BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/09/1999

Cryo-Cell International, Inc.

Phone: (813) 749-2100Fax: (813) 855-4745

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues9
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
02/03/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We wanted to discontinue service but couldn't find a phone number or address to contact them.
Since we could not contact them, we began to doubt the legitimacy of this company. By the time my wife could get a phone number, they had already turned our case over to a debt collection agency.

There was also a delay on our side because of certain medical issues that I am going through. It required me to go to the *********** in Phoenix, Arizona, where I was for several weeks.

Also, the person from the debt collection agency, ************** in Woodland Hills CA, who contacted me was rather rude. When I asked him for Cryo Cell's number, he quickly gave me the number to his agency and hung up.

Desired Settlement
A substantial reduction in the amount they claim we owe them. We will be willing to settle for a payment of $30.

Business Response
Please see the notes from our system:

"The client was sent to collections in October for ASF 2012 and 2013, $50.00 each. The last payment we received on the account was in 2011.

On 9/14/14, ***** called the client, he spoke with Mrs. *********. His documented comments were: spoke to client about past due account - client needs to speak with husband - will be calling me back - cmk. Mrs. ********* called on 11/14/14 and ********* documented the following: 11/4/14: ****** ******** called with questions about possibly discontinuing. She has not made a decision yet, but has questions. Transferred her to ******** to answer her questions. **** "

The client was contacted in September 2014 via telephone by Cryo-Cell prior to being sent to collections for an account that was three years past due. The Company also sends monthly statements to the address on file. The Company is willing to accept the settlement of $30, but the client will need to complete the Discontinued Storage paperwork. I can forward to you to forward to the client.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I agree to the payment part of it, however, I don't have an address to mail the check to. Also, I would like the specimen to be donated for someone and/or research, and not "disposed off in any manner they choose" as they have stated in their letter.

12/03/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
services cancelled in writing 4/18/07. Cryocell now threatening court action to collect 2010- 2012 bills! Billing ignores emails and legal documents
I cancelled my storage service (account ID XXXXXXX, opened 7/16/2003) with cryocell in writing 4/18/2007. My ex-husband ****** **** requested to continue their service solely for himself in the same letter and assumed all responsibility for past and future obligations with them. I have a copy of this letter. I received no further notices or bills from cryocell until 8/25/2014 when a collection agency started calling me about unpaid balances for 2010, 2011, 2012 on the account, totaling 328.07. I submitted documentation to the collection agency ***** & ****** of ******** Hills, CA per their notice showing that I had cancelled cryocells services in writing in 2007. ****** ******** notified me that I would have to deal directly with cryocell as they could not stop the collections process. I then contacted cryocell and submitted all the requested documents to show I had cancelled the service in writing in april 2007. I also submitted a copy of my notarized divorce nisi and supporting court documents to verify that I am not liable for the debts of ****** **** and am legally divorced from him. Their billing department has been dragging this out for months while I receive harassing phone calls from debt collectors threatening court action against me. Cryocell says they are investigating the matter then don't reply to my inquiries but allow the debt collector to call. They have even told me they took my name out of collections and I still am receiving 1-2 debt collector calls threatening court action daily. I have informed them I am in the middle of applying for a mortgage and my credit is critical and still they do nothing for weeks on end. This seems a very unethical management of their billing errors and I would like them to correct it if they are a BBB A+ company. I cancelled their services in 2007, have received NO COMMUNICATION from them since until now, and still do not want their services or their bills.

Desired Settlement
Remove me from collections and all balances owed. Take my name off all services after 4/18/2007 and do not bill me for any of it.
If necessary contact credit reporting agencies to correct any delinquency notices that they filed.

Business Response
Below is a timeline for the client:

7/2005 the account became delinquent.
4/2007, we received the attached written letter from the client, which states the father will take responsibility for the specimen.
8/2008 Mr. **** called making a promise to pay.
9/2009 the client was sent to collections for $450.00.
1/2010 partial payment was received.
1/2010 contract reactivated.
10/2012 demand letter sent for balance due.
7/2013 return mail from Mr. ******* address and we couldn't locate a new address.
7/2014 client was sent to collections.
9/2014 the client called in and spoke with ********* because she was contacted by Caine and Weiner. ********* asked that she send the documentation from 4/2007 to *******. Client advised ********* that Mr. **** was incarcerated.
10/15/2014 I received a copy of the letter from *******, sent email to Caine and Weiner to cease collections on 10/15 and close out the account without payment. An acknowledgement was received back on the same day that it was closed.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not the client since 2007. Mr **** is the client. However I have been sent to collections even tho I am not the client. I recieved 2 collections calls on oct 21 2014 and 1 collections call on oct 20 2014 after being told my name had been removed from the collections on or about oct 15 2014. These calls are recorded on my answering machine. I would like verification that my name has been removed from billing and further collections from cryocell as I filed this complaint because I continued to receive collections calls after I was told I was removed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have received no further debt collection calls since Oct 20, 2014. Cryocell now seems to be making an effort to correct their error by sending me paperwork to cancel thier services now, however I remain concerned as they are requesting notarized paperwork cancelling my services with them as of 2014. I cancelled my services with them in writing in 2007 and if they needed notarized paperwork they should have notified me THEN. I am happy to help fulfill their legal requirements but should not be held liable for the bills accumulated to Travis ****s account from 2007 until present. I would like cryocell to confirm that they will correct the back billing issue and are not holding me liable for those 7 years of bills. If I send notarized documents cancelling now then they may say I didn't cancel in 2007.

Final Business Response

12/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Last week I was contacted by a collection agency saying my account with Cyrocell was in collections. Cryocell never contacted me.
On Thursday, November 6th, I was contacted by a local collection agency stating my account with Cyrocell was in collection. I was shocked to get a phone call at 8:00pm about this account. I decided to cord blood bank in January of 2008 because I recently left my daughter's father and he did not know his families medical family history. I paid a large lump sum and put it behind me till I would receive my storage bill fee. I have moved twice since I set up my account using the link on Cyrocell's website for change of address. I have never received a bill, phone call, or email from Cyrocell stating my storage fees needed to be paid. I spoke to the collection agent and she gave me Cyrocell's number to their billing department. When I called this morning I spoke to a lady that I could not understand due to her accent. She was very rude every time I asked her to repeat something. When I started to explain what happened she would interrupt me until I finally told her to stop and how rude she was being. I explained my story and she put me on hold stating she was finding her manager. The manager was not in the office , of course, and I left a message in regards to my account. I am thoroughly disappointed that I would pay SO MUCH MONEY to a company that says they are the best, but their billing department can not pick up a phone to call. I would have been happy to pay right away but considering their change of address link seems to not work or their phones can not make outgoing calls I am disappointed. I am now scared about a HUGE run around to cancel my account with them.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have my account cancelled and taken off collection.

Business Response
Cryo-Cell spoke with the client and the situation is resolved.

11/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have over 4 years tried to have cryo-cell to discontinue storage and stop billing me.
Cryo-cell began back billing me for services I've asked to be discontinued years later. I had originally set up 3 accounts for storage and then decided I no longer required the storage service I requested a cease and cancel. After two years of constant billing I called Cryo-cell about the invoices I am receiving, but they haven't been increasing. This is the first time I heard of requiring a letter to discontinue. So, I sent an email. The next month I get a call from a collections agency for the money they owed. After much infighting I agreed to pay the collections agency as I no longer had any fight left in me. A year after I paid those fees, I am still getting invoices so I call cryo-cell again. And again a month later I get a call from a collections agency. It turns out that even though I was originally dealing with collections over 4 years, Cryo-cell was still internally having my account accrue even though I was not getting any billing increases. After many calls to cryo-cell I was promised a call back from a manager but have not received any.

Desired Settlement
I request clearing of the funds they claim I owe and clearing with the collections agency.

Business Response
We have received the Discontinuation of Storage letters for your three accounts. They have been processed, so your accounts will no longer accrue further charges.

I have attached copies of current statements for all your accounts. Each statement includes the history of the accounts since inception and the current balance that is due.

Below is a snapshot of the balances owed on the accounts:
XXXXXXX - $180.00
XXXXXXX - $70.00
XXXXXX - $315.00, which is begin collected by Caine and Weiner

Please let me know if you have further questions regarding these statements. I'd be happy to assist.

Regards,
******* *******
Collections Specialist
Cryo-Cell International, Inc.
*** ******* ***** ****** Suite ****
Oldsmar, FL XXXXX
********@cryo-cell.com
Toll Free: (XXX) XXX-XXXX, ext. ****
Local: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Fax: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Pay online at : http://www.cryo-cell.com/

11/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cancell, but they didn't cancel. Paid balance, now they want more money.
I called and cancelled service twice. Was told they would cancel. Then received a collection notice in June. Called and was told that they didn't cancel, and that I should have filled out some paperwork. I told them I had no idea that it wasn't cancelled or that I needed to fill out a form for them. Told them that I didn't need the service because I couldn't have anymore children. Was told that there was new technology and it could be used for my immediate family including our daughter. I said that I would go ahead and pay the balance, and she said once I paid the collection agency I would be paid in full and would be current. Also told that I would receive a bill in Oct. for 2014 bill. Went ahead and paid the balance with the collection agency. I thought everything was good. Received a bill for 360.00. Called and spoke with ****** in accounting and she said that I was not current that I still owed for 2013. I told her the whole story, and she said that I should have known what I was paying for, and why didn't I ask what I was paying for. I told her that I spoke with her company and they said I would be paid in full and would be current. She said that no one in customer service would tell me that they would just cancel my account without sending me papers. I was like really????? Was told that I would get a bill in Oct for 2014. When I started saying that it doesn't appear that the company didn't have their act together, she got mad and started snipping at me. I asked for a manager, she hung up on me. Called back to her department, and was immediately hung up on. Called back and she answered. I told her that I was the one she hung up on, and she said that she did't. Asked to speak with a manager. She transferred me to the department to cancel my service. Still didn't get to talk to a manager. Spoke with my husband, and he said cancel. That is not a company that wants our business obviously.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to actually tell me the correct information, and fix the problem. Have better customer service. Don't be in the service industry if you don't actully want to help people!!!!!

Business Response
The Company spoke with the client. Payment was worked out and the client understands that the next invoice will be due in October 2015.

Consumer Response
I spoke with cryo ell And they totally took care of everything. They went above and beyond my expectations. They definitely have the customer first.

Page 1 of 2
01/09/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Never once has this company corresponded with me, despite obviously having my address & phone number, yet, has sent 'my' account to collections twice.
As stated, Cryo-Cell has never once sent a single piece of correspondence to my attention, although they obviously know my address. They've continued to aimlessly send invoices to the sole attention of my former husband, who has not resided here in almost ten years. I™m not in the practice of opening other people™s mail, so I continue to inform the mail carrier that there is no such person at our address. Someone from Cryo-Cell even called my home phone number, which has never been associated with my ex-husband's name, on one occasion and asked for him. When I informed her he did not live at this address, she claimed she'd heard someone say his name (!). I told her that the man was not allowed on the premises, and that she must either be mistaken, or simply making things up. Long story short, they should have gotten the picture long ago that attempting to contact that person at my address was more than a little pointless. And, if this was, in fact, a 'joint' account, why would they have not mentioned something to that effect when they had me on the phone? Why wouldn't you just address invoices to both parties??

So, let™s take a look at this situation. One of the following two scenarios must be true; either:

a) I have an account with Cryo-Cell, and am therefore a customer. In which case, I believe that I've probably received the worst customer service in the history of customer service. I'd say abysmal sums up the level of service received, and their billing practices (or complete lack thereof).

or,

b) I am not a customer, and I've no account established with Cryo-Cell. Which would explain why they have never actually billed me.

Cryo-Cell has twice submitted "my" account to collections without providing a shred of documented evidence that they've indeed provided a ‘service™- just a second-hand bill for who-knows-what. During the course of the first incident, I requested documentation from them, and obtained the attached. As you can see, there is no contractual agreement for ongoing storage for any time period; just annual service fees. And, still no detailed invoices. However, I paid the amount that my ex-husband had apparently neglected to pay, mistakenly thinking that once his account had gone into collections, it was effectively closed. Isn't that how those sorts of things generally work?? Yet, here we go again.

If I had to venture a guess, I would say that this complete lack of information/communication is a deliberate tactic on Cryo-Cell™s part to prevent requests for cancellation of service.

I am hopefully that your office might get to the bottom of this once and for all. Specifically, I am hoping that you can determine whether I, personally, have ever even had an account with these people, and, if so, communicate that I wish to sever /cancel 'service', i.e. never have anything to do with them again.

Desired Settlement
Resolution will depend on your office's findings.

Should you find that I actually have an account with them, I would certainly want to see whatever it is that actually supports that fact; as well as see documented evidence that they've indeed provided a compliant ‘service™. I'm not referring to just the unseen detailed invoices; I'd wish to see the unique identifier for the specimen, storage unit/ equipment number, location (and, any movement history), associated monitoring node(s), and a verified excursion history report for those nodes/probes from their monitoring system. Any compliant facility should be able to produce these items, and support that they did indeed provide the level of service for which they are requesting payment. Then, of course, having an account, I would be canceling service.

If you determine that I, personally, do not have an account established with Cryo-Cell; or, that their practices have been inappropriate, I wish to be removed from this matter permanently, and obtain a documented statement that I've no obligation regarding the amount forwarded for collection.

Business Response
We are trying to resolve this with the client, but she is not returning calls. How should we proceed?


Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

I did speak with the business a couple of days ago. They offered to write off the account and waive the balance. I still want to see a copy of the original agreement. If I have an account with them like they say I do, why did they never contact me by name or send letters in my attention? I never opened any of the invoices because they were in my ex-husbands name and I wouldn't open his mail. Then I received a letter from a collections agency with my name on it. I also filed with consumer financial protection bureau and collection agency responded stating they have no proof of account with me and they closed it. I still want to see original documents in case the company decides to put this on my credit. This account would have been opened 14 years ago (since my daughter is now 14) and they are just now contacting me about it.


Final Business Response


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They haven't sent the cancellation paperwork as they said they would. ***** ******* of the BBB,recently followed up to see if I'd received anything after several weeks of inaction on Cryo-Cell's part. I responded that, no, I had not.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.