BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

BergHOFF International, Inc.

Phone: (727) 375-7523Fax: (727) 375-5424

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
02/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We received a Berghoff Lucia 2.7 Quart Whistling Tea Kettle as a gift. The tea kettle was registered (http://www.warranty.berghoffusa.com) and has a lifetime warranty. When it recently stopped whistling, we contacted the company via email (******************* to see about having it repaired or replaced. We received an automated reply saying that our inquiry had been received and that it would be processed in the order in which it was received. We haven't heard anything since then, and this was about a week ago.
Product_Or_Service: Berghoff Lucia 2.7 Quart Whistling Tea Kettle

Desired Settlement
We'd like the tea kettle to be fixed or replaced. Since it has a lifetime warranty, this should not be a issue. Our problem is that the company has not contacted us.

Business Response
Thank you for contacting the Customer Service Department at BergHOFF. We value our customers and will work diligently to handle your request as quickly as possible. In order to expedite the process, kindly provide the below information for warranty-related inquiries.
1. Attached is a file detailing the photo requirements necessary to begin processing your claim
In addition to product images, we will also need a picture of the product packaging and a close up of the UPC barcode (if available)
2. Proof of purchase
If a receipt cannot be found, please tell us when the purchase was initially made and where
3. Your mailing information (full name, address, and phone number)
4. A detailed description of the problem, what you were doing when the problem occurred (if applicable), and your cleaning practices for the item in question

We will review this information upon receipt and should the issue be covered under your warranty, we will advise you of the next step(s). In some cases, it may be necessary to return the merchandise to us for further inspection.
Please note that shipping charges are not included in the warranty. As a courtesy, we have elected to pay for a portion of this cost and only ask that our customers send a check or money order for $7 (if shipping from a U.S. postal address) or $10 (if shipping from Canada) to offset this expense.
Should you have further questions, you may respond to this email or call us directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX.
We look forward to serving you.

Warm Regards,
******** ******
Customer Service

BergHOFF International, Inc.
XXXXX ** **
******* ******* XXXXX

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We can give the vendor product images, a description of the problem (the tea kettle doesn't whistle), our cleaning practices (warm water, mild soap) but we do not have a receipt because it was a gift (we're told that it was purchased at **** **** & ****** located at **** ******** ********** ********** ** XXXXX some time in 2013, and we no longer have the packaging. Also, the file mentioned by Ms. ****** that details their photo requirements is missing, as well as an email address to send this information to. However, this reply includes answers to whatever questions we can actually answer, as well as two photos (one of the tea kettle, and another of the tea kettle's bottom).

Final Business Response
Dear *******, I received your response from the BBB. I just wanted to make sure that you had received the email that I had sent to you directly at ******************** on 01/27/2015. In this email you would have found the attached file with the photo requirements. Also, It is ok if you do not have all of the information that was requested. To date I have not received any further information directly as to the Warranty Claim. I would be more than happy to assist you with your Tea Kettle. I am very sorry that you are having trouble with the kettle not whistling. I have spoken with my Warranty Department and this could be caused by a few things: 1. The Kettle may not have enough water in the Kettle, 2. The water may not be hot enough, or 3. The Whistle piece may have not been on the Kettle properly to whistle. If these troubleshooting steps do not fix the problem with the whistle then our next step would be to have you send in the Kettle for our Warranty Department to physically inspect.

We may be able to repair or replace your merchandise should our Warranty Department confirm this is a manufacturing defect.
Below you'll find the mailing address where you can ship the product. To expedite the process, please be sure to include the Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number on the shipping label. You may mail the merchandise to:

BergHOFF International
Attn: Returns
RMA# XXXXXX-XXXX
XXXXX SR 54
Odessa, FL XXXXX

If you have any further questions please let me know. You can call me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX or email me at *******************

Warm Regards,
******** ******
Customer Service

BergHOFF International, Inc.
XXXXX SR 54
Odessa, Florida XXXXX

*************** DL
*************** FX
*******************

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
BergHOFF's customer service has been great about keeping in touch and honoring their warranty since the BBB got involved. We thank you all for your effort and attention. This evening, we were able to return the defective tea kettle to the store. They have agreed to replace it so there is no further need to pursue this through the BBB. Thanks again, everyone, for your attention to this matter!

12/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Low quality product and seller and manufacturer are pointing fingers at each other
I have purchased a set BergHOFF Invico Vitrum 16-Piece Cookware Set and BergHOFF Orion 12-1/4-Quart Covered Stock Pot from myhabit.com for a total of $423. Almost immediately these items started to show excessive wear and now parts are falling off. Seller and manufacturer are pointing fingers at each other on who is responsible for replacement and/or refund. All I got is a around. At this point I'm afraid to use these as they may brake and injure me

Desired Settlement
refund

Business Response
I have done a thorough search and am unable to locate any correspondence from ******* ****** concerning her cookware. I am very sorry that she is unhappy with her purchase. Invico is our highest quality cookware, it is pure surgical stainless 18/10 steel. To start the Warranty Claim process all she needs to do is to contact Customer Service via email at **@berghoffusa.com with the following information:
1. Attached is a file detailing the photo requirements necessary to begin processing your claim
In addition to product images, we will also need a picture of the product packaging and a close up of the UPC barcode (if available)
2. Proof of purchase
If a receipt cannot be found, please tell us when the purchase was initially made and where
3. Your mailing information (full name, address, and phone number)
4. A detailed description of the problem, what you were doing when the problem occurred (if applicable), and your cleaning practices for the item in question

We will review this information upon receipt and should the issue be covered under your warranty, we will advise you of the next step(s). In some cases, it may be necessary to return the merchandise to us for further inspection.
Should you have further questions, you may respond to this email or call us directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Warm Regards,

******** ******

BergHOFF International, Inc.
XXXXX ** **
Odessa, Florida XXXXX

***************
*************** FX
**@berghoffusa.com
www.berghoffworldwide.com






Please consider the environment before printing this e-mail.

CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: This message is intended only for the use and review of the individual or entity to which it is addressed and may contain information that is privileged and confidential. If the reader of this message is not the intended recipient, or the employee or agent responsible for delivering the message solely to the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited. If you have received this communication in error, please notify sender immediately by telephone or return email. Thank you.

Consumer Response

08/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Handle gets as hot as the pan itself.
We purchased a 2 piece Boreal Nonstick Fry Pan Set, model #XXXXXXX.

On first use, the handle got as hot as the pan and burned my hand. I refuse to use a hot pad to simply fry my food.
When we contacted the company we were refused a refund, instead they said we must have been using the fry pan incorrectly. How is that possible?

Desired Settlement
I want my money back.
I refuse to use any of their products in the future.

Business Response
This set of pans in question, Boreal II, includes an 8" and 10" frying pan. The handles on these pans are made of stainless steel which heats up when placed on or near a heat source. Especially the 8" is a small vessel, high cooking temperatures; open flames, long cooking times, etc. will cause handles to get hot on the stove top. Handles, when used in the oven or broiler, always heat immediately. Our standard response to this kind of customer inquiry is as follows.

If using an electric stove, the correct size burner should be used. You should not use a large burner for a small frying pan or pot. If you are using a gas stove, gas flames may shoot up the side of the pot, exposing the handles to direct heat. The flame needs to be regulated so that it heats the base of the pot only, not the sides. The handles will then stay cooler or cool.

However, exposure to high heat render the handles extremely hot, like any other ss handle. Stainless steel lid handles and knobs will get hot much more quickly when they are directly above or close to a major heat source. We always recommend the use of an oven cloth or mitt until you are completely used to your cookware. Most burners are not sized for an 8" frying pan therefore extra precaution should be taken.

We carry a multi-functional silicone handle cover for long and short handles. We also carry a set of silicone covers for the helper handles.

ANY product deemed defective, we will replace it under warranty. However, we do not accept returns for a refund on a product that has been used, but hasn't shown any manufacturer's defect.

We did not receive any further communication from this customer so we were unable to instruct or guide him further. We will be happy to send a solution like a silicone handle, as we have whatever it takes to "make the customer happy" policy. Obviously, as the manufacturer, we don't know what the customer bought, where they purchased it, and so on. Always open to help, we are available at **@berghoffusa.com

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

I will accept the silicone handles to settle this matter. Send the offered handles to
** *****, **
**** ** **** ****
***
Vancouver, WA XXXXX

Final Consumer Response

10/15/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A pot I purchased has defective parts and they are trying to make me pay to replace them when warranty is supposed to be lifetime guarantee.
I had a problem with the handles of this pot, which are supposed to stay cool to the touch and never did. The pressure gauge also stopped working and the lid handle fell off. When I contacted the company about fixing these defects, I was told that I would have to pay for the replacement parts. They assure a lifetime guarantee on all their products, however the actual warranty is vague, reading simply that:
"BergHOFF International guarantees to replace or repair any product found defective in material, construction, or workmanship under
normal household use while it's under warranty period. This excludes damage from misuse, overheating or abuse, dropping of the
utensil or cookware, or intentional breaking. Minor imperfections like steel bluing, dents and scratches may show in stainless but do
not affect the performance of the product and are not covered under this limited warranty."

I believe their advertising to be deceptive and that they are not honoring the terms of the warranty.

Desired Settlement
I do not expect to be charged for defective parts and if your warranty does not include those than you need to stipulate that in the warranty. You do not, therefore you are not honoring the terms of the agreement.

Business Response
I am authorizing our warranty department to replace the thermoknob and plastic pieces on the handle at no cost to Ms. ************** copied here, will confirm they're available and ship the pieces to the customer this afternoon.

We do have replacement Thermoknobs in stock and can send a replacement. As for the handles, the customer's handles were not damaged, she just has a complaint that they do not stay very cool. We do have replacement handles but she will incur the same issues as no handles will stay absolutely cool when on a burner for long periods of time. What we can do is send a set of silicone pot holders. I have attached a photo for your reference.

Please advise if this will suffice.



Final Consumer Response

12/27/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
cookware bought 10/14/11. handle for one of the covers broke off while washing 10/12/12. filed complaint requesting replacement. complaint denied.
as per summary, cookware bought 10/14/11. warranty is 1 year. 10/12/12, one handle for the cover broke off while handwashing. sent complaint to customer service, and was denied replacement on 11/23/12 by ****** ******. e-mail: mailto:*****@berghoffusa.com. tel. *******************

Desired Settlement
would like refund. if that is not possible, would like replacement of whole set without shipping charges. worried quality of remaining items will only last a few more months, considering handle lasted almost exactly 1 year only (length of warranty).

Business' Initial Response
We regret that the customer is not satisfied with the outcome of his warranty claim. BergHOFF has been in business for more than 30 years and we have always held our customers in the highest regard. In addition, customer safety and satisfaction are our utmost priorities.

In the customer's original email (dated October 12, 2012) he stated, "That piece just fell off while cleaning and the lid fell down cracking the glass." Although only one knob was an issue, the customer requested replacement lids for all of his cookware. The troubled piece is a screw-on Thermo Knob that consists of an aluminum ring encasing an acrylic gauge. It is detachable from the lid, easily replaced, and is protected by a one year warranty that covers manufacturer's defects.

Upon receipt of the customer's inquiry, our Warranty Department reviewed the complaint and completed a photo inspection of the knob. Our Customer Service Department further attempted to recreate the issue in the manner the customer explained and found it to be impossible due to notches inside the ring that hold the gauge in place along with the tapered form of the aluminum ring that prevents the gauge from simply slipping out as the customer stated. The results led us to determine that the damage, as reported, was not covered under the warranty. As a resolution, we offered the customer a replacement knob for a reduced cost plus shipping charges. Unfortunately, we never received a response to this offer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Though I'm very dissatisfied by the way this has been handled, I'll accept replacement knob and close this issue.
My address is ***********************************

Business' Final Response
While this issue is not covered under warranty as a manufacturer's defect, we will replace the affected knob at no cost to the customer. We will need the customer's mailing address to ship the replacement part.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.