BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Storm Force

Phone: (239) 682-9408Fax: (239) 261-5496View Additional Phone Numbers4160 Corporate Sq, NaplesFL 34104-4753http://www.stormforce1.comView Additional Web Addresses! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Storm Force is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Storm Force's rating include:

  • 2 complaints filed against business that were not resolved.

Factors that raised Storm Force's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues4
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Complaint Information

BBB has received complaints from consumers alleging the company received deposits for contracts but did not complete the job.

The company responded to BBB indicating they have ceased operations.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Storm Force

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
09/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Collected 14K and never provided any benefit. The deposit was stolen.Glass was to be ordered and never was.
Purchase date April 26, 2014. Delivery date was to be June 24, 2014. Nothing happened and $ 14,000 deposit was stolen.

Desired Settlement
Complete refund.

Final Consumer Response
Storm force has refunded my money on my credit card. So there is no dispute anymore.

01/29/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Didn't deliver the wind mitigation report
Never delivered the wind mitigation report. And never installed the finishing strips.

Desired Settlement
Send me the wind mitigation report please.

Business Response
I want to find out about our recent complaint from ******* ******* we have try several times to contact him via email and phone and not get a respond form him also we send the copy of the wind mitigation and the answer why he didn't got he's snap covers and the reason was because he was doing another remodeling to his house without the permit and didn't let us do the inspection and without the inspection we cannot finish the job still pending for inspection



Final Consumer Response

09/17/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Signed Contract and made deposit on 7/15 it is now 9/9 and the work has not been started. Getting the run around from owner and manager *** *******
Received quote on 7/12
Signed and made deposit on 7/15
Was told by Manager *** ****** that it would take two weeks for permit and doors to arrive.
Beginning of Aug and no contact from Storm Force. Very difficult to get someone on the phone, left messages with no calls back. Middle of Aug owner says that someone in office messed up and did not order the doors. Gave the opportunity to get money back or he promised that the job would be done in 2 1/2 weeks. Decided to wait...BIG MISTAKE. 9/3 called and left message with secretary to call back. After not hearing back called again on 9/4 and spoke with *** ****** at which time he said that the owner was not correct to give the time frame of 2 1/2 weeks and that the doors would not even be here for another 2 weeks. I told him that he needed to do something about this because I was told they would already be here and I expected that they would be here to install no later than 9/9 or 9/10. Did not hear back from ***. Called on 9/9 Owner out of town and Manager *** ****** out sick. No one in the office to right a check to return my deposit and the best they can do is leave a message for Owner and *** to call me.

Desired Settlement
I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!!!

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We have returned the customer's deposit.

Final Consumer Response

08/19/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a signed contract with Storm Force which was signed around May 1st.The total was $32395.00 for impact resistant low E windows and automatic armor roll down screens with cranks. They said it would take about six weeks to make them and they would need one half of the bid amount in advance which we paid them with our Visa credit card.I spoke with them when the window were ready and they would install the windows starting on June 23rd. I called them back and told them I would fly back on June 21st and be there so they could get into the house on Monday the 23rd to start to install the windows. On Monday the 23rd nobody showed up so I started calling their office and and the answering machine said no one was available so I left a message and asked them to call me back with a explanation. I tried many more times with no luck. Today I went to their office at 7:45 and waited until about 9:30 and no body showed up.
Order_Number: quote ****

Desired Settlement
I would like them to install the windows as per our contract or refund the money we paid them.

Business Response
Storm Force has ceased operations. We are working with our clients and suppliers to resolve outstanding issues.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We want Storm Force to credit our Visa account the full amount that we paid them

08/19/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company contracted to do storm shutters. Did half the job. They shut their doors. What was done was not done to code. Paid over half upfront
They started the work on Tuesday June 17 and they were working on in until Friday June 20. They said the would be back to finish the following week. When I didn't hear from them I called and got a message that they went out of business. Meantime they have my money the job is not complete and when I checked with the City they said the part that was done was done wrong. I can't get it completed because they have the outstanding permit and I can't find anyone to release the building permit to another contractor and I am afraid that they some subcontractor will put a lien on my property although Storm Force has been paid

Desired Settlement
release of right to put a lien on our house and proper completion of the work.

Business Response
Storm Force has ceased operations. We are working with our clients and suppliers to resolve outstanding issues.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They have not worked with me to resolve the issue, in fact he claimed that they finished the job and that it was done correctly.

His reply to me.

Mr. *****:

BBB notified me of your complaint.

Unfortunately, we have had to shut our doors, and we are out of business.

I did not realize your job was not finished, and I am puzzled by why you or the city believe the work was not to code.

One of my salesmen is working at a new company, and they may be able to help you.

I will find out, and if so, put him in touch.

My sincere regrets for this turn of events.

Best,

****

**** ********

09/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Storm Force never finished follow up work, never returned key, never provided final payment affidavit. Might be out of business.
Storm Force Naples replaced several windows with hurricane windows in Oct 2013. Payment was made by check. Follow-up visits were needed to complete the job or issues. PGT windows were installed. PGT appears to have been paid since they have already done warranty work. However some smaller issues were never addressed by Storm Force. They never provided the lien/final payment affidavit, and they still have the key to the house. Attempts to reach Storm Force have failed. No one answers their phone, their website is gone, and the son of the owner sent an email recently saying he has left the company.

Desired Settlement
A phone call to PGT assured me that there is no outstanding balance from Storm Force, however they are no longer listed as a dealer by PGT. Storm Force must be out of business.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/07/2006Business started: 09/23/2005New Owner Date: 07/01/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Business Tax Receipt/Collier County
2800 Horseshoe Dr N
Naples, FL 34104-6917
(239) 252-2477
http://www.colliertax.com/btr.html

Lee County Contractors License
1825 Hendry St
Fort Myers, FL 33901-3054
(239) 533-8895

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

Contractor Licensing-Collier
(239) 252-2431

BBB records show a license number of CGC1520339 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of 120216 for this company, issued by Business Tax Receipt/Collier County. Their web address is http://www.colliertax.com/btr.html.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of CGC1520339 for this company, issued by Lee County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of FRO4769 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr.

Type: State

BBB records show a license number of 201200000459 for this company, issued by Contractor Licensing-Collier.

Type: County Construction Lic.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark R. Schwartz (Owner/President)Ms. Christine Duff (Office Manager)
Business Category

Hurricane Storm Protection, Window Companies, Storm Windows Doors Suppliers, Shutter Suppliers, Door Companies

Products & Services

This company offers sales and installation of storm protection windows and hurricane shutters including panels and accordians.

Alternate Business Names
MSS Enterprises of SWFL, Inc., Hurricane Garage Doors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Storm Force

4160 Corporate Sq

Naples, FL 34104-4753

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4160 Corporate Sq 

    Naples, FL 34104-4753(239) 261-5495
    (239) 682-9408
    Fax: (239) 261-5496

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Storm Force is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (239) 261-5495 (Disconnected)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • https://www.facebook.com/StormforceNAPLES
  • https://twitter.com/StormForceSWFL
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Hurricane Storm Protection

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB has received complaints from consumers alleging the company received deposits for contracts but did not complete the job.

The company responded to BBB indicating they have ceased operations.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.