BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Barmes Enterprises, Inc.

(813) 477-65864409 Loma Vista Dr, ValricoFL 33596-7326http://www.beinspections.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers home inspection services as well as state-certified residential contractor repair, remodel, addition and renovation services.

BBB Accreditation

Barmes Enterprises, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Barmes Enterprises, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Barmes Enterprises, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Barmes Enterprises, Inc. did an inspection on my house prior to purchase. Inspections failed to document some very crucial areas.
Barmes Enterprises, Inc. did an inspection on my house prior to purchase. Inspections failed to document some very crucial areas.
Side garage door has an interior door (need to replace for exterior door).
Water heater was re-inspected after the seller “fix it”, still no working.
Master bathroom tub- has a cracking sound when you get in for a shower.
A Large crack on the side of the Lanai – with a rusted metal on it (not sue what is it).
Company (inspector ******* ****** is no answering my calls.
Calls are direct to a voice mail only.

Desired Settlement
Inspector ******* ****** need go re-certification prior to inspect any other house. Temporary suspense his license until re-certification

Full repair of my water heater.
Home re-inspected.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******/ Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@aol.com
Yes I did complete a home inspection without the presence of buyer or realtor. I noted in the inspection the water heater does not operate its a new installed unit that was tripping breaker. Never was there a re inspect request for this item. I also noted on the home inspection that the door is not a fire proof door and the door jams was repaired but did not look so well. The stucco lathe is also noted in the inspect (not summary report)as typical cracks and house will need painted soon nothing structural. There was no notes on tub as we do not enter the tub for inspection we visibly inspect tub and check plumbing and caulking. I have never received any voice mails and I do not answer my phone when conducting a Home Inspection or repairs and clients has never left a voice mail or even emailed me about any of this nor has the real estate agent. I check the voice mails and email daily. It is not the inspectors responsibility to make repairs we only report what we find during the inspection. I have been inspecting homes for over 20 years and also a Certified Residential contractor in the State of Florida and I take great pride in my work and I think maybe a voice mail or email would have solve his/hers misunderstanding about Home Inspections. If I can be of further assistance please contact me, Thanks

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr ******* ****** was contacted several times by the real state agent (who recommended his services) and also by me. However, I made the repairs to my house and I do not want to proceed any further. I will never use his service again neither recommend his service to anyone.

Barmes Enterprises, Inc,,needs to focus on the client

Final Business Response
Sorry he/she feels that way if there was a re inspection completed and indeed the sellers made the repairs he might want to discuss that issues with them or conducted a walk thru before closing and that would have solve this then. I was never contacted about a re-inspection for this property by the realtor nor the client. I complete re inspection for clients that contacts me for one.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/26/2012Business started: 05/16/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

Hillsborough County Contractors License
5701 E Hillsborough Ave Ste 1140
Tampa, FL 33610-5428
(813) 272-5600

Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt
601 E Kennedy Blvd 14th Fl
Tampa, FL 33602-4156
(813) 635-5200
http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp

BBB records show a license number of CRC1330571 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of HI5293 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr.

Type: Home Inspector

BBB records show a license number of CRC1330571 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Contractors License.

Type: County Construction Lic.

BBB records show a license number of 212616 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

BBB records show a license number of 150368 for this company, issued by Hillsborough County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.hillstax.org/occweb/default.asp.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2005, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard C. Barmes (President)
Business Category

Home Inspectors, Construction Reports, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Door Installers, Door Companies, Notary Corporation Seals Suppliers, Contractor - Disabled Access, Window Installation Companies, Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodelers, Contractors-Other, Remodelers, Home Addition Builders, Home Improvements, Foundation Contractors, Contractor - Home Performance, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, General Contractors, Construction Consultants, Kitchen Remodeling, Kitchen Bath Remodelers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Barmes Enterprises, Inc.

4409 Loma Vista Dr

Valrico, FL 33596-7326

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4409 Loma Vista Dr 

    Valrico, FL 33596-7326(813) 477-6586

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Barmes Enterprises, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Inspectors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.