BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/15/2012

Carolina Factory Outlet, Inc.

Phone: (727) 868-6500Fax: (866) 921-9291

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Oct 16 th. 2013 we bought a leather power loveseat from Carolina outlet. (1198 UXXXXXXX) for $1500. After a few months we noticed the color was coming off and on June 19 th. this year they replaced with another. Called Power rocker recliner loveseat. (****************)Order dated May 31 st. 2014. We had to add a little over a $100 more. This was labeled first of it`s kind because it also rocked. Within days I felt that I was sinking in some. I though the cushion might have to break in. Soon we realized the frame was bending and we informed Carolina.In about a month they replaced with another of the same. Within 3 days we told them this frame was bad also. They sent a furniture person to check it and he confirmed it was in bad shape.I asked Carolina for store credit. They said I had 2 choices They would replace frame or not replace frame as it got unfriendly.If two frames bent right away - why would I trust another. So at this point I have a $1600 loveseat where you can`t sit in one side and looks like junk as the cushion is twisted at this point also.I now want all my money back. My treatment there was rough because of all the problems. manager is called **** and other manager is known as *** thank you **** *******
Order_Number: they are paid in ful

Desired Settlement
$1500 than $100.69 total $1600.69

Business Response
This letter is in reference to the BBB complaint case # ******** ***************
XXXXXXXX-X-XXX). Our goal is to make the customer Happy if they allow us too. The
loveseat in the customers house has a 1 year warranty on parts and labor until 6/19/2015.
The original sales date is 10/6/2013. The following are the steps that we have already
taken to resolve the issues that the customer has had.
Mr. **** ******* service:
1. Bought a loveseat stock number UXXXXXXX on 10/6/13 and had it delivered on 10/31/13.
Cost ofloveseat was $1322.87.
2. Mr. ******* called on 5/ 12/ 14, stating that the color was coming off the headrest and
rub marks on the footrest where it meets the base and the cover for the power switch
keeps coming off.
I On 5/ 16/ 14 ***** ***** (Service Director) went out to the customers
home to evaluate the issue and took pictures of the problems the
customer was having with the loveseat.
Q Sent information into the manufactures rep. for a warranty issue with the
loveseat and received the ok for the customer to reselect a new loveseat.
Q Called customer and informed them that they can reselect another
loveseat. Scheduled customer to come into the store to reselect another
loveseat with full credit of purchase ($1322.87) towards the loveseat.
v Mr. ******* came in at the end of May or early June to pick out his new
loveseat. He picked a loveseat from a different manufacturer stock
number XXXXX-XX power 68-29 for $1296.99. He also purchased a lamp
and paid for the delivery. On the same sales invoice# XXXXX.
I We delivered the loveseat on 6/19/14. Mr. ******* signed the delivery
sheet that everything was received in good condition.
3. On 7/1 1/ 14 customer called and said that the new loveseat is sinking in the corner.
0 Scheduled pre-service for 7/25/14, due to customer being busy on the
prior Fridays.
¢ ***** ***** (Service Director) came out to the customer's home and
looked over the loveseat. Assessed and found the right side facing seat
leaned to the left slightly. And the left side facing inside back looked
like it was leaning to the left. Recommended that we exchange the
loveseat.
0 Exchanged the loveseat on 8/1/14 on invoice# XXXXX. Signed the
delivery sheet that loveseat was received in good condition.
4. A few days after delivery we received a call from the customer that the seat was leaning



to the left and had a gap between seats.
Q We scheduled a factory certified technician to go to the home on 8/13/14
to diagnose the issue and make an adjustment if possible.
Q Technician found the mechanism on the lefi side facing seat had a slight
bend in the inside back. On 8/14/14 we ordered a new mechanism for the
left side facing seat.
0 ***** ***** called customer on 8/14/14 and informed him that we had
the mechanism on order and will call once it's in to schedule repair.
Customer stated that he did not want repair and wanted to reselect to
another set. I did inform him that the manufacture of the new loveseat he
picked out would only replace the mechanism and not credit the whole
loveseat.
Customer came in to the store to talk to another person who would ok him to get another
type of loveseat. We did explain that we would need to replace the mechanism and it will
be in new condition at this point.
***** ***** called customer on 9/3/14 to schedule repair of the mechanism for 9/ 10/ 14.
***** talked to Mr. ******* and he informed me (***** ********* that he cannot take
repair now because he has called channel 8 news and was in the process of sending a
complaint to the BBB.
We can replace the mechanism and straighten out the seat for the customer and it will be
in new condition. Mr. ******* can call the store to schedule this at his convenience.
Kindest Regards,
***** *****
Service Director

Consumer Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We do not accept the companies response or offer to replace the mechanism because the love seat is defective. The first replacement we received bent within 3 days of having it. There is some kind of defect in the way it is made and replacing the mechanism isn't going to fix the problem. The sofa is mangled and the cushions are separating from each other now because the frame has been bent without repair all of this time. The business sent someone to take pictures and attempt repair and even he agreed it was badly defective. I would be happy with a store credit and then I will purchase two separate recliner chairs from the company. If the continue to refuse to fix this issue I will seek a full refund. The company would not even give us the contact information for the manufacture so that we could call them to see if they would agree to do anything about their defective product. I will email a picture of it to BBB.


Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We believe that the replacement mechanism will fix the issue and we would be able to straighten the cushion. The love seat will continue to be damaged if the customer continues to sit on it while the frame is bent. If the customer does not want to accept this repair, we are willing to allow a reselection. He will need to come in before store hours and we will have someone here early to meet with him.

04/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
furniture not delivered as promised and overcharge on entertainment wall unit

Desired Settlement
overcharged 600.00 on wall unit and lift up cocktail table not delivered till may 2014.

Business Response
***** ****** our General Manager, has called Mr. ********* and this complaint has been resolved to his satisfaction. Our customer was correct on both points he made in his complaint. We appologized for our error and have given our customer an acceptable allowance to ease the frustration he has experienced. I believe all parties agree that this complaint has been resolved to our customers satisfaction. If you require any further information please let me know.



Consumer Response

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.