BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/21/2013

Hurst Hardwoods, LLC

Phone: (813) 448-2107Fax: (727) 847-0931View Additional Phone Numbers105 Douglas Rd E, OldsmarFL 34677-2980

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retail and wholesale hardwood and wood laminate flooring.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/21/2013

BBB has determined that Hurst Hardwoods, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hurst Hardwoods, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Hurst Hardwoods, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
02/04/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Didn't get the wood sizes as stated on website
I've had this wood for probably over a month. Had to wait till I got laid off from work to get installed. Iordered the brazilian walnut it says on website , shorter than average lenths 12 to 60". I understood that. Theres not a 60" board in the lot . 18 cases,400 sq. ft. the largest board is 36". Had I have known this would never have ordered. Have around so far still have 5 cases to open, 34 of 36",239 of 2footers,212 of 1 and a half footers, and 30 footers.****** ***** was salesmen, paid 4.89 a foot came to 2,300, paid by check been calling the mangers never in and ******* always on another line, leave message and no one returns my call. I feel this is false advertisement to the consumers and something should be done. Thank .you ***

Desired Settlement
If my Installer dosen' t walk out tomorrow the floor will probably be nailed down. I haven't had the money till now. So I'am not opening the last 5 boxes till he says he'll do it, if he does do it I'am putting it down, my living rooms been torn apart for 3 weeks now, can't stand it another day.I don't want someone else to get taken advantage of like I was. I'll also write a nice review.

Business Response
We contacted this customer after receiving the complaint and have resolved the issue to their satisfaction. Considering the flooring was already installed and unable to be returned we have refunded them a credit for the issue.

Consumer Response

06/12/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hardwood flooring advertised as random length
1 ft. to 6 ft. length were not random at all.
They were overwhelmingly short on average.
I ordered 18 boxes of Random Length 12' to 72" Brazilian Cumaru hardwood flooring. The first box I opened contained primarily short boards.

Box one contained 24 Pieces
11 were 30"
one was 48"

I complained to ***** ***** via e-mail and he advised to open 2 more boxes.

Box 2 contained 24 pieces.
11 were 30"
one board was 48"

Box 3 contained 23 pieces
11 were 30"
one board was 60"

In a truly random sample, the average length should be
half way between 12" and 72" or 42" for the mean.
Roughly half should be longer and half should be shorter.
In all of these three boxes, only 3 out of 71 pieces were longer than 42 ".
Two were 48" and one was 60". None were 72"
33 of 71 pieces were the exact same length (30")

I do not believe these are boxes containing.
random lengths between 12" and 72" as described.

His response was that is what would be expected.

I responded that he advertised:

"Clear Grade will be the most consistently colored, will have the longest average board length, and will be the most free of natural imperfections."

I expected the boards to be random lengths. Not to be consistently shorter on average than 30"

I have paid about $2,500 for essentially useless wood. It does not seem reasonable for me to pay another $500 for shipping and $400 for restocking (approx. $1400 total) and end up with no product.

I offered to split shipping cost and return the wood to him.
I have had no further response.

Order Information

Merchant: ***** Hardwoods
Description: 406.8 3/4 x 5 Clear Grade Brazilian Teak Pre-Finished Natural


Invoice Number: ****
Customer ID: ****

PO Number: ****




Billing Information
***** *******
*** ******* *********
San Clemente, California XXXXX
United States of America
*********@hotmail.com
XXX XXX-XXXX Shipping Information




Total: US $2453.48



Visa


Date/Time: 31-Jan-2014 13:44:04 EST
Transaction ID: XXXXXXXXXX




Desired Settlement
Return flooring to *****, refund to me amount paid for flooring.
I will pay shipping to here if ***** pays for shipping to return.

Business Response
This response was provided verbally to BBB:

We are aware of this customers concern and are working directly with him to try and resolve the situation. We will offer the customer a discount to keep the flooring materials as-is, otherwise we will offer to return the materials for a refund.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am still awaiting resolution.
Mr. ***** has verbally agreed to pay for refund and arrange return shipping. That has not happened as yet.

Final Business Response
The customer had some delays in getting a pallet to ship the flooring back on. He now has it packaged up and ready to go so we have arranged a pickup for today 5/28. As soon as the flooring is returned we will issue a refund.

04/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hurst Hardwoods sold extremely poor quality flooring that was advertised clear grade Brazilian Walnut flooring on their website.
Hurst advertised clear grade Brazilian Walnut on its website and further described clear grade as deep reddish brown. It also stated that lower grades may have a "hint" of greens. The flooring that I received was very green and I sent the photos to Hurst. They reply is that the green will go away after 6 months to 1 year. I also showed them pictures of the wood cupping and cracks. My installer, who has over 30 years experience says the wood is very low quality and has very high moisture content. Hurst tried to tell me that I may have caused the moisture problem. I am in MN in the dead of winter and there is no humidity in the state, with temps as cold as they are. This is an extremely poor product, doesn't meet the standards they describe on their own website. I have called several times to try to get information as to what is the problem without any reasonable answers.

Desired Settlement
I have offered several settlement options including replacement, refund, and discount. I also suggested having a mutually agreed upon independent wood grader come look at the wood to determine if it meets the specifications that were adverstised.

Business Response
I am working to satisfy Mr ********** The problem we have here is that it seems he damaged the flooring there by not keeping it in the correct environment for flooring.

Thank you,
***** *****

03/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered two widths of the same wood flooring to use in my basement, as they were described as identical other than size. They are not the same color
I ordered wood flooring. ***** ***** called to let me know they had an inventory mixup and did not have enough to fill the order. He offered a different product but I explained that I was looking for a darker wood. I suggested supplementing what they had with the same wood in a wider plank. I asked if that would fit together and ***** said he thought that because they were the same thickness they would. The wood delivered not only did not fit together, but the color of the two widths were not even close. Obviously they come from different suppliers. ***** asked for a picture showing the discrepency, which I provided. After several attempts to call/email him, I explained that I would be contacting my credit card company to dispute the charge. Within minutes, he emailed to tell me they had looked into it and that natural variations in the wood species were the cause of they color issues. He further explained that they would not issue a refund and that I would "make it work". This is nonsense. They are clearly different products that do not in any way match. They are not issuing a refund b/c they do not have any more of these products and thus cannot re-sell them. In fact, the same picture used on the website to describe both widths I purchased is now being used to describe a new product they carry. Neither of the woods I received match the color shown online, but at least if they matched each other I could chalk it up to the cost of not dealing with a known product, or at least a retailer who is familiar enough with their own product to provide competent advice, or at least one who doesn't post stock photos they know do not represent the product actually being sold. This is a relatively small order, $2,000.00, so again, the only possible explanation is that they would rather stick me with their remnants than have to write them off. Purchase date, 1/27/14, payment by Visa.

Desired Settlement
I want $1,964.86 put back on my card, immediately, and the pile of wood taken from home at a mutually agreeable time by a professional delivery service, not later than 3/1/14

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Owner
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@hursthardwoods.com
The customer did not find the two floors close enough in color so we agreed to take back the material and fully refund the customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have been promised a refund, and am returning the product as instructed. Assuming everything works as promised, and in a reasonably timely manner, as expected, I will overlook the fact that it is exactly 2 months since I placed my order and not re-open this complaint.

Thanks for everything.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/04/1998Business started: 01/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Occupational License/Oldsmar
100 State St W
Oldsmar, FL34677-3655
(813) 855-4693

BBB records show a license number of 11702 for this company, issued by Occupational License/Oldsmar.

Type: City Business Tax Receipt

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Craig G. Hurst (Managing Member) Lee Hurst (Manager)
Business Category

Floor Materials - Retail, Floors - Hardwood, Floors - Laminate, Floor Laying, Refinishing and Resurfacing Companies


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hurst Hardwoods, LLC has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hurst Hardwoods, LLC

105 Douglas Rd E

Oldsmar, FL 34677-2980

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 105 Douglas Rd E 

    Oldsmar, FL 34677-2980(888) 704-8778
    (813) 448-2107

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hurst Hardwoods, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 704-8778
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Floor Materials - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.