BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/21/2013

Orwin Restoration & Construction, Inc.

Phone: (813) 361-0628Fax: (813) 932-185935920 State Road 54, ZephyrhillsFL 33541-2243Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial new construction and remodeling services including fire, water, storm damage restoration, mold and mildew removal and home inspection.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/21/2013

BBB has determined that Orwin Restoration & Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Orwin Restoration & Construction, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Orwin Restoration & Construction, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
02/22/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bad work, incomplete work, broken furniture, charged for itemsnot done.
I was told trust me your family, so we trusted *****.( mistake). We had a broken pipe in our house and it ruined our floors in the bbedroom closet. We called ***** because a family member suggested them. They came in November and accessed the situation. We were told they would start in November. They partially started and came back in march. We were left without a bathroom for weeks. They came in and put the wrong tile in bathroom. We asked them to change it and they did after a argument. They broke my toilet sleeve and the tile floor when they were preping the bathroom. He then preceeded to charge me for his mistake. We have no covers fot outlets because he lost them. My wife asked him if we could put tile in the kitchen and we were told yes I was told by his business partner there would be no extra because we were family. ***** also charged for moving and replacing kitchen cabinets which was not done. The tiles in kitchen are uneven and cracked. The strip between the kitchen and family room moves a creeks. The wood floor gaps are large enough to put a nickel in on its side. They lost or broke 3 screens to windows. They broke locking mechanism to my french doors, I seen ****** do that with a screw driver. They pulled my cable out of the wall. I have 2 windows off track. They tore, broke furniture. I had to clean up debris from the job they were doing. The flooring people drove on my grass. They charged for climate control storage, but the truck they loaded with my furniture sat in my driveway for 2 weeks. I now have broken and moldy furniture. I was told my deductible was waived because were family. They took 8 boxes of leftover wood flooring but charged for it. The paint job was horrible. The trim they put in is pulling away from wall, the weather strip at the front door fell off within 1 week. We were told if we signed a certificate of completion he would come in and fix everthing he never did, all he wanted was money for shoddy work. We still have not had the repairs done. There is so much more. Please look in to this. Thank you

Desired Settlement
We don't want that group of people in my house, we are getting a quote for repairs and furniture repair, we would like ***** to step up and take care of this matter

Business Response
3-Here is the construction lien that I place on his property
2- my agreement repair and you can see the deductible amount which he don't want pay neither
3-here is the letter for the insurance that I got because they know that Mr **** was trying to keep the check
You can see the date on the latter and that is went Mr **** went south with the check just because he need money
4-here is the certificate of satisfaction which was sing by them on the march 17
Four weeks later went we got the supplement check is went he went crazy because he want to keep the money to replace his roof.

He don't pay for the change order that I did for him which was.. paint two bedrooms ceiling, smooth the whole bathroom walls and texture. Tile on his hallway bathroom, drywall repair by the kitchen and drywall repair by his master bedroom.
than he don't want to pay his deductible and he want to keep the money for the supplement!
I thing is a little hungry!
Let me know if you need anything from me or if you have any question please call me.
Thank you so much..



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
we were told that the 2500.00 deductible was waived because we were family. the ceilings he painted he did on his own. we had him give us an estimate to knock down the popcorn to a flat surface, we declined to have done. ***** also broke tiles in the hall bath floor when they were tearing out the sink and tub. we signed the satisfaction form per his request and he promised us all the repairs would be done. we still have uneven floors in the kitchen, front strip off, strip loose between the kitchen and family room, gaps in wood floors, broken tiles, we were charged for items he did not do, not once in his response did he want to fix the problems. they talk a good game but they do shabby work at best

Final Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

I tried to send a certified letter about the damages to the company but he refused to accept it. At this point we would not let him come back and repair because he didn't comply with any of the requests to provide background checks on the people working in our house. Our sofas are damaged beyond belief because of these guys. He definitely knew about the damage and asked us to sign the satisfaction form to submit to the insurance and that he would come back and fix all the issues. He never did and now we are going to have to pay over $6000 to get the damages fixed. We will decide about whether or not to let him come back and try to repair but we don't trust the company and all of the floors are wrong.

If the company wants to make an offer about what he would accept from the $9500 check we will consider it but right now I have the check just sitting here. We don't want him back in the house. Final Business Response

06/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company refuses to provide proof of General Liability Insurance policy.
April 22, 2014

Better Business Bureau,
I want to file a complaint against a Certified General Contract that is on your website.

The name of the company is Orwin Restoration and Construction, Inc. They have CGCXXXXXXX.

****** *********** came to our house on X-XX-XX and inspected the side garage door that needs to be replaced and any other work that needs to be done.

Everything was going fine, got the complete estimate, but when my Homeowners Insurance Company suggested that I get a copy of the General Liability Insurance Company for me and the insurance company wanted a copy for their file. That's when things went downhill. ****** *********** refuses to give me and my Homeowners Insurance company a copy of their insurance policy. ****** keeps stonewalling me and telling me the copy of the insurance policy is on it's way, but this has been going on for about 1 week now, and the last thing I heard from ****** was a text message he sent to me on 4-19-14, and he said that ''they'' (I assume he's talking about his insurance company is close and that he will call me Monday (4-21-14), but he didn't call me on Monday, so he is out of the running for not contacting me as he said he would. I even had our Homeowners Insurance company Rep. talk to him about the issue and he said everything is OK, but that didn't do anything, because he still hasn't sent the insurance policy. Our Homeowners Insurance company is Beall Insurance, and their phone # is XXX-XXX-XXXX and the contact person is ******.

I want to know what the big deal is about getting me a copy of his company's insurance policy?
*Does he even have an insurance policy to begin with?
*Are their marks or claims against his policy that he doesn't want me to know about due to claims against his company?

At this point, Orwin construction is out of the running for replacing our side garage door and I think that they should be taken off your approved list of contractors.

Desired Settlement
To have this company taken off of your approved CGC list. This is because they refuse (or unable) to provide proof of their General Liability Insurance.

Business Response
This response was taken verbally by BBB:

We were bidding a job on replacing the garage door. Mr. ****** requested proof of our liability insurance, I told him we had to get it from the insurance agency. Obtained the info and emailed it to Mr. ****** and his homeowners insurance rep on Monday. We do not want to do this job anymore for the consumer. He can seek another company for the work to be done.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Orwin Construction kept putting me off as far as getting the proof of liability insurance and I have a text message from owner as far as them asking why I wanted the policy, but they refused to send it to me due to whatever reason. They did send the insurance policy to me ONLY after I filed a complaint with the BBB. The contractor said they have never been asked for proof of their insurance coverage, which is not believable. I have attached a portion of our text messages as proof of Orwin saying he's never been asked for insurance information. On the attached copy, the parts noted by the "1" are the text messages from me to Orwin Construction and the parts noted by the "2" are the test messages from Orwin Construction to me. Please note the section of the text messages noted by the "*" where Orwin Construction says that he has never been asked for insurance information.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/28/2008Business started: 11/18/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industry Licensing Board
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/

Department of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

Pasco County Business Tax Receipt
7530 Little Rd
New Port Richey, FL34654-5598
(727) 847-8165
http://www.pascotaxes.com

BBB records show a license number of CGC1520971 for this company, issued by Construction Industry Licensing Board. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/.

Type: Department of Business and Professional Regulation

BBB records show a license number of HI4112 for this company, issued by Department of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr.

Type: Home Inspector

BBB records show a license number of 092380 for this company, issued by Pasco County Business Tax Receipt. Their web address is http://www.pascotaxes.com.

Type: County Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2011, FL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Wilman Montealegre (President)
Contact Information
Mr. Wilman Montealegre-Nira
Business Category

General Contractors, Home Inspectors, Mold Mildew Removing Companies, Fire Water Damage Restoration Companies, Kitchen Remodeling, Kitchen Bath Remodelers, Room Additions, Remodelers, Home Builders, Construction Companies, Business Construction/Office Remodeling

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Orwin Restoration & Construction, Inc.

35920 State Road 54

Zephyrhills, FL 33541-2243

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 35920 State Road 54 

    Zephyrhills, FL 33541-2243

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Orwin Restoration & Construction, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for General Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.