BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
West Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/02/2013

Biggers Family Medicine, PA

Phone: (813) 655-4646Fax: (813) 655-41131307 Providence Rd, BrandonFL 33511-4885

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/02/2013

BBB has determined that Biggers Family Medicine, PA meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Biggers Family Medicine, PA's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Biggers Family Medicine, PA's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to substantiate charges

Complaint: The physician suggested a pap smear because it was covered by insurance, even though it wasn't necessary. I then got a bill for it.
On 3/19/2014 I visited Dr. ********* ******* for a physical. During this visit I mentioned that I was unemployed but I was happy to finally have insurance again, after not having it for almost a year. I expected the visit to consist of a basic checkup and lab tests. She asked if I had a pap smear done recently and I told her I had one as part of my postpartum checkup about a year prior, after I had my son. She said I might as well get another one done in the office that day because insurance has to cover it now. I agreed, since it would be covered by insurance. In May, I got a bill from ***************** for $125.84 for a test not covered by insurance. I called ***** (my insurance) and they explained that while they do cover the pap smear (which is what I consented to), they did not cover an extra test that she tested for that they considered experimental. Their official statement says "Your plan does not cover charges for, or related to, services or supplies that we consider to be experimental or investigational. ****** I called Dr. ********* office and the billing manager rudely said that there's no way she could know what every insurance covers and when she said insurance covers something, she's just talking about her part in the office and not any labs. She should not make statements like "it is covered by your insurance" when she means only the office visit was covered (obviously). They also said that they only did basic tests that they ran on everyone and that nothing was considered experimental. However, no test for HPV was ever consented to or talked about in the office, just the pap smear itself. I feel that this was misleading, because she knew that I was unemployed and did not have the means to pay for additional tests. If she would have asked about any additional tests, I would have refused. I only consented to a pap smear itself because I knew I did not have HPV or any other problems (because I had been checked the year prior). The billing manager basically told me that it's my responsibility and there's nothing they were willing to do. Now I have a bill that I shouldn't have to pay because I didn't request that test, can't afford to pay, and that I don't want to adversely affect my credit.

Initial Business Response
July 23, 2014

Re: Consumer complaint, case #XXXXXXXX

***** ********,

We have received the complaint filed by you to the Better Business Bureau dated July 9, 2014. In an effort to maintain good relations with you and the community at large we have reached out to our representatives at ***** diagnostics to remove the financial obligations of this lab testing. If you have any further questions or concerns please call our office so that we may assist you.

***** *****
Office Manager

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/24/2013Business started: 09/14/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Health
4052 Bald Cypress Way
Tallahassee, FL32399-7017
(850) 488-0595

Doctors, Medical/Lic/Complaint

Tallahassee, FL
(888) 419-3456

BBB records show a license number of OS10146 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Health.

Type: Board of Medicine

BBB records show a license number of OS10147 for this company, issued by Doctors, Medical/Lic/Complaint.

Type: Board of Medicine

Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Joel Biggers (President)Customer Contact: Frank Wyatt (Office Manager)Dr. Elizabeth Biggers (Vice President)
Business Category

Family Doctors, Physicians & Surgeons - Sports Medicine, General Health Medical Companies, Physicians & Surgeons

Products & Services

This primary care practice offers full medical care.

Alternate Business Names
Dr. Elizabeth Biggers, DO, Dr. Joel Biggers, DO
Industry Tips
Medical Billing Opportunities
New Medical Miracles Not so Miraculous

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Biggers Family Medicine, PA

1307 Providence Rd

Brandon, FL 33511-4885

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1307 Providence Rd 

    Brandon, FL 33511-4885(813) 655-4646

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Biggers Family Medicine, PA is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.