BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Lifestyle Exterior Products, Inc.

Fax: (239) 274-0056

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service14
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints15

Additional Complaint Information

BBB has received a pattern of complaints from customers alleging service issues.

In January 2016, BBB contacted Lifestyle Exterior Products, Inc. requesting information as to why the business believes the customers are filing the complaints and what actions the business has taken to help eliminate the causes of complaints.

As of date, the business has not responded.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)
02/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Thank you for receiving this complaint. We'll appreciate any and all help you may provide us.

Company name: Lifestyle Exterior Products, Inc.
*** ****** ****
Fort Myers, FL XXXXX

Owner: **** *******
Contractor/ ?VP : ***** ******

We have a contract and deposit with Lifestyle Exteriors for having our Lanai enclosed with Hurricane approved/rated windows. The contract was signed and submitted to them in May, with a request to have the windows installed in October, when we'd be returning to Florida. A deposit was sent to them toward the end of the summer, which was required prior to them placing the order for the windows. We asked to be put on the schedule for October. We received no response after multiple attempts to get a confirmation.
We were told in October , by a man named ***, that the windows had been ordered, but that he was told he was being taken "off the case". After that, on October 21st, a man named Dave brought us forms to sign, which included the "Notice of Commencement". Shortly after that, ***** ****** came out to remeasure our windows (so they hadn't been ordered) saying he couldn't find the original measurements. ***** also met with us on one occasion, reassuring us.
As of this date (January 23, 2015, more than three months later) no action has been taken to our knowledge. They have not given us an estimated installation date, and refuse to provide us with any of the order information (such as date ordered or order numbers) and will not give us any information regarding our status at all.
We have attempted to communicate with the owner, **** *******, with no return calls from him at all. ***** ******, who we understand to be the VP, is also not responding at this time. Calls to the office, to women named ****** and *****, have yeilded promises to check our status and call us back. Neither has called us back, and most recently, when we called, once we identified ourselves, were immediately switched over to a recording. A worker who was installing at a nearby site heard our concerns and promised to check it out and get back to us. He never got back to us.
At this point, no one is communicating with us, and it appears that employees have been instructed to avoid giving us any information or to even speak with us. Up to this point we have been extremely polite and patient, but are very worried at this time. We are senior citizens, feel that we are being deceived and manipulated.
We notice that you have received other complaints from this company, and hope that you may be able to help us.
If you need further information, such as more dates, or copies of emails and texts, please let us know. Also let us know if this complaint needs to be in a different format.

Sincerely,
******* and ******* ******
*** ******* ****** **
Naples, FL XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Business Response
Deposit was refunded back to client.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We finally contacted the licensing board of Collier County. They were able to apply enough pressure and they got a response . However the response was false. Given this company's record, the board advised us to get our deposit back, which was done through the licensing board. I hope that this information helps others so they aren't fooled by an initial deceptive sales pitch.

03/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have tried to reach the President of Lifestyle Exteriors, by phone and by e-mail, to inspect a water leak in the windows they installed in 2012.
Lifestyle Exteriors installed two windows in my condo in Sarasota in February 2012. I experienced no problem with them during the first two years. Two weeks ago when it rained on Thursday and Friday, I noticed the windows started leaking water. This occurs where the bottom of the top half and the top of the bottom half of the double-hung windows meet. Windows should not be leaking water.

I know it is not due to condensation because there was condensation on my windows last Sunday morning and there was no sign of water leaking into the area where the top and bottom windows meet.

When I try to reach the President, **** *******, by phone, he is never available to speak to me. I sent an e-mail a week ago, requesting him to come and inspect my windows under the warranty. To date, I have received no response even though I told him, after waiting four days to hear from him, that he left me no choice but to file a complaint today with the Better Business Bureau.

Desired Settlement
I want the President of Lifestyle Exteriors to inspect these windows and correct whatever the problem is that causes the windows to leak during rainstorms. He has the authority to approve whatever repair or replacement needs to be done. I had problems with the patio door and patio screen they installed last year. He came out to inspect and told me the repairs would be made. I had to wait over a month to receive those repairs, but they were made and, clearly, he is the responsible person to make that decision.

Final Consumer Response
Lifestyle Exteriors asked me to contact Custom Window Service because Lifestyle Exteriors believed the repairs were a warranty issue. I made an appointment with Custom Window Service and they came on Wednesday, February 26. They made an adjustment to the metal fittings on the patio door and also applied a product to the windows to ensure proper sealing. The door now works fine and I am hopeful the leaking window problem has been fixed. I followed up the next day with Lifestyle Exteriors to let them know about the repairs and my satisfaction with them.

04/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Comptroller, *****, came to fix issues so inspection would pass. He removed my vertical blinds and dropped them and they are now broken
I requested with Mr. ***** ** ****** at the company that the company pay to repair or replace the blinds broken by his employee. He refused.

Desired Settlement
for the company to pay to to have the blinds repaired or replaced that their employee dropped and broke.

Business Response
On the contract the customer has signed, it clearly states in the Responsiblities/Understandings section of the Window Contract Terms and Conditions (backside of contract) that:
"The Customer will remove and reposition/reinstall any and all obstructing plants, furniture, pictures, blinds, curtains, rods, window/wall decorations, stain glass inserts, etc. from the area and walls of installation (at least 4 feet from installation area) .... Seller will use care and caution to assist the Customer, but Seller will be held harmless, and not liable for any damage or breakage of any type not resulting from the gross negligence of Seller."
Please see that attached contract (2 Pages) for clarification.
The vertical blinds were obstructing the window panels from being removed in order for inspection to take place. The vertical blinds were 10 ft + in width and the inspector had just arrived. Since the main bracket is clipped on to a clip affixed to the top portion of the window opening, the left side of the blinds hit against the window sill as the last clip was released. The blinds were not dropped. There was a loud noise due to the bracket hitting against the window ledge when released.
After inspection took place, the customer assisted with the install of the bracket back onto the clips as one person could not reinstall the blinds due to the 10 ft+ in width and the height of the clips. Customer than returned to the other room where she was working in and I then installed the plugs for the window screws in all of the windows that were installed.
When everything was completed, the customer was asked to do a walk around for inspection for all areas worked. Customer declined.
Contract was fulfilled by Seller as signed by the customer. The official inspector has approved the inspection on all work performed on the contract. Seller is now waiting on the Customer to fulfill their portion of the contract.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response from the seller is accurate, however the blinds were broken due to the seller removing the blinds himself. NEW INFORMATION: I sent a certified return receipt letter to the seller stating a fair and reasonable compromise - that I would be willing to take the blinds to a professional blind place to have them looked at and then deduct the amount incurred from the balance of my bill owed seller. In my said I requested a written response to said letter. Said letter was accepted and signed for by an employee of seller. I NEVER GOT A WRITTEN OR VERBAL RESPONSE TO MY LETTER. INSTEAD, I got a call from ***** stating that a LIEN AGAINST MY HOUSE WAS GOING TO BE FILED ON FRIDAY APRIL 3. This is TOTALLY UNPROFESSIONAL. The seller ignored responding to my attempt at resolution and then was going to file a lien without even notifying me their intent !!!

Final Business Response
Incident has been resolved. Deduction to the final balance to reflect the repair of blinds and customer has made final payment.

03/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
vendor unable to install after having sent two different installers. i requested cancel order and refund my deposit, 3 calls no response
order for a retractable screen placed with 50% credit card deposit on 1/15/15, NOT A SPECIAL ORDER IN COLOR OR SIZE. installer on 2/6/15 could not install unit did not have proper material, another individual installer on 2/10/15 said he could not install unit as discussed with the first installer nor as agreed with the salesman who took the order. their installers are a sub contractor of vendor I called three times to cancel the order and request a 100% refund. each time an answering machine, and no call back.

Had I known the vendor could not install as I wanted, but was assured otherwise, I would not have ordered the retractable screen. refund amount $394.00,

This company has a terrible customer relations dept. installation was promised between 1/28 and 2/2/15, I had to call them 5 times before they called back with the 2/6/15 installation date.

Desired Settlement
credit my credit card for the full deposit amount

Business Response
This is a Florida Phantom issue- Lifestyle Exterior Products no longer does Phantom screens. They can be contacted at XXX-XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My receipt for the deposit was from Lifestyle Exterior Products, the order was with Phantom Screens. **** ******* is the Chairman of Phantom, and appears to be the owner of Lifestyle.

Phantom Screen address is **** **** ******* ******** ******,XXXXX

My complaint about their customer service and lack of return phone calls still stands, they did notify me recently that they credited my charge account.

03/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Window replacement contract dated 12/27/2011...to date, 01/14/2014, installation not completed to our satisfaction...Lien on property by company!
Contract signed 12/27/2011.
Original windows delivered for installation 05/17/2012..incorrect product. Company had key since we are out of country. Many postponements before new install date confirmed 07/11/12. Cleaner here confirmed installation complete and we sent cheque, holding $500.00 back until we inspected. January 2013, we returned to Naples and found the workmanship shoddy, and 2 glass panes unacceptably distorted. ***** ******, VP, inspected and agreed work not to their standard. Had worker spend better part of day cleaning and scraping excess silicone. Promised 2 new panes would be prepared, and install date of June 10, 2012 agreed upon. We flew down specifically for this and on Friday, June 7th, confirmed with their office that installation would be on Monday, June 10th. The day came and went with no installers and no phone call! Returned home and waited for a response...perhaps they decided to cut their losses and forget the $500.00 rather than correct issue??? 10/28/2013: 2 voicemails left for us by Lifestyle by 2 different people, 1. ******: "we have a cheque ready for you to pick up" 2. ******: "overdue balance on account is $500.00"
We called them...they said there was no ****** and knew nothing about a cheque for us, but the balance was due. We responded that the project was still not satisfactory and we would be in Naples again in Jan. 2014 to see them. In November, we received a letter to indicate that a Lien had been placed on the property until the remaining $500.00 was paid. We immediately wrote and sent (by registered mail) a letter including a cheque for the balance (memo line: "Under objection") and demanded the Lien be lifted immediately.
Upon our arrival,yet again, on Tues. Jan. 7,2014 we contacted the office to set up an appointment with the president, **** ******* and were told they would call back. Two days later (Thurs. Jan. 9) after there had been no response, we called office again and were told **** would contact us himself. Within 5 minutes, Mr. ******* called personally to say he would look into where the glass was, and see what they could do for us. No call on Jan.10. On Mon. Jan. 13 at 11:40 a.m called the office AGAIN, and were told Mr. ******* was in a meeting. I asked if they would just prefer we contact the BBB...and was assured that they did not. It is now 24 hours later and it appears that the "run-around" continues. Obviously, this company, which we believe to have no integrity, doesn't care who knows about it.
I have all the electronic printouts and records of all 17 phone conversations.

Desired Settlement
We request a refund of the $500.00 originally held back as well as the key they were given for the installation (Last June ***** said he would look for it!) We refuse to deal with them again: they will not be allowed back into the apartment even IF, they wish to replace the panes.

Business Response
The customer has passed on all required inspections and received their fire compliance certificate, as required by law.The excess caulk was fixed a year ago. Lifestyle Exterior is fully prepared to take actions to rectify the manufacturer's defect in the glass. There was a misunderstanding on our part about the time line, due to the fact that the customer is not a full time Florida resident. We apologize for this inconvenience and ask for the opportunity to move forward and replace the distorted glass.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Somehow it is not surprising to us that the company turns the errors back on us for not being Florida residents. The date for the glass re-installation was made verbally with the Vice President while we were in fact in Naples. It was confirmed by e-mail before we left Toronto (at the additional cost of 2 plane tickets!), and again confirmed on the Friday before the expected installation, once we were in Naples.
This proposed resolution by Lifestyle is not a resolution but rather am attempt to sidestep their responsibility. It is completely unacceptable particularly since no one from the company will ever be given access to out unit again. Furthermore, they still have a key to the unit. Our position is firm. The original expectation stands!

12/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to complete work associated to the installation and have stopped communicating
The contract was entered into in 2/13,with the windows to be ordered in March 2013 for the amount of $45,000 , with 1/3 down , 1/3 when windows are delivered and 1/3 upon completion. These payments were made n=by credit card as agreed.On June 17, ***** from Lifestyle called to inform us that our property on Marco Island,Florida was complete and she needed the final payment with the exception of 1 window that had not arrived, we agreed that $3000 be withheld to cover the 1 window,we arrived at the property on 6/25/13 to find the home a mess,3 windows missing not 1 and equipment everywhere, I should not have paid the final payment, since then we have found a Hurricane Slider Window in our Master Bedroom that was Mis Measured and installed without our knowledge, along with the sitting area and my very expensive blinds cannot be rehung in my living area or sitting area, Handles that are damaged and was covered with the wrong paint to try and hide it. And spots on our Lanai where they have spilled something and tried to clean it up and it is now discolored,grill cover ripped,carpet must be stretched in master bedroom due to wrong size of installation , they also installed a remote Hurricane Shutter and after numerous requests for the manual,they will not provide it. We have attempted to set up a conference call with the owner **** ******* through ******* ******** at Lifestyle and they refuse, ***** ****** has been involved and made commitments with no follow through.I spoke with ***** on Monday 10/21 and by email she was to call me back resolve and no return calls, we have alist of items we have sent to them for resolution and a fee to be deducted for our out of pocket for the repairs we have had to make.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking correction of the Slider in our Master Bedroom and Sitting Area , 2 Damaged Handles,Aluminum strip replaced that is reflecting a mis measure and gap from interior to exterior.credit for Cleaning fee,Tile repair where Grout was left to harden and could not be cleaned without damage to the tile,Grill Cover,Luminette Blinds repaired and replacement to fit window properly in living room and manual for Remote Shutter.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We had some touch up work that needed to be completed with the job. The customer went out of town and we tried to keep in touch with them. They had a list of items that were not all our responsibility. They claimed we did not install according to code but we did pass all of the required inspections. We did try to get in touch with them to make some of the touch up repairs. The customer has made it clear that they do not want us to do any work while they are not there but they refuse to communicate with us when they are there. The have filed a credit card dispute and we provided responses and documentation. The credit card company closed it in our favor and the customer has now refiled it again. The president of the company has responded to the customer directly stating they are willing to address any part of the job but the customer has to let us know when we can come.

Final Consumer Response
Due to timeframe it has taken to resolve our issues , we have had to contract/ hire etc , to get the problems fixed and repaired. As a resolution to move forward we would like to settle this issue .
As it stands right now , there is appr. $3000 that has been withheld until the problems and repairs are made . We will use this money to repair the Lanai ( I have a receipt and documentation to show that it was done less than a year for when lifestyle made the damages ) I also have pictures to support the damage) , I have scheduled another company that is getting the handles from Custom Windows and will be installing them . Grill cover that they had agreed to cover that would be deducted , cleaning from first visit , when we were told all work was completed and we showed up unexpectedly , the Luminette blinds are attempting to be repaired as they were bound with painters tape and bent and dirty . The grout that had dryed and hardened that ***** said they would pay to have it cleaned. The manual for the electric shutter and remote to be provided to us or the manufacturers name and number .The recorded notice of commencement signed off and pulled from City of Marco .

09/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid 7/22/2014 1/3 of price of window & door ordered- after many calls no window or door to date 7/27/2015

7/22/2014 a Sales Rep for Lifestyle Exterior Products came to our condo, measured for a window & a storm door. He wrote a contract with all the information & told us to pay 1/3 of the price, $228.00, which we DID. For 6 weeks the company called telling us everything was going good & product would be in and installed by 6 weeks from date of contract. After 7 weeks, calls quit. I called the office & was told the Sales Rep.had quoted the wrong price & it would be DOUBLE the price. We were out of state for family emergency - 1 week- & called Lifestyle Exterior Prod. when we returned. I was repeatedly told someone would return my call - but no one did. By Jan., 2015 when I called the number had been disconnected. Today, 7/27/2015, I looked on the internet to see if the company was there. It is on the internet- but when calling the phone number listed, it's a different company. The woman there gave me a new number: (XXX)XXX-XXXX. I called this # and a message said "This is Florida Phantom", leave a message & we will return your call. I left my telephone # - but have not heard back. We have a contract, paid 1/3 of total price, and at this point we just want our money paid back. WHAT CAN WE DO???

Desired Settlement
OUR DOWNPAYMENT OF $228.00 TO BE REFUNDED

06/18/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Erroneous billing for $2667 sent on May 11, 2105 which was paid on May 1, 2014.
On May 13, 2015 I received a billing for $2677 from Lifestyle Exterior Products. This amount was paid on May 1, 2014 when the installation of my door insert was completed.
When I received this erroneous billing I immediately called the company and left a message.
Later I received a phone message from ***** in their billing department saying that there was a computer crash and they were attempting to see which bills were paid. After this I sent an e-mail with a copy of my cancelled check.
I also called numerous times with no answer.
I also sent a certified mail letter with a copy of my cancelled check for $2667 cashed on May 2, 2014. I also called this morning using the number listed on their billing, XXX-XXX-XXXX to discover that their phone mail box was full.
I sense something is very wrong here and this company sent out erroneous bills on purpose.
I am also concerned that my credit could be affected.

Desired Settlement
I request that this company send me a corrected billing statement indicating that the bill was paid in full.

04/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
THEY REFUSE TO STAND BEHIND OR EVEN SERVICE PRODUCT THEY INSTALLED
IN MARCH OF 2012 WE CONTRACTED WITH SAID BUSINESS TO INSTALL HURRICANE PROTECTION PRODUCTS. THEY REPRESENTED THAT THEY COULD INSTALL TWO ROLLED SCREENS FOR THE LANAI, ONE WHICH WAS IN EXCESS OF 20 FT. (THE LARGER WAS TO BE POWERED AND THE SHORTER SUBSEQUENTLY WAS POWERED AS WELL). DURING INSTALLATION THEY HAD DIFFICULTIES WITH ANTICIPATED INSTALLATION AND PARTS WERE MODIFIED REQUIRING DELAYS AND A FINISHED PRODUCT A LITTLE DIFFERENT THAN WHAT WAS PROMISED. SINCE INSTALLATION WE HAVE HAD THREE ISSUES REQUIRING SERVICE. ALL THREE WERE DONE WITHOUT CHARGE AS THEY APPEARED TO BE ERRORS/REQUIRED REFINEMENTS IN INSTALLATION. SAID SERVICES WERE DONE VERY AMICABLY AND PROMPTLY. THE LAST SUCH SERVICE INVOLVED THE FITTINGS WHICH THE LARGE SCREEN WAS ATTACHED TO THE TRACKS. THE ORIGINAL FITTING AND HOW IT WAS ATTACHED TO THE SCREEN HAD TO BE CHANGED. WITHIN A COUPLE OF WEEKS THE SCREEN CAME OUT OT THE TRACK AGAIN. WHEN WE NOTIFIED THE BUSINESS, THEY INITIALLY SCHEDULED A SERVICE CALL. THEY THEN CALLED US BACK REQUIRING A CREDIT CARD WHICH WE SUPPLIED WITH THE CAVEAT THAT WE RESERVE THE RIGHT TO QUESTION WHETHER SOME OF THE COST MAY BE UNDER WARRANTY. AT THAT POINT THEIR REPRESENTATIVE BECAME VERY HOSTILE (THEY RECORD THEIR CALLS THEREFORE SHOULD BE AVAILABLE). THEIR REPRESENTATIVE THEN REFUSED TO SERVICE THE PRODUCT AT ALL STATING THAT WE EITHER USED THE PRODUCT TOO MUCH OR TOO LITTLE (THEY WEREN'T CERTAIN WHICH). WE SENT LETTERS TO THE CEO AND A VICE PRESIDENT WHO OVERSAW OUR INSTALLATION REQUESTING SERVICE WHICH WE HAVE RECEIVED NO RESPONSE. WE ARE VERY CONCERNED AS TO THE STATUS OF PROTECTION PROMISED US FOR OUR HOME BY THE COMPANY AND ARE SHOCKED BY A TOTAL REVERSAL OF EVEN COMMON CURTESY BY THEIR SERVICE DEPARTMENT.

Desired Settlement
WE ARE SEEKING CONFIRMATION (NOW IN WRITTEN FORM) OF THEIR REPRESENTATION OF THE PROTECTION PROVIDED BY THEIR PRODUCT AND CONTINUED SERVICE OF SAME.

02/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered slinging door contract signed 9/16 with 2500.00deposit to be installed 1st of December 2014 never done or any calls
Signed contract 9/16 2014 gave 2500.00 deposit to order window to be installed 12/1 2014, no correspondence from company at all. Have numerous calls with phone records if needed.last time I talked to a representative window had not been ordered tie to call ***** who I had been talking to no longer there I do not know where to go from here

Desired Settlement
Fulfill contract in a timely fashion

01/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contracted for poly carbonate panel installation as per 2 separate Lifestyle retail estimates. On install, Lexan was substituted-"bait and switch."
On 9/30/14 I contracted with Lifestyle to install poly carbonated panels on 4 windows-hurricane protection. Lifestyle was selected as they were the only vendor that stated they could install these panels. A $900 deposit was paid. I received 2 retail estimates from salesmen **** ******* and "***" both stating install poly carbonate panels. When installers arrived they attempted to install Lexan corrugated strips which I refused saying they were probably given wrong product. I was then told, for the first time, that the poly panels were not hurricane approved. A prudent man conclusion,"bait and switch." I then tried to contact **** *******, President, sent an email and left phone messages-no response. Other vendors had quoted Lexan strips for @$550 less than the $1800 Lifestyle price.

Desired Settlement
A refund would be preferred but I would be willing to accept Lexan installation at a more reasonable price quote.

Page 1 of 2

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.