BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/27/2008

Amscot Corporation (Headquarters)

Phone: (800) 333-6130Fax: (813) 637-6220

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

52 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 23 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues15
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service33
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints52

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (52)
08/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged for their error
I made an money order to pay my water, but it was returned back as unable to read the numbers in the bottom of the money order, after several attempts the water company returned back the money order. I took it back to the same location where I got the money order to get it exchange to get a legit money order, but at that time they charged me $3 for a refund. Now I'm out off $3, plus no legit money order, and on top will charged a late fee on my water.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back, and verified thermometers order system since I was advised by the water company of this happening plenty of times to other customers.

Business Response
August 2, 2016

VIA WEB FORM

Better Business Bureau of West Florida, Inc.
Post Office Box ****
**********, Florida **********

Re: Case # ********; ******* ****

To Whom It May Concern:

I am in receipt of the consumer complaint of Ms. ******* ****. We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Upon receipt of her complaint, Amscot's representative called Ms. **** and explained that the $3.00 fee was to cash the money order. We also offered to refund the fee. It is my understanding that Ms. **** accepted a $3.00 payout at a branch and is satisfied with this result.

Again, we thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I hope this satisfies your inquiry and resolves Ms. ****'s complaint.

If you have any further questions or concerns regarding this matter, then please do not hesitate to call me at (***) ***-****.

Sincerely,

/s/Wm. Gene ****
Corporate Counsel

cc:Charity ***** Director of Human Resources and Customer Care
Benjamin ********* Vice President of Operations

08/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am a ******** ******** person and relied on the AMSCOT money order system to create a paper trail in managing my disability funds. So far no good
On June 1, 2016, I obtained approximately five (5) money orders from the AMSCOT store located on ********, *******, Florida. These were in denomi-nations of $50, $50, $100, and $30 dollar money orders. The $30 money order was used to pay a bill, and therefore the detached stub was retained for my records. The remaining money orders-including their attached stubs-were lost or stolen. The number on the retained $30 money order stub that was detached is referenced to in an investigatory letter sent to AMSCOT Corp., *****, FL., by the Resource Center of ******* Florida, (which assists disabled persons with such matters) dated July 20, 2016. I am ******** ********, and often victimized by persons who assist me in managing my disability funds. Assisted by the Resource Center investigator, I informed an employee at the ******** AMSCOT on the premises of this complaint. The employee informed me that the $30 money order had been negotiated. However, she was not authorized to provide me with any information pertaining to the other money orders that I had obtained in sequence along with the $30 money order, whose stub I had retained for my records. She informed me that because I did not possess the stub(s) for the other lost, stolen, or destroyed money orders, that my only recourse was to contact AMSCOT Corp. concerning the matter. In other words, the paper trail that I presumed would exist by placing my government disability funds in AMSCOT money orders does not truly exist at all. Consequently, I am now over two hundred dollars behind on my bills, including rent, utilities, and living expenses. I have suffered, and continue to suffer tremendously as a result of this financial disaster, and the inability to locate or track the perpetrator of the missing or stolen money orders. I do have a bank account, but due to previous instances of lost or stolen debit cards and abuse by several former money managers, I unwisely sought a higher level of protection by placing a considerable amount of my checking account into AMSCOT money orders that was to be used for paying essential bills! As stated above, an investigatory letter has been sent to AMSCOT Corp. by the Resource Center on my behalf, in lieu of a formal complaint or civil law suit. However, I am appreciative of having this preliminary online complaint with BBB, acting on my behalf as perhaps a third party arbitrator in order to rectify this terrible situation. Two hundred dollars may not be very much to the average American Citizen, but to a ********** disabled person such as I, who is used to working and would like to work and is yet unable to work....two hundred dollars could be the difference between a much better quality of life...and death.

Desired Settlement
I have never before been in this dismal position. It would be a blessing for sure if the lost or stolen money orders were replaced, or at least I were refunded the $200 of which the lost, stolen, or destroyed Amscot money orders cost me. I simply have no clue as to how to proceed in this matter, and therefore I am left to the counsel of investigators and attorneys who will probably ultimately charge me much more for their services than the $200 or so in money orders that were lost, stolen, or destroyed. Of course I would appreciate a refund, and would settle for $200, even though I believe that I had originally obtained approximately $300 in money orders on the aforementioned date in question, June 1, 2016. I know that I had withdrawn over $300 from my bank that day in order to pay bills, and that I had obtained at least $200 (in addition to the $30 money order referenced to in the letter sent to AMSCOT Corp., dated July 20, 2016) worth of money orders from the AMSCOT on *******, *******, FL, on or around June 1, 2016. In the event that the $200 is refunded to me, BBB can be assured that I will cease and desist from pursuing any further complaints pertaining to this incident. And, will certainly recommend to friends, family, and prospective media representatives the valuable and good Samaritan deed provided by both BBB and AMSCOT Corp.

Business Response
August 1, 2016

VIA WEB FORM

Better Business Bureau of West Florida, Inc.
Post Office Box ****
**********, Florida ***********
Re: Case # ********; ******* ****

To Whom It May Concern:

I am in receipt of the consumer complaint of Mr. ******* ****. We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Upon receipt of his complaint, Amscot's representative called and spoke to Mr. **** at length. There are 5 money orders in question: 2 x $50.00, 2 x $20.00, and 1 x $30.00. Mr. **** mentioned a $100.00 money order in his complaint; however, Amscot was unable to find a $100.00 money order and, in discussing it with Mr. ****, he believes he may have been thinking about the two $20.00 money orders.

Amscot sent copies of the money orders as they cleared and discussed them with Mr. ****. Mr. **** believes he knows who negotiated the $30.00 money order but does not know who negotiated the two $50.00 money orders. The two $20.00 money orders were made payable to a company (or companies) and appear to have been properly negotiated by the intended payee(s). We encouraged Mr. **** to contact law enforcement and report the money orders he believes may have been stolen.

Amscot did nothing wrong in this instance and did everything it reasonably could to help Mr. **** identify the stolen money orders and report them to law enforcement. Nonetheless, we value Mr. **** as a customer and would like to do what we can to assist him. As such, Amscot has decided to provide Mr. **** with $170.00, as a one-time courtesy, to replace the lost or stolen money orders and help him meet his financial obligations.

Again, we thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I hope this satisfies your inquiry and resolves Mr. ****'s complaint.

If you have any further questions or concerns regarding this matter, then please do not hesitate to call me at **************.

Sincerely,

/s/Wm. Gene ****
Corporate Counsel

cc: Charity ***** Director of Human Resources and Customer Care
Benjamin ********* Vice President of Operations

08/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ricardo on shift at 11pm 7/25/2016 has the worst customer service. Refused to do a money order for my rent. One for my company. He was rude.
He did not give any alternatives. He said he is on the phone with corporate and they denied my money orders. I come bi weekly to do these money orders however tonight with Ricardo it seemed as if he just didn't want to service me. Why would tonight be any different from any other day I come in. I come in monthly for my rent money orders and bi weekly for my company money orders. I need an explanation otherwise staff needs to be reviewed.

Desired Settlement
Exceptional service and an explanation

Business Response
August 1, 2016

VIA WEB FORM

Better Business Bureau of West Florida, Inc.
Post Office Box ****
**********, Florida **********

Re: Case # ********; ***** *******

To Whom It May Concern:

I am in receipt of the consumer complaint of Mr. ***** *******. We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Unfortunately, it does not appear that the reason we declined the money order purchase was properly explained to Mr. ******* at the branch. Amscot money orders are intended for individuals for their personal use. Upon receipt of his complaint, an Amscot associate called Mr. ******* and explained that we do not sell money orders to businesses or to others for business purposes. It is my understanding that Mr. ******* appreciated the call and that we took the time to help him understand.

Again, we thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I hope this satisfies your inquiry and resolves Mr. *******' complaint.

If you have any further questions or concerns regarding this matter, then please do not hesitate to call me at **************.

Sincerely,

/s/Wm. Gene ****
Corporate Counsel

cc: Charity ***** Director of Human Resources and Customer Care
Benjamin ********* Vice President of Operations

08/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company refused to refund monies from a stolen and washed and obviously forged money order that was stolen from US postal mail box.
I purchased a "free" $500 money order from Amscot on June 17, 2016. One week later I went to the local office where I purchased the money order and was informed that it was cashed on June 20, 2016. The company that I mailed the money order to never received the money order. Long story short, money order was stolen from mail box and altered and cashed.


When I contacted Amscot they insisted I had to buy another $12 money order for them to investigate this. I did this and mailed them the request. Their investigation consisted of sending me a letter stating that the money order has been cashed and cleared their bank and I will not be getting a refund. Upon speaking with Monica M. in their ***** office, she essentially told me the same thing and was no help whatsoever.

The copy of the money order they sent me clearly shows that the money order had been altered and should never have been cashed or cleared by their bank. She told me there is nothing Amscot can do.

Never use this company as they will not stand behind their product. You're much better off using a reputable company that will stand behind their product, and paying a few cents for the money order. Once before I purchased a money order that had been fraudulently negotiated and I had no trouble getting my monies back.

Desired Settlement
I want my $500 dollars back. Their clearing bank must stand behind obviously altered checks that they pay.

Business Response
July 25, 2016

VIA WEB FORM

Better Business Bureau of West Florida, Inc.
Post Office Box ****
**********, Florida *****-****

Re: Case # ********; ******* ******

To Whom It May Concern:

I am in receipt of the consumer complaint of Mr. ******* ******. We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

The money order in question was not cashed by Amscot; it was cashed or deposited with another financial institution. Upon receipt of his complaint, Amscot contacted Mr. ****** and explained the processes for obtaining a refund. Amscot is sending Mr. ****** an affidavit for him to fill out and have notarized, and he is going to send Amscot a copy of the postal inspector's report with the completed affidavit. Once we receive the paperwork, we will reissue the money order to Mr. ****** and attempt to collect the funds through the affidavit process.

Again, we thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I hope this satisfies your inquiry and resolves Mr. *****'s complaint.

If you have any further questions or concerns regarding this matter, then please do not hesitate to call me at (***) ***-****.

Sincerely,

/s/Wm. **** ****
Corporate Counsel

cc: ******* ***** Director of Human Resources and Customer Care
Benjamin ********* Vice President of Operations

06/30/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor customer service
This is the worse company I have ever had the pleasure of using. So I got a pre paid card so I could use it for online shopping or what not I so choose. Well back on the 17th of June I had fraud on my account for the amount of $89.97 so I of course called customer service and got the ball rolling with disputing the transaction. So I was told that I had to either go into my local amscot to sign the disputed form or they could mail it to me for me to mail back. So I of course chose to go into my local branch so I did that signed the form and spent my whole lunch hour plus and extra 30 mins so by the end of it I was told it would take up to 10 days to receive a temporary credit back to my account. Well I of course also got in touch with the company to open a case with them to make a claim so that they would know and be aware that this was fraud on my account. So I check my email today June 23 and I get an email from the company that took the money out of my account thing that they have closed my case with no resolution. So I then intern call amscot to find out what happen with my dispute and why I never got my temporary credit that was promised within 10 days grenade I get that it hasn't been 10 days but if the other company is telling me that they close the case with no resolution something went wrong. So Amscott customer service told me they never received my dispute form. But yet it was scanned and emailed to them back on June 17th and I have a copy of the form itself. Ok so now once again I have to waste my time and gas to go to my local amscot to once again send them the form to customer service. Now I'm being told it could take up to 10-20 days for me to get my temporary credit????!!!!! But yet that my account is eligible to receive the temporary credit if that is true then why does it take 10 to 20 days to push a button. Why is it me as the customer for years in good standing at that being penalized for no-fault to my own???? So now while I'm at Amscott right this very moment to send the dispute form once again to customer service they were telling the lady here that for some unknown reason they are not receiving emails OK so she faxed it to them waited waited waited waited for at least 30 minutes still they have not received the fax . I understand problems with technology but you have to have some type of back up something you can do for your customer so you don't lose them or upset them anymore then what has already happen! So I got told she made a copy of my form and will continue to try to send it over to customer service so I don't have to wait around any longer and I can call to keep checking to see if they have got it yet! I'm completely blown away and irate at this point!

Desired Settlement
My money back into my account

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Gene C***, Corp. Counsel
Contact Phone: 813-637-6247
Contact Email: gc***@amscotfinancial.com
June 29, 2016

VIA WEB FORM

Better Business Bureau of West Florida, Inc.
Post Office Box 7950
Clearwater, Florida 33758-7950

Re: Case # ********; ****** *****

To Whom It May Concern:

I am in receipt of the consumer complaint of Ms. ****** *****. We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Ms. ***** contacted Amscot Card Services on June 17, 2016 to report an unauthorized transaction in the amount of $89.97. We initiated the dispute process and requested that Ms. ***** complete a dispute form. When we spoke to Ms. ***** again on June 23, 2016, she said that she completed the form and submitted it at an Amscot branch. Amscot apologized and explained that we had not received the dispute form, and asked Ms. ***** to send it again by e-mail, fax or mail, or to submit it at another branch. We also assured Ms. ***** that this did not delay her dispute or credits in any way.

Amscot received Ms. *****'s dispute form on June 23, 2016. Pursuant to Regulation E, Ms. ***** was entitled to a provisional credit on the 10th business day, which would have been July 1, 2016. We spoke to Ms. ***** again on June 24, 2016 and, for customer service purposes, we credited her account early. It is my understanding that Ms. ***** was happy with this result.

Again, we thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I hope this satisfies your inquiry and resolves Ms. *****'s complaint.

If you have any further questions or concerns regarding this matter, then please do not hesitate to call me at (813) 637-6247.

Sincerely,

/s/Wm. Gene C***
Corporate Counsel

cc: Charity H***, Director of Human Resources and Customer Care
Benjamin B*******, Vice President of Operations


Consumer Response


Page 1 of 9
01/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received a cash advance. When it was due I called and asked for a 4 day extension. I was denied for the first time in 5 years. I was told by "Micky"
I received a cash advance. When it was due I called and asked for a 4 day extension. I was denied for the first time in 5 years. I was told by "Micky" that the check would be deposited in two days knowing that my check will bounce. Then she said that I'd have a $25.oo fee from Amscot and a $35 return check charge from my bank. I told her that my mortgage payment will bounce. I was never told that I couldn't receive an extension, nor was I offered any other assistance.

Desired Settlement
deposit the check on Friday 1/8/15

Business Response
January 8, 2016

VIA WEB FORM

******************************************************************************************************************************
Re: Case # XXXXXXXX; ******** *****

Dear Ms. S.:

I am in receipt of the consumer complaint of Ms. ******** *****. We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Upon a careful review of this matter, however, there does not appear to have been any error on Amscot's part.

On December 4, 2015, Ms. ***** entered into a cash advance transaction with Amscot. Amscot provided Ms. ***** with $500.00 cash in exchange for her personal check in the amount of $551.00. Ms. ***** was to redeem her check with cash or certified funds on or before January 1, 2016, or Amscot would deposit her check for payment.

On January 4, 2016, Ms. ***** called and requested an extension to January 8, 2016. Unfortunately, Amscot could not provide an extension to the date requested because it would have taken the transaction beyond the 31-day maximum deferral period allowed by law.

Instead, Amscot marked the check as a return without sending it to the bank (no returned check fee was charged), waived the $51.00 cash advance fee, and gave Ms. ***** until January 8, 2016 to pay the cash advance. Ms. ***** paid the cash advance on January 8, 2016 as promised, and it is my understanding that she is happy with this result.

Amscot is also sending Ms. ***** $25.00 in gift cards for any confusion or frustration we may have caused.

Again, we thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I hope this adequately addresses your inquiry and resolves Ms. *****'s complaint.

If you have any further questions or concerns regarding this matter, then please do not hesitate to call me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Sincerely,

/s/ Wm. **** C.
Corporate Counsel

cc: ******* H., Director of Human Resources and Customer Care
Benjamin B., Vice President of Operations

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
" On January 4, 2016, Ms. ***** called and requested an extension to January 8, 2016.".
The first call I made was on December 30, 2015 for an extension to Friday, 1/8/16. And it was approved.

I called back in 1/4/16 after listening to a message on recorder from Mickey that my check was being deposited. Mickey had the attitude that I was her drug addicted older kid on welfare who just stole another one of her TVs after giving birth to yet another kid, begging for more money.

Since I don't bounce checks she told me all the fees that it would entail. I told her my mortgage would bounce etc and that I did want my house to go into foreclosure, nor did I want a late payment on my credit over TWO DAYS!!. She was not at the least helpful with a recourse, or a plan of action. Her plan was to repeat that I would have this and that fee, bounce check charges etc.

I'd have never written had she not have so much pleasure from my PAIN! She wasn't just like the usual robot that just spits outs the rules, she took great pleasure in letting me know what was going to happen. That was a far greater blow than the financial one.

I called Mickey the Manager multiple times on 1/4/16 for assistance. I have two son and told her that I'd write to the BBB, the CFPB, The Federal Trade Commission, The Corporate Office at Amscot. She told me go ahead. I finally goggled the owner of Amscot, *** ********** and left a message on his recorder, followed by 8 calls to the corporate office and my bank. I called her back and told her and she said, "go ahead".

Amcot makes money off me, so why the sadist pleasure? Amscot is no better than I if they have credit cards, or loans that they use. I will not go back to a sadist "manager", who REFUSED to give me a phone number of a supervisor, corporate office, or a plan of action to rectify my situation.

I requested an increase in my credit balance from my credit card company instead of further business with Amscot. I also found out my bank offers Cash advances after receiving a letter in the mail from Amcot saying my check was "CASHED AND RETURNED" and going to my bank to discuss, but that was not true. There again Amcot contorts the "truth" to suit them. Do you want to make money or hire sadistic people who get off on taking out their personal problems on the client. Hey Mickey it was not your money!!!!! BTW Where is the gift card?

Shannon, the District manager was very professional! I very much appreciated her educating me, and her ability to maintain a very high level of professionalism. She did wave the $51 fee to keep my business.

All I wanted was for Amscot to honor their promise on 12/31/15 to hold my check to 1/8/16, and a little bit of respect and professionalism.

Of course they don't get complaints from Mickey the Manager cause everyone that goes there speaks only Spanish.

Never again!!!!

Final Business Response
Amscot could not extend the transaction beyond the 31-day period allowed by law. Nonetheless, Amscot provided Ms. ***** with a solution that achieved the same result, and waived the $51.00 cash advance fee in the process, and sent her $25.00 in gift cards for any confusion or frustration we may have cause. Amscot is sending Ms. ***** another $25.00 gift card, this time by Fed-Ex, for her difficulties. We hope this satisfies your inquiry and resolves Ms. *****'s complaint.

03/31/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received a letter from Amscot say that I own them 191.00 from a cash advance from 11/11/2011 which i paid back in cash. This is the frist time I have received a letter saying it was not paid. I did play it and they said i need a something saying I paid it. I do not have anything like that anymore. This happened 4 years ago and have moved many times since then. Amscot tells me it was not paid and I have to pay it again. I will not pay it when I did so 4 years ago. They need to fix this problem and change it that it has been paid.
Product_Or_Service: cash advance

Desired Settlement
I want them to update there records because this was paid 4 years ago. To stop saying I owe them money when i do not owe them anything

Business Response
February 25, 2015

VIA WEB FORM

***** ******
Trade Practice Specialist
Better Business Bureau of West Florida, Inc.
Post Office Box 7950
Clearwater, Florida XXXXX-XXXX

Re: Case #: XXXXXXXX; Consumer: ******. ********

Dear Ms. *******

I am in receipt of your correspondence dated February 19, 2015 and the consumer complaint of Mr. ******. *********

We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Upon a careful review of this matter, however, there does not appear to have been any error on Amscot's part.

On November 11, 2011, Mr. ******** entered into a cash advance transaction with Amscot. Amscot provided Mr. ******** with $150.00 cash in exchange for his personal check in the amount of $166.00. Under the terms of the cash advance agreement, Mr. ******** was to redeem his check with cash or certified funds before the end of the deferral period, or Amscot would deposit his check for payment.

Mr. ******** failed to redeem his check before the end of the deferral period. Amscot deposited the check for payment, but the check was dishonored by the drawee bank and returned on December 1, 2011 due to insufficient funds.

According to Amscot's records, the sum of $191.00 ($166.00 check + $25.00 returned check service charge = $191.00) remains due and unpaid. If Mr. ******** has any evidence showing that this cash advance transaction was paid, such as a receipt, then Amscot would be happy to clear the transaction from its records and the state database.

Again, we thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I hope this satisfies your inquiry and resolves Mr. *********** complaint.

If you have any further questions or concerns regarding this matter, then please do not hesitate to call me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Sincerely,
Wm. **** ****
Corporate Counsel
cc: ******* ****, ******** of Human Resources and Customer Care
******** ********* Vice President of Operations
***** ******** Director of Collections

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
because I came in and paid it cash. I have no receipt to show because it was 4 years ago. I am not paying for something I paid already. This should have been brought to me 4 years ago when I had the receipt to show it was paid. They need to fix this because it was paid in cash 4 years ago. This is there error and needs to be fixed

Final Business Response
According to Amscot's records, $191.00 remains due and owing from Mr. ********* however, we will no longer pursue collection of that sum.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This does not fix the problem. I am not even able to get a cash advance because of them not making this paid when it was. Amscott needs to update there records and make is as paid because it was paid. I can even get a cash advance now because of there error. I tried to get a cash advance yesterday because I need to get my car fixed and I cant get it because amscott says I own them money when I do not. this needs to be fixed

02/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Last week I purchased 4 money orders, and today I requested to delete my sensible info: DL#, SS,finger-print and DOB but CS said it isn't possible.
Last week I purchased 4 money orders from AMSCOT in the Apopka office located on ******* ***** FL, and two weeks later I requested to delete all of my sensible info: DL#, SS,finger-print and DOB but the Customer Service Representative said that this request was not possible, since I provided the info voluntarily and they have secure means to secure this info.

Desired Settlement
I request AMSCOT to kindly remove all of my personal info, which could be used to supplant my identity and whish is no longer required by this company since all I did was tu purchase money orders and not to cash checks or request loans.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****, Corp. Counsel
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@amscotfinancial.com
January 15, 2015

VIA WEB FORM

***** ******
Trade Practice Specialist
****** ******** ****** of West Florida, Inc.
**** ****** *** ****
Clearwater, Florida XXXXX-XXXX

Re: Case #: XXXXXXXX; Consumer: ******* *******

Dear Ms. *******

I am in receipt of the consumer complaint of Mr. ******* *******.

We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Upon a careful review of this matter, however, there does not appear to have been any error on Amscot's part.

As a Money Services Business, Amscot is required to comply with all state and federal laws relating to the detection and prevention of money laundering. Under the federal Bank Secrecy Act and USA PATRIOT Act, Amscot is required to know its customers and to ascertain relevant information about their transactions. As part of its customer identification program, Amscot will often request certain personal information, as well as documents and information relating to the transaction. Amscot tries to make this a simple and easy process, and we try to assure our customers that their personal information is safe by having and following a comprehensive privacy policy that complies with the federal Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act. Moreover, Amscot is required by state law to maintain all books, accounts, documents and files for at least five years.

Based on the foregoing, we will not be able to delete Mr. *******'s personal information at this time.

Again, we thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I hope this satisfies your inquiry and resolves Mr. *******'s complaint.

If you have any further questions or concerns regarding this matter, then please do not hesitate to call me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Sincerely,


Wm. **** ****
Corporate Counsel

cc: ******* ****, Director of Human Resources and Customer Care
******** ********* Vice President of Operations



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Amscot must notify their costumers before hand about their 5 year personnal information retention practices. Particularly if they are not willing to delete at least some of this info such as FL DL.

10/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had ID fraud and someone took out a cash advance in my name. I have tried to take care of this and have got no where.
I have contacted corporate and do not get a call back. I have sent police reports and copies of things and they still say I owe money and they will not correct or fix this issue. It has been several years. The person also had a copy of my drivers license.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to remove this money that they are stating that i owe and lift any holds on my name at Amscot.

Business Response
August 18, 2014

VIA WEB FORM

***** ******
Trade Practice Specialist
Better Business Bureau of West Florida, Inc.
**** ****** *** ****
Clearwater, Florida XXXXX-XXXX

Re: Case #XXXXXXXX; ***** *******

Dear Ms. *******

I am in receipt of the consumer complaint of Ms. ***** *******. Ms. ******* claims that she is the victim of identity theft and that someone took out a cash advance in her name.

Amscot thoroughly reviewed the transaction, our customer agreements, the ID provided, and subsequent transactions. Based on our review, we believe that Ms. ******* took out the cash advance and that the debt is valid.

Contrary to the statement made in her complaint, Ms. ******* did not provide Amscot with a police report or case number regarding the theft of her identity. If Ms. ******* would like to provide us with a police report or case number, we would be happy to review her account in light of that additional information.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I hope this adequately addresses your inquiry and resolves Ms. *******'s complaint.

If you have any further questions or concerns regarding this matter, then please do not hesitate to call me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Sincerely,

/s/ *** **** ****
*** **** ****
Corporate Counsel

cc: ******* ****, Director of Human Resources and Customer Case
******** ********* Vice President of Operations
***** ******** Director of Collections


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I provided them with police report. The person had my id.

Final Business Response
We do not have a police report, or any record of being provided with a police report in the past. If Ms. ******* provides us with a police report, then we will be happy to review her account in light of that additional information.

Business Response
See Document

08/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I put a stop payment on a check and received a letter from Amscot stating that I am liable. This is an illegal practice
letter dated 7/16/2014
Letter on Amscot letterhead
Tampa Florida XXXXX-XXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX
Fax XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
$25 stop payment fee to be compensated and additionally to report illegal and unethical collection practices

Business Response
Please see the attached.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Regardless of whether or not the customer paid you back for the funds, you had no legal right to send me a collection letter. I again question the legality of sending me a collection letter. Amscot is required to do their own due diligence and a simple call to the bank would have confirmed a stop payment was issued on the check. The check was not NSF, it had a stop payment issued against it, which is in my legal rights.

Page 1 of 2

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.