BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/17/2014

Insurance Professionals of America, Inc.

Phone: (941) 792-5511Fax: (941) 761-5388View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 20823, BradentonFL 34204-0823View Additional Web AddressesFacebookTwitterLinkedInGoogle+

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This insurance agency provides health insurance, for individuals and groups including long term care, dental, medicare supplements, life insurance and annuities.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/17/2014

BBB has determined that Insurance Professionals of America, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Insurance Professionals of America, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Insurance Professionals of America, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
12/04/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** completely misrepresented the details of a health insurance plan she sold me, and then lied on the phone about it when I called to ask more.
****** was referred to me by a friend to offer health insurance as my Cobra plan was due to expire. She came to my office, we told her what we wanted and then she emailed me a link to pick what coverage and deductibles I wanted. I called to ask how the coinsurance worked and she said I only pay 20 % of my bills. I said well don't I have to pay deductible first like in car insurance and she said no. I then called United Health care and asked then the same question. They said I have to pay 20 % but ONLY AFTER I met my deductible. This is what I thought. I then called ******* office again , with a coworker standing next to me , to ask the same question. She answered it the same way. I said the brochure was worded poorly because it explained it the way I thought it worked. She thanked me for pointing out the poor working and was address that with future clients. Still not satisfied I scoured the internet and found numerous examples of how it worked,only to find that what she told me was incorrect. I copied and pasted it in an email and sent it to her . ( because at this point she refused to return my call ) In the mean time I received my contract which stated that the 7500 deductible was for two people. She told me it was only for one and that my max out of pocked was 1/2 of what it really was. Another lie. when she received my email she said the info I pasted was erroneous info found on the internet and it did not apply to my policy. She said she had called UHC to have them document that she told me the correct info, and she threatened to remove herself from my policy. Funny, after looking further, I found the exact information on her own website describing coinsurance and deductibles the exact way . Remember , this is the erroneous info that didn't apply to my policy. She lied about everything just to get a sale.

Desired Settlement
394.36

Business' Initial Response
This is in response to Mr. ******'s complaint. I spoke with him about this issue numerous times and have witnesses and documentation to prove I correctly answered his questions. I and my staff have answered his questions. After the last time I spoke to him, he tried to call me on the weekend and I communicated to him that we would speak on Monday.Immediately after that he texted me and repeatedly called my cell phone, my 800#, my office number time after time in a row. I felt fearful and discontinued communication with him. Now he emails me and calls me names. In his latest emails he calls me a "liar" and a "scum bag" and has told me he would try to ruin my good name. He is an insurance agent. It doesn't make any since that I would lie to him. And my record speaks for itself that I do not lie. He scares me and I really would rather him not contact me further.
****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
He scares me ? give me a break. I called her many times to ask her questions about my policy.From day one ( after she spoke to me and my coworker on the phone ) she avoided my phone calls and my emails. Then I get a response that if I keep questioning her then she will remove herself from my policy. I was under the impression that an agent was suppose to be there for questions from the client. So sorry that I did not agree with her. I have a witness that listened to and asked her questions over the phone. He was there when she misrepresented the product. I also have another coworker who was told incorrect info from ****** regarding another product. She is dangerous in that she either has no idea what she is selling or she is a liar. I am not satisfied with her response at all. It is a cover up and I want my initial premium of 394 $ returned to me

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/07/2011Business started: 06/06/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Insurance
2295 Victoria Ave Ste 163
Fort Myers, FL33901-3867
(239) 461-4000

BBB records show a license number of L064600 for this company, issued by Department of Insurance.

Type: Dept of Financial Services

BBB records show a license number of A095316 for this company, issued by Department of Insurance.

Type: Dept of Financial Services

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2006, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Angela D. Harris (CEO)Mr. Anthony Harris (Assistant)
Business Category

Insurance Agency, Senior Service Specialists, Insurance Consultants, Disability Insurance , Dental Insurance , Annuity Services, Senior Insurance , Long Term Care Insurance , Life Insurance, Insurance - Medicare Supplement, Medical Insurance, Health Insurance , Accident Health Insurance , Insurance-Sold By Agents, Insurance Companies

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 04:00 AMSat: ClosedSun: Closed

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

2 Photos

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • PO Box 20823 

    Bradenton, FL 34204-0823(941) 792-5511
    (888) 807-2911

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Insurance Professionals of America, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 807-2911
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Insurance Agency

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.