keep ya'll off a**. Thanks again for your help. * People love to try to scam you anyway they can* Calls were supposed to be recorded, so they know!

Final Business Response
Please advise the continuant written documentation will need to be sent to Ceridian confirming what charges his banking institution places on his account. No further action will be taken until the requested information is received. Thank you

10/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have notified this company via mail, email, and phone calls to cancel our account and they will not acknowledge my request.
I spoke with a customer service representative in May 2014 and was instructed to mail a letter requesting cancellation of our account within 30 days to address XXXX XX** ****** ****** *** *********** ** XXXXX which I did on May 14, 2014. I requested an acknowledgment and one was never received. I have since called more than several times only to get through to a customer service representative three times. The first representative on 7/17/2014 gave me the following email, ******************@ceridan.com in order for me to ask why our account is still active. I sent the email on the same day and did not receive a response. On 8/15/2014 I spoke with ****** and complained that our account is still showing active and we are receiving a bill for the month of July 2014 and should not. I explained not one representative will acknowledge any of my request. He gave me the following email to send my complaint to, ****************@ceridian.com. I sent an email and demanded a response. I received a return email but no response was included. I have called sereral times in the past few weeks and cannot get through. Today, I did get through and spoke with **** who told me he sees no activity or any indication that we have requested a cancellation on our account. He informed me he could not transfer me to anyone on the cancellation team. The only form of communication they would accept is if he opens a case and sends it to them. He gave me a reference number which is XXXXXXXX. I do not feel this will do any good as you can see from the history of my communications with this company. I want our account canceled as of July 01, 2014 as requested in May 2014. We have never had good customer service with this company. The company does not communicate properly as to what they are doing with our terminated employees. Please help me get this resolved as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement
As of 07/01/2014 ****** *********** **** should not have an active account with Ceridian Benefits. I want our account canceled and the July 2014 billing removed.

Business Response
Ceridian will respond directly to ******* ******** Thank you

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response I received stated our account would be canceled effective 9/1/2014. The correct cancellation effective date should be 6/30/2014. No further billings should be after June 2014 billing period. We gave our 30 day notice in May 2014. We have paid through the end of June 2014 and owe for no months following June 2014.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This vendor is still billing us for months that we should not have been active. I received and email stating they would cancel our account effective 9/1/2014, but our notice of cancellation was sent in May 2014 making our account cancelled effective 07/01/2014. I responded to the email with this information and again I received no response.

08/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Very poor service and misleading billing practices.
My employer picked this company to carry the COBRA continuation medical services after I ended my contract with them. After waiting a suitable time, I was notified my medical coverage had started, but not my prescription plan but I was told to wait longer. When it still did not appear I ended up spending one hour on the phone with them only to find out the order to start the prescription coverage never went through - but was going to be sent out as a critical request since my wife had been waiting for her medication. Later the next week I spent another hour on the phone because the coverage had still not been activated and we finally got that resolved the same day. At that point I wasn't sure if the problem was Ceridian or ExpressScripts.

But today we found out that they had suspended my coverage again because my last payment was a week after the "due" date but will within the one month "grace" period. Nothing on the billing statement indicates this may happen - only emphasizes the desire to get the payment in during the grace period. On the phone they pointed out in their FAQ's statement (not on the billing or contract) that they may suspend services if the payment is postdated anytime after the due date.

Technically, the practices are legal and in-line with federal regulations. But practically, do what ever you can to find another provider. I never had such difficulties the previous time I used a COBRA provider.

Watch out - this company is not customer oriented!

Desired Settlement
None - just to get my new medical benefits started as soon as possible so I can tell them to go away.

Business Response
Ceridian responded directly to the continaunt. No further action is needed.

Final Consumer Response
Ms. *****

Yes, the company did reply to me on July 29th, but only to imply that there was no merit to my complaint. Then they dropped the ball again on August 1st by again suspending my prescription drug coverage despite having received a full payment a week in advanced. I am still waiting for full coverage to be restarted even though all it would take is a single phone call on their behalf - instead they told me it would take a full week and, if pass performance is any indication, they won't have it restarted by then. Since they have not resolved the issue, I have also filed a complaint with the Department of Labor. This company should not be allowed to handle medical health plans - they are incompetent and antiquated.

Sincerely,
*** *****

08/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been chasing down employees of Ceridian for over 2 months for my dental coverage to show as active.
I signed up for my Cobra benefits in June. Made payments for several months and waited for my coverage to become active so I could visit the doctor.

In August I decided enough time had passed so I set up a dentist appointment. To my dismay the coverage had not been activated.

When I contacted the folks at Ceridian I was told it might take a few days. This was on 8/10/2012.

I pushed back the appointment for one month, and the coverage was still not re-instated.

After more than a number of exchanges I finally pushed back the appointment towards the end of the month. As of 9/24/2012 my coverage was still not activated.

The standard response has always been:
"Thank you for contacting Ceridian Benefits Services. We have contacted your insurance company to have your medical and dental coverage updated. Please allow 24 to 48 hours for this request to process. Please refer to your Case # or Account ID should you require further inquiry or have comments with regard to this Case."

Unfortunately the issue persisted for over 2 months and as of the time of writing this complaint (10/12/12) I am on the phone with Ceridian trying to get my coverage active for another appointment on Monday.

I have been consistently disappointed at their utter incompetence. Not only are their employees simply ineffective at doing a basic task but they repeatedly denied my request to have the issue escalated to management.

Currently I have spent 1 hour on the customer support line waiting for a supervisor, only to be conferenced to another Ceridian Customer...

As of now I thoroughly believe this company is running a scam by delaying and denying coverage in order to pad their own bottom line.

Desired Settlement
I would like my coverage reinstated immediately and also receive payments in the amount of my premiums for months where the coverage was not active.

The purpose of insurance is to provide coverage for illness but also allow customers to seek treatment at their own leisure. By delaying this timeframe I believe I have not been delivered the product for which I am paying for and request a refund for the gap in coverage.

Business' Initial Response
Ceridian will respond directly to the continuant

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am waiting for my premium refunds to be processed. I believe this is an adequate response as there was no issue with the medical benefits. However I am still a bit skeptical and will update the case once the premiums have been refunded, or if not.
Thank you,
**** ******

Business' Final Response
Ceridian has responded directly to Mr ******.

Consumer Response
I was not contacted by Ceridian regarding this matter. 2 months later I am contacting them requesting a refund for all my payments throughout the year. My coverage for dental insurance is still not current since October.


Business Response
Ceridian has responded directly to Mr ******.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am waiting for my premium refunds to be processed. I believe this is an adequate response as there was no issue with the medical benefits. However I am still a bit skeptical and will update the case once the premiums have been refunded, or if not.
Thank you,
**** ******


Consumer Response
As of 7/10/2013 I have not been refunded a dime for the premiums I paid and had been promised a refund for.

At this point I am writing it off and **** accept that there are businesses out there with absolutely zero integrity.

04/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hi,I have been with ceridian cobra services for almost an year now. I have maintained my cobra health insurance status by paying my monthly premium on time and regularly. However, as I was out of town during the holiday season, I was little late(couple of days) in mailing my check to the Ceridian cobra services. But my check(check #1618, amount $1392.79)was cleared on 01/07/13. My grace period was until 02/02/13. But Ceridian cobra services has discontinued my health coverage without any notice. I found that out when I made an appointment for my kids tDr's appointment(/01/28/13). Dr's office notified me that I don't have any health coverage through my health carriere(Health Alliance Plan)as ceridian has discontinued services. I contacted HAP(HEALTH ALLIANCE PLAN) on the same day and they notified me that I have to contact cerdian Cobra services to be reinstated. Accordingly I contacted them and they told me that my family coverage should be reinstated within 24-48 hrs. But unfortunately I still don't have any coverage as of today. Moreover I have already mail my check(amount $1205.51)to them for my family coverage for the month of February. This has caused tremendous amount of stress for me and my family as I was unable to take my kids for their Dr's appointment and on top of that I am not sure if something serious happens to any one of us in my family what would happen to our insurance coverage even though I have paid them regularly? This is unacceptable. I need my health insurance and that is why I have been paying this large amount of money every month for the coverage. I don't want ceridian to take me for granted and violates my rights to have my health insurance coverage. As they have cashed my check and did not cover me for my family health insurance(for January) they should give me full credit for that amount of $1392.79. Moreover they should reinstate my health coverage effective immediately. Please help me to get my coverage as well as my credit back asap.Thanks,** ******
Product_Or_Service: health insurance coverage
Account_Number: id# ********XXX

Desired Settlement
I want ceridian to give me a credit of $$1392.79 as they did not cover me for the month of January 2013. On top of that I want them to reinstate my health insurance coverage throgh HAP effective immediately.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: vicki veres
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******************
Ceridian ****** respond to the continuant directly.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received a letter from Ceridian this week, but that does not explain anything. Ms. *********** wrote "please note, at no time Ceridian terminated your cobra coverage. Your cobra began 01/01/12 and you currently show paid through". If that is true then why I could not take my kids for their dr's appointment on 1/28/2013? Dr.'s office verified(later I called HAP as well as Ceridian) that we did not have any coverage during that time. So that statement either is false or we were denied our health coverage wrongfully. Either way my insurance(through ceridian)failed to deliver promised services even though I fully paid for it. Moreover Ms. ****i writes," Your January premium payment was disbursed to your sponsoring employer, Henry Ford Health Care System, on 02/08/13. As such Ceridian cannot refund this payment". Why not? They took the money and did not cover me, it is that simple! I want them to give me credit for that full amount for this year. I am attaching their letter to you for your reference. The bottom line is consumer protection and they have failed to protect me.

Thank you,

****** ******

Page 1 of 2

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.