BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/10/2009

Visiting Angels SW Gulf Coast

Phone: (941) 347-8288Fax: (941) 296-7606View Additional Phone Numbers25166 Marion Ave Unit 114, Punta GordaFL 33950-4017Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/10/2009

BBB has determined that Visiting Angels SW Gulf Coast meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Visiting Angels SW Gulf Coast's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Visiting Angels SW Gulf Coast

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/21/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

I paid ********* by credit card. As healtcare power of attorney for my dying Mom, I was told she needed care. I contacted the Punta Gorda Visiting Angles. My Mom didn't want the services and did not let them in. They will not refund anything and we have not recieved services. Please note neither my mom nor I signed anything. This is just plain wrong!
Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like the full amount of ******** returned. I am willing to pay them 10% of that amount for any expenses incurred for driving to my Mom's.***************** = *******.

Business Response
As I previously mentioned, I have been in communication with Mr. ********' s attorney. Thus, I have been taking into consideration his circumstances. Those being that he is very stressed with his mothers illness and perhaps acted in a harsh manner without considering all the issues at hand.

Yesterday, his attorney, ***** ******** told me that he is going to sign the release and she or he will be contacting you . I have agreed to waive fees (typical attorney negotiation for client , a split ) in the hopes that he uses the money to visit with his mother if she is still alive. I'm not sure that either of those two will or have happened at his juncture.

I have attached some of the information you need and please let me now if you need anything further. His release and letter should arrive shortly , which I will forward to you.

Thanks for your patience,

***** *********, Director,Owner

Final Business Response
Mr. ******** is very wrong in his complaint. It is not factual or called for.

On September 14, 2013 ******* ******** called our office asking for immediate help with care for his mother. He was quoted a daily rate of **** for a 24 hour period or *** per hour if less than 24 hours. He provided his credit card and was charged ******** based on the 24 hour rate. Thus he agreed to pay and was charged ******** not ******** as he has stated in his complaint. The payment was on behalf of his mother.

He informed us that he is the healthcare surrogate for his mother and would send copies of his documentation. His surrogacy could not be confirmed with the family whom I visited and Mr. ******** has yet to provide documentation.

All our documents are signed by Mrs. ********' s husband **** ******** who accepted the "gift of care" ******* ********, had provided.

Upon arrival Saturday, Mrs. ********'s husband **** refused entry to the caregivers stating Mrs. ******** did not want care. He had previously agreed to leave the door unlocked for the caregiver who would be starting at 11:30pm.

On Sunday I once again visited the home and was able to speak with Mrs. ******** who confirmed she did not want care and stated she had previously informed ******* ******** of the same. She was quite angry that he was involved at all. We cannot force service on anyone, therefore all appointments were cancelled and ******* ******** informed. Mr. ******** never stated his mother was resistant to care; he made disparaging comments about arguing with his sister who might refuse care. His sister was very polite as was ***** Neither refused care at the time of the initial visit. Mrs. ******** had taken medication and could not be disturbed. She was sound asleep when her photo was taken.

In the interim Mr. ******** has made several rude and disparaging remarks along with filing this baseless complaint to the BBB and also with the franchisor. He seems to be under the impression that he can dictate the outcome of our requirements by AHCA. After many sarcastic comments and unproductive remarks where I refused to listen to, he advised in writing that we were to communicate only with his attorney and provided an email address for her.

Attempts through his attorney ***** ********* to have him sign a release so we may refund the difference of ******* (******** less two shifts which were turned away at the door by ***** to him rather than to our client Mrs. ********, have not been answered. We have given him ample time to respond without any positive results.

ln the absence of paperwork stating he is the financial Health Surrogate or Power of attorney we are unable to refund directly to him. The family was sent a release on September 25th authorizing the funds to be released to Mr. ***** ey but we have not received a reply. Our check # **** has been cut since last month and will be sent to Mrs. ******** at XXXXX **** ***** ***** Punta Gorda, FL XXXXX.

We have delayed in responding because this seems to be an unresolved family matter in which we have been unfairly involved. It would have been best to have Mr. ******** understand the circumstances and resolve his anger.

***** *********, owner Administrator
Visiting Angels SW Gulf Coast
***** ****** ****** # ***
Punta Gorda, FL XXXXX

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 12/04/2009Business started: 08/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Agency for Health Care Administration
2727 Mahan Dr
Tallahassee, FL 32308-5407
(850) 414-6010

Charlotte County Business Tax Receipt
18500 Murdock Cir
Port Charlotte, FL 33948-1068
(941) 743-1300

Occupational License/Punta Gorda

Punta Gorda, FL 33950
(941) 575-3369

BBB records show a license number of 230886 for this company, issued by Agency for Health Care Administration.

Type: Health Care

BBB records show a license number of 15386 for this company, issued by Charlotte County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 15-00014283 for this company, issued by Occupational License/Punta Gorda.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 30211457 for this company, issued by Agency for Health Care Administration.

Type: Health Care

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sunny Cavanaugh (Managing Member)Mr. Kyle Cavanaugh (Managing Member)Ms. Kelly Ann Cavanaugh
Business Category

In-home Care Services, Developmental Disability Services, Senior Service Organizations, Nurse Registries, Geriatric Care, Home-Maker Companion Service, Home Care-Other, Home Health Services

Products & Services

This company provides short and long term non-medical home care assistance and companion services.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PMSun: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PM
Service Area

Serving Charlotte, Lee, Hendry, DeSoto, and Sarasota Counties

Alternate Business Names
Visiting Angels Florida Gulf Coast, SKK, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Visiting Angels SW Gulf Coast

25166 Marion Ave Unit 114

Punta Gorda, FL 33950-4017

To | From


1 Locations

  • 25166 Marion Ave Unit 114 

    Punta Gorda, FL 33950-4017(941) 347-8288
    (941) 347-8388

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Visiting Angels SW Gulf Coast is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (239) 226-1620
  • (239) 368-0888
  • (941) 347-8388

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for In-home Care Services


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.